2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • 1

    posted a message on Mechanized Warfare + Red Artifact Creatures
    2. Mechanized Warfare can only affect a damage event once and add 1 damage to it, it doesn't matter if the source is both an artifact and red. A source either qualifies for its damage to be raised or it does not, it can't qualify or be affected twice.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on ghyrson starn, kelermorph vs 1/1
    Quote from QuantumFart »
    I'm playing ghyrson starn, kelermorph, and i ping a 1/1, does ghyrson still deal 2 damage to the 1/1, if so does it happen before the 1 damage was dealt or after?

    If not does it just fizzle out because of a invalid target as a result of the 1/1 dying?
    Ghyrson has a triggered ability that goes on the stack only after the 1 damage is dealt, and if it was to a creature with only one toughness, after the creature has been destroyed, due to state-based actions. The ability still goes on the stack and resolves, but it won't be able to deal damage to a nonexistent object, so if for example, you had given Ghyrson lifelink, you wouldn't gain 2 life.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Card tags Explanation (aka You MUST Use Card Tags in This Forum.)
    Card tags Explanation

    It is required that you use card tags when asking questions in the Magic Rulings forum, in order for the people who would answer you to be able to look up the cards more easily.

    You need to write the full, correctly spelled card name within your post (tags do not work in thread titles), then either

    1) Select it then click the icon of a single Magic card in the post toolbar

    OR

    2) Type [c] or [card] to the left and [/c] or [/card] to the right of the name.

    Typing [c]Lightning Bolt[/c] or [card]Lightning Bolt[/card] (which is what method #1 does automatically for you) will yield this result : Lightning Bolt

    Method #2 will work on any browser, including the one on your phone or other mobile device. You just need to find the square brackets ( [ ] ) and the forward slash ( / ) on your device's keyboard. So being on mobile is not an excuse!

    You only need to do it once for each specific card in a given thread.

    For a more detailed explanation of all types of tags, see the MTG Salvation Tag Explanation Thread.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Hive Mind
    Quote from GregBSbs »
    Thanks for the reply. Would something like Innocent Blood work better? I am trying to get it so its like a board clear.
    Sure, if you have two opponents, two additional copies of Innocent Blood will be created for them, and if all instances resolve, each player will sacrifice a total of 3 creatures if they have any.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Can't Stay Away and DFC
    Right. It remains the same permanent as it transforms, and Can't Stay Away's effect giving it that ability remains. It still has the ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Solemnity and Out of Time
    Solemnity
    Out of Time

    If I have Solemnity on the battlefield and cast Out of Time, you can't put time counters on Out of Time.

    However, since Vanishing's ability has an intervening if clause and a triggered ability that only triggers if I remove the last time counter, does that mean Out of Time stays on the battlefield until it is removed in some other way?
    Correct. Out of Time enters with no counters, and the sacrifice part of Vanishing only happens when you do the specific action of removing the last time counter on it. Since it has no time counters to be removed, that never happens.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Adventure
    No, Swift End is not a Knight spell. It's an Instant spell and its only subtype is 'Adventure'. As it is not a creature or a tribal spell, it wouldn't be able to carry a creature type. Despite the fact that you cast Swift End "from" a card that is a knight creature, once Swift End gets put on the stack as you cast it and you're in the process of paying its cost, it's only Swift End, an Adventure Instant.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Learning in Commander
    Quote from Mystic_X »
    In a game of Commander where sideboards don't exist, what happens when someone "learns" with divide by zero?
    Anything pertaining to cards "outside the game" needs either an official statement from the EDH rules committee or house rules in order to work in Commander. And the EDH rules committee did make an official statement about Learn : https://mtgcommander.net/index.php/2021/04/12/2021-april-update-strixhaven/.

    In short, the "fetch a Lesson" part of Learn doesn't work in Commander unless your playgroup makes house rules to allow it. But the "rummage" option and the "do nothing" option work fine.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Sun crowned hunters
    Yes. The ability of each Raptor triggers and resolves seperately. One instance resolves, deals 2 to the Hunters, triggering their enrage ability; that enrage ability goes on top of the stack, then it resolves; then the second Raptor's ability resolves, dealing another 2 to the Hunters and triggering their enrage ability again (and presumably causing the Hunters to be destroyed, but that has no bearing on their enrage ability resolving, it still happens.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Tormod, the Desecrator and the delve mechanic
    A) Just one zombie. The cards are exiled all at once, and because the trigger event is worded "one or more cards" and not "a card", Tormod triggers only once and you get one zombie.

    B) Flood of Recollection doesn't touch the graveyard. It exiles itself as part of its effect while resolving, and it's still on the stack while it's resolving. It goes from the stack to exile, so no Tormod trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.