2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • 1

    posted a message on More targeting questions
    Quote from Craterallus »
    Do aura's target?
    To be very precise, we'll say that Aura spells do target.

    An Aura targets for only as long as it's a spell; once it has resolved and attached itself to some other object, it no longer targets; it becomes 'attached' to the other object.

    This distinction is important because, while Shroud can stop an Aura spell from being cast, it cannot later remove an aura which has already attached.

    303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is defined by its enchant ability.
    303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or “enchants,” that object or player.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Lifeline + Willbreaker
    115. Targets
    115.1d A triggered ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],” (...)
    115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities.”
    115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a target.
    115.10b In particular, the word “you” in an object’s text doesn’t indicate a target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Trigger order; Oppression, Madness, et cetera
    Quote from Craterallus »
    So let's say I'm down to one card in hand and it has madness, I tap anje falkenrath, pay the madness cost to cast the spell I'm discarding and draw a card - if that spell is not a madness card, but is instead a cycling card like canyon slough - presuming I have the mana - can I cycle it before I have to discard it to oppression due to it being a mana ability and not going on stack?
    Cycling Canyon Slough is not a mana ability, so it does indeed go on the stack.
    In any case, you'll get to draw yet another card, while Oppression is still waiting to resolve...

    FYI: A mana ability is an ability that produces mana (and I mean mana (rule 106), not land (rule 305)).
    See rule 605 for the exact definition of a mana ability.
    Being an ability printed on a land card is not what makes a mana ability, nor does being an ability that fetches you a land card.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Sage of Hours
    Yes, you get yet another extra turn from the copy.
    (or more than one if you removed multiples of 5 counters)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Nightmare Shepherd VS Scapeshift
    These cards do follow some rule; you simply have overlooked which rule they follow!
    When Nightmare Shepherd dies simultaneously with some other critter, they both go to the graveyard, so Shepherd's ability ceases to be functional.
    A reasonable assumption would be to believe that the ability should not trigger. Nonetheless, it does, thanks to rule 603.10:

    603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, (...) However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows: (...)

    And, yes, some effects are able to 'track' an object changing zone:
    603.6. Trigger events that involve objects changing zones are called “zone-change triggers.” Many abilities with zone-change triggers attempt to do something to that object after it changes zones. During resolution, these abilities look for the object in the zone that it moved to. (...)

    Another example of 'inter-zone-bleeding' is Azorius Herald; when this card becomes a creature on the battlefield, it still cares about what was done to it when it was a mere spell on the stack.

    400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are nine exceptions to this rule: (...)


    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Battlefield Thaumaturge
    Alas, Heroic is not among those few triggered abilities allowed to look back in time:

    603.10. (…) some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger (…). The list of exceptions is as follows:

    603.10a (..) leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.
    603.10b (…) when a permanent phases out (…).
    603.10c (…) when an object becomes unattached (…).
    603.10d (…) when a player loses control of an object (…).
    603.10e (…) when a spell is countered (…).
    603.10f (…) when a player loses the game (…).
    603.10g (…) when a player planeswalks away from a plane (…).

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Apex Altisaur and Vigor
    Rule 615.6: If damage that would be dealt is prevented, it never happens. (…)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Question about Bloodthrone Vampire
    It's possible your confusing Bloodthrone Vampire's ability with something like Brawl-Bash Ogre's ablity.

    As Peteroupc said, Vampire's is an ACTIVATED ability, which means you may use it as often as you can pay the price, and all +2/+2 gained are cumulative.
    Brawl-Bash Ogre's ablity, on the other hand, is a TRIGGERED ability: you may only do as much as you're told (that is, sacrifice ONE creature) and get +2/+2 only once.

    See rules 602 & 603 for more details.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Reflector Mage
    Quote from HandsomeP »
    I remember reading that in some cases the target is not (need not be) announced immediately. So in this case, because it's a triggered ability, the target need only be announced after the trigger takes place, is that it?
    Yes. Since you are the one playing Reflector Mage, it's important that you actually wait for your opponents to respond (or to indicate that they choose not to), before announcing your target. The usual way of doing so is to cast Reflector Mage and then ask "does it resolve?".
    Someone may hold an Essence Scatter in their hand but may be hesitant to spend it on your spell, not knowing what you'll actually target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Welding Jar
    Quote from HandsomeP »
    Or was the restriction that you weren't allowed to regenerate your opponent's creature.
    You are totally allowed to regenerate an opponent's creature.
    Some confusion often arises because a creature that regenerates gets tapped; some players thought that they could tap an opponent's creature by casting some regenerate effect on it. That doesn't work.
    The creature taps only if it actually regenerates, when damage or some other effect actually ties to destroy it. Simply being the recipient of a regenerate effect does not tap it. (rule 701.14c)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.