2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on As Foretold + Buyback + Cost Reduction
    Yes, you can pay the buyback cost, which is an additional cost. As Foretold gives you an alternative cost to cast Capsize with. Baral reduces the total cost. In general, a spell's cost is calculated as follows:

    mana cost or alternative cost
    + additional costs
    + cost increases
    - cost reductions
    then apply total cost modificators, like Trinisphere

    So Capsize, cast via As Foretold with buyback and Baral on the field, will cost 2.

    601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If multiple cost reductions apply, the player may apply them in any order. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}. It can’t be reduced to less than {0}. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Opal Palace and Mutate
    Correct. The mutating creature spell does not enter the battlefield if its target is still legal when it resolves. Instead it merges with the target. Since it does not enter the battlefield, no +1/+1 counters. If the target is illegal at the time of resolution, however, the spell enters as a creature, and thus does so with counters.

    702.139b As a mutating creature spell begins resolving, if its target is illegal, it ceases to be a mutating creature spell and continues resolving as a creature spell and will be put onto the battlefield under the control of the spell’s controller.

    702.139c As a mutating creature spell resolves, if its target is legal, it doesn’t enter the battlefield. Rather, it merges with the target creature and becomes one object represented by more than one card or token (see rule 721, “Merging with Permanents”). The spell’s controller chooses whether the spell is put on top of the creature or on the bottom. The resulting permanent is a mutated permanent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mtg ruling
    Stormscape Familiar

    Yes. The Familiar's color identity is blue, so any commander deck whose commander's color identity includes blue can use it. Color identity only includes the colors in a card's mana cost, all color indicators, colors defined by characteristic defining abilities, and colored mana symbols in the card's rules text (for double faced cards both sides of the card are considered, eg. Archangel Avacyn'c color identity is WR due to the back face, Avacyn, the Purifier, having a red color indicator). Color words, mana symbols in reminder text, and basic land types in rules text don't affect color identity. (Basic land types in the type line affect rules text, so will also affect color identity, eg. an Island's color identity is blue.)


    In the future, please use a more descriptive title for your thread. You are in the rules forum, so we already know you want a ruling. Mentioning cards, formats, etc. gives us a hint as to what your question will be about, and it will help others with similar questions find your thread and our answers. Just look at how the other threads here are titled.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Underworld Sentinel
    Underworld Sentinel

    The Sentinel goes to the graveyard, which triggers the second ability. That ability will return all cards exiled by the first ability of this particular Sentinel to the battlefield. The Sentinel is not among those, it is in the graveyard. So no, it doesn't return itself.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Do you have to calculate damage for your opponent?
    At regular REL (rules enforcement level), derived information is treated as free information, so at FNM and similarly low level events you have to tell your opponent, yes, and it has to be true. At a higher REL, they have to figure it out themselves, though you are of course free to help them do that if you wish. However, the actual damage dealt must be correct, you cannot let your opponent take more or less damage just because they miscalculate, or you miscalculate. If they or you make a calculation error, the other player has to step in and correct it. Because the game state has to be kept clear and correct by all players.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Standard Bearer + Protection
    Quote from lax2u2 »
    I've read the thread about Standard Bearer + Shroud and my question is if the same applies for protection. For example if I had a Standard Bearer enchanted with a cho-manno's blessing naming the color red, if an opponent tried to lightning bolt me would the spell technically try to target standard bearer and fizzle because its protected or how would that work? Thanks!

    Protection from red will exclude the Standard Bearer from the list of legal targets for Lightning Bolt and other red targeted spells and abilities from red sources. As such any such spell or ability is free to target anything else. The Bearer's ability is essentially shut down due to protection.

    edit:
    Also, it seems you are misunderstanding the Bearer's ability. It does not redirect targets, it necessitates to choose it as a target in the first place.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Overloading Cyclonic Rift
    No, you cannot. Both the Augury and the Djinn impose an alternative cost of "without paying the mana cost", and you have to cast the spell with that cost or not at all when using their effects. Overload is also an alternative cost, and the rules say, that you can only cast a spell via one alternative cost. The choice of which one has been taken by both cards.

    118.9 Some spells have alternative costs. An alternative cost is a cost listed in a spell’s text, or applied to it from another effect, that its controller may pay rather than paying the spell’s mana cost. Alternative costs are usually phrased, “You may [action] rather than pay [this object’s] mana cost,” or “You may cast [this object] without paying its mana cost.” Note that some alternative costs are listed in keywords; see rule 702.

    118.9a Only one alternative cost can be applied to any one spell as it’s being cast. The controller of the spell announces their intentions to pay that cost as described in rule 601.2b.

    702.95a Overload is a keyword that represents two static abilities that function while the spell with overload is on the stack. Overload [cost] means “You may choose to pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost” and “If you chose to pay this spell’s overload cost, change its text by replacing all instances of the word ‘target’ with the word ‘each.’” Casting a spell using its overload ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Divergent Transformations, Thassa's Oracle, and Leveler
    Quote from Halfbrows »
    Okay! So a debate has arisen amongst my group. Let's say I cast Divergent Transformations targeting two of my own creatures, and the only other two creatures I have in my deck are Thassa's Oracle and Leveler. Does the order in which they're revealed matter, or can I stack their triggers as I choose? Based on the card and it's ruling, I assume they enter individually, and the etbs stack in that order, but others say I'd get to choose the order in which the stack. help?

    Wether several triggers go off in sequence or simultaneously during the resolution of a spell/ability, they have to wait. And then later when a player would get priority, all waiting triggers are put on the stack. If multiple of those are controlled by the same player, that player gets to choose their relative order on the stack. So in your scenario, you get to choose the order.

    edit:
    117.2a Triggered abilities can trigger at any time, including while a spell is being cast, an ability is being activated, or a spell or ability is resolving. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”) However, nothing actually happens at the time an ability triggers. Each time a player would receive priority, each ability that has triggered but hasn’t yet been put on the stack is put on the stack. See rule 117.5.

    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.


    edit:
    Here's a link to the card tag thread
    https://www.mtgsalvation.com/forums/community-forums/community-discussion/576824-the-mtg-salvation-tag-explanation-thread
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lithoform Engine Copying Mana Abilities
    Mana abilities don't use the stack, rather, they resolve immediately upon activation. Also, you can only target spells and abilities while they are on the stack, and as mentioned, mana abilities don't go on the stack. So, since Lithoform engine's abilities cannot be used on mana abilities already, there's no need to make them explicitly exempt.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 10/28 Random Card of the Day: Essence Backlash
    Those heinous fishermen really had it coming.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Preventing Sorcery Speed Effects with Mana Abilities
    Quote from grishnakh »
    [...]However, Player B can activate mana abilities before that even though they do not have priority, [...]

    No, he cannot. Unless an effect or cost asks for a mana payment, activated mana abilities can also only be activated while having priority.

    605.3 Activating an activated mana ability follows the rules for activating any other activated ability (see rule 602.2), with the following exceptions:

    605.3a A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever they have priority, whenever they are casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if it’s in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.
    [...]
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rise of the tides: how many ?
    You are not required to use token cards to represent tokens. Any small object will do, like dice, coins, unsleeved cards, sleeves without cards, glass beads, strips of paper, etc. The only requirement is, that the game state is and remains clear to all players. So, as long as all players agree that your representation of the tokens is sufficient, you can use anything. (Within reason, of course. Live kittens would not be a good choice, for example.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Pariah I control on a Stuffy Doll with me named. What happens with damage here?
    Quote from chaikov »
    Quote from Rezzahan »
    No player is forced to break the loop, even if they have the means to do so, since those means are not part of the loop.
    This rule has been a puzzle for me for a long time.
    Rule 722.5 clearly states that no player is required to break the loop, even if they have the means to do so, as long as such means are outside the loop.
    And rule 722.3 clearly states that a player is required to end the loop if they can do so from inside the loop.

    What boggles my mind is rule 722.6, which states a somewhat arbitrary exception to rule 722.3.
    I'd be very appreciative if anyone could provide some examples illustrating how it actually differs from what is said by rule 722.3.

    Specifically, how do the words
    'if no player chooses to perform [B]' (722.6)
    actually allow a player to escape
    'must then make a different game choice' (722.3)?
    Does it solely rely on the fact that the effect actually contains the word 'unless'?
    Any volunteer?


    722.6 does indeed appear to arbitrarily fly in the face of 722.3. According to 118.12a, "Do A unless B" is a choice. Why that kind of choice is made exempt I can't understand either. I can't find any justification for it. But as long as 722.6 exists, that's how the game works.
    118.12a Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, “[Do something] unless [a player does something else].” This means the same thing as “[A player may do something else]. If [that player doesn’t], [do something].”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rule 506.4b Year of Implementation
    Prior to the 6th edition major rules overhaul, tapped blockers didn't deal combat damage. Ever since 6th edition they do. Tapping a blocker, however, has never removed it from combat, nor made a blocked creature unblocked, far as I know. So this rule has been around since the release of 6th edition in April of 1999.

    Here's a link to the MTG wiki, where the 6th edition rules changes are listed. Scroll down to combat near the bottom:
    https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Sixth_Edition/Rules_changes
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Pariah I control on a Stuffy Doll with me named. What happens with damage here?
    Yes, that is a mandatory loop, with no choices offered by the pieces to break it. So if no one can break the loop with outside pieces, or doesn't want to do so, the game is a draw. No player is forced to break the loop, even if they have the means to do so, since those means are not part of the loop.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.