Whenever you gain life, you may put a +1/+1 counter on Ajani's Pridemate.
Here is the new errata as of... now I guess.
Whenever you gain life, put a +1/+1 counter on Ajani's Pridemate.
It is extremely rare but there are corner cases where I might NOT want to add a +1/+1 counter. For instance, I sometimes play with or against cards similar to Citywide Bust or Ensnaring Bridge and controlling these +1/+1 counters allows it to survive. Not enough games to be back breaking, but those rare corner cases can decide an outcome. Now... not so much
Thinking I missed an announcement. A quick Google turned up this Reddit thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/magicTCG/comments/ah12ec/ajanis_pridemate_has_been_erratad_to_no_longer_be/
I had this wall of text about my annoyance at this errata but it all really can be boiled down to one simple sentence.
I don't think that such errata is justifiable for Arena or necessary for the card.