A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Cloning an Awoken Horror
    Correct. Your clone of Thing in the Ice is not a double-sided card, so the trigger to transform just won't do that and it'll stay there. It would still remove Ice counters, though.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Some timing questions
    Quote from Lord Akuvar »
    So, can she wait to find out that I am selecting an enchantment that will prevent her, in the future, from targeting Zur with her Lightning Bolt? It looks like from your steps she only has the option to place the Lightning Bolts on the stack when I trigger Zur's ability to go fetch an enchantment from my library.
    If your opponent waits to see what enchantment you get, that means you're already resolving Zur's trigger and nothing can be done during resolution of that. By the time they get priority again, the trigger will have resolved and Diplomatic Immunity will already be attached to Zur.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cloning an Awoken Horror
    It'll be an Awoken Horror. It won't trigger since that's a transform trigger rather then ETB, but it will copy what is face-up on the permanent (that is copyable).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Some timing questions
    Quote from Lord Akuvar »
    I have two questions about timing.
    1) When is the first time you can interrupt someone during their turn? I have seen rules that say certain phases can't be interrupted or start a stack. So If I want to use an Icy Manipulator to tap an opponent's Maze of Ith, when is the first time during her turn I can interrupt her and declare I'm doing that? Does this same timing apply to casting a creature with Flash or with Flash as an ability?
    The first time you can do that during their turn is during their upkeep, when you get priority. If triggers/abilities/spells go on the stack during the upkeep then in the course of any of them resolving you will receive priority and can activate it then. Beyond that, leaving upkeep (like other steps/phases) occurs when everyone passes priority with nothing on the stack, and you'll have a chance then, too.

    Quote from Lord Akuvar »
    2)I control Zur the Enchanter. I declare that I am beginning my attack phase. I declare Zur the Enchanter as an attacker. I activate his power and search my library and place Diplomatic Immunity onto Zur. My opponent has two Lighning Bolts and two untapped mountains. When, if ever, during this entire process, is it legal for her to cast those Lighning Bolts to try to kill Zur?
    Here's when they can do those:
    • When you declare your intention to go to combat phase, leaving the pre-combat main phase, and they receive priority during that.
    • When they receive priority on the attempt to move from the beginning of combat step to the declare attackers step.
    • When they receive priority during the declare attackers step, after you declare attackers and Zur's trigger goes on the stack and you pass priority.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Need advice about protecting K'rrik, Son of Yawgmoth
    Not really. You may simply need to run stuff like Lightning Greaves, Darksteel Plate, and cheap reanimation like Reanimate/Animate Dead.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Colorless Commander Card Restriction
    Quote from Gutterstorm »
    I've always wondered about the basic land thing. I've never asked because I've never cared to build a colorless deck. But by all rights basic lands have no rules text. The big mana symbol on their text box is essentially flavor text which is why full art lands can exist without issue. The ability to tap for mana is all wrapped up in their sub type. For evidence of this see the Shock Lands such as Steam Vents whose only text is technically the shock ability, while the ability to add mana is parenthetical reminder text.
    The mana symbol is in the rules text implicitly due to the basic land type(s): https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Basic_land#Basic_land_types
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Zedruu+Dominus of Fealty
    Dominus of Fealty
    Zedruu the Greathearted

    No, it will remain under the new controller from Zedruu's ability. Control-changing effects stick around on the object as long as its on the battlefield, unless something like "until end of turn" ends that specific effect on that object. Whichever effect has the most recent timestamp in the game is the one that "wins" and determines who has control of that object. tstorm823 has a section (inside a spoiler tag) explaining important things about ownership, control, and what happens when a player leaves the game in their Zedruu, the GOAT thread.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Colorless Commander Card Restriction
    Quote from HandsomeP »
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    Anything with a colored mana symbol in its cost or in its text cannot be included.
    So no Fist of Suns either, right, because of the colored mana symbols in the text?
    Correct. Mana symbols in italic reminder text (such as (W/B) in extort) don't count, but that's the only exception I know of.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Question about priority
    Quote from Helnas »
    We dont really pass priority when we cast spells but just ask if anyone wants to response to it.
    That's just a shortcut for passing priority all the way around if nobody wants to respond. You don't have to explicitly pass priority all the time -- nobody does that, we all use the shortcuts -- but you should be aware of how it's working "under the hood" so you can deal with tricky circumstances according to the game's rules.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Question about priority
    Quote from Helnas »
    1st thing:
    Played a boardwipe, blasphemous act. When no1 countered it and every1 said ok i said in responce ill made my commander indestructable with a 1 plains instant.
    You misplayed that. Once you put something on the stack (cast a spell, activate an ability, etc.) and then pass priority, then if everybody else passes priority and it gets back to you that thing will resolve. You would not have an opportunity at that point to make your commander indestructible. What you could have done is cast Blasphemous Act, retain priority and make your commander indestructible in response, then pass priority twice around the table to resolve both (assuming nobody responds to either). So there was a legal way to do the same thing.

    Quote from Helnas »
    2nd thing:
    Other player then mr salty tried to destroy 3 non creature cards with that 9/9 green creature that gives you a 3/3 elephant. He targetted my aria of flame with 5 counters on it. Then something of another opponent, that player picked up a token and put his card in gj. Then thought for 5-10 seconds and said he didnt wanna target another target. I said in responce ill play 3 instants and it turned out to be enouf damage from aria to kill the 9/9 creature playing owner so the other player had to put his card back from gj.
    Okay, so the second player with something targeted prematurely put their card in the graveyard, since the Terastodon's controller hadn't even decided about a third target yet. But the rest of that works out fine. After picking his targets he has to pass priority to get the Terastodon's trigger to resolve and the targets actually destroyed. Then when you had priority you cast those instants, each triggering Aria of Flame and you target Terastodon's controller with each trigger. Those have to resolve before Terastodon's trigger can. Once that player is dead, though, to put it simply his stuff would leave the game, including the trigger he controlled on the stack.

    So they were just upset by the sudden defeat.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Zada - Grinding Up An Arcane Storm
    Quote from Lord0fHam »
    I'm also thinking of adding Fire diamond and Star compass because I can't afford the really good fast mana. Those would be my only rocks besides sol ring and ruby medallion but I'm not sure if rocks are really what this deck wants.
    Those rocks are fine. I run Iron Myr, Skirk Prospector, and Mox Amber currently but will be switching things up once I get some C19 cards. I might still find room again for Chrome Mox, but one could get lucky on turn 1 or 2 with Lotus Bloom or Mox Tantalite. Paradise Mantle and Springleaf Drum could also work as early ramp. The main difference between Chrome Mox and Fire Diamond is what turn you go off, which really isn't a huge deal unless your meta is fast.
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on Zada - Grinding Up An Arcane Storm
    Quote from Lord0fHam »
    If you guys were to replace either goblin matron or recruiter with imperial recruiter, which would it be? It's more of a direct replacement for matron, but goblin recruiter tutoring on the top of the deck feels pretty bad if you don't have a cantrip.
    If you're going to keep two of the three, you may want to test whether you prefer the mechanics of Goblin Matron or Goblin Recruiter - just give them both some chances to see how you feel about the way they work. Crazy Monkey, though, seems to only be running Imperial Recruiter at the moment.
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on reltastic's Chainer, Nightmare Adept Experiment
    The reason I was thinking about ETB, flash, and tap abilities is because you'll only be able to attack on your turn, but you could discard and possibly cast on any turn. A mix of things is probably best.

    Doomed Necromancer is killer all game, really, because you discard whatever you want and only pay 2BB to put any creature from your graveyard to play, allowing you to reanimate big stuff for a discount. Hell's Caretaker has an issue though, because you can only activate it during your upkeep. Apprentice Necromancer could be good, though.

    You could avoid some overlap with B Chainer's ETB stuff by using more red (which honestly, has some pretty fun ETB stuff).
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on Chainer — In the Darkness of Dreams
    On the other hand this set had 4-5 great cards for Zada. Shrugs

    I like how Thieving Amalgam provides for the deck's main goals without being Spikey. If I were running a Chainer deck that was as strong/fast as possible it probably wouldn't make the cut, though.

    K'rrik I see as sortof a mana rock that needs support so you don't pay all your life away. But there are already some pieces like Dross Harvester and Abhorrent Overlord that allow K'rrik to combo with Chainer as long as there's a free sac outlet. With those cards Overlord makes a minimum of 9 tokens which when sacrificed is enough life to cover paying 9 life to Chainer. Even if it's Deathgreeter instead of Dross Harvester it's 8 tokens and sacrificing Overlord along with those is enough to self-sustain the loop. In these loops it's almost like he takes the place of Phyrexian Altar's mana or acts like Pitiless Plunderer would for supporting part of the cost. The main difference is that I'd be using a different sacrifice outlet like Altar of Dementia for net effect outside of the loop instead of relying on something triggering off the Overlord/harpy deaths. Even combos with Torgaar, Famine Incarnate as long as I have at least 10 life to pay 9 to bring back Torgaar I'll be set to 20 and can keep alternating between bringing another creature (down to 11) and then Torgaar again (down to 2, back up to 20). Still at least 4 cards, too (Altar of Dementia again). It could even open up other combo possibilities with Noxious Gearhulk and anything with 9 or more toughness — not that Gearhulk can't already fill that role in the absence of Deathgreeter/Dross Harvester as long as enough mana is also self-sustainable.

    So yeah, I guess I see K'rrik as another engine piece for Chainer's combos. I guess I will test him, but the big question will be how dead of a card will it be outside of the combo usage?
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.