A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Detaining as a counter?
    There are some points I should mention further:
    • After your opponent declares an attack, the opponent has priority, and could activate an ability right away, such as New Prahv Guildmage's detain ability; if the opponent does, we have the exact situation I mentioned above.
    • But if your opponent passes, you get priority and can use spells and abilities. As you activate the ability of Umezawa's Jitte, you pay the cost of removing one charge counter. You can do this as many times as you can pay that cost before you pass priority to your opponent. Thus, you can remove all the counters from Umezawa's Jitte before your opponent can even use New Prahv Guildmage's detain ability. And even if the opponent does, that won't prevent the Umezawa's Jitte abilities from resolving.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Detaining as a counter?
    Yes, because you would have activated Umezawa's Jitte before it was detained.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Detaining as a counter?
    You could remove the counters either before or after the detaining ability is activated, but before it resolves. The detaining ability, like nearly all activated abilities, does nothing until it resolves. And even if the opponent manages to activate New Prahv Guildmage's ability again to try to detain the artifact after you removed all the counters, that doesn't affect any abilities on the stack that have already been activated; they will still resolve as normal.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Detaining as a counter?
    Though your opponent could activate the ability to detain the Umezawa's Jitte, you could still respond to that ability by activating Umezawa's Jitte's ability and removing the remaining counters before the detaining ability resolved. (This works because Umezawa's Jitte hasn't been detained yet.) Thus the only practical effect of detaining will be to force you to activate Umezawa's Jitte now or to forgo doing so until the opponent's next turn.

    But remember, detaining usually applies to creatures. And the activated ability is on Umezawa's Jitte which is an artifact, not a creature. Depending on what creature was used to detain, the detaining might not even work. Currently, the only creature cards that can detain artifacts are Archon of the Triumvirate, Lavinia of the Tenth, Lyev Skyknight, and New Prahv Guildmage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Populate
    The rules I mentioned apply to all objects, not just creatures or tokens, and they apply regardless of which effect granted the ability or changed the power or toughness, such as a spell, an Aura, an Equipment, or something else.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Populate
    Copy effects use only an object's "copiable values", which are generally what is printed on the card or set by the effect that creates the token (C.R. 613.1, 706.2, 110.5b), plus other copy effects, in layer 1 (C.R. 613.2a). The effects that give the token indestructible and +1/+1 are effects that add abilities and change power and toughness, in layers 6 and 7c (C.R. 613.2f, 613.2g, 613.3c), and not copy effects.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Interupting a combo with an instant
    You can't exile creature spells with Titan's Presence, since you can't target them, but only creatures on the battlefield (C.R. 109.2). And while Gilt-Leaf Archdruid is "being cast", it's still a creature spell.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Interupting a combo with an instant
    While you can cast Titan's Presence as you suggest, your opponent can simply respond by casting more Druid creature spells (with converted mana cost 3 or less) while Titan's Presence is on the stack, letting them resolve, and finally, if the opponent now has seven untapped Druids on the battlefield, tapping them using Gilt-Leaf Archdruid before Titan's Presence can even resolve.

    But even if the opponent already has seven untapped Druids on the battlefield, you will hardly be able to stop the combo in this situation. If the opponent activates Gilt-Leaf Archdruid's ability, Titan's Presence won't keep it from resolving, since removing an ability's source from the battlefield doesn't counter the ability (C.R. 112.7a).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Horde of Notions with Converge
    You play the Elemental card without paying its mana cost (C.R. 117.9). Thus you can't apply alternative costs like flashback or overload (C.R. 117.9a), but you can apply additional costs like kicker (C.R. 117.9d).

    Note also that "converge effects" don't "trigger"; converge is an ability word, so what effect playing the Elemental has on Woodland Wanderer or another card with a converge ability depends on the ability in question. But in general, the "colors of mana spent to cast" a spell applies to the mana spent to pay the spell's total cost, including additional costs. (Note that the mana you spent to activate Horde of Notions's ability doesn't count in the spell's total cost.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Creature Ability Stacking
    In general, a continuous effect is cumulative if:
    • It adds to or subtracts from another value (for example, "gets +X/+X" or "additional"), or
    • It replaces something with more or less of it (for example, "double that damage", "prevent X of that damage").
    Other continuous effects are usually not cumulative. This applies whether an activated, triggered, static, or spell ability generates the continuous effect.

    For example, Fire Servant's continuous effect is cumulative because it replaces damage with more damage. However, if the damage is replaced, say, with drawing cards instead, the effect is not cumulative.

    One-shot effects are generally cumulative, as long as the effect can be done multiple times. An example is Gobbling Ooze's one-shot effect, which is to put a +1/+1 counter (C.R. 610.1). If you activate Gobbling Ooze's ability, say, four times, you can put four +1/+1 counters on it.

    Remember, though, that each payment of a cost applies to only one ability. Paying the cost for one ability doesn't pay the cost for other abilities, even if they are identical (C.R. 117.10).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Activated ability costs go on stack, resolving order?
    Correct. Ravenous Bloodseeker and Insolent Neonate's activation costs include discarding a card. And discarding a card with madness will trigger madness, which will resolve before the activated ability.

    In general, if an ability triggers as you pay the cost for an activated ability, that triggered ability will be put on the stack on top of the activated ability and will resolve before that activated ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Heartstone + Jenara
    The restriction on Heartstone means that the effect can't reduce the mana portion of the activation cost to nothing, if the cost has a mana portion. It only affects activation costs like "1" or "1, T", but not "W" or "1W", which have the same effect by Heartstone whether or not the restriction exists.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Tap
    Wiskernoogon:

    If a creature with annihilator attacks, its annihilator ability will trigger and can resolve no matter what happens to that creature, even if it's destroyed or it becomes tapped (C.R. 112.7a). But if the creature doesn't attack (for example, if it becomes tapped before it attacks), then the ability won't trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Tap
    You can indeed "respond" to attacking. As the active player declares attackers, he or she is really proposing a shortcut to attack (C.R. 718.2a). You can interrupt it by saying "Before you attack, I play..." (C.R. 718.2b) and do whatever you can to keep the proposed attacker from attacking, such as by tapping it. This will move the game to just before the declare attackers step (C.R. 718.2c). Since interrupting the shortcut is itself a shortcut, the active player can now interrupt it himself or herself, such as by choosing not to attack, activating another ability, etc. However, once attackers are declared without you interrupting it, it will be too late for you to tap them afterward or otherwise prevent the attack.

    EDIT (July 27, 2016): The shortcut rule was renumbered with Eldritch Moon.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Activated ability costs go on stack, resolving order?
    Yes you can. After you finish activating Insolent Neonate's ability, Skin Invasion will be put into your graveyard (C.R. 704.5n) and two triggered abilities will wait to go on the stack: madness and Skin Invasion's ability. You can put both in any order (because you control both) (C.R. 603.3b). If you put the madness ability first, then the Skin Invasion ability, the Skin Invasion ability will resolve first and return it to the battlefield transformed (not: flipped) as Skin Shedder. Then when madness resolves, you can cast Senseless Rage for its madness cost targeting Skin Shedder.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.