2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Best draw mech for white/red casual?
    I think, things like Mind Stone, the Guild Lockets (eg. Boros Locket), Dreamstone Hedron, Hedron Archive, and other such mana rocks would serve you well, as they ramp you early on and give you cards later in the game.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Can Dross Scorpion trigger on itself with Goblin Welder?
    Leaves-the-battlefield triggers, like the Scorpion's, trigger based on the game state prior to the event (this is an exception to how triggers normally work, being checked based on the game state after the event!). This means, that for the game to trigger the Scorpion's ability, the Scorpion has to have been on the battlefield before the event. Which it wasn't, so therefore it doesn't trigger.

    edit:
    603.10 Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

    603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

    Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.” Someone casts a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact’s ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner’s graveyard at the same time as the creatures.
    [...]
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on A question about wording
    Cards like Crawlspace and Silent Arbiter create attacking and/or blocking restrictions. Those only apply to, and are only checked during, the turn based actions of declaring attackers or blockers. They have no effect on the game at any other time. In particular, they don't affect creatures that enter the battlefield attacking/blocking or are made into attacking/blocking creatures after the turn based action has already happened.

    So for your question, there is no interaction, Tahngarth's second ability doesn't care about the Arbiter's effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Eye Of The Storm and Mind's Desire
    Quote from cmd276 »

    Eye of the Storm is on the board.
    Mind's Desire is cast from hand. (storm count 1)
    Eye exiles Desire. You opt to cast Desire.
    Mind's Desire's Storm ability activates giving a single copy.
    The copy resolves, we shuffle library. Then exile top card.


    There are few issues with that sequence description. First, it doesn't have to be that way since the storm trigger and the Eye of the Storm trigger would be put on the stack at the same time, so you can actually choose, which to put on top to resolve first. Second, the copy of Mind's Desire cast from the Eye also has storm, which means when you cast it, you get a storm trigger for at least two more copies from it.

    In the specific order you described, you get a storm trigger for two copies of Mind's Desire, and subsequently two more copies of that spell, which also have to resolve before the storm trigger from the original Desire can give you yet another copy.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stupid Archon Truly Infinite Combo
    Do note, that Archon of Sun's Grace + Enchanted Evening creates a mandatory loop, with no other pieces involved in the loop, so no one is forced to break the loop even if they can. And no one is forced to concede either. If no one interrupts, the game just ends in a draw! No one wins, no one loses.
    Posted in: Deckbuilding/Playtest Groups
  • posted a message on bolt bend vs hexproof
    1) Yes. The spell is still controlled by your opponent, you just change the target, which can be your opponent, because hexproof does not protect him from his own spells and abilities. And his spells don't have hexproof, so you can target those just fine.

    2) If the creature is controlled by the same player as the Giant Growth (or their controllers aren't each other's opponents at least), then yes. Again, hexproof does not protect you from your own spells.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phage the Untouchable Questions
    Phage's first ability doesn't have any targets (none of her abilties do), so Willbender's trigger cannot even legally target that trigger. Anything, that can counter or otherwise stop triggers can stop Phage from killing you, though, yes.

    Remember, just being affected does not make something/someone a target. Only by being identified specifically with the word "target" does something/someone become a target. Look for the "target" in the card's rules text, or in the rules for some keyword abilities (like equip). If there is no "target", then there is no target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Veil of Summer tricks?
    Yes, you can cast the Veil in response to a counterspell. It thus will resolve before it. Now for its effects: First, you draw a card if that counterspell was blue or black (there are some counterspells for which that isn't true!), since it was cast by an opponent this turn (or some other blue or black spell was cast this turn already). This is not a trigger, just a conditional effect of your spell. Second, the rules of the game are changed, so that your spells can't be countered this turn. Any effect trying to do so after this point will simply fail. As is the case with that counterspell, which is still waiting to resolve. If that counterspell has additional effects, those may still happen. Lastly, you and your permanents gain hexproof from blue and black, so anything blue or black targeting you or your permanents, including spells and abilities from such sources already on the stack, can't target you or your permanents anymore. Like always with illegal targets, this can lead to spells/abilities resolving with no effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cascade
    You exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a card with a lower CMC than the spell that triggered cascade. Then you stop. The only choice you have is wether to cast that card or not.

    702.84a Cascade is a triggered ability that functions only while the spell with cascade is on the stack. “Cascade” means “When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card whose converted mana cost is less than this spell’s converted mana cost. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that weren’t cast on the bottom of your library in a random order.”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Izzet Cheat spells
    I have a question: if I was to use a few Kiln Fiends, and have cast, say, two spells already, so they have +6+0, what happens if I cast Dragonshift overloaded? Do they retain the buffs or do they become 4/4 dragons with no buffs?

    Just to give a definite answer, yes, the +6/+0 stays and applies atop the 4/4 base power/toughness set by Dragonshift. In fact, casting Dragonshift gives you yet another trigger, which will resolve before the spell, so the Kiln Fiend is a 13/4 in the end (4/4 plus +9/+0).
    Posted in: Multiplayer
  • posted a message on Verix and Panharmonicon shennanigans
    Awesome, i think this clears it up. I'd want to resolve Verix's ability first though, as Rezzahan suggests. Is there a reason peteroupc has damage abilities resolving first, followed by Karox?

    Probably just to make his post easier to edit as he only needed to insert the missing triggers and their resolution all at the one point of his sequence.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Verix and Panharmonicon shennanigans
    Ok. Whew. Had to read through this a couple times. I think I'm only confused about one thing. In your #2 point, wouldn't I also get the 4 triggers, 2 damage and 2 haste, from theTempest for Verix itself entering the battlefield? I don't see those triggers anywhere. Did I miss them somewhere?

    Yes, peteroupc seems to have forgotten those. For maximum effect, you want to put the damage triggers on the stack somewhere below Verix's kicker trigger, so that you have a Karox token as well when they resolve.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Muldrotha + Protean Thaumaturge
    It is simply due to how continuous effect are applied (the layer system). Within layer 1, copy effects are applied in time stamp order. Each time the Thaumaturge's trigger resolves, a new copy effect is created, which overwrites all the previous ones because it is the one with the newest time stamp (the others are still there, they just have no visible effect on how the permanent looks in the end anymore). It doesn't matter, that the copiable values become the same as before each time, it is still a new effect, and thus gives the Thaumaturge a new ability, one that has not yet been used to cast an enchantment from the graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on until end of turn effects
    Until end of turn effects end in the cleanup step. Usually, no player gets priority during that step. The exceptions are:

    1) a state based action had to be performed (like a creature with -1/-1 counters and a temporary buff keeping it alive dies during cleanup when that effect ends due to having 0 toughness), or

    2) a triggered ability went off during cleanup (like a madness card being discarded when discarding down to max hand size).

    When such a thing happens, the active player gets priority, and the game will enter a new cleanup after the current one.

    Threaten's effect ending doesn't fall in either category and so usually no player gains priority during that cleanup step after the control change. (However, the control change effect ending can result in either case, like with a 1 toughness creature given back to a player whose creatures get -1/-1 through some static ability.)


    514.3 Normally, no player receives priority during the cleanup step, so no spells can be cast and no abilities can be activated. However, this rule is subject to the following exception:

    514.3a At this point, the game checks to see if any state-based actions would be performed and/or any triggered abilities are waiting to be put onto the stack (including those that trigger “at the beginning of the next cleanup step”). If so, those state-based actions are performed, then those triggered abilities are put on the stack, then the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities. Once the stack is empty and all players pass in succession, another cleanup step begins.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Quarantine Field and Lux Cannon
    Quarantine Field exiles with a duration. If that duration ends before the effect begins, the effect never begins. So while the Field's trigger will resolve, it will do nothing to the targets. They are not exiled forever nor are they exiled and returned.

    Note, that older cards like Oblivion Ring are different in that they return the exiled cards with a trigger. They do not exile with a duration. In case of such a card, the target is exiled and can't return if the exiling permanent leaves the battlefield before the target is exiled.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.