A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Vizier of Tumbling Sands
    In general, you can activate an activated mana ability (which includes tapping a land for mana) "whenever [you] have priority, whenever [you] are casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment" (C.R. 605.3a, 106.12). Thus, for example, if you have priority, you can tap a land for mana, then cast a spell or activate an ability (such as the first ability of Vizier of Tumbling Sands) without spending that mana to pay for that spell or ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Faeburrow Elder. And payment of costs.
    While casting Heartfire, if that spell's "total cost includes a mana payment" as it normally does, you activate mana abilities (such as Faeburrow Elder's last ability) before you pay the spell's costs, including sacrificing a creature or planeswalker (C.R. 608.2f, 608.2h). Note that Faeburrow Elder's last ability doesn't care whether permanents you control are tapped or untapped.

    Thus, if you tap Faeburrow Elder for mana while casting Heartfire, you add R if you control a red creature, even if you will then sacrifice that creature to pay for Heartfire.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Buffs During Combat
    Quote from RizyFontaine »
    Ah, ok. So after the combat phase, the creatures will lose their buffs. So that means that they will still have their buffs during the combat phase.
    Not exactly. Take the following scenario:
    • The combat damage step starts. Elvish Archdruid is blocked by Grizzly Bears, and Llanowar Elves (2/2 thanks to Elvish Archdruid) is blocked by Zealous Guardian. Assume that none of these creatures were dealt damage yet this turn, and that Elvish Archdruid and Llanowar Elves are controlled by the same player.
    • Grizzly Bears assigns damage equal to its power to Elvish Archdruid and vice versa. Zealous Guardian assigns damage equal to its power to Llanowar Elves and vice versa (C.R. 510.1).
    • The combat damage assigned is now dealt (C.R. 510.2).
    • Elvish Archdruid, Zealous Guardian, and Grizzly Bears have been dealt lethal damage, so all three creatures are destroyed as a state-based action (C.R. 510.3, 117.5, 704.5f). Now, since Elvish Archdruid isn't on the battlefield anymore, Llanowar Elves goes back to 1/1, so that the damage marked on Llanowar Elves is now lethal, so that Llanowar Elves is destroyed in another check for state-based actions (C.R. 117.5, 704.5f). Note that at this point, the game is still in the combat damage step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Buffs During Combat
    Elvish Archdruid's first ability is a static ability; its effect giving "[o]ther Elf creatures you control ... +1/+1" lasts only while Elvish Archdruid is on the battlefield (C.R. 604.1, 611.3b, 113.6). Once Elvish Archdruid leaves the battlefield, that effect ends immediately and the power and toughness of creatures are adjusted accordingly.

    Note that blockers are declared all at once, not one at a time (C.R. 509.1g).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Gerrard, Weatherlight Hero + Brought Back
    Compare Gerrard with Academy Rector, which says "... you may exile [Academy Rector]. If you do, ..." (C.R. 108.1), so that the rest of the effect of Academy Rector's triggered ability is done only if Academy Rector is exiled this way (C.R. 118.12). This is unlike with Gerrard's triggered ability, where the action of exiling Gerrard is simply ignored if it can't be done (C.R. 101.3). See also this thread.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Does an Elk transformed by Oko, Thief of Crowns have summoning sickness?
    If an effect says a permanent "becomes" something (such as from Oko's second ability), the permanent affected by that effect remains the same permanent as before (see also C.R. 400.7 and this thread).

    A creature can attack, and its activated abilities with the tap or untap symbol in their costs can be activated, only if that permanent was under its controller's control continuously since their most recent turn began (C.R. 302.6). This is true regardless of whether that permanent was a creature when that player's most recent turn began.

    For example, if, during your turn—
    • a noncreature artifact enters the battlefield under your control, then becomes a creature in the same turn, that permanent can't attack this turn while it's a creature.
    • a noncreature artifact you controlled continuously since the turn began becomes a creature, that creature can attack as normal.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Torbran of the Thane fell and acidic soil
    If Acidic Soil you control resolves, it normally deals as much damage to each player as lands they control. But if you also control Torbran, the damage dealt to each opponent this way is increased by 2, since Acidic Soil is red. (Note that Acidic Soil doesn't deal 1 damage to each player as many times as lands that player controls — check the card's Oracle text for the latest wording [C.R. 108.1].)

    For example, say you and your opponent each control five lands. If Acidic Soil you control resolves while you control Torbran, it deals 5 damage to you and 7 damage to your opponent (5 damage plus 2 from Torbran, since Acidic Soil is red).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on What is the converted mana cost of cut/ribbons?
    I want to note something about how spells and abilities that involve casting a card treat split cards.

    Some spells and abilities say a player may "cast" or "play" a card with certain characteristics from a particular zone (examples include Electrodominance, Rishkar's Expertise, and Haakon, Stromgald Scourge, among others, but not cascade [C.R. 702.84a]). Since the recent rules update with Throne of Eldraine, for the purposes of determining whether that player can cast a split card this way, what matters are the characteristics of the half they choose (or the characteristics of both halves if that card is in that player's hand and has fuse, and the player so chooses) in that zone before that player begins to cast that card (C.R. 601.3e; C.R. 708.3a, 702.101a). For example, with Rishkar's Expertise, that player can cast from their hand—
    • any half of a split card, if that half's converted mana cost is 5 or less, or
    • both halves of a split card, if the card has fuse and their combined converted mana cost is 5 or less.
    However, in general, if the spell or ability says "You may cast target ... card..." (as in Torrential Gearhulk) or "You may cast that card..." (as in cascade [C.R. 702.84a]), that spell or ability doesn't care about the card's characteristics at the moment the card starts to be cast (for abilities of the first kind, see C.R. 601.2c, 608.2b), so that if a player casts a split card this way, that player may choose either half of the card (or both halves if the card has fuse and is in the player's hand), even if the half or halves chosen don't meet the criteria called for by the spell or ability (C.R. 608.2f, 708.3a, 702.101a). For example, the sorcery half of an instant sorcery split card can be cast with Torrential Gearhulk this way (see also this thread).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Myriad and Ibex
    An ability that triggers "whenever [this creature] attacks" won't trigger if a creature with that ability enters the battlefield attacking; for the purposes of that ability, "it never 'attacked'" this way (C.R. 508.4; see also this thread). Thus, if a token that's a copy of Pathbreaker Ibex enters the battlefield attacking, that token's ability won't trigger.

    In general, a player can activate an activated ability (including one with a cost of the form "[cost], Discard [this card]") any time they have priority, unless the ability specifies otherwise (e.g., the ability says "Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery" — compare Shinen of Life's Roar with Ghost-Lit Stalker [C.R. 307.5]) (C.R. 117.1b; see also this thread). Note that the channel ability word, like all ability words, has no game mechanics inherent to it (C.R. 207.2c).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Scheming Symmetry and Hexproof
    Quote from Babehunter »
    Would this mean that if I control a Leyline of Sanctity that my opponent couldn’t cast Scheming Symmetry in the first place, because there are not two different legal targets? Thanks.
    If you have hexproof due to Leyline of Sanctity—
    • you can't be the target of a Scheming Symmetry your opponent controls (C.R. 702.11c), and
    • your opponent can't cast Scheming Symmetry if it can't target two players other than you (including if your opponent is the only player still in the game besides you) (C.R. 115.1a, 601.2, 601.2c, 702.11c; see also my comment 2).

    For example, even if you have hexproof, your opponent can still cast Scheming Symmetry targeting—
    • a teammate of yours and another opponent of yours (e.g., in a Two-Headed Giant game [C.R. 810.1]), or
    • two opponents of yours (e.g., in a Free-for-All game with three or more players in it [C.R. 806.1]).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Narset's reversal and Timetwister
    Here is how this scenario can play out:
    • Assume you have Narset's Reversal and Timetwister in your hand. Assume also that it's your main phase and nothing is on the stack.
    • You cast Timetwister; then, retaining priority, you cast Narset's Reversal targeting Timetwister (C.R. 117.1a, 601.2i).
    • All players pass, then Narset's Reversal resolves. You copy Timetwister (putting the copy on the stack), then return it to its owner's hand. Then Narset's Reversal goes to your graveyard (C.R. 608.2k).
    • All players pass, then the Timetwister copy resolves. Each player shuffles all cards in their hand and graveyard into their library (this includes you shuffling the original Timetwister in your hand and Narset's Reversal in your graveyard into your library, among other cards in your hand and graveyard), then draws seven cards. Then the Timetwister copy goes to your graveyard (and ceases to exist soon after) (C.R. 608.2k, 117.3b, 704.5e).
    • At this point, the stack is now empty.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Possibility storm and adventure mechanic
    When Possibility Storm's ability resolves, if the spell it refers to is an Adventure spell, the player who cast that spell exiles it, then exiles cards from the top of their library until they exile a card that shares a card type with that spell (C.R. 608.2g). If a card exiled this way from the library is an adventurer card, its Adventure characteristics are ignored for this purpose, since it doesn't have those characteristics while it's in a player's library or in exile (C.R. 715.4, 400.1).

    In general, if an effect allows you to cast an adventurer card, you may cast that card either normally or as an Adventure (C.R. 715.3). The exception given in C.R. 715.3d applies only if an Adventure spell was exiled as it resolved due to the Adventure replacement effect, not if an Adventure spell or adventurer card was exiled by any other means.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Extra Brawl Format Questions
    In constructed play in general, the maximum size of a sideboard is fifteen cards (C.R. 100.4a) and each player may have a sideboard (C.R. 100.4), and nothing in the rules for the Commander variant or the Brawl option (under C.R. 903 or 903.11, respectively) precludes the use of sideboards or changes their maximum size. Note, however, that sideboards are generally used only to "modify [a] deck between games of a match" (C.R. 100.4); the usual number of games in a match is given in C.R. 100.6a.

    In unsanctioned casual games in general, the players in the game can agree on modifications to the comprehensive rules (that is, "house rules") that address various game details, examples of which are—
    • each player's starting life total,
    • whether players can have sideboards and the maximum size of those sideboards,
    • the meaning of "outside the game", and
    • the number of poison counters needed for a player to lose the game as a state-based action.

    Note also that C.R. 903.11b says: "Brawl decks are usually constructed using cards from the Standard format"; thus, they are not necessarily so constructed, especially in unsanctioned casual games where the players agree to use a different format from Standard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Does Chandra Acolyte of Flame's -2 cost mana?
    In general, if you cast a card due to Chandra's last ability, you still must pay its mana cost and any other costs required (C.R. 601.2f, 601.2h). (The ability doesn't say, for example, "...without paying its mana cost" — compare the second ability of Chandra, Pyromaster with her third ability.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Faces of the Past Rules Question
    Faces of the Past's ability now says: "...tap all untapped creatures that share a creature type with [the creature that died] or untap all tapped creatures that share a creature type with it" (C.R. 108.1). When that ability resolves, its controller can decide only to tap certain tapped creatures or to untap certain tapped creatures; that player can't choose to tap some creatures and untap others (C.R. 208.2c).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.