2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Sudden spoiling vs Starfield + mirari's wake
    Mirari's Wake
    Starfield of Nyx
    Sudden Spoiling

    Due to Sudden Spoiling, Mirari's Wake loses all its abilities. This happens in layer 6, which is before layer 7, where power/toughness modifying effects are applied. So that ability doesn't exist when it would be applied and there's no +1/+1 for any of your creatures. The Wake's second ability is checked, when you tap a land for mana, but that ability is also not there when this is checked, so you don't get additional mana. So yes, Mirari's Wake will be just a 0/2 without any of its abilities.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on How to Factor Haktos' Random Protection Values in Your Favor
    Furthermore, as per rule 705.3 cited above any proposed method of creating a random result must be accepted by all players. If your opponent doesn't agree, then no matter what mental gymnastics you try, you are not allowed to use it.
    705.3
    ...and all players agree to the substitution...

    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Smokestack and leyline of sanctity ? Protection or no?
    Hexproof only prevents targeting from spells and abilities controlled by opponents. The lack of the word "target" in Smokestack's abilities means, thee is no targeting happening here. Only the word "target" indicates targets in Magic, either in the card's text or in the rules for keyword abilities (this includes "enchant", making aura spells targeted).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Gallia and Library of Leng
    The Library creates a replacement effect, it is not a trigger. It can replace events even in the middle of a spell or ability resolving. Thus, instead of discarding a random card into the graveyard you discard the random card to the top of the library (if you so choose). Then you draw two cards.

    Library will apply to each Gallia in the same fashion as above. So for each of them, you will always discard first to the library (if you so choose), then draw two cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kozilek, the Great Distortion and artifact sweeps
    Such questions are better asked in the rules forum.

    Anyways, no. Kozilek, the Great Distortion is not an artifact. A permanent is only an artifact, if it has the artifact card type on its type line, or is made an artifact by some effect. Kozilek has the supertype "legendary" making it subject to the legend rule, the card type "creature", and the creature (sub)type "Eldrazi". But Kozilek being colorless doesn't make it an artifact.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Umezawa's Jitte rulings
    The first ruling is the one applicable to your scenario. The other is for when the Jitte is on the battlefield but not equipped at the time the ability resolves (which can happen if the creature gets protection from artifacts in response, for example). In your scenario the Jitte is gone, so last known information (LKI) is used, and its LKI includes it being attached to the creature. In the second ruling, the Jitte is still around but no equipped creature exists, so the ability has no information about any creature to receive the +2/+2 and does nothing. LKI doesn't come into play as current information is available due to the Jitte still existing.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Help with Mono W Enchant Deck
    Glorious Anthem is pretty bad in comparision to other such cards. For example, you could run at least a few copies of Spear of Heliod (legendary, though, Frown ), for some improvement. Or run some bigger versions, like more copies of Cathars' Crusade (they are cumulative!), Dictate of Heliod, etc.
    Posted in: Multiplayer
  • posted a message on Flicker of Fate
    @peteroupc
    The target of Flicker of Fate in the scenario is Iroas's Blessing, not the Catoblepas.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Flicker of Fate
    The Catoblepas survives. Since Flicker was responded to with Omen, Omen resolves first, its trigger goes on the stack (above Flicker) and targets the Catoblepas. Next, that trigger resolves dealing 2 damage to the creature (now a 4/3 with 2 damage marked). Next, Flicker gets to resolve. The Blessing leaves the battlefield, then returns attached to a creature of its controller's choosing (reenchanting the Catoblepas in this case). While the creature is a 3/2 with lethal damage marked for a short period of time during the resolution of the Flicker, SBAs aren't checked during the resolution of spells and abilities. Only afterwards. And at that time, the Catoblpas is a 4/3 with 2 damage marked, which is not lethal.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Help with Mono W Enchant Deck
    Well, an easy cut is Common Cause. Because the likelihood of that card doing anything in a multiplayer game without color shenanigans in your deck is almost zero. Because "all" means all, every single creature on the battlefield (that is not an artifact) must share the same color with every other, not just the ones you control.
    Posted in: Multiplayer
  • posted a message on Sylvan Safekeeper targets
    Quote from FeederJones »
    So if i understand correctly - After you sacrifice the land and have drawn the card because of Gitrogs effect, you can activate Sylvan Safekeepers ability again on Gitrog to draw another? Smile

    Yes. As long as no Safekeeper activation has resolved, The Gitrog Monster doesn't have shroud and can be the target of spells and abilities, the Safekeeper's ability included.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Current issues with the comprehensive rules of Magic
    Yes, there are a number of cards that interact with suspended cards by putting time counters on them. Like Dust of Moments, Joira's Time Bug, Timecrafting, etc. Suspend itself gives objects in exile counters. Don't forget the cards, that resuspend themselves with time counters. There's also Lightning Storm as a example of a card outside the realm of suspend.

    And yes, I realize, that all those examples say, who puts the counters on. But they do use the terminology of putting counters on those objects, and the rules meant to explain that terminology are not including those cards.

    I also stated, that I think this a minor issue.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Current issues with the comprehensive rules of Magic
    A minor thing occured to me after pondering a CR quote I gave recently in the rules forum.

    122.6 Some spells and abilities refer to counters being “put” on an object. This refers to putting counters on that object while it’s on the battlefield and also to an object that’s given counters as it enters the battlefield.

    122.6a If an object enters the battlefield with counters on it, the effect causing the object to be given counters may specify which player puts those counters on it. If the effect doesn’t specify a player, the object’s controller puts those counters on it.

    These rules refer to counters being put on objects, yet then it is specified to only mean objects in regards to the battlfield, i.e. permanents. But permanents are not the only objects that can be given counters. The most notable discrepancy is time counters and suspended cards. The quoted rules don't address them. So these rules, while meant to clarify terminology, are actually too specific.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Hapatra question
    Yes. A creature entering the battlefield with counters means, that its controller puts counters on that creature as it enters. So Hapatra will trigger if those counters are -1/-1 counters.

    122.6 Some spells and abilities refer to counters being “put” on an object. This refers to putting counters on that object while it’s on the battlefield and also to an object that’s given counters as it enters the battlefield.

    122.6a If an object enters the battlefield with counters on it, the effect causing the object to be given counters may specify which player puts those counters on it. If the effect doesn’t specify a player, the object’s controller puts those counters on it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Elesh Norn vs Vesuvan Shapeshifter
    No, he cannot. While turning a permanent face up is a special action that doesn't use the stack, to initiate that action you still have to have priority. So he can turn the Shapeshifter face up before Elesh Norn resolves, but cannot choose Elesh to copy since its not on the battlefield yet. If he waits until after Elesh Norn resolves, the -2/-2 continuous effect kicks in immediately, then state based actions clean the board of any creature with toughness 0 or less, as well as any creature with lethal damage marked when its toughness is reduced. Only after that will the active player gain priority. The Shapeshifter will be dead by then.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.