2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Etiquette/timing/rules question - split second
    Quote from Boyachi »
    Ask if those are all the creatures that are attacking. If he says “ye-“ you interject with Sudden Spoiling.

    Unfortunately, that's just a confirmation of the set of attackers, it does not entail a priority pass after attacker declaration. The opponent is well within his right to back you up as you rushed ahead.

    What you can do, is to tap lands for mana without announcing what spell you are going to cast or what ability you are going to activate (you have to state what mana you have in your pool then). If you have some permanent with an activated ability needing mana, that's even better (like a manland) since it lures him into a false sense of safety. Since you are not within the process of casting/activating, you can activate mana abilities only if you have priority. Furthermore, mana abilities resolve immediately after activation and the player who activated them gets priority back after wards. So if your opponent is not stopping you, you now have priority during the declare attackers step to cast your split second spell without the opponent having the right to back up. Allowing you to tap your lands is him acknowledging that you have priority.

    If you are crafty enough to formulate it well, you can propose a shortcut, which entails you declaring a set of blockers and after blocker declaration casting Sudden Spoiling. This leads to one of three possibilities:

    1) Your opponent rejects it entirely. Then just cast Sudden Spoiling.

    2) He just shortens it to after blocker declaration. But you are allowed to shorten it further. Just stop the shortcut entirely in that case and cast Sudden Spoiling.

    3) He accepts it. You lose nothing as the game progresses to after your casting of Sudden Spoiling. Just make sure, that your proposed blocker declaration is how you want to actually block! (Though beware of triggers that go off with blocker declaration, especially those of the "when ... attacks and isn't blocked" variety!)

    The reason why 1) and 2) work is because only the player who has priority can propose a shortcut, and him trying to shorten it is acknowledging, that you had priority to do so. And the only point for you to have had priority is during the declare attackers step after he passed it to you. (That's why you have to make sure, that the blocker declaration is clearly part of the shortcut proposal, so that you can shorten the shortcut to before blocker declaration!)
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Populating a Key Rune
    Also, you have to play your Flamerush Rider during the first main phase, so long before you get to declare any attackers. You also have to declare the Rider as attacker alongside the animated Keyrune (all attackers are declared simultaneously). You cannot dash in the Rider during combat, and even if you give it flash somehow, dashing it in after attacker declaration means, that it cannot attack and you won't get the trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on When exactly is a creature removed from the battlefield?
    A creature that has been dealt lethal damage (damage marked on it equal to or greater than its toughness while that toughness is also greater than 0; 704.5g), or has been dealt damage from a source with deathtouch since the last time state based actions were checked (704.5h), or has its toughness reduced to 0 or less (704.5f), will die the next time state based actions are checked. This happens regularly every time right before a player would receive priority, even before any waiting triggers are put on the stack. Attacking or blocking creatures with first strike or double strike just make the combat phase have two combat damage steps rather than just one, though only those attacking/blocking creatures with either ability get to assign and deal combat damage during the first one. And just like in any other combat damage step, state based actions are checked right after the combat damage turn based action, and any creature suffering from any of the conditions I listed will die then.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Colorless mana
    1 and similar is generic mana and is used for generic costs, payable with any kind of mana. You won't find generic mana symbols on spells and abilities that produce mana nowadays. C is specifically colorless mana. This mana can be produced by various objects and can be used to pay generic costs or specifically colorless costs.

    Older cards printed prior to Oath of the Gatewatch, that produce colorless mana were printed with the generic 1 and similar symbols, but have been errataed to produce an amount of C. This was just a cosmetic change, not a functional one, the cards work the same as before, producing colorless mana. Colorless costs so far only exist on some Oath of the Gatewatch cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Best draw mech for white/red casual?
    I think, things like Mind Stone, the Guild Lockets (eg. Boros Locket), Dreamstone Hedron, Hedron Archive, and other such mana rocks would serve you well, as they ramp you early on and give you cards later in the game.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Can Dross Scorpion trigger on itself with Goblin Welder?
    Leaves-the-battlefield triggers, like the Scorpion's, trigger based on the game state prior to the event (this is an exception to how triggers normally work, being checked based on the game state after the event!). This means, that for the game to trigger the Scorpion's ability, the Scorpion has to have been on the battlefield before the event. Which it wasn't, so therefore it doesn't trigger.

    edit:
    603.10 Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

    603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

    Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.” Someone casts a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact’s ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner’s graveyard at the same time as the creatures.
    [...]
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on A question about wording
    Cards like Crawlspace and Silent Arbiter create attacking and/or blocking restrictions. Those only apply to, and are only checked during, the turn based actions of declaring attackers or blockers. They have no effect on the game at any other time. In particular, they don't affect creatures that enter the battlefield attacking/blocking or are made into attacking/blocking creatures after the turn based action has already happened.

    So for your question, there is no interaction, Tahngarth's second ability doesn't care about the Arbiter's effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Eye Of The Storm and Mind's Desire
    Quote from cmd276 »

    Eye of the Storm is on the board.
    Mind's Desire is cast from hand. (storm count 1)
    Eye exiles Desire. You opt to cast Desire.
    Mind's Desire's Storm ability activates giving a single copy.
    The copy resolves, we shuffle library. Then exile top card.


    There are few issues with that sequence description. First, it doesn't have to be that way since the storm trigger and the Eye of the Storm trigger would be put on the stack at the same time, so you can actually choose, which to put on top to resolve first. Second, the copy of Mind's Desire cast from the Eye also has storm, which means when you cast it, you get a storm trigger for at least two more copies from it.

    In the specific order you described, you get a storm trigger for two copies of Mind's Desire, and subsequently two more copies of that spell, which also have to resolve before the storm trigger from the original Desire can give you yet another copy.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stupid Archon Truly Infinite Combo
    Do note, that Archon of Sun's Grace + Enchanted Evening creates a mandatory loop, with no other pieces involved in the loop, so no one is forced to break the loop even if they can. And no one is forced to concede either. If no one interrupts, the game just ends in a draw! No one wins, no one loses.
    Posted in: Deckbuilding/Playtest Groups
  • posted a message on bolt bend vs hexproof
    1) Yes. The spell is still controlled by your opponent, you just change the target, which can be your opponent, because hexproof does not protect him from his own spells and abilities. And his spells don't have hexproof, so you can target those just fine.

    2) If the creature is controlled by the same player as the Giant Growth (or their controllers aren't each other's opponents at least), then yes. Again, hexproof does not protect you from your own spells.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phage the Untouchable Questions
    Phage's first ability doesn't have any targets (none of her abilties do), so Willbender's trigger cannot even legally target that trigger. Anything, that can counter or otherwise stop triggers can stop Phage from killing you, though, yes.

    Remember, just being affected does not make something/someone a target. Only by being identified specifically with the word "target" does something/someone become a target. Look for the "target" in the card's rules text, or in the rules for some keyword abilities (like equip). If there is no "target", then there is no target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Veil of Summer tricks?
    Yes, you can cast the Veil in response to a counterspell. It thus will resolve before it. Now for its effects: First, you draw a card if that counterspell was blue or black (there are some counterspells for which that isn't true!), since it was cast by an opponent this turn (or some other blue or black spell was cast this turn already). This is not a trigger, just a conditional effect of your spell. Second, the rules of the game are changed, so that your spells can't be countered this turn. Any effect trying to do so after this point will simply fail. As is the case with that counterspell, which is still waiting to resolve. If that counterspell has additional effects, those may still happen. Lastly, you and your permanents gain hexproof from blue and black, so anything blue or black targeting you or your permanents, including spells and abilities from such sources already on the stack, can't target you or your permanents anymore. Like always with illegal targets, this can lead to spells/abilities resolving with no effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cascade
    You exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a card with a lower CMC than the spell that triggered cascade. Then you stop. The only choice you have is wether to cast that card or not.

    702.84a Cascade is a triggered ability that functions only while the spell with cascade is on the stack. “Cascade” means “When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card whose converted mana cost is less than this spell’s converted mana cost. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that weren’t cast on the bottom of your library in a random order.”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Izzet Cheat spells
    I have a question: if I was to use a few Kiln Fiends, and have cast, say, two spells already, so they have +6+0, what happens if I cast Dragonshift overloaded? Do they retain the buffs or do they become 4/4 dragons with no buffs?

    Just to give a definite answer, yes, the +6/+0 stays and applies atop the 4/4 base power/toughness set by Dragonshift. In fact, casting Dragonshift gives you yet another trigger, which will resolve before the spell, so the Kiln Fiend is a 13/4 in the end (4/4 plus +9/+0).
    Posted in: Multiplayer
  • posted a message on Verix and Panharmonicon shennanigans
    Awesome, i think this clears it up. I'd want to resolve Verix's ability first though, as Rezzahan suggests. Is there a reason peteroupc has damage abilities resolving first, followed by Karox?

    Probably just to make his post easier to edit as he only needed to insert the missing triggers and their resolution all at the one point of his sequence.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.