- Registered User
Member for 3 years, 2 months, and 26 days
Last active Fri, Jan, 18 2019 09:36:32
- 0 Followers
- 214 Total Posts
- 52 Thanks
Dec 17, 2018th3shinigami posted a message on [RNA] Ravnica Allegiance Previews: Modern DiscussionShe can slot into spirits, with a fun interaction with her and spell quellerPosted in: Modern
Nov 28, 2018Posted in: Aggro & TempoQuote from cfusionpm »I finally caved and bought Arclight Phoenix yesterday during a Cyber Monday deal. I keep wanting to make a Grixis Delver deck work and I think it would be good with Lightning Bird.
This is the list I have in my head. I'm waiting for pieces to come in to actually test and play, but this is kind of the gist of what I wanted to do:
DeckMagic OnlineOCTGN2ApprenticeBuy These Cards Instant (15)
3x Fiery Temper
2x Gut Shot
3x Izzet Charm
4x Lightning Bolt
2x Chart a Course
2x Collective Brutality
4x Faithless Looting
4x Inquisition of Kozilek
4x Arclight Phoenix
2x Bedlam Reveler
4x Delver of Secrets
4x Thing in the Ice
Two of the biggest draws to going into black are the removal spells and the delve creatures. If you don't plan on playing those, there isn't really a reason to play black, and you should just go izzet in that case.
Sep 13, 2018Posted in: The Rumor Mill
EDIT: Sorry this is actually correct. I misread it, and layers suck. This DOES work and it IS a 8/1. Layers rule:Quote from leslak »Quote from Buffsam89 »Quote from darrenhabib »
Invert now has a good target, I can see the why they wanted the errata.
Haha, yeah! Also, what’s the ruling on split card CMC?
Anyway, this is a pretty cool throwback to Nivix Cyclops. This is really good IMO. Being able to attack with it and then fire off spells is what makes this appealing to me.
Edit: Would casting invert not increase this Cyclops power to 15/0?
nah 8/1. the trigger resolves (CMC = 1), then the card resolves.
613.3. Within layer 7, apply effects in a series of sublayers in the order described below. Within each sublayer, apply effects in timestamp order. (See rule 613.6.) Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied within a sublayer. (See rule 613.7.)
613.3c Layer 7c: Effects that modify power and/or toughness (but don’t set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value) are applied.
613.3e Layer 7e: Effects that switch a creature’s power and toughness are applied. Such effects take the value of power and apply it to the creature’s toughness, and take the value of toughness and apply it to the creature’s power.
Level 1 Judge
Sep 10, 2018Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Basic land comes in untapped, but still worth nuking those lands.Quote from noshadowkick »Quote from dschumm »Hitting lands on a two mana spells is not something I would ever see printed in magic again. So definitely a lock. We have already been cutting amazing removal spells like putrefy from cube because of how stacked golgari is. Hold on to your hats folks, the guild sections are gonna feel real full over the next two weeks.
At instant speed too. You can nuke a Cradle/Academy/Ancient Tomb during your opponent's upkeep and they get a tapped basic that does nothing for them until their next turn. So brutal!
This card is never going to be cheap, mainboardable Tron hate is going to be all the rage in modern.
Jul 13, 2018There is also Wall of Kelp + Axebane Guardian + Intruder Alarm for infinite mana/walls. As you are generating mana/walls, you can cast Arcades, the Strategist then draw your entire deck and win.Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
Jun 29, 2018Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Actually it doesn't, because when I go to use vraska's contempt on an animated gideon, the token will create an unclear game state (am I exiling only the token? the planeswalker? does the damage go through if I exile the walker instead of the token?)Quote from Ernart »Yet a separate Gideon card representation that is more creature in visual improves the immersive experience in gameplay. So does the NicolBolas token do.
The bolas token is there only because bolas is a double-faced card (just like all the checklist cards when there are double faced cards in the set) so that players aren't required to have opaque sleeves to play with these cards. It probably shouldn't even be called a token. Notice at the bottom left the number is CH1/280. It's a checklist card, with only 1 possible option.
May 23, 2018The biggest drawback I can see is the one steve_man mentioned, where they kill the rector EoT and then get a free attack into the walker without you getting a chance to activate a loyalty ability. But the rector is a may ability, so you do need to get a walker in that situation. You just lose out on a tutor and eat a removal spell for 4 mana. I still think I like lancers better.Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Apr 2, 2018Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
You may cast historic spells as though they had flash
Is this strong enough to break into the stacked azorius guild? Giving all artifacts, legendaries, and sagas (if you plan on playing them) flash seems really strong. Remember, all planeswalkers are legendaries now.
Mar 9, 2018th3shinigami posted a message on [DOM][RULE CHANGE] Planeswalker Damage RedirectionHow does this change affect Searing Blaze ruling wise? Since planeswalkers can't control a creature...?Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Feb 27, 2018Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Same. Luckily, I have the judge promo Imperial Seal, though I missed out on getting the judge ravages.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.