Magic Market Index for Dec 28th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for Dec 21st, 2018
 
Ultimate Masters: MMI Review
  • posted a message on Possible name of the upcoming set
    BFZ block had Ugin and Jace in the Story and card arts, but no Planeswalker card.

    SOI block had Gideon, Chandra and Nissa, but no Planeswalker card for any of them.

    KLD block had Jace, Gideon and Liliana, but no Planeswalker card for any of them.

    AKH block had Jace and Chandra, but no Planeswalker card for any of them.

    DOM had Gideon and Liliana (and glimpses of Jace, Ajani and Bolas), but no Planeswalker card of any of them.

    I am sure the story will have tons of planeswalkers in it. But I don't think they would overflow the set with planeswalker cards. There are other ways to show the alliance against Bolas.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Lumbering Battlement
    Quote from SilverWolf_27 »
    Quote from 13055 »
    Quote from SilverWolf_27 »
    Quote from void_nothing »
    Is THAT the Mirror March secret tech?

    Well, it does work, if you can get around the insane mana requirement... And now I am tempted to actually try to pull it off.


    How does it work? The card clearly states non-token.

    If you have three copies of this (or non-token clones), you get as many triggers of mirror march as you want, eventually overrunning your opponent.
    Say you have beastie A. Then you add beastie B and have A ride it. Add beastie C, have B ride it, return A, have C ride it, retun B...


    You need to have another read of Mirror Match. It also clearly says when a NONTOKEN creature enters.
    And again, the Lumbering Battlement says that is exiles NONTOKENS creatures. So Copy C CAN'T exile Copy B. And even if it could Exile Copy B, then Copy B would cease to exist and never return.
    They just don't work together as well as you think they do.

    I guess A, B and C are non-token copies of the card. They cycle each other making tons of tokens each time.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Lumbering Battlement
    Great against Wrath effects and good with ETB shenanigans
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Spirit of the Spires
    Quote from 13055 »
    Quote from MRdown2urth »
    Boooo. Go cats!


    Lol my first thought was "Oh no, the Generous Strays are going to starve."

    If only they lived on Dominaria
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Abzan Liege / Wilted Abzan / Liege Rhino
    How about Knight of Autumn?

    At least as a sidboard options, instead of Reclamation Sage and, maybe, Quasali Pridmage
    Posted in: Aggro & Tempo
  • posted a message on Deafening Clarion
    Quote from headminerve »
    I think this card has clear applications in a Dinosaur deck. Enrage creatures that will survive the Anger effect ? I'm in.

    Yeah, I guess Dino is the deck that can benefit the most from it.
    Get rid of the chump blockers, trigger all the enrages, hit for huge lifelink damage. Sees great to me.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Combo Masters
    I guess Masters 25th was designed with this exact aspect in mind.
    Not that every single card in the set has a corresponding one that forms a combo, but instead of 10 well defined archetypes for each color pair, the set was a bit more open.

    Check this article, specially the 3rd item.
    Posted in: Baseless Speculation
  • posted a message on Yawgmoth as a possible side Commander in top deck matters?
    Yuriko is number 52, so we have number 51 between XA and YU.
    Possibility is real!

    Edit: Well, not anymore.
    51 is Yennet
    Posted in: Speculation
  • posted a message on Subjectuve Reality deck leaks
    Quote from bt67 »
    Are there any good white zombies to play? I ask because I already have U/B Zombie deck and despite having troubles sometimes with enchantments, what does white bring to the table to support Zombies besides anointed procession, if anything ?

    Wayward Servant
    Unraveling Mummy
    Tidehollow Sculler
    Stillmoon Cavalier

    Not sure about the "good" part, though
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Subjectuve Reality deck leaks
    You draw cards equal to the number of attacking zombies
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Subjectuve Reality deck leaks
    Quote from WenSon »
    why is it sometimes "whenever a creature you control attacks" (or zombie in this case) and now "when you attack with one or more zombies draw that many cards..." ???
    what is the difference and why do they print them in different wordings when the mechanic is the same ?

    or can some1 tell me the functional difference between Sanctum Seeker & Varina ?

    The reason is digital Magic.
    The first one triggers once per creature attacking
    The second one triggers only once per combat

    At the end of the day the number of card draws will be the same, but the number of clicks can be very different.

    Of course, they are not EXACTLY the same thing. A single trigger is more easily countered. But this is kind of a corner case scenario.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Mothership Spoilers 7-25
    Quote from NerdSoda »
    I like Bestow on her because it's a way to circumvent the command tax, but not in a broken way like Derevi


    You still pay commander tax when bestowing.
    Are you sure? I hope someone can explain this further.

    The commander tax is an additional cost, as stated in Rule 903.8

    903.8. A player may cast a commander he or she owns from the command zone. A commander cast from the command zone costs an additional {2} for each previous time the player casting it has cast it from the command zone that game.


    Bestow is an alternative cost, as stated in Rule 702.102a
    702.102a Bestow represents two static abilities, one that functions while the card with bestow is on the stack and another that functions both while it’s on the stack and while it’s on the battlefield. “Bestow [cost]” means “You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost.” and “If you chose to pay this spell’s bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature. These effects last until one of two things happens: this spell has an illegal target as it resolves or the permanent this spell becomes, becomes unattached.” Paying a card’s bestow cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h. #


    And when you pay an alternative cost you still have to pay all the additional costs, as stated in Rule 117.9d
    117.9d If an alternative cost is being paid to cast a spell, any additional costs, cost increases, and cost reductions that affect that spell are applied to that alternative cost. (See rule 601.2f.)
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Arixmethes, Slumbering Isle
    If I have a horn of greed in play and I cast arixmethes normally (no solemnity in play or anything like that, he's going to enter as a land), do I draw a card? I clearly didn't play a land in the normal way but I also still played a card which did turn out to be a land. So I'm not entirely sure what happens here lol.

    Nope, you are not playing a land. You are casting a creature spell that happens to enter the battlefield as a land.


    Tiro's reaction was really touching. That's why I love these sets with callback characters!
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Arixmethes, Slumbering Isle
    Quote from Skios »
    Just so we're clear, the fact that it's not a creature while it has slumber counters on it means that you can tap it for mana the turn you cast it, right? (Assuming there's not some sort of Torpor Orb effect in play).

    Torpor Orb doesn't stop it from entering the battlefield tapped and with 5 counters, as it's not a triggered ability.

    But yes, as said, it does not have summon sickness, if you can untap it, you can add mana the turn it enters de battlefield!
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Ancient Stone Idol
    Quote from AvalonAurora »
    If my understanding of the card and it's translation is right, you can also cast this during your own combat phase for a discount if you are attacking, especially with a bunch of creatures, and given it can create it's own token when it dies, it might go good in some kinds of token decks.

    The translation is pretty accurate, so you got it right!

    Interestingly, one of the artifact decks subtheme seems to be tokens. So the strategy you pointed should be quite viable in the deck
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.