Magic Market Index for Nov 2nd, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for October 26th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for October 12th, 2018
  • posted a message on Ob Nixilis, Unshackled sacrifice and life loss effect vs Sigarda, Host of Herons
    Moreover, do not confuse that situation with this other one, where a spell (or ability) gets totally nullified because all of its TARGETS have become illegal.

    608.2b If the spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the targets are still legal. (...) If all its targets, for every instance of the word “target,” are now illegal, the spell or ability doesn’t resolve (...). Otherwise, the spell or ability will resolve normally. (...)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Roiling Terrain vs Leyline
    No interraction: only the LAND is target of Rolling Terrain. The other two cards give Hexproof to the PLAYER.
    So it bypasses.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ob Nixilis, Unshackled sacrifice and life loss effect vs Sigarda, Host of Herons
    The countering still happen, even if the draw is forbidden (not 'prevented'). It doesn't really matter if the spell uses one or two sentences in its text.

    101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.
    609.3. If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does only as much as possible.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 2 questions about Falkenrath Torturer
    Quote from Big Fun »
    Will one sacrifice trigger multiple copies of Falkenrath Torturer if more than one is in play?
    If I sacrifice Corpse Hauler using its ability, putting a creature from the graveyard in my hand, will that sacrifice trigger Falkenrath Torturer?
    As Void_Nothing pointed out, both these creatures have activated abilities, which you obviously confused with triggered abilities.
    Feel free to check out the Comprehensive Rules to deepen your understanding of these abilities:
    Activated abilities are covered by rule 602.
    Triggered abilities are covered by rule 603.

    https://magic.wizards.com/en/game-info/gameplay/rules-and-formats/rules


    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copying a Copy.. but worse?
    Quote from Avanoh »
    If I have a Cryptoplasm on the field and have a Progenitor Mimic enter as a copy of it, I can have the Progenitor Mimic copy become another creature and create the token afterwards, right? If I remember right, you pick the order your own upkeep abilities resolve.
    Correct.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copying a Copy.. but worse?
    If Cryptoplasm copies Giant Adephage and then attacks, the token will be created and will be a copy of Cryptoplasm-now-turned-into-Giant-Adephage-with-the-addition-of-Cryptoplasm's-upkeep-trigger. It's Cryptoplasm's ability will trigger each upkeep.

    Progenitor Mimic is less forgiving with tokens.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Response/Resurgence Copied
    Response // Resurgence
    'After this main phase, there is an additional combat phase followed by an additional main phase.'

    A pair Combat/Main is added each time Resurgence resolves.
    If you copy it, another pair gets added; you'll end up with 3 pairs of Combat/Main phases intertwined.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Activating an ability in response to casting an instant

    1. Declare attackers, I'm attacking with Chromium (that doesn't go on the stack)
    2. Then I have priority, I don't want to do anything so I pass priority
    3. My opponent casts Chastise (goes on the stack as first, he pass priority)
    4. I respond with activated ability of Chromium (that goes on the stack in response to Chastise, I pass priority)
    5. My opponent doesn't do anything, so he pass priority
    6. (I already passed)
    7. Both us passed
    8. Up to now nothing has been resolved yet
    9. Then spells and abilities on the stack resolve one at a time in reverse order No, they don't. Only ONE object resolves: Chromium's ability.
    10. So Chromium resolves as first now (become target with hexproof)
    11. Priority goes around, before Chastise resolves.
    12. etc...
    Your opponent should cast Rebuke in step 5 instead of passing. This way, Rebuke would kill Chromium long before its ability gives it Hexproof.
    ...but you may ALSO respond to Rebuke by activating Chromium's ability a second time! (all you need to do is discard a second card)
    That 'new' Chromium's ability would then resolve before Rebuke!



    I read that once an ability is on the stack, it will happen. So what would it mean in this case? It will happen, but before that it will be destroyed by Rebuke?
    It certainly will resolve! As Rezzahan said, 'it will do as much as possible' and forego the impossible (because rule 101.3 says so).

    Let's watch as it happens:
    Rebuke just resolved and killed Chromium.
    Both players pass, so Chromium's ability resolves:
    1. Chromium, the Mutable becomes a Human. Not possible, since Chromium is dead; let's keep going…
    2. ...with base power and toughness 1/1, loses all abilities, and gains hexproof. Not possible, since Chromium is dead; let's keep going…
    3. It can't be blocked this turn. Since Chromy is dead, it won't attack, so being unblockable is irrelevant (and impossible).

    So, the ability resolved, but nothing usefull actually happened. Better luck next time!


    101.3. Any part of an instruction that’s impossible to perform is ignored. (...)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Brudiclad and Metamorphic Alteration
    Yes. Copies of copies become copies of the original copy.

    706.2. (…) The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (…) as modified by other copy effects (…)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 2 questions
    Quote from WenSon »
    gotta ask again (sorry)

    how is it with Mentor of the Meek, the "if" clause is in a second sentence and depends on the mana spend, not the creatures power (right?)

    so if i get a jadelight ranger that explores non-land cards, will i be able to draw or not?
    Yes to both questions. Meek triggers as soon as Ranger enters the field; it doesn't care if Ranger gets bigger afterward. There is no 'if clause' here.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Casting an instant onto a newly empty stack
    Quote from purklefluff »
    The rules seem fuzzy because I've read that after each spell or ability resolving there's a round of priority. So I assumed that one could let spells resolve down to an empty stack and then (still at instant speed, before the stack goes away) still add spells back to the stack.
    One thing you have wrong is 'the stack disappears' or 'goes away'.
    The stack never moves: it is a zone, a space, a placeholder for cards.
    It can be empty, or it can have objects pile up, but it's always there.

    Yes, there is a round of priority after each and every spell/ability.
    And there is one also after the last object resolves.

    If there is stuff on the stack, only instants and abilities can be played.
    If the stack is empty, the active player may also play sorceries & creatures. (assuming Main Phase)

    Here's how it goes:
    One last object is left on the stack.
    You both pass.
    That last object resolves. (so the stack is now empty)
    Priority now goes around.
    Active player gets priority first, facing an empty stack: they get to play a creature.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Guildmage's Forum and Gods of Theros
    And when Guildmage's Forum says "that creature", this isn't exclusive of objects based on their actual card types; it is merely an object defined earlier in the effect. However, the textual basis for this fact is lacking, to my knowledge.
    608.2i If an ability’s effect refers to a specific untargeted object that has been previously referred to by that ability’s cost or trigger condition, it still affects that object even if the object has changed characteristics.
    Example: Wall of Tears says “Whenever Wall of Tears blocks a creature, return that creature to its owner’s hand at end of combat.” If Wall of Tears blocks a creature, then that creature ceases to be a creature before the triggered ability resolves, the permanent will still be returned to its owner’s hand.
    ...almost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Guildmage's Forum and Gods of Theros
    Yes, they get the counter, because both spells are 'multicolored creature spells', which is what the lands are looking for.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Naban, Dean of Iteration combined with Panharmonicon
    603.1. Triggered abilities (…) are written as “[When/Whenever/At] [trigger condition or event], [effect]. [Instructions (if any).]”
    602.1. Activated abilities (…) are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]”
    614.1c Effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” (…) are replacement effects.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Priority and declaration of phases
    Can an opponent activate an ability of his creature during my upkeep?
    Yes. The first time in your turn opponent receives priority is during your Upkeep. EVERY Upkeep, no exception.
    If they wish to play something during your upkeep, you CANNOT rush by and draw; you must allow them time to play.

    500.1. A turn consists of five phases, in this order: beginning, precombat main, combat, postcombat main, and ending. Each of these phases takes place every turn, even if nothing happens during the phase. (…)

    What about after I draw. I thought that was a turn based action that didn't use the stack.
    504. Draw Step
    504.1. First, the active player draws a card. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.
    504.2. Second, the active player gets priority. (See rule 116, “Timing and Priority.”)
    116.3d (…) Then the next player in turn order receives priority.


    I've done a lot of reading, and still am uncertain...
    May I recommend reading the actual rulebook?
    It's called 'Comprehensive Rules'. (admitted, it's a lot of reading! )
    Priority is covered by rules 116 & 500.

    https://magic.wizards.com/en/game-info/gameplay/rules-and-formats/rules
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.