(MODS: If this is in the wrong forum, I apologize in advance.)
Dear mtgsalvation participants,
I have 136 positive references, and was recently asked to trade by someone with 95 positive references. That's a difference of 41, so I asked him if he'd be willing to send first. He was quite turned off by this, and refused to trade with someone (me) who would make that request of someone with 95 references.
So, I'd like to get the low-down on trading etiquette. I was under the impression that the "fewer references send first" rule was always applicable, but it looks like I may have been wrong. Therefore, to avoid making this gaffe in the future, I ask you:
At what point does a person's positive references absolve him or her from having to send first? He had 95, so is it in the 100 range? Or perhaps over 50? Or am I right and he was wrong?
Thanks in advance for setting me straight.
- Dr. Shades
- Registered User
Member for 14 years, 7 months, and 5 days
Last active Sat, Apr, 10 2021 18:31:59
- 3 Followers
- 432 Total Posts
- 6 Thanks
Oct 28, 2013Dr. Shades posted a message on When does the "fewer references send first" rule no longer apply?Posted in: Magic General
Jun 29, 2013In a recent game, I had an Undead Alchemist on the Battlefield while he had the emblem generated by Tamiyo, the Moon Sage. I attacked him with my Alchemist. Now, four cards will go into his graveyard from his library, but will return to his hand instead thanks to the emblem. If any of those four cards are creature cards, will they be exiled thanks to my Alchemist and I'll get a 2/2 Zombie token for each of them, or will my Alchemist "miss" them and the creature cards go into his hand?Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
Thank you so much!
Jun 26, 2013Posted in: Magic GeneralQuote from aeonfluxYour Séance token has haste although Séance doesn't grant haste.
Good catch, aeonflux! Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I made the correction (by deleting the link).
If anyone else sees any errors, by all means, please let me know so the project can be improved.
Jun 26, 2013Posted in: Magic General
Apr 12, 2013Dear community:Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
I really should know this, but just to be absolutely sure, I'd like your input on a situation that's almost certain to arise soon:
Let's say I have a Mentor of the Meek on the battlefield. Let's say I also have two copies of Intangible Virtue on the battlefield as well.
I then cast Doomed Traveler. Now, do I get to pay 1 in order to draw a card, because the printed power/toughness of the Doomed Traveler is 1, or do I not get to pay 1 in order to draw a card, because the effects count as the creature itself having a power of 3?
I'm leaning toward the latter, but I thought I'd run it past all of you just to be sure.
Thanks in advance for any help you can give me,
Dec 24, 2012Hi folks,Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
I have a commander deck that uses Oros, the Avenger as a commander. When I do combat damage to a player, may I activate his triggered ability more than once?
I have another commander deck that uses Living Death. Let's say I use it to bring back a Mycoloth from the graveyard along with a few other creatures. Do I order the creatures to re-enter the battlefield one after the other, so that my Mycoloth can Devour them, or do all creatures return simultaneously, so Mycoloth can't devour anything?
If I cast Living Death and return an Eternal Witness to the battlefield, can she return the original Living Death to my hand?
Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.
Please use card tags in future posts. The Forum Guidelines explain how to do that. -Carsten
Oct 26, 2012Spheniscine: Thank you! All fixed.Posted in: Magic General
Hwangman: First, copy the image and then paste it into any image manipulation program (Microsoft Paint, PhotoShop, etc.). Second, alter the image so that it's 63 x 88 millimeters, or 2.5 by 3.5 inches. Third, print it.
As for doing something fancy with card backs, well, I'm not sophisticated enough to help you there. I'd just go the "poor man" route and cut the image out of the printed page and then slip it into a card sleeve on top of one of those advertisement cards that come in boosters.
Oct 17, 2012Dr. Shades posted a message on You have total control over magic rules... what do you do?I would make the game more manageable by instituting the following rules:Posted in: Magic General
- No player's life total may ever be greater than 99.
- No creature's printed power/toughness may be greater than 9/9.
- Infinite combinations may not cycle through more than 9 times.
- No more than 9 counters of any one type may be on a permanent.
Oct 17, 2012Thanks to Hellssponge for giving us a LOT more tokens from various sets and to Spheniscine for the Boar token from Planechase 2012!Posted in: Magic General
This project has now been updated to reflect Return to Ravnica.
Sep 11, 2012Posted in: Magic Rulings ArchivesQuote from Merestil Haye
- The Commander tax applies only when you cast your Commander from the Command zone.
- The Commander tax only counts the number of times your Commander has been cast from the Command zone.
THANK YOU, Merestil!
Remillo is responding to Kryptnyt's complex sequence of card moves by pointing out that, at any point where the Commander moves to either the Graveyard or Exile zone, its owner could stop the sequence dead by putting the Commander in the Command zone.
Ahh, I get it now. Thanks again.
Sep 11, 2012Posted in: Magic Rulings ArchivesQuote from RemilloFor each time you cast it from the command zone, it costs 2 more to cast from the commander zone. If you cast it once, the next time it would be cast from the command zone, it would cost 2 more. If you cast it from your hand, reanimate it, etc, it would be for normal cost and would not count towards the cost additions.
So far, so good. Thank you.
With Kryptnyt's scenario, assuming you actually let it get destroyed or exiled and not return it to the command zone, it would only cost 2 to cast, assuming all of that ends up happening on the first time you cast it.
Forgive me, but now I'm a little confused. I'll be specific: I'm planning on using Glissa, the Traitor as my commander. She costs BGG, not 2. Let's say I've already cast her once, then I allow her to go to my graveyard instead of back to the command zone when she dies. I then use Disentomb to return her to my hand. When I cast her a second time, this time from my hand, she'll still cost BGG and **NOT** 2BGG, right?
If your commander would be put into a Graveyard or Exile from anywhere, you can choose to put it back in to the command zone. So all of that would stop after the first Exile if the player were to choose that option.
Forgive me for being so slow on the uptake, but when you say "all of that would stop," all of what would stop? Paying 2 more for her, or **NOT** paying 2 more for her?
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.