Quote from andyscout »Quote from Creedmoor »Quote from Randuir »I am fairly certain you can't, as the new bag of holding is seen as a different entity than the one you had on the field previously, so it would not consider the exiled cards to be exiled by itself. Someone will probably drop by with all the proper rule references though.
This is probably one of the more frustrating rules of magic, because it seems counter intuitive and frustrating when you want to make cards like this work.
In some ways, yes, but in other ways no. Let’s say you have two Bag of Holdings out, each with a few cards exiled, and both get bounced to your hand then your opponent makes you discard one at random. Which one was discarded? When you play the one in your hand, which set of exiled cards do you get? Because card can go into hidden zones, the rules have separate out instances of a card such that any time one enters the battlefield, it is considered its own new thing.
It's also worth noting that the bag of holding is only an Artifact while on the battlefield. This is true of all cards. In any other zone it is an artifact card, or the idea of an artifact. It is therefore not at all the same bag of holding even in flavor. I find it much easier to remember those rules interactions when I keep that flavor in mind.