2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on [IKO] Ikoria spoiler season begins on the Magic Twitch stream
    I see alot of people freaking out over Companion and deck checks. I think everyone is missing the point here.

    Unless I'm misinterpreting it, the Companion restriction means that it can be cast from your sideboard (outside the game) if you meet X condition. If I mainboard these guys, I'm not bound by deck building restrictions. So if you want to main board these, I assume you ignore the Companion clause.

    Basically, when you Companion these creatures, they are your Pikachu that doesnt go inside a Pokeball (your deck) that you can cast once for free but you have to build your deck a certain way to make that happen.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on New Ikoria Image with links
    Okay so I had to do a double glance to make sure I wasnt seeing things but for a moment there, it looked like an Ulamog-like Eldrazi in the artwork behind Vivien and Guy holding Crystal. I was thinking that it might be possible that since this is the plane of huge creatures, what if this is their home plane? We got a card from Commander 2019 that made and Eldrazi creature that looks NOTHING like what we expect Eldrazi to be, given the 3 we already know. Anyways, my two thoughts.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [THB] Eidolon of Obstruction — Lee Shi Tian preview
    Am I the only one that's getting a Gideon vibe here?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 2019 Holiday Card: Decorated Knight
    Quote from xaltair »
    Quote from Cursed »
    is it tournament legal?

    Looks like a silver border so no. Also this will go to chosen wizards employees only so why all the hype?

    This doesn't just go to WotC employees. I have a line on one that a comics and collectible shop owner will get. They send them to TOs and I guess certain store owners probably those that have a steady WPN reporting record or somesuch. In any case, out of the gate this will fetch around 40-60 on the secondary market, maybe a little higher because it is in Blue and has an effect that people will want to actually play with (look at some of the previous holiday promos for example.) It will eventually settle around 20-30 with, again, the premium possibility because it is in Blue (Gifts Given is a $130+ card whereas Fruitcake Elemental is around $70.)
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 'Mystery Booster' product
    Just to chime in my 2 cents here:

    I read the article hoping by some slim hope that maybe Maro was mistaken when he messaged to say that the test cards would be convention edition exclusive. The article sadly confirmed it.


    In reading the article, I discovered something really juicy. What will replace the test print cards in WPN stores will be a foil from a SEPERATE sheet of 121 cards that will ONLY be available in foil.

    What's more is that these packs will defy normal pack logic. There will be 15 slots in the pack (one being the foil exclusive slot) but EACH SLOT will draw from ITS OWN POOL OF CARDS. That's right. Rather than a random draw of 1 rare/mythic and so on so forth, these packs will truly be CHAOS DRAFT.

    My memory is fuzzy on whether it indicated that that meant that you could theoretically crack a pack of "all rares" or if the set list released backs up the spread of rarities appropriately.

    Anyways, these are my insights.

    Each pack slot has its own card pool.
    The foil slot will be from 121 FOIL ONLY cards
    These packs (I believe) will break the normal pack breakdown conventions (1R/M, 3U, 10/11C)
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on My Little Pony silver-bordered crossover set releases Oct 12
    Quote from SavannahLion »
    Quote from R_Lancer »

    I've got the box over the weekend and to my surprise the box set was not sealed wrapped. I'm not a major collector but I wonder what others thought about it. Or this is normal.

    Interesting. I just got mine yesterday but haven't opened it yet. Too busy. It does sound "loose" in the box but the shipping bix doesn't look crushed like in that YouTube video.

    What does it say on the packaging where the cards were printed? I'm guessing they used the (U.S.) Texas printers to keep the costs lower. I kind of hoped they used the Japanese printers but... eh....

    This was the same way that the HASCON promos were handled. I imagine the packaging was kept the same despite this product not having been distributed at a convention. Mine arrived okay, no shifting whatsoever, and no damage to the cards or packaging.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Unsanctioned- Preconstructed Silver Border decks
    Quote from user-11102155 »
    reprints of beloved un-cards ?
    was there ever any un card beloved or is it just a poor excuse for "sorry, we had to cut down developement cost, so we wanna make money with reprints, you will probably just buy it for the lands anyways" ?

    Yes. All of them. By me. So much so that I think my mostly foil Un collection is the lion's share of my collection's worth. Not that I'm parting with it anytime soon, mind.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Unsanctioned- Preconstructed Silver Border decks
    Hard pass.

    Wish these Un-cards would just show up as promos or the like - pretty to look at, prestigious to own, but otherwise completely useless.

    Oh they have those too. The Hascon Promos, the Holiday Promos, the upcoming Charity Promo, all of which I have and plan to have. I'm super excited for this product and will likely do as milo_bloom said and see if I can own one for intact reasons for play (probably two since they're supposed to be 30-card pair em up decks, and want my opponent to be on even footing) and one to cannibalize and put into my Silver-bordered collection/EDH deck.

    Which reminds me, why are you here again? To express your disdain/disinterest for this product? Was it even necessary? Leave this forum to those of us who would dance gleefully naked as silver bordered cards shower down.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Mothership 9/19 - happily ever after
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    Quote from pierrebai »
    painter's servant + soul foundry is legal in mono-white decks.

    You know Scuttlemutt is easier you just turn something into all 5 colors while the alt win check is on the stack

    Just for clarification, if/then triggered abilities check conditions when they trigger to go on the stack as well as when they resolve. If the conditions arent met, the ability never triggers just the same as if the conditions are not met on resolution the ability fails. Scuttlemutt wouldn't be able to win the game for you on the stack, though it could save your win condition if it happened to be removed in response to, for example.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C19] jumbo commander preview- song of the worldsoul
    Quote from Buffsam89 »
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    Quote from Buffsam89 »
    or how broken this is

    Is this really necessary on every card you create a thread for?

    Well isn’t this broken?

    Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker any creature then just cast one Weasley spell and you can make clone among clones

    No, that isn’t broken, because how does “any creature” make this work? Besides just creating an additional token...

    C’mon man, you can’t go and edit your original post like that. So, clearly I was onto something.

    He is right though. In magical Christmas land, you get this enchantment out with a Kiki-Jiki, make a copy of, idk, Windborn Muse. If you can cast another spell that turn, you get to populate and can get another PERMANENT copy of your token. So it enables some shenanigans that I'm sure someone with the right mindset can turn into a very advantageous position.

    In the right setup, it's like having a Helm of the Host that triggers on spell cast and not pre combat, so multiple tokens a turn are possible.

    And as someone mentioned above this card is bonkers with any creature that lets you cast a spell off of it such as Chancellor of the Spires, as long as you make a token copy of that cteature.

    And as a side note, before we get all the naysayers that point out that "X" combo is faster more reliable and cheaper to cast, win games dur hur hur, I once put together a 5 color mess that I successfully used Eradicate and stripped an opponent's library of most of their creatures, after which they preceded to scoop. Still though, one of my better achievements, and a testament to making anything work.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C19] Tahngarth, First mate (new and improve Tahngarth)
    Quote from AnImAr_ »
    This card is nuts for EDH. Make other people kill with your commander with commander damage.

    Just for clarification, your opponent gains control of Tahngarth but the effect doesn't untap him so you do get to determine combat, you just dont get to have them "Xantcha" Tahngarth.

    Edit: So... uh apparently I can't read. This is why I shouldn't post 5 mins after I wake up.

    That said, he seems less exciting now. What I THOUGHT I read was some variation of Portal Mage. My mistake. Carry on. Nothing to see here.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Bag of Holding (Saving Throw Show Preview)
    @Ubermegapwnzod , @trolonge

    607.1. An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects or players to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions, objects, or players. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects or players that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.

    607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to “the exiled cards” or to cards “exiled with [this object],” these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

    201.4. Text that refers to the object it’s on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.

    400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are nine exceptions to this rule: (none of the exceptions apply, though they are 400.7a-i respectively for further reading)

    Hope this clears your questions up.

    Edit: 400.7i After resolving a madness triggered ability (see rule 702.34), if the exiled card wasn’t cast and was moved to a public zone, effects referencing the discarded card can find that object.

    This seems to imply that cards discarded to madness that arent cast can still be found by Bag of Holding and exiled.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Weird rules question
    For reference:

    Mother of Runes
    Ghost Council of Orzhova

    It is currently my turn and I am the controller of Ghost Council of Orzhova. My opponent has an untapped Mother of Runes. I cast Mortify targeting Mother of Runes and in response my opponent taps Mother of Runes targeting itself (presumably to give it protection from one of Mortify's colors).

    If I activate my Arena in response to the Mother of Runes ability targeting my Ghost Council of Orzhova and my opponent's Mother of Runes

    Are Mom and Dad fighting?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lightning Skelemental
    Quote from void_nothing »
    Not Ball Blightning?

    This is a fever dream; never did think I'd see those two types together on a typeline IRL.

    Nah. Wizards wants to hit you over the head with it.

    I just want to see more changelings. I'm already agonizing over the real estate in my Ur-Dragon Everything-tribal EDH deck.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Lightning Skelemental
    Quote from aforsberg »
    Quote from Dontrike »
    Ball Blightning

    Yes! Cmon Wotc, you had one chance

    Calling it now: Blightning Elemental.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.