Magic Market Index for April 12, 2019
 
Magic Market Index for April 5, 2019
 
Magic Market Index for March 15th, 2019
  • posted a message on Pick The Brain Combo
    If I use Animate Land to turn an opponent’s land into a creature and then enchant it with Darksteel Mutation, could I then use Eradicate to exile all of their lands with that name?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Duplicant
    If I exile a card with Duplicant, does it copy the power and toughness that the creature had while it was on the field or the power and toughness printed on the card? I know counters and things don’t FOLLOW, but it’s copying the power and toughness.

    So for example, if I controlled a Zhur-Taa Druid with Sword of the Animist equipped, would Duplicant be a 2/2 since the Druid had a static +1/+1 at the time it was exiled or 1/1 since the exiled card is a 1/1 after its in exiled?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Control/Incentive Suggestions EDH
    I’ve been trying to decide on a control deck for multiplayer EDH purposes. The theme would basically be preventing or punishing my opponents for doing things to me or my permanents while incentivizing them to harm each other via curses and things of that nature. I’ve had a few commanders in mind for it but it’s hard to pin one down because there’s things in different colors that are great.

    These are the two I’m trying to decide on:
    Gahiji, Honored One for obvious incentive to attack each other and not me.
    Zedruu the Greathearted for transferring creatures to my opponents.

    The plan with Gahiji is to use things like Ghostly Prison and Norn’s Annex to prevent attacking me as well as things like Darien, King of Kjeldor to benefit me if they do follow through. Then something like Mob Rule or Insurrection late game after having cards like Varchild, Betrayer of Kjeldor to give my opponents creatures.

    The concept is basically the same for Zedruu, except I’d make my own tokens as well as the added benefit of cards like Propaganda, War Tax, and Dissipation Field and using cards like Homeward Path to get my tokens back.

    I’d like suggestions for both commanders if possible.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Untap Abilities and Attacking
    If I have a creature with an untap ability such as Hateflayer and declare it as an attacker, can I use its untap ability after its tapped to deal damage to a creature as well as deal combat damage to any blockers? I know untapping doesn’t remove it from combat but I don’t know whether I could activate that ability when it’s declared as an attacker.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Target Life Gain
    I know there’s a few, but I don’t know of many.
    I’m looking for suggestions on cards that make target player gain life rather than myself. Any color is fine since it’s more for curiosity than anything, but it would also work well for cards like Tainted Remedy as well.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Is there a card that copies activated abilities? (not Rings of Brighthearth)
    Rowan Kenrith works if you can get to her ultimate. If you can pop it twice, you’ll have 3 emblems because it triggers for herself as well. Other than that, I recommend proliferate and things of that nature for planeswalkers as well. Deepglow Skate works for that as well if you have ways to bounce him, such as Conjurer’s Closet and Deadeye Navigator.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on End Step Effects and Ending the Turn
    Quote from chaikov »
    No. It has already triggered once.
    The ability does not say 'at the beginning of every next turn's end'.
    Only the next one to come.

    If you were to activate Sundial too soon, before it triggered (during Second Main Phase, for example), then yes, it would trigger next turn, since it hasn't triggered yet.


    Ah, I misunderstood when you said it wouldn’t prevent the trigger. That’s basically the answers I was looking for. Thanks for the help!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on End Step Effects and Ending the Turn
    Quote from chaikov »
    Sundial will not prevent those abilities from triggering, but it will remove them before they resolve, so none of these abilities will have its effect:
    -Omnath won't return from exile.
    -The tokens won't be exiled.


    It would trigger again at the next end step after the Sundial was activated then?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on End Step Effects and Ending the Turn
    This is more for “at the beginning of the next end step” type abilities. I’ll give a couple examples.

    1. My opponent controls an Omnath, Locus of Mana. I attack with Identity Thief to copy and exile it until the end of the turn in order to empty that opponents mana pool. At the beginning of the end step, I activate Sundial of the Infinite to end the turn. Does Omnath stay exiled?

    2. I have a Saheeli, the Gifted on the field and use her -7 ability to make a copy of each artifact I control. At the beginning of the end step, I activate Sundial of the Infinite. Do I keep those copies?

    I know the Sundial says “this turn” and “until end of turn” effects end, but these are “at the beginning of the next end step” effects. From my understanding, those are delayed triggers and would use the stack. So if I use the Sundial, would it prevent those effects from triggering at the end step after the one in which I activated the Sundial since the trigger already occurred?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Activated Abilities With “Each”
    I’m looking for non-Legendary cards that have activated abilities with “each” that would stack for each copy of that card to go in a clone-based copy deck I made.

    I’m not looking for mana-based abilities because I already have some and they can’t be copied.

    These are a few examples of what I mean by abilities that stack for each copy:
    Wellwisher
    Harabaz Druid
    Elvish Archdruid
    Priest of Titania
    Wirewood Channeler
    Immaculate Magistrate
    Riptide Director
    Sea Gate Loremaster

    It’s okay if they they include a cost to activate as well, as long as it’s somewhat reasonable. The colors I’m running are red, blue, and green with Riku of Two Reflections as the commander. If possible, I’d like a card that deals damage for each card of that type.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Copying a Copy.. but worse?
    Quote from WizardMN »
    1) You can stack the triggers so the Mimic becomes a copy of something else from the Cryptoplasm ability first. Then, when the trigger resolves to create a copy, you create a copy of whatever you copied (say, a Grizzly Bears) that also has the upkeep trigger to become something else. Neither the Mimic nor the token copy will have a trigger to create a token copy of itself anymore since the Cryptoplasm copy effect overwrites that.

    2) If you use Cryptoplasm to copy the Mimic, it is too late to trigger the "create a token" ability that turn. But, next turn, you will have both trigger to create a token and both will trigger to copy something else. You can effectively double up on your tokens this way. Note, again, that once you copy something else with the Cryptoplasm ability, it loses the ability to make a token.

    3) Both the Progenitor Mimic and the Cryptoplasm's ability are copied when something copies either one. So, if either of these are a Giant Adephage, they will create a token of the Adephage that also has both abilities of the Cryptoplasm and Mimic. Only the ability of the Cryptoplasm works however since the copies are tokens.


    Thanks for the response! Sometimes things with clone effects can get kinda wonky so I was just looking for clarification to make sure things work how I thought and they do. Very helpful!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copying a Copy.. but worse?
    Quote from chaikov »
    If Cryptoplasm copies Giant Adephage and then attacks, the token will be created and will be a copy of Cryptoplasm-now-turned-into-Giant-Adephage-with-the-addition-of-Cryptoplasm's-upkeep-trigger. It's Cryptoplasm's ability will trigger each upkeep.

    Progenitor Mimic is less forgiving with tokens.


    Thank you for the answer! I’m trying to look for more weird broken combos with clones because it gets to be fun when you pull off some weird stuff. I’ve done a weird roundabout mana ramp before using manlands and clones.

    It IS less forgiving with tokens. This is for a copy-based deck though. The tokens themselves don’t make copies, but they DO retain the upkeep ability. I can just toss out a Clone on the token and still get the copies at upkeep. It’s a good backup strategy if the original Progenitor Mimic gets destroyed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copying a Copy.. but worse?
    If I have a Cryptoplasm on the field and have a Progenitor Mimic enter as a copy of it, I can have the Progenitor Mimic copy become another creature and create the token afterwards, right? If I remember right, you pick the order your own upkeep abilities resolve.

    But, if I use the ability of the original Cryptoplasm to copy the Progenitor Mimic version, could I use that copy to make tokens and change what it’s copying at my upkeep as well and still keep both the Mimic token ability as well as the change copy ability?

    Let’s make that more complicated. If I toss out a Giant Adephage after this initial process and have the Progenitor Mimic/Cryptoplasm become a copy of it, attack with those copies to make more token copies and then have the newly created tokens become a copy of something else or do those tokens not retain the copy at upkeep effect? It might be confusing to read this cuz it’s a lot of stuff going on at once but this is one of those weird combinations that I feel needs some clarification before I can use it in an actual game.

    Can I even have the copies made with attacking retain the Cryptoplasm copy ability?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Helm of the Host Trigger
    Does Helm of the Host trigger regardless of whether you choose to attack? I was checking online and from what I’m understanding, you go to the combat phase regardless of whether you declare attackers. It’s just that no attackers would be declared during the declare attackers step. So if I have the Helm equipped to a creature, do I get the token regardless of whether I attack so long as the Helm is equipped?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wren’s Run Packmaster + Simultaneous ETB
    If I have a Wren's Run Packmaster and a couple Elf Druid tokens on the battlefield and an opponent uses Clone Legion on me, does the Wren’s Run Packmaster see the other tokens that entered with it for the purpose of the Champion an Elf effect?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.