2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Nightveil Specter Castings
    No.

    607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to “the exiled cards” or to cards “exiled with [this object],” these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

    607.5. If an object acquires a pair of linked abilities as part of the same effect, the abilities will be similarly linked to one another on that object even though they weren’t printed on that object. They can’t be linked to any other ability, regardless of what other abilities the object may currently have or may have had in the past.


    The abilities of Arc-slogger (clone) and the Nightveil Specter are not linked. The second ability of Nightveil Spector refers only to cards exiled due to the first ability of Nightveil Spector and not any cards exiled any other way.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Whip it good
    Yes, whether it is exiled due to Whip's delayed triggered ability or due to Whip's replacement effect does not matter. The God-Eternal's triggered ability will trigger from exile and place it back into it's owner's library third from the top.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Umori, the Collector Tribal Deck
    Legendary is NOT a card type. It is a supertype.

    Umori's companion ability requires each non-land card to share a card type such as "Artifact, Creature, Instant, Sorcery", etc.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sarkhan the Masterless and mutate
    As keep in mind that The Chain Veil will not recognize non-planeswalker permanents that have loyalty abilities, for either of its two abilities.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Case where: Sunbird's Invocation is revealing a search spell
    In addition to Argus's answer:

    Even if your example used say cascade, an ability which has you exile the cards from your library, cast one of them from exile, and then return the rest to your library, Demonic Tutor would still work. When you cast the card from exile, like all casting, it goes on the stack, but nothing happens with it yet. You will finish resolving the cascade ability before you can resolve the Demonic Tutor, meaning the other cards will have been returned to your library from exile and Demonic Tutor will be able to find them.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Comeuppance and Copy Effect
    Quote from kp256 »
    Isn't Comeuppance a prevention effect, not a replacement effect?

    You are correct. Comeuppance is governed by 615.5.
    615.5. Some prevention effects also include an additional effect, which may refer to the amount of
    damage that was prevented. The prevention takes place at the time the original event would have
    happened; the rest of the effect takes place immediately afterward.


    But see 614.5, which Rezzahan refers to:
    614.5. A replacement effect doesn’t invoke itself repeatedly; it gets only one opportunity to affect an
    event or any modified events that may replace it.


    Chapter 615 (Prevention Effects) lacks a comparable rule. A 615.5a should probably be added that explicitly states that a prevention effect's additional effect cannot cause that prevention effect to invoke itself repeatedly, mirroring 614.5.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Life and Limb with Changelings
    Also, you may not realize this but as long as Life and Limb is on the battlefield all creatures with Changeling and Mistform Ultimus will have base power & toughness of 1/1.
    Even if it worked (which it doesn't), it would lack the utility you want.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Life and Limb with Changelings
    In addition to what user_938036 said:

    Rampant Growth requires you to find a "basic land" card. The card must have both the land type AND the basic supertype.
    To my knowledge, there is no card printed with an effect that adds the basic supertype.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Putting Someone's Commander from the Command Zone to their Graveyard
    The command zone and exile zone are different zones. Abilities that refer to one don't affect/target the other.

    The cards you mentioned cannot affect cards in the command zone.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Saga and Contagion Engine
    The triggered chapter abilities are only put on the stack once Contagion's ability is finished resolving, the next time SBA's are checked.

    So, yes, you decide the order.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Egg defender
    No, Atla Palani must be on the battlefield at the moment an Egg dies for her ability to trigger. If she dies simultaneously with an Egg, the ability will trigger, but if she has left the battlefield before the Egg dies, there is no trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Repeating Saga's Final Ability
    Quote from peteroupc »
    In general, no. The check whether a Saga has "too many" lore counters (not: chapter counters) on it happens before any player gets priority to cast spells or activate abilities (e.g., Vampire Hexmage's ability) (C.R. 117.5, 704.5s).

    In general, you put a lore counter on Sagas you control as a turn-based action in the precombat main phase (C.R. 505.4). After that, you sacrifice each Saga you control with at least as many lore counters on it as its final chapter number, and this happens before any player gets priority (C.R. 505.4, 505.5, 117.5, 704.5s).



    Why can't a player respond to the final chapter ability while it's still on the stack and remove lore counters?
    The sacrifice state based action only occurs once the chapter ability leaves the stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Apex Altisaur enrage trigger
    Both the ETB and enrage triggers use the phrase "up to one target". That means the controller of those abilities may choose zero targets if they want.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Facedown exile and exiled abilities
    True, I assumed "the spell or ability that exiled it" means "the spell or ability that exiled it (or an ability linked to that exiling ability)".
    That seems logical, but I am open to being corrected.



    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Facedown exile and exiled abilities
    Quote from peteroupc »
    After rereading the rules, I was wrong in part. Even on December 1, 2017, when the Ixalan version of the rules were in effect, C.R. 406.3 read in part: "Unless [a face-down card in exile] is being cast face down ..., the card is turned face up just before the player announces that [they are] playing the card", and this is still the case as of Theros Beyond Death. Thus, if you own Misthollow Griffin or Eternal Scourge face down in exile, and at least if you're otherwise allowed to look at either card, you may still begin to cast that card face up. As part of doing so, you turn the card face up before announcing you will cast that card from exile. This conclusion is reinforced by C.R. 601.3e, a rule added in Throne of Eldraine.



    I'm not sure I agree.

    406.3. Exiled cards are, by default, kept face up and may be examined by any player at any time. Cards
    “exiled face down” can’t be examined by any player except when instructions allow it. However,
    once a player is allowed to look at a card exiled face down, that player may continue to look at that
    card as long as it remains exiled, even if the instruction allowing the player to do so no longer
    applies. A card exiled face down has no characteristics, but the spell or ability that exiled it may
    allow it to be played from exile. Unless that card is being cast face down (see rule 707.4), the card
    is turned face up just before the player announces that they are playing the card (see rule 601.2).


    That last sentence would appear to reference the second to last. That sentence is concerned with the hideaway ability and it's linked cast from exile ability.

    A card exiled face down has no characteristics, but the spell or ability that exiled it may
    allow it to be played from exile. Unless that card is being cast face down (see rule 707.4), the card
    is turned face up just before the player announces that they are playing the card (see rule 601.2).

    It is hard to see how the rule authorizes the announcement of casting due to an ability the face-down card would have if face-up but currently doesn't have.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.