Let's say I attack with Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker and Ink-Eyes, Servant of Oni. They both get through and deal combat damage.
Do both abilities trigger simultaneously, or may I choose their order? Specifically, which scenario is true:
SCENARIO 1: When my creatures did combat damage, a "snapshot" of my opponent's graveyard was taken by each of them before any triggers, so even if Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker mills Avacyn, Angel of Hope (among other things), it's too late for me to put her on the battlefield with Ink-Eyes, Servant of Oni's ability.
SCENARIO 2: When my creatures did combat damage, I can put their triggers on the stack in the order of my choice, so I could have Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker's ability trigger first, see Avacyn, Angel of Hope get milled (among other things), then have Ink-Eyes, Servant of Oni's ability trigger second, letting me put Avacyn, Angel of Hope on the battlefield.
. . . ?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, since I'm sure this very scenario will occur sooner or later in my playgroup.
- Dr. Shades
- Registered User
Member for 14 years, 3 months, and 15 days
Last active Thu, Jan, 21 2021 20:56:43
- 3 Followers
- 431 Total Posts
- 6 Thanks
May 31, 2014Dr. Shades posted a message on Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker + Ink-Eyes, Servant of Oni?Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
Mar 23, 2014A big THANK YOU goes out to slikwilly for fixing MANY of the broken links! There are still some broken ones, mostly due to dead photobucket URLs. I'll have to look for the originals that were posted to the old custom token creation thread.Posted in: Magic General
Mar 22, 2014In that case, are you willing to undertake that? If so, simply click "quote" at the end of the list of tokens, and then you'll have the code to the entire post. If you replace broken links with working ones, then PM the code back to me and I'll be happy to re-post.Posted in: Magic General
Mar 8, 2014Dr. Shades posted a message on Royal Assassin vs. Kaalia of the Vast + Avacyn, Angel of HopeDear participants:Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
This situation recently came up in our playgroup.
I declare my Kaalia of the Vast as an attacker, attempting to bring out Avacyn, Angel of Hope. He taps his Royal Assassin to destroy my now-tapped Kaalia of the Vast.
Does Avacyn, Angel of Hope save Kaalia of the Vast from the Royal Assassin's ability, or does the Royal Assassin's ability destroy Kaalia of the Vast before Avacyn, Angel of Hope can save her? If the latter, Avacyn, Angel of Hope will nevertheless appear on the battlefield, will she not?
Thanks in advance for your time.
Feb 5, 2014If you're wishing for Wizards to print a certain token, perhaps as a stopgap you can print some of the photoshopped tokens that other people have already invented for you. I compiled the complete list and posted it at:Posted in: Magic General
Once there, just click the bolded word and your desired token will appear.
Dec 10, 2013Posted in: Magic GeneralQuote from Tengu DrumThe Hazezon Tamar tokens are technically incorrect and are just vanilla's the exile effect only checks if the man himself leaves the battlefield. If he isn't around and they come in due to his delayed trigger they'll stick around.
Yes indeed, you're correct. I have made the required change; thanks for helping make the project even better.
Annorax: Thanks for the Pack Rat token; I have included it in the project.
EVERYONE ELSE: The project has been updated to include Theros. I will incorporate the cards from Commander 2013 soon.
Nov 25, 2013Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Bolas, the MindsculptorHas anyone tried the hydras versus commander decks? . . . The end result? An absolute routing of those heads. lol
When playing Commander against the Hydra, I think you'd have to have your life total start at 20, not 40. If you did the latter, no wonder the heads were routed!
Nov 25, 2013Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from DesikaerI must say, though, that once you've removed all the sorcery cards from the deck, it's surprisingly easy to wipe out the heads in play, even with the accumulated damage at the Hydra end step from untapped heads.
I don't see how you could win at all under such circumstances, since with a deck nearly full of heads, each destroyed head would almost guarantee two heads in return, thus dealing you double the damage you'd normally take on the Hydra's turn and making your "wipe out all heads" job exponentially harder each turn.
Nov 12, 2013Posted in: Magic GeneralQuote from "Shale WarBringer" »Forgot that the token was named "Carnivore". It should be listed under Beast though if the tokens are sorted by creature type.
That's a good point; I updated the header to reflect that the tokens are arranged initially by name, not type.
Quote from "Mayk" »Hi, great post! Use it all the time.
Any chance of adding/making the Ophiomancer snake token with Deathtouch?
I don't have the photoshop skills to create a token, but I will add it to the list, minus a link, once I get around to adding the tokens from Commander 2013.
Nov 4, 2013Posted in: Magic GeneralQuote from "x1PMac1x" »I think there is another emblem missing. Garruk, Caller of Beasts gives you an emblem that says,"Whenever you cast a creature spell, you may search your library for a creature card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library."
The reason it was missing is because I hadn't updated the list to include Magic 2014 yet. I have since done so.
Quote from "Blueduck" »One note, the link for the Pentavus token (1/1 colorless artifact pentavite) doesn't seem to work. Just thought I'd let you know.
Thanks for the heads-up. The link has been fixed.
Quote from "Shale WarBringer" »Can't find the 3/1 red Beast token from Tooth and Claw.
It's there, trust me. The tokens are arranged alphabetically by type, then by color, then by power/toughness.
Quote from "Megadog" »Your riptide replicator puts the exile ability on the creature, where as the card exiles the token in reality. This is important for populate.
I looked, and it isn't Riptide Replicator that fits your description. It's Mimic Vat and Séance that fit your description; I have since fixed them. Thank you for the correction.
And thank you to Blueduck, Stoogeslap, and Jester's Tear for the kind words!
EVERYONE: I have updated the opening post to reflect Magic 2014 and Duel Decks: Heroes vs. Monsters.
Nov 1, 2013Posted in: Magic GeneralQuote from lord_emperorI wouldn't trade with someone who refused to simul-send, as long as both parties are rated positively.
Think about it, depending on the distance between you you're asking him to wait potentially extra weeks to recieve the cards he traded for.
I've learned my lesson. Thank you!
Oct 29, 2013Original poster here; thanks to everyone for the responses so far.Posted in: Magic General
I would've simul-sent if he had asked me to do it. And yes, I'll admit that I'm a little paranoid, simply because I've been burned in the past.
I had thought that asking the question has an added utility of gauging the person's attitude based on his or her response, but apparently I was socially in the wrong after all.
So, it looks like simul-sending is the general rule once someone has earned between 35 and 50 positive references, depending on the higher-referenced trader's personal preferences. That's good to know; thank you.
Also, the trade was for slightly under $10, so I guess that added to his displeasure, . . . right?
Oct 28, 2013(MODS: If this is in the wrong forum, I apologize in advance.)Posted in: Magic General
Dear mtgsalvation participants,
I have 136 positive references, and was recently asked to trade by someone with 95 positive references. That's a difference of 41, so I asked him if he'd be willing to send first. He was quite turned off by this, and refused to trade with someone (me) who would make that request of someone with 95 references.
So, I'd like to get the low-down on trading etiquette. I was under the impression that the "fewer references send first" rule was always applicable, but it looks like I may have been wrong. Therefore, to avoid making this gaffe in the future, I ask you:
At what point does a person's positive references absolve him or her from having to send first? He had 95, so is it in the 100 range? Or perhaps over 50? Or am I right and he was wrong?
Thanks in advance for setting me straight.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.