2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Bronzehide lion with mimic vat
    More fundamentally is:
    111.8. A token that has left the battlefield can’t move to another zone or come back onto the battlefield. If such a token would change zones, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked

    For example, you cannot use Cloudshift to regen a token. It will be exiled, not returned, and cease to exist next time SBAs are checked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Karador and Bestow
    Quote from peteroupc »
    With the release of Theros Beyond Death, the answer to comment 1 has changed. When that set is released, and in preleases:

    If you control Teferi and would cast a creature card with bestow from your graveyard any time you couldn't otherwise cast that card, but any time you could cast an instant:
    • You can't choose to cast that card bestowed. In that case, "only [that card's] characteristics as modified by the bestow ability are evaluated to determine if it can be cast" (C.R. 702.102a-c). (But note that that rule speaks of "spells", not "cards".) If you choose to apply bestow, the game would see Karador as an Aura enchantment spell, not a creature spell (C.R. 702.102a-c), so that Karador wouldn't have flash and you can't cast Karador this way at that time (C.R. 702.8a; see also C.R. 601.3d). But...
    • You can still choose to cast the card normally, since it's a creature card and Teferi would thus give it flash (C.R. 702.8a).

    EDIT: Correction.

    This answers the issue about Teferi under the new rules but not Karador. C.R. 702 doesn't apply because Karador has no keyword ability. The ultimate question is whether checking the legality of moving a card from a particular zone onto the stack is checked immediately under C.R. 601.2a or later after all choices are made for the proposed spell under C.R. 601.2e.

    Is there an Oracle or Judge ruling that someone can quote to provide a definitive answer?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Confirming something for myself about Conspire and As an Additional Cost
    Quote from MadMageQc »
    You can actually both sacrifice Wort to the Evolution's additional cost and conspire. Both the sacrifice and the tapping are additional costs, and different costs can be paid in any order, so during the casting process, you can first tap Wort and conspire, then sacrifice her. The conspire triggered ability will be put on the stack and give you a copy with 6 as the information for the sacrificed creature's CMC.

    Am I missing something here?

    From Wort's gatherer page:
    Some spells instruct you to sacrifice a creature as an additional cost to cast that spell. If you sacrifice Wort to pay that cost, that spell won’t have conspire at the moment it becomes cast, so conspire won’t trigger, even if you tapped two creatures.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Unsure about rule 120.8 (Card drawn while casting)
    Quote from Lithl »
    Quote from davidb32 »
    Modern, improved shufflers (like the Eldrazi titans) use a triggered ability that triggers from the graveyard and thus avoid this issue (most likely to occur due to manifest).
    Err... you realize that the original three Eldrazi titans (the ones that have the shuffle trigger, since the return to Zendikar and return to Innistrad versions of them didn't have that ability) were printed before Blightsteel Colossus? Same is true for Nexus of Fate, as well. This isn't a case of the triggered shuffle being the new standard, like with Banishing Light vs. Oblivion Ring.

    You are correct. I apologize. I've edited my post to remove the words "modern" and "improved".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Unsure about rule 120.8 (Card drawn while casting)
    You can't avoid shuffling Blightsteel Colossus into your library if it would be put into a graveyard from anywhere. It doesn't matter if it's face down before the movement.

    Unless Wizards changed something and I don't know about it, your statement is wrong.
    Replacement effects need to exist prior to an event to apply. Prior to discarding the Progenitus or Colossus, it is face-down and thus has no characteristics including no rule text. Thus the replacement ability simply doesn't exist and thus cannot modify the discard event.

    Other shufflers (like the Eldrazi titans) use a triggered ability that triggers from the graveyard and thus avoid this issue (most likely to occur due to manifest).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Unsure about rule 120.8 (Card drawn while casting)
    Quote from chaikov »
    Thank you!
    It is my opinion that this rule is not explicit enough in expressing these facts. Perhaps Wizards should consider re-writing it?

    Given that Selvala reveals the very cards that are going to drawn face-down and there hasn't been any problems with her, perhaps Wizards should consider doing away with this rule completely.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ochran Assassin ruling
    Quote from kysg »
    Quote from MadMageQc »

    Normally, unless you somehow raise the Assassin's power, it will only be able to kill one blocker since you only have 1 power to assign among the blockers. But each addtional point of power you grant to the Assassin with effects allows you to assign one additional point of deathtouch-bearing damage to another blocker.

    I don't really get this, it seems that raising the power wouldn't do much...further clarification is needed. Also giving the creature First Strike allow it to kill all respective blockers?

    You may misunderstand how deathtouch works. Deathtouch means that any positive amount of damage dealt by the source with deathtouch is considered lethal damage. But the source still needs to deal at least 1 point of damage to each creature that you want to die, (a creature in combat with a deathtouch source, but being assigned no damage points will not die). Since the Assassin's base power is 1, it has only 1 point of damage to deal in each combat damage step. Which means only one of the blocking creatures will die.
    Increasing its power means more points of damage it can assign, which means more creatures can die.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Chance For Glory Twice??
    Quote from Trancebam »
    The only feasible way to counter that game loss is with an effect like that of Time Stop.

    Voidslime or Stifle would work as well. The lose the game effect is part of a delayed triggered ability and thus can be targeted and countered.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Chainer and Conspiracy
    Yes it uses timestamp order since there is no dependency.
    There are two possibilities:

    1. If Conspiracy enters after Chainer's ability resolves, the creature will be the Conspiracy chosen type and not any other types.

    2. If Chainer's ability resolves after Conspiracy enters, the creature will be both the Conspiracy chosen type and Nightmare type.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Turn aside.. on Ulamog?
    The only permanent spells which target are Aura spells. All other permanent spells (including creatures such as Ulamog) do not target, and therefore, are not a valid target for Turn Aside.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lich's Mirror timing and a possible follow-up
    I don't think 704.3 is unintuitive. It is there to ensure that SBAs begin and end together as atomic actions. That is, with respect to each other there are only two gamestates that exist for SBAs, the state before all SBAs are performed and the state after all SBA's are performed.

    Imagine a hypothetical creature with the ability "As long as this creature is in a graveyard, players can't draw cards." If both this creature would be destroyed and Lich's Mirror's controller would lose simultaneously as SBAs, without 704.3, there would be no principled way to determine if the Mirror player draws cards or not. With 704.3, it is clear there can exist no gamestate wherein the creature is in the graveyard yet the Mirror player hasn't completed the entire multi-step SBA. Thus the player does draw.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Worms of the Earth and Life and Limb
    Quote from Nylon »
    Except that, as I already told you, the rule 108.2a that you are referring to no longer exists (including the exception for Hedron Alignment, which is no longer needed); rule 614.16d has just been created specifically to clarify Grafdigger's Cage; and the new Gatherer rulings for Grafdigger's Cage confirm what I am saying.

    I've read the new rulings for Grafdigger. Clearly they imply that Grafdigger's first ability is "Creatures can't enter ..." not "Creature cards can't enter ...". Wizards needs to change the text of Grafdigger post haste.

    Also nylon, while you a correct that the templating (and to a lesser extent rulings) has always used casting/playing cards vs casting/playing spells to mean the same thing, no such confusion exists between cards and permanents. Cards and permanents are very distinct objects rules-wise and Grafdigger's current text cannot be matched up with it's current rulings. One or the other must give.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Worms of the Earth and Life and Limb
    How does the new 614.16d apply to Grafdigger?
    Grafdigger refers to cards not permanents.
    Is Grafdigger getting an Oracle change to its rule text?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Worms of the Earth and Life and Limb
    How is this situation different than Startled Awake and Grafdigger's Cage?

    No land card/spell is entering with regard to Worms. Even though for ETBs a land has entered.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on I know this question is probably stupid but...
    The previous replies have completely addressed your question in technical terms. I would like to add for your own education, that you appear to be confusing timing restrictions with summoning sickness restrictions.

    Unless otherwise stated explicitly by the ability itself (for a keyword ability such language may be in the rules rather than printed on the card, e.g. equip), all activated abilities have what is called "instant timing". You may activate them anytime you could cast an instant.

    Summoning sickness restrictions are not timing restrictions, they are action restrictions.
    A summoning sick creature cannot be declared an attacker nor can you pay for any tap/untap symbol costs associated with that creature's own abilities.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.