Magic Market Index for Nov 2nd, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for October 26th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for October 12th, 2018
  • posted a message on Casting an instant onto a newly empty stack
    Quote from purklefluff »
    Let's say we have a stack of spells or abilities. For the sake of argument, three. It's doesn't really matter what they are.

    I'm the opponent (not active player)

    Can I do the priority shuffle and let each of the three spells resolve individually, then after the last one resolves, add something to the empty stack again?

    Thanks

    Yes you can, though it will be after the active player has passed priority to you (as the active player, they get priority first on an emtpy stack). The game won't proceed to the next step or phase until all players have passed priority in succession on a an emtpy stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Beginning of Combat Trigger (Brudiclad)
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    Quote from shinike »
    However, if you do that, it is still main phase. Your opponent can cast another Brudiclad after that before going to combat, for example.


    So when my opponent declare an end to his first main, I could destroy Brudiclad to prevent him from creating token, but he'd still have a chance to cast Brudiclad again? I thought actions like that require instant speed effect.
    Such actions as casting a creature spell without flash require the player to have priority in their main phase while the stack is empty. The thing is, as their opponent, you doing anything in their main phase gives them such an opportunity even if they previously announced they were leaving their main phase.

    The game doesn't move to the next step or phase until all players have passed priority on an empty stack, declining to do anything more that phase or step. When your opponent says such things as "ending my main phase" or "go to combat" or the like, they are proposing a shortcut to you, for priority to be passed until the Beginning of combat step. Here, by destroying Brudiclad still in the main phase, you are refusing that shortcut, and what they said about ending their main phase doesn't hold. After your destroy spell has resolved and the stack is clear, all players must get priority again and choose to pass for the game to move to combat. Since your opponent gets priority again on an empty stack in their main phase, they have a new opportunity to cast a creature or other spell still in their main phase.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Planeswalker on extra turns
    I have no idea where your friend is taking that from. You can activate one of the abilities of a given planeswalker once during each of your turns. An extra turn that you create is a full separate turn of yours, no reason you wouldn't be able to activate Jace once again during that new turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Thorn Lieutenant vs Merfolk Trickster
    Yes, it does. The Lieutenant's ability triggers when it becomes the target of the Tricker's ability. The Lieutenant's ability goes on the stack above the Tricker's and resolves first, so you get a token even before the Lieutenant loses its abilities. Note however that what matters is that the Lieutenant's ability triggered: even if it loses its abilities before that resolves, the ability on the stack doesn't care if the printed ability on its source is removed, as an object on the stack it is independent and it will still resolve.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Underrealm Lich Card draw ruling
    Quote from kysg »
    yea...none of that makes any sense. I'll just stick to just looking at the 3 cards when I draw.
    Which is what you have to do. What Argus explained in detail is that you can only apply one of the Liches, because once you've applied one, you're no longer drawing a card, so the other one can't apply (putting a card into your hand is not considered drawing a card, the exact wording matters). Replacement effects like the Lich's are not applied simultaneously, you must first apply one and then see if the event as modified can have other replacement effects applied to it. When you're done, the event happens as modified.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Combat Damage Culmulation
    Quote from Ifalna »
    Maybe they should write "whenever a source causes you to gain life.." on the card if thats what they mean, I thought the same damage dealt in one chunk argument would apply, where 3 damage is dealt with lifelink and they gain 3 life, not 1 life 3 times.
    It only works that way because the rules say so:
    118.9. Some triggered abilities are written, "Whenever [a player] gains life, . . . ." Such abilities are treated as though they are written, "Whenever a source causes [a player] to gain life, . . . ." If a player gains 0 life, no life gain event has occurred, and these abilities won't trigger.
    You're free to dislike that rule and think it doesn't make sense that the two answers are different, but unfortunately, no one who posts here can change that fact.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Face down commander
    Quote from MadMageQc »
    [quote from="Lithl »" url="/forums/magic-fundamentals/magic-rulings/800738-face-down-commander?comment=2"]My take is that you would not be obligated to reveal the information until the fact that it's your commander affects the game state, and aside from the same cases where you have to reveal a face-down permanent's face anyway (zone change, losing the game, etc.), dealing commander damage, since it affects something that's public information (commander damage count), is the only thing I can think of.


    But that just brings up memory issues, especially if a deck is Bant morph or Animorphs. The Rules Committee needs to fix this.
    The rules are made so that there is no memory issue with face-down permanents. Each one must be kept distinct and tracked individually from the time it exists/is turned face down. A player who controls mutliple face-down permanents cannot "shuffle them around" to try and confuse people about each of those permanents' history. You can use stickers or faux-counters or anything of the sort to help with this.
    707.6. If you control multiple face-down spells or face-down permanents, you must ensure at all times that your face-down spells and permanents can be easily differentiated from each other. This includes, but is not limited to, knowing what ability or rules caused the permanents to be face down, the order spells were cast, the order that face-down permanents entered the battlefield, which creature(s) attacked last turn, and any other differences between face-down spells or permanents. Common methods for distinguishing between face-down objects include using counters or dice to mark the different objects, or clearly placing those objects in order on the table.
    And there would be no memory issue with commander damage since as I said, the commander must be revealed at that point, and the damage counted.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Face down commander
    Quote from Lithl »
    A face-down commander does deal commander damage (this is a property of the piece of cardboard, essentially). I don't know that the CR covers the rules for verifying that this is your commander, but considering you have access to the information (you can look at the front face of face-down creatures you control) and dealing commander damage to a player free information like a player's life total, it seems you would be obligated to reveal that the face-down creature is your commander at the point it deals damage to a player.
    My conclusion is that you would not be obligated to reveal the information until the fact that it's your commander affects the game state, and aside from the same cases where you have to reveal a face-down permanent's face anyway (zone change, losing the game, etc.), dealing commander damage, since it affects something that's public information (commander damage count), is the only thing I can think of.EDIT: Nevermind, I forgot about lieutenants and the like. You can't choose to have the lieutenant ability not work, and the fact that it is currently "on" would be free information in a casual setting.

    EDIT: To note, the fact that a face-down commander can be put in the command zone as it leaves the battlefield is clearly not in question, even if its owner didn't control it and didn't know beforehand that it was their commander. (e.g. Gather Specimens cast in response to a manifest spell or ability.) I would say that's in part because of 707.9 which forces to reveal the card as it moves from the battlefield, but further, I believe an opponent taking your commander from a hidden zone and exiling it face-down (e.g. Gonti, Lord of Luxury) forces them to reveal it and ask you whether you want it to be put in the command zone, in order to comply with 903.9.
    903.9. If a commander would be exiled from anywhere or put into its owner's hand, graveyard, or library from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. This replacement effect may apply more than once to the same event. This is an exception to rule 614.5.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Oversized card question?
    Magic is supposed to be played with actual, normal-sized Magic cards. An oversized Atraxa is not a real Magic card, it's just an accessory. And yes, true Atraxa cards exist, she was included in the Breed Lethality preconstructed deck of the Commander 2016 series, the same product that the oversized version was sold in.

    Now, some playgroups could allow the oversized version as a proxy, with another proxy card on hand representing it for when it goes to another zone than battlefield or command zone, but that would be a house rule entirely to the playgroup's discretion.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Shriekmaw sacrifice
    Yes to both. Sacrificing Shriekmaw because of Evoke is a triggered ability that can be responded to. If you respond with Supernatural Stamina, Shriekmaw will return to the battlefield after dying (allowing you to destroy another creature) and then stay on the battlefield since it's a new object that wasn't evoked. As for Path to Exile, while your opponent does have the opportunity to cast it and exile Shriekmaw before it dies, it is important to note that the destroy ability, which triggered when it entered the battlefield, will still happen. Abilities on the stack are independent from their source, and removal of the source doesn't stop the ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ochran Assassin ruling
    The way you wrote this, you seems to be under the impression that the ability does something when the Assassin enters the battlefield, but it doesn't, all it does is force your opponent's blocking choices in the declare blockers step after you attack with the Assassin. Blocking is something that only happens in the combat phase. An ability that does something when the creature with it enters the battlefield will be clear about that. EDIT: Note, in case you didn't know, that there is only one declaration of blockers for a given combat phase (of which there normally is only one per turn) and that all blocks are declared at the same time.

    When the combat phase, the declare blockers step in particular, rolls in, your opponent has to block the Assassin with all their available blockers. And normally, that's the only creature that they will be able to block, since each blocker can only block one creature, barring a special ability that allows it to block more (e.g. Palace Guard). So your other attackers would usually go through.

    Normally, unless you somehow raise the Assassin's power, it will only be able to kill one blocker since you only have 1 power to assign among the blockers. But each addtional point of power you grant to the Assassin with effects allows you to assign one additional point of deathtouch-bearing damage to another blocker.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ravnica dual lands
    If they have the exact same name, they are considered the same card, you can only play one in a commander deck no matter the version.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dash cost & Commander tax
    Quote from coupon4kaycee »
    If your Commander has an alternate cost such as Dash or an activated ability such as Ninjitsu or Commander Ninjitsu, does the "Commander Tax" apply if it is played from Command Zone a second or more times? That is, for example, if my Commander with Dash is destroyed, does the cost to Dash it from the Command Zone increase? If not, why not?
    "I think the Dash cost will be affected by the Commander Tax as long as the commander is in the command zone" will be argued as "someone's opinion" rather than any OFFICIAL rule on the subject. I've heard the argument that because Dash is an alternate cost, the tax does not apply. Why not? Your still "casting" it, are you not?
    It depends on the exact ability. If it makes you cast the card, additional costs such as the commander tax apply.

    Dash does have you cast the card: it represents an alternative cost to cast it, so commander tax applies if you cast Zurgo Bellstriker from the command zone that way.
    702.108a. Dash represents three abilities: two static abilities that function while the card with dash is on the stack, one of which may create a delayed triggered ability, and a static ability that functions while the object with dash is on the battlefield. "Dash [cost]" means "You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost," "If this spell's dash cost was paid, return the permanent this spell becomes to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step," and "As long as this permanent's dash cost was paid, it has haste." Paying a card's dash cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f-h.
    Yuriko, The Tiger's shadow's Commander Ninjutsu, on the other hand, does not. It's an activated ability which effects puts Yuriko on the battlefield directly, she's never cast, so the commander tax doesn't apply.
    702.48d. Commander ninjutsu is a variant of the ninjutsu ability that also functions while the card with commander ninjutsu is in the command zone. "Commander ninjutsu [cost]" means "[Cost], Reveal this card from your hand or from the command zone, Return an unblocked attacking creature you control to its owner's hand: Put this card onto the battlefield tapped and attacking."
    Such abilities that allow you to put your commander directly on the battlefield from the command zone avoiding the tax are extremely rare, Derevi, Empyrial Tactician being the only other example I'm aware of. Command Beacon is another, albeit indirect way, to avoid the tax, but that's about it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Training Grounds + Lazav, the Multifarious
    This seems to be a bug, the ability should cost at least 1, unless the value chosen for X is 0. A cost reduction effect like the Grounds' applies after the value of X is chosen, and if X is 2, Grounds can only apply partially, it should reduce the total cost to 1.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Evolutionary Leap question
    No. Since the "sacrifice a creature" phrase is before the colon (:), it is part of the cost of Evolutionary Leap's ability. Players can't respond to costs, you can only respond to an ability once it's been fully activated and paid for. If you have priority, you can activate the Leap and no one will get priority (the right to cast spells and activate abilities) until the activation process is done, with all costs paid, any state-bassed actions have been dealt with if applicable and any triggered abilities have been put on the stack if applicable.

    Since it is your opponent's turn, they do get priority first after Quagmire's ability resolves, so they could cast Bolt before you can activate the Leap, but then you'll presumably just do it in response to their Bolt, making it completely moot. They really can't stop you from activating the Leap here.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.