A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Gifts Ungiven/ Intuition and Shallow Grave
    If two or more cards would go into the same graveyard at the same time, the owner of those cards decides their relative order in that graveyard (C.R. 404.3). This is the case whether they are put into that graveyard from a library (as with Intuition or Gifts Ungiven), from a player's hand (C.R. 701.8b) or otherwise.

    I have asked the rules manager whether the "top creature card of your graveyard" in Shallow Grave means the "topmost creature card" in that graveyard, so that the effect works even if the top card of that graveyard isn't a creature card, as long as at least one creature card is there.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kess, Dissident Mage + Spark Double
    Quote from Arrudox »
    When you use an instant or a sorcery from your graveyard using Original Kess targeting an spell, then the other will not see the same ability "triggering" the text "During each of your turns, you may cast an instant or a sorcery from your graveyard"?
    Each ability has a separate effect and functions independently of any other ability, even if both abilities have the same text (see also C.R. 113.2c). For example, in general, if you control two permanents with Kess's second ability, you may cast two instant and/or sorcery cards from your graveyard "[d]uring each of your turns", because there are two effects each letting you "cast an instant or sorcery card from your graveyard". Making use of one doesn't cancel the other. (See also this thread.) Note that Kess's second ability is not a triggered ability, since it doesn't start with "when", "at", or "whenever" (C.R. 603.1).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kess, Dissident Mage + Spark Double
    If you control another Kess thanks to Spark Double, the number of instant and/or sorcery cards you may cast from your graveyard "[d]uring each of your turns" is increased by one while that Kess remains on the battlefield (C.R. 611.3b, 113.6).

    (In general, if two or more effects allow you to cast a card in a manner not otherwise allowed — e.g., if you control two permanents with Kess's second ability — you should announce which such effect to make use of as you cast that card, in case of ambiguity.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Conjurer's Closet , in relation to morph and manifest
    Quote from Canada8 »
    so after it returns it would return face up and if it was say a land it would enter on my battle field then (same with any other permanent)
    In general, the card exiled with Conjurer's Closet will return to the battlefield except if it's an instant or sorcery card (C.R. 304.4, 307.4), and will return face up under your control this way (face up because Conjurer's Closet's ability doesn't state otherwise [C.R. 110.5b]).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Conjurer's Closet , in relation to morph and manifest
    When Conjurer's Closet's ability resolves with a legal target, if that target is a face-down creature, you may exile it (face up since that ability doesn't say otherwise), then return that card to the battlefield under your control (your control since that's what that ability says) (C.R. 608.1b-c, 406.3, 110.2a). It doesn't matter who owns that creature or who last controlled that creature before it was exiled this way.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Risen Reef / is it a draw?
    For the purposes of Irencrag Pyromancer's ability, the card you put into your hand with Risen Reef hasn't been drawn this way. In general, an effect that moves a card from a player's library into their hand counts as that player drawing that card only if that effect uses the verb "draw" (C.R. 121.5). See also this thread.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Poison-Tip Archer vs. Proper Burial
    Quote from Aenoch »

    So the Proper Burial effect will happen first, but what if another player (a third player) activated a spell with "Destroy target creature", choosing a creature from Proper Burial player, will Proper Burial effect still happen first?
    If more than one triggered ability (such as those of Poison-Tip Archer and Proper Burial) would go on the stack at the same time, they will go on the stack starting with the ones controlled by the active player or, if there are none, the ones controlled by the player closest to the active player in turn order, and proceeding in turn order (C.R. 603.3b, 101.4). Thus, those abilities are put on the stack this way even if none of them are controlled by the player whose turn it is.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Thieves' Auction in 2HG / 3HG
    In any game with the shared team turns option, including Two-Headed Giant and Three-Headed Giant (C.R. 810.2, 810.11), whenever something has multiple teams do something at once, first the active team (the team whose turn it is) makes all choices required, then each nonactive team in turn order (C.R. 805.6). In general, this order can be decided by the team's players in each case (the relevant part of C.R. 805.6 says: "... first each player on the active team makes any choices required in whatever order they like", that is, in whatever order the team likes, "then the players on each nonactive team in turn order do the same"). If the players on that team "can't agree on [that] choice ..., the primary player" (that is, "the player seated in the rightmost seat from that team's perspective") "makes that choice" (C.R. 805.2).

    If we follow the order suggested in C.R. 805.6, then in a Three-Headed Giant game, if Team A/B/C is the active team, and Thieves' Auction (controlled by any player on that team) resolves, "each player" in that team, in whatever order the team likes, but "[s]tarting with" the controller of Thieves' Auction, "chooses one of the exiled cards and puts it onto the battlefield under their control", then each player on the nonactive team does the same, and this process repeats "until all cards exiled this way have been chosen" (C.R. 108.1, 109.5, 101.1).

    Note:

    It appears that the cited portion of C.R. 805.6 has become ambiguous since the transition in Dominaria to the singular "they" in the rules. Notably, even before Dominaria, C.R. 805.6 (as was in effect in Rivals of Ixalan) still said "first each player on the active team makes any choices required in whatever order they like" (that is, whatever order the team likes, not whatever order the player likes), and this has remained unchanged with Dominaria and beyond, at the time of this writing. Thus, in general, the team decides the order in which its players perform actions if more than one of them has to perform actions or make choices at the same time.

    EDIT: Edited after comment 3 was posted.
    EDIT (Oct. 9): Edited, including for correctness.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Playing an Instant after Main 1 Phase End
    Quote from tvalli90 »
    So once I cast my last spell for the phase, all players have a chance to respond to the phase ending. So I can say, "Move to Combat". But that would not prevent other players from casting a spell at the end of main 1. They still the opportunity, and I can't circumvent that by just saying, "Move to combat".
    You understand correctly. In general, players can't end a step or phase unilaterally (C.R. 500.2).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Playing an Instant after Main 1 Phase End
    Nothing happens "between" steps or phases (C.R. 500.11). In general, a step or phase where players get priority, including the main phase, ends only if all players pass in a row while the stack is empty (C.R. 500.2, 505.5).

    Also, by saying you will move to combat, you are merely proposing a shortcut that any other player can shorten (C.R. 721.2a-b; for sanctioned tournaments, see M.T.R. 4.2). For example, after you say "move to combat" during your first main phase, your opponent can shorten this shortcut by proposing to cast an instant spell during that same main phase; if they do, and no one else shortens or has shortened the shortcut further, the opponent will get to cast that spell and the game will still be in your first main phase (C.R. 721.2a-c; for sanctioned tournaments, see M.T.R. 4.2).

    See also this thread.

    EDIT: Clarification in first paragraph after comment 7 was posted.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Tamiyo, Field Researcher
    Tamiyo's first ability sets up a delayed triggered ability that triggers each time "either of those creatures [the ability refers to] deals combat damage", not just once, because the ability has a duration, namely "[u]ntil your next turn" (C.R. 603.7b). Note that the delayed triggered ability applies only to certain combat damage, not any other kind of damage.

    For the purposes of the delayed triggered ability, a creature with double strike generally deals combat damage at up to two different times during the combat phase (more specifically, in two separate combat damage steps) (C.R. 702.4b, 510.2), so that that ability will trigger each time that creature deals combat damage this way (and is either of the creatures referred to by Tamiyo's first ability) while that ability is active.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Adapt and The Great Henge
    In this scenario, when Growth-Chamber Guardian enters the battlefield upon resolving, The Great Henge's last ability triggers then goes on the stack, then the active player gets priority to activate abilities, such as Growth-Chamber Guardian's first ability (C.R. 608.3, 117.3b, 117.5, 117.1b). However, MTG Arena assumes by default that a player passes in certain circumstances. See also this thread and this thread.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Fuse Breaking/Entering
    As of Throne of Eldraine, the answer to comment 1 has had some changes.

    When that set is released (and in prereleases), for the purposes of determining whether you can cast a split card from your hand with Kari Zev's Expertise or from your graveyard with the triggered ability of Goblin Dark-Dwellers, what is relevant are the characteristics of the half you choose (or, if the card is in your hand and has fuse, and you so choose, the characteristics of both halves) in that zone before you begin to cast that card (new C.R. 601.3e; C.R. 708.3a, 702.101a); in each case, "cast[ing] a card" from the hand or graveyard, respectively, is referred to, rather than casting a spell (compare C.R. 109.2a with C.R. 109.2b), so the characteristics of the corresponding spell are irrelevant.

    When that set is released (and in prereleases), with Kari Zev's Expertise or Goblin Dark-Dwellers's triggered ability, you can cast from the corresponding zone from your hand the Breaking half (converted mana cost 2), but not the Entering half (converted mana cost 6) and not both halves (both because it has converted mana cost 8 and, for the latter ability, because it's not in your hand [C.R. 702.101a] converted mana cost 8) (C.R. 708.4, 708.4b, 202.3).

    EDIT: Correction and added rule citations after comment 6 was posted.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Expertise, Split, and Fuse
    As of Throne of Eldraine, the answer to comment 1 has changed.

    When that set is released (and in prereleases), for the purposes of determining whether you can cast a split card from your hand with Rishkar's Expertise, what is relevant are the characteristics of the half you choose (or, if the card has fuse and you so choose, the characteristics of both halves) in your hand before you begin to cast that card (new C.R. 601.3e; C.R. 708.3a, 702.101a). When that set is released (and in prereleases), with Rishkar's Expertise, you can cast from your hand—
    • any half of a split card, if that half's converted mana cost is 5 or less, or
    • both halves of a split card, if the card has fuse and their combined converted mana cost is 5 or less.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Flesh // Blood
    As of Throne of Eldraine, the answer to comment 1 has changed again.

    When that set is released (and in prereleases):
    • For the purposes of determining whether you can cast a split card from your hand with Kari Zev's Expertise, what is relevant are the characteristics of the half you choose (or, if the card has fuse and you so choose, the characteristics of both halves) in your hand before you begin to cast that card (new C.R. 601.3e; C.R. 708.3a, 702.101a).
    • With Kari Zev's Expertise, you can, for example, cast from your hand the Blood half of Flesh & Blood, since its converted mana cost is 2, but not the Flesh half, since its converted mana cost is 5, and not both halves, since their combined converted mana cost is 7 (C.R. 202.3, 708.4, 708.4b).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.