A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Flickerform and the Command Zone
    1. Flickerform is attached to Kestia, the Cultivator who is a creature and my commander. I activate Flickerform and send Kestia to the command zone. Does Kestia come back via Flickerform's delayed trigger?
    2. Flickerform is attached to another nontoken creature and Kestia, my commander, is bestowed on that creature. I activate Flickerform and send Kestia to the command zone. Does Kestia come back via Flickerform's delayed trigger?

    I'm pretty sure it's "yes" to #1 and "no" to #2, because Flickerform's first "return" instruction doesn't refer to a specified zone and the second one does. Could I get clarification on that and, if possible and convenient, C.R. citation? Thank you for your time.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [[Official]] Bad Advertisements Report Thread
    So I video captured the redirect ad and right before I see goodluckday.site on my url bar, I very briefly see workcacenter.space. I'm not sure what that means, but I hope it helps.
    Posted in: Forum Software Feedback and Bug Reports
  • posted a message on Haakon and Ashes of the Fallen
    So let me see if I got the final verdict correctly.

    Because you check if a spell can be cast both before (601.3) and after (601.2e) it moves to the stack, creature cards that are not normally knights can't be cast with Haakon even with Ashes of the Fallen on knights. And you can't cast Zoetic Cavern face-down either with Garruk's Horde from the top of your library or with Haakon and Ashes from your graveyard. I'm a little surprised that 707.4 didn't kick in with Garruk's Horde if all this is true.

    Could someone confirm?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Haakon and Ashes of the Fallen
    Concerning the combination of these two cards, Haakon, Stromgald Scourge and Ashes of the Fallen, does this actually work in general with creature spells that are not normally knights? Also, would it work with a face-down Zoetic Cavern?

    My intuition says no. I know from previous clarifications that you can cast a Zoetic Cavern face-down from the top of your library while you control Garruk's Horde, because it's a creature when you turn it face-down as per the rules of morph. However, while it would remain a creature when you put it on the stack, it wouldn't remain a knight, because Ashes of the Fallen only applies to cards in your graveyard. Presumably, the game checks if your spell can be legally cast right before you determine costs, use mana abilities and pay costs, but I'm not sure how that applies here.

    There is a decade-old thread about this interaction that left the subject hanging. Maybe the rules changed since then, but either way, could I get some clarification on this?

    Old thread:
    https://www.mtgsalvation.com/forums/magic-fundamentals/magic-rulings/magic-rulings-archives/261349-haakon-and-his-knights
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Self-Replacement Effects
    After Feather, the Redeemed got spoiled, it got my brain turning on how replacement effects interact, and I would like to confirm something about cards with Flashback like Sieze the Day or cards that don't normally go to the graveyard after they resolve like Blue Sun's Zenith or Eldritch Evolution. None of those are examples of self-replacement effects, right? I imagine they're not, because they don't replace any written instruction on the spell's effect, but the definition of self-replacement is a bit hazy for me, so I would like to be sure.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Simultaneous Effects?
    Sorry for the double post, but I just realized something:

    If a replacement effect replaces one action with a modified event that involves two actions (drawing and dealing damage), wouldn't those actions in the modified event be sequential?

    EDIT: And it was all for naught. C.R. 120.7 says they are sequential if part of an event would be replaced with card draw.

    Sigh. Oh well!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Simultaneous Effects?
    YAY!

    I knew 104.3f would be possible somehow.

    Thank you!

    EDIT: NVM, see post below.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Simultaneous Effects?
    Does that mean my opponent takes zero damage whether or not an effect prevented me from losing the game?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Simultaneous Effects?
    Okay, so here's my scenario:

    I have an empty library and both me and my opponent are at 40 life. I control the following: Firesong and Sunspeaker, Laboratory Maniac, and Nefarious Lich.

    I cast Char targeting my opponent. In response, my opponent exiles my graveyard with Rakdos Charm. Char then resolves.

    What happens?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Midnight Reaper question
    I have a follow up, but at this point, I'm gonna post it to a new thread since it no longer deals with Midnight Reaper. Thank you for your good humor and patience.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Midnight Reaper question
    I see.

    One more question:

    Is the life gain and life loss caused by damage from a source with lifelink simultaneous too?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Midnight Reaper question
    I'm not sure that's the same situation, though, because Destructive Revelry has its two effects split into two sentences, whereas Midnight Reaper's damage and draw have an "and" in between them. Does that make no difference?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Midnight Reaper question
    Regarding Midnight Reaper's trigger, does the damage and card draw happen simultaneously, or is it damage then draw in that order?

    I may have a follow-up question depending on the answer.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Imprisoned in the moon and spreading seas
    I'll let someone else answer, but I believe Spreading Seas would, at that point, be enchanting an object illegally and would therefore fall off as per state-based actions. Unlike Imprisoned in the Moon and Song of the Dryads, Spreading Seas doesn't actually change the permanent type of the enchanted object. Both of the former specify that the permanent becomes a "land", whereas Spreading Seas merely specifies a basic land type which only lands can have or gain.

    EDIT: I thought I was the first to answer. Lol
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Guardian Beast and "gaining" control
    I control an untapped Guardian Beast and a Treasure Nabber. My opponent taps a Sol Ring for mana during their turn, and I gain control of it. What happens when I end my turn? C.R. citation, if possible, would be most appreciated. Mostly, I'm just wondering what constitutes "gaining control" of something.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.