Sorry but no, they're invading Ravnica first.
As we all know, the only singular possible thing that the word 'ichor' can refer to in Magic is the Phyrexian goodjuice. Any evidence to the contrary is wrong and should be shouted down and ignored.
Noxious Groodion's flavor text clearly states it slurps ichor, and it was printed before Fountain of Ichor. How could it slurp ichor if there wasn't any already there? Ergo, Tezzeret left some Phyrexian body lotion (ichor) on Ravnica in preparation for the coming invasion.
- Registered User
Member for 3 years, 6 months, and 11 days
Last active Tue, Jun, 18 2019 09:21:45
- 0 Followers
- 921 Total Posts
- 151 Thanks
May 7, 2019Considering the opponent needs to choose to play along, the default effect of this is...Posted in: Custom Card Creation
Create a Treasure token at the beginning of your end step.
Which is pretty underwhelming. You might consider having it come into play with two verse counters instead, and change the wording to
"discard a card with converted mana cost greater than or equal to the number of [...]"
Also, it might be better as an activated ability with an "any player may activate this ability, but only during your end step." clause (something similar having been used in fairly recent cards). That way anyone can get pulled into the con rather than just the player to your left.
May 7, 2019I second it not having negative P/T; that's just overly complicated and means you need more extraneous wording just to obviate it anyways.Posted in: Custom Card Creation
the association between it being a 4/4 and giving the enchanted creature -4/-4 is already intuitive enough; i.e. that Kluxion is "cursing" the creature. However if you're going to give it deathtouch and haste, it really should also give the enchanted creature deathtouch and haste just for flavor/consistency reasons. It could even give +4/-4 just so it has extra usage; vengeance can also mean allowing an ally to attack with reckless strength!
Apr 30, 2019Legions was all creatures, so there's that. Though I imagine you'd be better off with one of the original Zendikar sets just for the annihilator triggers, in terms of both in-game and out-of-game value.Posted in: Magic General
Apr 25, 2019Posted in: Magic Rulings
The simple answer is that there is no "responding to resolve". You may be confused because it is typically possible to respond to a creature's triggered abilities. Muldrotha's abilities are not triggered.Quote from Gashnaw »-Responding to cast
-responding to resolve
-Active player has priority
-active player passes priority.
He would not be able to cast Eternal Witness in response to your Swords to Plowshares, as stated by peteroupc above.Quote from IMInfinity »Just to confirm using my specific set up
Active player cast Muldrotha, the Gravetide, It resolves and enters the battlefield.
Nonactive player cast Swords to Plowshares targeting Muldrotha, the Gravetide.
Active player put casting Eternal Witness from their graveyard utilizing Muldrotha's Ablitiy on the stack.
Nonactive players Swords to Plowshares resolves. Exiling Muldrotha
Active players top object on the stack Eternal Witness resolves and enter the battlefield.
So provided this is true is there a limit, provided they have the mana to so of how many could be put on the stack?
Could they put a Creature, Artifact, Enchantment and Plansewalker all on the stack before Muldrotha is removed?
A more likely scenario is this...
-Active player casts Muldrotha, then passes priority
-Nonactive player has no response to Muldrotha on the stack, and passes priority
-All players have passed priority since Muldrotha was cast. Muldrotha resolves and enters the battlefield, priority returns to active player. (nonactive player cannot currently cast spells, as they don't have priority)
-Active player casts Eternal Witness from GY using Muldrotha's Ability, then passes priority (as they cannot cast other sorcery-speed cards while EWitness is on the stack, unless they have something like a Vedalken Orrery on the field)
-Nonactive player now has priority. This is the first opportunity the nonactive player has to cast a spell while Muldrotha is on the battlefield, rather than the stack. Nonactive player casts Path to Exile targetting Muldrotha. Priority returns to active player.
-Active player has no responses. Spells are still on the stack, so the active player still can't cast other permanents from their grave that don't have flash in some way. Passes priority.
-Nonactive player passes priority. Path to Exile resolves, as it is the top card of the stack and all players (in this example, there are only two) have passed in succession. Path to Exile's effects are carried out, then priority returns to the active player.
-Eternal Witness is still on the stack, active player has no responses and passes.
-Nonactive player has no responses and passes, Eternal Witness resolves, her triggered ability goes on the stack (and a target is selected, and priority returns to the active player.
Hope that helps. Usually all these tiny nuanced steps are skipped over for sake of expediency, but this is how the game works 'beneath the surface'.
Oddly, if Muldrotha entering the battlefield triggers an ability, such as from Essence Warden, then the nonactive player will have a chance to exile Muldrotha as a response to that ability before Muldrotha's controller will be able to cast a non-flash card from their graveyard (they cannot do so when they first receive priority, because an ability is on the stack and permanents are cast at sorcery speed).
Apr 25, 2019Anachronity posted a message on A comically low-effort brawl deck by DirkGently, feat. Jace, Wielder of Mysteriesseems like it could use at least a few counterspells, but I find the idea hilarious.Posted in: Decklists
Apr 25, 2019Anachronity posted a message on Counter Commander, Sac/Search Commander, and Leviathan CommanderTelvera is crazy busted; she needs a T in that cost. That ability is also GU or mono-G, as per Neoform, Birthing Pod, or Eldritch Evolution, rather than BG. Green alone is perfectly willing to sacrifice things for value.Posted in: Custom Card Creation
The other two seem fine, and I'll add that I don't think Reylt necessarily needs green since he's not actually adding counters to anything. Even just UB would be fine.
Apr 25, 2019Commander is already a flat busted pay-to-win format when taken to its extreme. If you're worried about Tezzeret combo decks then you're worried about the wrong thing.Posted in: Commander Rules Discussion Forum
It's a casual format for people to have fun with, and from that perspective there's really no reason that PWs can't be allowed. Your friend can already stroll up with a busted Derevi or Edric or Teferi deck any time they want; the banlist isn't what's keeping this format together.
At the least they could do a 'legal for 1 month' thing for War of the Spark like they did with un-cards for Unstable.
Apr 24, 2019A fun ante format for people with a single consistent playgroup who all like to play cheap jank cards, created based off of a format I saw other people playing at a LGS back when I was a kid...Posted in: Homebrew and Variant Formats
The format uses vintage-legal cards, plus all ante cards.
There are four rules; earlier (i.e. lower-numbered) rules take precedence if two rules conflict.
1: At the start of each game, each player antes the top card of their library. When another player wins, you sign your name on the card you've ante'd (over top of previous signatures, if necessary) and the winner adds it to their deck.
2: You can never remove a signed card from your deck (that is, a card you won as an ante through rule 1).
3: Your deck must contain two of each non-waste basic land card, signed or not.
4: Your deck must contain exactly 60 cards. If you play multiple games in quick succession, don't worry about immediately replacing cards lost to ante.
I don't know that these are the exact rules they'd used; I never thought to ask at the time. There's a good chance I'm re-inventing a format that already exists and which I just haven't heard of. But the intent is the same: to end up with a mish-mash of random janky cards, and have a good time laughing at how horrible these decks eventually become.
Apr 24, 2019Most satisfying win ever for me was at a 2HG Origins tournament during GenCon one year with my brother. We got to see a bunch of really neat costumes, and managed to take first place with an amazing comeback in the final round from 1 life while they were still at 30 (2HG being a best-of-1 format). My brother was in BG, I was in WU.Posted in: Magic General
We stabilized with an Eyeblight Massacre into two Sentinels of the Eternal Watch, one after the other, that kept all the new creatures they played tapped down, knowing their red player had two Lightning Javelins just waiting to show up. Right when they built up enough of a board to be able to swing past the Sentinels next turn despite the taps, my brother played a timely Languish and we swung for the win the following turn.
It was a great time. We won a booster box and no other packs I've opened since have been quite so sweet.
Apr 23, 2019Posted in: Commander (EDH)
If you're playing vampires I would think you'd opt for Malakir Bloodwitch; better body and probably a stronger effect with Edgar.
Apr 22, 2019I wouldn't call her a Mary Sue per se, but that's not to say there isn't a good deal of bad writing surrounding her.Posted in: Magic Storyline
What irks me the most is that this centuries-old planeswalker and master of black magic wouldn't figure out that the all-important contract for her soul defaults to Nicky when she kills all her demons. It's supposed to make Nicol Bolas look more clever and devious than her, but honestly it just makes her look stupid and incompetent instead.
That's my main problem with the whole Nicol Bolas arc. At every turn, WotC's idea of making Nicol Bolas seem like a mastermind is to just make everyone opposing him an idiot. I'm mostly okay with that being the case for the rest of the Gatewatch, since they're all relatively new at this whole planeswalker thing. But it ends up making Liliana a very unbelievable and short-sighted character that just doesn't gel with her own lore. And then she's just overpowered instead to try to make it look like she knows what she's doing.
Apr 19, 2019You could make a planeswalker with all non-loyalty abilities.Posted in: Custom Card Creation
Gatewatch United WUBRG
~ has all loyalty abilities of all other planeswalkers you control
At the beginning of your upkeep, look at the top card of your library. If it's a planeswalker card you may put it onto the battlefield.
Gatewatch United can be your commander
That way grabbing more planeswalkers wouldn't mean you couldn't use a more meaningful loyalty ability, but it's worse at grabbing them to compensate.
Apr 17, 2019Posted in: Custom Card CreationQuote from italofoca »I think that one also needs some rework too. +1/+1 and first strike is not really great effect when the opponent knows it's coming.
You might have a point if it was sorcery speed, but effects like Seal of Strength are very relevant since it changes combat math. You can still swing your two 2/2s past their 3/3, for example.
A name change wouldn't hurt, though.
I think all of these are great. As with any cycle of effects-based-on-color, some are going to be slightly preferable to others.
Though in a vacuum I'm left wondering why these are artifacts instead of instants, it's not hard to justify it in an artifact-centric or permanent-centric set, or in any set that wants a higher permanent count, like if revolt or ascend are in it.
Apr 17, 2019The keyword 'imprint' shouldn't be used for a card outside of a set that features it; but the ability works just fine as-worded without the preceding 'imprint'Posted in: Custom Card Creation
I honestly think this would be green over red, since green handles returning permanents and blue handles returning nonpermanents. The white is largely thematic, though also justifies the token theme and being able to potentially aid others.
Overall a very cool card.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.