2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Copy Creature Spell interaction with Double Major
    Double Major

    Your brother is correct.
    Double Major creates a copy of a spell whose copiable characteristics does not include the legendary supertype. When that spell copy resolves, the token that enters the battlefield will likewise not have the legendary supertype in its copiable characteristics.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sphinx of the Second Sun triggers
    It depends.

    While each main phase except the first one is considered a post-combat main phase, some additional combat phase granting effects also produce an additional main phase and some do not.

    Compare aggravated assault with Aurelia, the Warleader.

    Effects such as Assault will allow Sphinx to trigger again, Aurelia will not.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Damage, -1/-1, and Indestructible
    Does source A have wither or infect?

    Otherwise, you end up with a creature with 2 toughness and 2 damage marked on it, but due to indestructible it isn't destroyed.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hushbringer Oracle ruling question
    Quote from peteroupc »

    Just as an aside, it's the same principle that arguably allows triggered abilities of the form "Whenever you sacrifice..." (e.g., Savra, Queen of the Golgari) to trigger more than once due to Teysa Karlov (or not to trigger due to Hushbringer), because sacrificing a creature includes putting that creature into the graveyard (C.R. 701.17a).

    Actually:
    10/4/2019 An ability that triggers on an event that causes a creature to die will still trigger. For example, an ability that triggers “whenever you sacrifice a creature” still triggers.


    This card's rulings are all over the place. Either the card cares about the trigger condition or it cares about the result of the event. It can't have it both ways based on the case by case whim of Wizard's R&D/Rules Management.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hushbringer Oracle ruling question
    Hushbringer
    Syr Konrad, the Grim
    10/4/2019 An ability that triggers on a card leaving a zone (such as that of Syr Konrad, the Grim) won’t trigger if that card is leaving its previous zone because it’s entering the battlefield as a creature.

    Can anyone tell me what C.R. rules cover this ruling? I'm having a hard time understanding it.

    Regardless of whether Bloodghast is entering the battlefield or an embalm creature is exiling itself, Syr Konrad is looking for the creature card leaving the graveyard, so why does Hushbringer interfere with the Konrad/Bloodgast trigger?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hushbringer - Emrakul
    Looks like you edited your post after the first answer to specific the first triggered ability rather than the last.

    The answer is no.

    Emrakul's extra turn triggered ability triggers when the spell becomes cast, not when the permanent enters the battlefield. Hushbringer doesn't interfere with "on cast" triggered abilities.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mystic Reflection and decay
    As peteroupc alluded to, it depends on the wording of the token creating effect. Whether decayed is part of the token's copiable characteristics or whether it gains decayed after being created, is dispositive.

    For the same issue involving haste, compare Akroan Crusader with Feldon of the Third Path.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kokusho, the Evening Star in Multiplayer game
    While Kokusho's ability will trigger, the ability will never reach the stack, let alone resolve. When you leave the game any triggered abilities you control waiting to be put on the stack cease to exist. Any abilities already on the stack that you control are removed and cease to exist.

    This is not a SBA; it happens immediately as part of leaving the game.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Leeching Lurker+Metamorphic Alteration
    702.145b Daybound is found on the front faces of some transforming double-faced cards and represents three static abilities. “Daybound” means [...] “As it becomes night, if this permanent is front face up, transform it,” [...]

    702.145e Nightbound is found on the back faces of some transforming double-faced cards and represents two static abilities. “Nightbound” means “As it becomes day, if this permanent is back face up, transform it” [...]

    702.145f Any time a player controls a permanent that is back face up with nightbound and it’s day, that player transforms that permanent. This happens immediately and isn’t a state-based action.

    ----

    Thus the permanent will transform (become front-face up), however, the copy effect will continue to apply in layer 1 and it's visible and copiable characteristics will be unchanged.

    It will not try to transform again and again because 702.145f only applies to a back-face up bound-type TDFC. It will also not transform as it becomes night later on because that is a game rule of the "daybound" ability and the copy effect prevents the permanent from being daybound.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Is Gatherer wrong?
    Chance for Glory's delayed triggered ability looks for a specific event: the beginning of the end step of the extra turn created by Chance itself.
    There is no triggering event that can occur on any other turn. Thus if the the triggering event is skipped (such as Time Stop earlier in the extra turn) or the triggered ability is exiled (Time Stop while ability is on the stack) or countered (as with Stifle), the event can never happen again and the triggered ability can never occur again.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Using Scion the Ur-Dragon 's Ability Repeatedly with the Same Creature
    Edit: didn't read the card correctly
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Suspend and "Cast"
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    Talking about the card Suspend. The wording makes it possible to exile a man-land and "play" it after the last counter is removed, though traditionally suspend wording let you "cast" things. I presume if I play a creature via this card, it's considered as a cast too?


    Your question is confusing. Did you exile a noncreature land card that becomes a creature, or did you exile a creature card?


    You may have misread the card.
    Suspend targets a creature permanent not a card or spell.
    An animated Blinkmoth could be targeted and end up in exile as a suspended land card.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Blinkmoth Nexus, Augmenter Pugilist, Echoing Equation
    In this situation, you would end up with only 7 lands.

    The former Blinkmoth Nexus will be named Augmenter Pugilist, be green, be 1/1, have trample, flying and the +5/+5 ability, and have the types Artifact Creature -- Blinkmoth.
    Notably it will not have the Land type.

    It is important to understand that the phrase "It's still a land." does not add the Land type to the affected object. That phrase has the same meaning as "in addition to its other types."
    In this instance, a separate part of the rule strips the previous creature subtypes so only Blinkmoth remains.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Suspend and "Cast"
    The term "play" means to cast a card as a spell or play the card as a land, whichever is appropriate.

    So yes, non-land cards are cast due to suspend's triggered ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mairsil and Graveyard Abilities
    Quote from Sylux252 »
    Is it not similar to Serra avatar’s power and toughness ability.


    No, Serra Avatar has a characteristic-defining ability. These work in all zones and even outside the game (for wish type effects) and before the game begins (for deck building purposes).
    See 113.6a, 208.2a, and 604.3



    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.