2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Janky Clone Combos?
    Argus,

    I think you misread the question.
    The Helm is removing the legendary type from the token's copiable values then (a moment later) the token's own replacement effect gives it the legendary type in layer 1.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Two Phasing questions
    Quote from peteroupc »
    Quote from davidb32 »
    peteroupc,

    I think you are missing something.

    During the untap step, one rule causes all directly phased-out permanents to phase-in. Then a second rule causes all indirectly phased-out permanents to phase-in if their associated directly phased-out permanent just phased-in.
    Thirdly, a permanent that phases-out both directly and indirectly is deemed to be indirectly phased-out.

    The net effect is that an Aura ball cannot phase-in during the untap step because there is no associated directly phased-out permanent to phase-in.
    The Aura ball will only phase-in if a non-rule (from a spell or ability) effect phases-in permanents.
    As for the untap step, C.R. 502.1 says: "all phased-out permanents that the active player controlled when they phased out phase in", without making any distinction on whether any of those permanents phased out directly or indirectly. Thus, all such permanents phase in as the untap step begins.


    502.1 references 702.25 including:
    702.25f When a permanent phases out, any Auras, Equipment, or Fortifications attached to that permanent phase out at the same time. This alternate way of phasing out is known as phasing out “indirectly.” An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification that phased out indirectly won’t phase in by itself, but instead phases in along with the permanent it’s attached to.


    An Aura ball is all phased out indirectly and therefore cannot phase in by itself.



    According to your interpretation, three years ago when tokens still ceased to exist when phased out, an Equipment attached to a token that phases out would phase back in during the untap step. This is black letter law wrong.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Two Phasing questions
    peteroupc,

    I think you are missing something.

    During the untap step, one rule causes all directly phased-out permanents to phase-in. Then a second rule causes all indirectly phased-out permanents to phase-in if their associated directly phased-out permanent just phased-in.
    Thirdly, a permanent that phases-out both directly and indirectly is deemed to be indirectly phased-out.

    The net effect is that an Aura ball cannot phase-in during the untap step because there is no associated directly phased-out permanent to phase-in.
    The Aura ball will only phase-in if a non-rule (from a spell or ability) effect phases-in permanents.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on muldrotha + dryad of the ilysian grove
    Quote from kp256 »
    An exception would be a land with another permanent type like artifact (Tree of Tales) but that would use up your chance to play an artifact from your graveyard.

    With the release of Commander Legends, this is no longer correct. Muldrothra has received functional changes to her rule text. She no longer plays all permanent types, but rather explicitly plays a land and casts a card of each permanent type.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Detection Tower / Glaring Spotlight vs Veilstone Amulet
    No, it is not the same as hexproof. So the tower doesn't beat it.

    There are two situations where veilstone will show a difference.
    1. If a creature changes controller, veilstone's effect no longer applies.
    2. Creatures that enter the battlefield after veilstone's ability resolves will be covered by the effect.

    Neither would be true if veilstone gave hexproof to the affected creatures.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Multiple Light of Promise
    Correct.

    Each Aura gives the creature a separate triggered ability. Each ability resolves separately and adds counters equal to the amount of life gained.


    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Atla and Amorphous Axe/Runed Stalactite
    Yes, you get the triggered ability.

    LTB triggers look back in time to determine the gamestate. At the time Atla left the battlefield she had the Egg subtype. Atla's ability looks for an Egg permanent dying not for an Egg card entering the graveyard.



    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Emry Combo
    No.
    The special action of suspending a card only works from your hand not any other zone.

    702.61a
    Suspend is a keyword that represents three abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with suspend is in a player’s hand. (...) “Suspend N—[cost]” means “If you could begin to cast this card by putting it onto the stack from your hand, you may pay [cost] and exile it with N time counters on it. This action doesn’t use the stack.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi on Arixmethes, Slumbering Isle
    The phrase "It's still a [type]" has the exact same rules meaning as the phrase "in addition to its other types".
    It does not add any types rather it is an instruction that the effect does not strip away any previously present types.
    C.R. 201.5b

    Vitu's effect could have been written: Put nine +1/+1 counters on target land you control. It becomes a legendary 0/0 Elemental creature in addition to its other types with haste named Vitu-Ghazi.


    In general, the design team will use "in addition to its other types" when that phrase can be placed at the end of a sentence. If it needs to be placed in the middle of a sentence, they will use "Its still a type" instead.
    There is no rules difference; it's just a matter of English language readability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi on Arixmethes, Slumbering Isle
    604.3a A static ability is a characteristic-defining ability if it meets the following criteria: ... (5) it does not set the values of such characteristics only if certain conditions are met.


    Arixmethes's ability doesn't meet the definition for a CDA.

    It doesn't matter for this question since the printed ability will always have an earlier timestamp than the later resolving spell, but it is important to point out.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Responding to General Kudro of Drannith triggered ability.
    No.

    Kudro's triggered ability targets the card to be exiled. Thus the choice must be made when the ability is put on the stack. Cards that enter an opponent's graveyard later will not be a valid choice as target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sacrificing in response to sacrificing?
    In the most common case, you cannot do what you propose.

    Most such effects are similar to, "Target player sacrifices a creature."
    In such a case, the choice of object to sacrifice is made while the spell or ability resolves. During this time, no player can take actions like sacrificing to pay for another spell or ability's cost.


    In the much rarer case of an effect that reads similar to, "Choose target permanent. Its controller sacrifices it.", it's a different matter. That chosen object is locked in when the spell or ability is placed on the stack. Players are free to interact with the chosen object before the spell or ability resolves.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Riku & Riku & Riku...
    Yes, you will create a copy of the spell.

    Neither of Riku's abilities target. If the object to be copied is not in the expected zone, the game will use last known information about the object to create the copy.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Imprint
    Quote from MadMageQc »
    While playing, a card's color is defined by its mana cost, or its color indicator (small circle next to the type line)


    Nitpick:
    Or it's color defining CDA, of which there are currently exactly two such cards. (Transguild Courier & Sphinx of the Guildpact)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Child of Alara, Witch's Oven, Journey to Eternity
    Quote from Rezzahan »

    Of course, stacking the triggers in reverse order will have the same outcome.

    Not true.

    In the reverse order, the returned Child will get destroyed by the old Child's triggered ability. (And the new Child sets off another dies trigger.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.