2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Exile cards before Muldrotha
    After any object on the stack has finished resolving, the active player gets priority. This means, that if the stack is empty at that time and it's currently a main phase, the player can start casting a spell or playing a land without another player having the chance to act first. And in the case of an instant or a card with flash, you won't be able to snatch it period even if it's not a main phase or the stack isn't empty.

    If a card is put into the graveyard during any phase other than the active player's main phase (but during his turn), and is not an instant or a card with flash, then the other players will get at least one chance to interact with the card before it can be played as no step/phase can end without all players passing priority on an empty stack first.

    If the stack isn't empty, the active player won't be able to play any card requiring sorcery timing, and other players can interact with it before it can be played.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Pariah's Shield, Coalhauler Swine, Shield of Kaldra or Which was not Taken
    Please don't necro 15 year old threads! Make a new thread instead. Also, questions like this are better suited for the rules subforum, that's what it is for.

    Quote from DarkSchalor »
    I was wondering if I had pariah's shield attached to a creature and I paid life for mystic forge or aetherflux Reservoir would that be redirected to the creature

    Damage and loss of life are two different things. Damage to a player can cause loss of life, but that's not always the case (e.g. infect). And likewise, loss of life does not mean, that the player has been dealt damage. Loss of life can come about in a variety of ways without damage, like setting the life total to a lower number, exchanging life totals, a spell or ability specifically causing loss of life, and paying life.

    So in your scenario, since no damage is being dealt, no redirection occurs, there's nothing to redirect.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Legend rule and ETBs
    Quote from user_938036 »
    State-Based checks are the same thing that causes your ability to trigger and cause your duplicate legendaries to go to the graveyard. Both are performed at the same time so the abilities will trigger(they aren't on the stack yet they have only triggered) and you will choose a single Uro to keep while the others are sent away. Then you put the triggers on the stack(choosing targets if relevant{It's not here})

    That's incorrect, state based actions do not check triggers, nor are they checked at the same time as the trigger conditions. Those trigger conditions are checked already during the resolution of the myriad trigger before that trigger leaves the stack. They are checked right after the event, so if the myriad trigger would do anything more after making creatures enter the battlefield, the triggers would go off (but not yet put on the stack) before the resolution of the ability continues.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Zedruu the Greathearted and losing control of permanents
    The owner is the player who brought the card into the game, the (default) controller of a permanent is the player under whose control it entered the battlefield. Zedruu gives away control of a permanent you control, so now that other player is the controller. You can't give away control of something you no longer control with Zedruu.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Captive Audience and Protection
    The player chooses the mode when the trigger is put on the stack, so usually before they can play Teferi's Protection. In that case, the trigger will simply fail to change the life total when it resolves.

    Now, if that player is also enchanted with Paradox Haze and thus has another upkeep after the first one, and resolves Teferi's Protection during the first upkeep, I don't know. I think, that you can still choose that option and it will just fail to do anything, though.

    edit:
    Ok, so Teferi's Protection solves that particular problem all on its own (see below). So let's just flash in a Platinum Emperion during the first upkeep (using some means to give it flash) instead.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about legal block
    The legality of blockers is only checked once, during the turn based action of declaring blockers. Once this check is passed, anything that would make the current set of blockers illegal won't affect the set of blockers nor the status of any creature as blocked, unblocked, or blocking. Blocked creatures are still blocked, unblocked creatures are still unblocked, and blocking creatures are still blocking. Nor will doing so affect combat damage in any way. Blocked creatures and blocking creatures will still assign and deal combat damage according to the blocker declaration. If a player wants to stop a creature from blocking, he has to do so before blockers are declared.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Etiquette/timing/rules question - split second
    Quote from Boyachi »
    Ask if those are all the creatures that are attacking. If he says “ye-“ you interject with Sudden Spoiling.

    Unfortunately, that's just a confirmation of the set of attackers, it does not entail a priority pass after attacker declaration. The opponent is well within his right to back you up as you rushed ahead.

    What you can do, is to tap lands for mana without announcing what spell you are going to cast or what ability you are going to activate (you have to state what mana you have in your pool then). If you have some permanent with an activated ability needing mana, that's even better (like a manland) since it lures him into a false sense of safety. Since you are not within the process of casting/activating, you can activate mana abilities only if you have priority. Furthermore, mana abilities resolve immediately after activation and the player who activated them gets priority back after wards. So if your opponent is not stopping you, you now have priority during the declare attackers step to cast your split second spell without the opponent having the right to back up. Allowing you to tap your lands is him acknowledging that you have priority.

    If you are crafty enough to formulate it well, you can propose a shortcut, which entails you declaring a set of blockers and after blocker declaration casting Sudden Spoiling. This leads to one of three possibilities:

    1) Your opponent rejects it entirely. Then just cast Sudden Spoiling.

    2) He just shortens it to after blocker declaration. But you are allowed to shorten it further. Just stop the shortcut entirely in that case and cast Sudden Spoiling.

    3) He accepts it. You lose nothing as the game progresses to after your casting of Sudden Spoiling. Just make sure, that your proposed blocker declaration is how you want to actually block! (Though beware of triggers that go off with blocker declaration, especially those of the "when ... attacks and isn't blocked" variety!)

    The reason why 1) and 2) work is because only the player who has priority can propose a shortcut, and him trying to shorten it is acknowledging, that you had priority to do so. And the only point for you to have had priority is during the declare attackers step after he passed it to you. (That's why you have to make sure, that the blocker declaration is clearly part of the shortcut proposal, so that you can shorten the shortcut to before blocker declaration!)


    edit:
    An easier way is to simply ask "Are you done? May I?" or just "May I?", especially if attacker declaration took a while. This way, you don't explicitly ask for priority, and you don't explicitly ask to move to blocker declaration, you just ask for your opponent to give up priority without using the word "priority". Of course, in order to not look suspicious, this has to be part of your usual routine, or at least something you do often during games, so that it is viewed by your opponent as normal behavior.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Populating a Key Rune
    Also, you have to play your Flamerush Rider during the first main phase, so long before you get to declare any attackers. You also have to declare the Rider as attacker alongside the animated Keyrune (all attackers are declared simultaneously). You cannot dash in the Rider during combat, and even if you give it flash somehow, dashing it in after attacker declaration means, that it cannot attack and you won't get the trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on When exactly is a creature removed from the battlefield?
    A creature that has been dealt lethal damage (damage marked on it equal to or greater than its toughness while that toughness is also greater than 0; 704.5g), or has been dealt damage from a source with deathtouch since the last time state based actions were checked (704.5h), or has its toughness reduced to 0 or less (704.5f), will die the next time state based actions are checked. This happens regularly every time right before a player would receive priority, even before any waiting triggers are put on the stack. Attacking or blocking creatures with first strike or double strike just make the combat phase have two combat damage steps rather than just one, though only those attacking/blocking creatures with either ability get to assign and deal combat damage during the first one. And just like in any other combat damage step, state based actions are checked right after the combat damage turn based action, and any creature suffering from any of the conditions I listed will die then.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Colorless mana
    1 and similar is generic mana and is used for generic costs, payable with any kind of mana. You won't find generic mana symbols on spells and abilities that produce mana nowadays. C is specifically colorless mana. This mana can be produced by various objects and can be used to pay generic costs or specifically colorless costs.

    Older cards printed prior to Oath of the Gatewatch, that produce colorless mana were printed with the generic 1 and similar symbols, but have been errataed to produce an amount of C. This was just a cosmetic change, not a functional one, the cards work the same as before, producing colorless mana. Colorless costs so far only exist on some Oath of the Gatewatch cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Best draw mech for white/red casual?
    I think, things like Mind Stone, the Guild Lockets (eg. Boros Locket), Dreamstone Hedron, Hedron Archive, and other such mana rocks would serve you well, as they ramp you early on and give you cards later in the game.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Can Dross Scorpion trigger on itself with Goblin Welder?
    Leaves-the-battlefield triggers, like the Scorpion's, trigger based on the game state prior to the event (this is an exception to how triggers normally work, being checked based on the game state after the event!). This means, that for the game to trigger the Scorpion's ability, the Scorpion has to have been on the battlefield before the event. Which it wasn't, so therefore it doesn't trigger.

    edit:
    603.10 Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

    603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

    Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.” Someone casts a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact’s ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner’s graveyard at the same time as the creatures.
    [...]
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on A question about wording
    Cards like Crawlspace and Silent Arbiter create attacking and/or blocking restrictions. Those only apply to, and are only checked during, the turn based actions of declaring attackers or blockers. They have no effect on the game at any other time. In particular, they don't affect creatures that enter the battlefield attacking/blocking or are made into attacking/blocking creatures after the turn based action has already happened.

    So for your question, there is no interaction, Tahngarth's second ability doesn't care about the Arbiter's effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Eye Of The Storm and Mind's Desire
    Quote from cmd276 »

    Eye of the Storm is on the board.
    Mind's Desire is cast from hand. (storm count 1)
    Eye exiles Desire. You opt to cast Desire.
    Mind's Desire's Storm ability activates giving a single copy.
    The copy resolves, we shuffle library. Then exile top card.


    There are few issues with that sequence description. First, it doesn't have to be that way since the storm trigger and the Eye of the Storm trigger would be put on the stack at the same time, so you can actually choose, which to put on top to resolve first. Second, the copy of Mind's Desire cast from the Eye also has storm, which means when you cast it, you get a storm trigger for at least two more copies from it.

    In the specific order you described, you get a storm trigger for two copies of Mind's Desire, and subsequently two more copies of that spell, which also have to resolve before the storm trigger from the original Desire can give you yet another copy.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stupid Archon Truly Infinite Combo
    Do note, that Archon of Sun's Grace + Enchanted Evening creates a mandatory loop, with no other pieces involved in the loop, so no one is forced to break the loop even if they can. And no one is forced to concede either. If no one interrupts, the game just ends in a draw! No one wins, no one loses.
    Posted in: Deckbuilding/Playtest Groups
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.