Ultimate Masters: MMI Review
 
Magic Market Index for Dec 7th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for Nov 30th, 2018
  • posted a message on What hurts the format more? Fast Mana vs. Tutors
    Fast mana 100%. If someone lucks into all their fast mana rocks and no one else does, they usually win before anyone else has a chance to do anything. At the very least they get so far ahead that they can dominate and deal with people trying to deal with them as they have much more mana to recover from any setbacks.

    Tutors in the late game can be game winning, but really there's so many strong effects in EDH that almost anything late game can be game winning. Fast mana is the problem because it allows someone to artificially get to that late game waaaaay earlier than anyone else. Nothing like kicking a Tooth and Nail or using Omniscience turn 2-4 because you lucked into fast mana.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Brainstorming Kazarov Sengir Pureblood
    He is pretty awful, the only things I can suggest is trying to use Pestilence style effects and then trying to win with a big Chandra's Ignition with all the tutors black has. The only real advantage Kazarov has is commander damage out of nowhere, but it generally requires a ridiculous amount of mana. You could also just use him for the colours and try to assemble a combo kill instead, like infinite mana into Exsanguinate or something.

    Is the event 1v1 or multiplayer?
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Playing against Alesha + constant exile permanent effects
    Anafenza, the Foremost based around grave hate could easily help deal with all of his things. Mardu has a much harder time recurring non-creature things, so you should just be able to do the same thing he's doing to you. Exile/destroy his stuff and the addition of green over red means you have access to much more grave hate and recursion than he will. Abzan also has more ways to protect permanents to help stop him from removing stuff. This also includes access to ramp and killing/exiling Alesha until she's uncastable.

    A great way to blow him out without relying heavily on creatures is just casting Anafenza and then any boardwipe. If he can't spot remove her at that moment, all of his stuff still gets exiled when Anafenza dies/goes to the Command Zone at the same time. She's also harder to remove with the said Fiend Hunter sac outlet combo because it will also exile the Fiend Hunter at the same time, making it a one-shot move. The new Ravenous Slime is another great option too for the 99.
    Posted in: 1 vs 1 Traditional Commander
  • posted a message on Playing against Alesha + constant exile permanent effects
    Sounds like you need a bunch of grave hate. If there's nothing for Alesha to recur, she's much less effective. Stuff like Relic of Progenitus and Tormod's Crypt at the right time can really mess up her game plan. If you're in black, Bojuka Bog is alright too. If you want to go nuclear, Rest in Peace and the like can also stop dies effects.
    Posted in: 1 vs 1 Traditional Commander
  • posted a message on Underrealm Lich
    It feels like they're determined to make The Gitrog Monster go infinite in as many ways as they can with 1-2 cards lol
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Xantcha, Sleeper Agent 2DH - Stax Combo
    Unless this is meant for 1v1, I'd suggest a couple sac outlets for when the player you give Xantcha to dies. It's been ruled that she goes back to you after her controller dies, so the rest of the opponents could use her to kill you if you can't get rid of her. I suppose you could kill her with your own kill spells but that seems like a waste lol
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on Octopus Umbra
    Entangler seems to be the one you're looking for. That's all it does is allow blocking though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Necromancy and Muldrotha
    You can, yes. Though the recasting of Necromancy would then cause it to trigger the sacrifice again and be sacrificed during the new cleanup step that happens immediately after.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Composite Golem + Nim Deathmantle
    Both of you are right, but what happens all depends on the timing of each ability.

    He's right in that he can get infinite mana and recur every creature as they die with Nim Deathmantle, as once he has the mana in his pool he can just pay it for every trigger it gets as each creature dies. This would make any single-shot removal like a kill spell or regular boardwipe almost useless.

    The key way to stop him from doing so would be to use Pestilence in response to him sacrificing the Composite Golem the very first time to start the chain. Basically, as soon as he says he wants to start the chain and sacrifices the Golem and Nim Deathmantle triggers, you activate in response to that first trigger, killing all of his other creatures before the Golem comes back to give him more mana. He will still get the triggers for all of his creatures dying, but unless he has mana for them without the Golem chain, he likely won't be able to recur them. After you're done and let the Golem trigger resolve, it would then come back and he would choose to proceed or not with the mana chain. Also remember that Pestilence sacrifices itself when there are no creatures left, so unless you can get rid of the Nim Deathmantle it's not a permanent solution.

    Edit: This also depends on the creatures he has on board. If they are all lower toughness than the Golem, then there's actually no way you'll be able to stop him with Pestilence. The creatures would all die before the Golem from the 1 damage pings and then he could start the chain as soon as they did.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Planeswalker Decks
    This is as close as EDH will get to having a non-specifically worded Planeswalker as a Commander I guess lol. Have her in zone to always be able to find her father, unless he gets exiled...but then you run Pull from Eternity to try and bring him back.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on What do Pirates need for EDH?
    I've been waiting to test a Marchesa, the Black Rose pirate list until this set is fully spoiled. She may not be a pirate herself but with some of her themed cards being pirate-like rogues, I think she's pretty thematic for a pirate deck too.

    Now if it'll be good or not, no idea. The idea of getting constant raid triggers every time the pirates attack and possibly die is tempting though.
    Posted in: Speculation
  • posted a message on O-Kagachi, Vengeful Kami + Blade of Selves
    Each copy made by Blade of Selves would immediately die to the Legend Rule, so they'd never live to deal combat damage in the first place and never trigger his ability. Only the copy you decide to keep will get the ability proc, assuming it's attacking the player who did combat damage to you.

    Edit: As an added note, the copies made by Blade of Selves all have to attack different players too, so even if the copies didn't die, they'd never be able to attack the same player.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mary O’kill decks?
    Quote from Kumlekar »
    Quote from Kaltovei »
    Her ability doesn't trigger ETB effects, so none of those cards do anything for the switching. They would trigger for the killbots initial casts though.
    Wow that's a strange ruling. Exchanging life totals is considered gaining or losing life, but "switching" creatures does not involve entering or leaving the battlefield? Talk about inconsistent.

    Re-reading the card makes me think that +1/+1 counters, equipment and auras might be really good here though.


    It's an Un-Set. That's kind of the point, it breaks the regular mechanic. It also keeps everything that is targeting the switch target, like if someone uses a kill spell on Mary and you switch it with a Killbot, it'll keep the Killbot as the target and resolve. Equipment stays equipped, auras, etc.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Mary O’kill decks?
    Her ability doesn't trigger ETB effects, so none of those cards do anything for the switching. They would trigger for the killbots initial casts though.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Celestial colonnade attack?
    It depends on when you used Cryptic Command.

    If you used it at the beginning of combat before he actually declared attackers, then yes he can activate the second one and attack.

    If you did it while the first one was already attacking, then no he can't because attackers have already been declared.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.