Creature - Elemental Horse Mutant
Whenever ~ becomes blocked, return a creature blocking it to its owner's hand.
To escape the beast, it's a race to see who can get under its hooves first.
- Registered User
Member for 15 years, 6 months, and 5 days
Last active Sun, Jun, 20 2010 12:09:02
- 0 Followers
- 268 Total Posts
- 1 Thank
Aug 21, 2009Eager Supplicant 2BBPosted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
Creature - Thrull Wizard
When Eager Supplicant is sacrificed as part of a cost for a spell or ability, copy that spell or ability. You may choose new targets for the copy.
Aug 19, 2009Angel of Sleep 4UUPosted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
Creature - Angel
Whenever Angel of Sleep attacks or blocks, tap target creature.
Whenever Angel of Sleep blocks or is blocked by a creature, tap that creature.
Creatures tapped by Angel of Sleep do not untap during their controller's untap steps as long as Angel of Sleep is in play.
Aug 18, 2009Esper Guildmage WUBPosted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
Artifact Creature - Vedelkan Wizard
2W: Destroy target artifact creature.
2U: Target creature or creature card in a graveyard is an artifact in addition to its other types until end of turn.
2B: Return target artifact creature card from your graveyard to your hand.
The filligree gives us the power to change what is, what was, and what will be.
Aug 13, 2009Forgive 2WPosted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
Until end of turn, whenever a spell or permanent you control becomes the target of an opponent's spell or ability, you may draw a card.
Target player discards two cards, then draws as many cards as he or she discarded this way.
May 29, 2009sclocke42 posted a message on [M10] Golden Lotus (apparently fake...for unelaborated reasons)Posted in: Rumor Mill ArchiveQuote from ProgenitusThere is absolutely no way this is real.
Mainly because it looks like the OP simply took a look at the facebook art pic and made up a card to go with it.
I'd like to second this opinion. Without a link or anything at all that actually shows us where the rules text for this card came from, I am disinclined to believe it is real*.
Yes, the art is from the Facebook art thread, but are the abilities from the same place? I'd check myself, but I didn't run to the thread to join it when WotC first announced it, and now I can't find the blasted thing for the life of me.
I'd also like to see the original source for this card so we can confirm one way or another whether "battlefield" is replacing "in play" or not. All I've seen so far in this regard is speculation without any solid evidence one way or the other.
* - EDIT: Not because it's over-the-top power-wise, because I don't think it is. It's a slightly better deal than what Squandered Resources can offer you for the same amount of lands, but while that card was busted in its time, it doesn't see any competitive play anymore. Yes, it will shake up Standard, but what new set doesn't have cards that do that? But as Progenitus said, it does feel like the OP saw the art and slapped a bunch of abilities on it.
May 27, 2009Nature's Link:Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
This card makes me think of Sakiko, and three solid green mana for one dude only seems too much of a risk too me. It definitely has its advantages of the legendary snake--namely that it doesn't cost six in total, which means you might actually need the extra mana and be able to use it in the early game--but considering the kinds of other effects you can get for an Aura that costs three, this feels like it's on the weak side.
Sigil of the Undead:
This card is much more interesting. I like the subtlety of being able to throw it on an opponent's dude and being able to score a bit a card advantage out of it. The only problem I have with this card is that I would have it read: "...you may return another target creature card from your graveyard that shares a type with [enchanted creature] into play."
For what it's worth, the winner this round is Krey with Sigil of the Undead. *fanfare*
Valor's Scorn WW
Target creature gains first strike and vigilance until end of turn.
If you control a Mountain, target creature can't block this turn.
If you control a Swamp, target creature must block this turn if able.
Mar 26, 2009There is a deck that's built around abusing Final Fortune with Isochron Scepter, but in order for the combo to work he needs Platinum Angel or some other card that says "You can't lose." I wonder if that's what your buddy is trying to accomplish.Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
Mar 25, 2009Righteous Rusting RWPosted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
Enchantment - Aura
Enchanted artifact loses all abilities. If it's a creature, it can't attack or block.
At the beginning of your upkeep, ~ deals 1 damage to enchanted artifact's controller.
Mar 13, 2009I wasn't aware that there was a difference between being forced to spend resources you already have (mana that's actually in your pool) and being forced to spend resources you could potentially have (mana that could be put into your pool). I was thinking of the latter of these two in my example, and it's a good thing a number of people brought up the former.Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
Also, I wasn't aware when I was posting last night just how poor a reference Thran Turbine was. Sorry for any confusion this card may have caused here. Braid of Fire would have been a much better example. (And even then, useless_kodama is right in that you can stack the triggers so you wouldn't have the mana to pay anyway.)
Mar 13, 2009One further comment on #1:Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
I'm pretty certain the suspend ability says "When the last time counter is removed, if this is removed from the game, you must play it if able" (or something to that effect). Since Trinisphere increases the cost of the otherwise free spell, it is possible for you to not be able to play the spell. Not only that, but even if you are sitting with an abundance of mana during your upkeep (Thran Turbine FTW!), the game can't really tell whether you are able to pay the additional cost or not, and therefore it can't force you to take an action you might not legally be able to make.
The upshot of all this is, if you have something like Phthisis about to resolve and the only creature on the board is your BFM, you can thank your lucky stars that Trinisphere is around to keep that terrible sickness removed from the game forever.
Jan 7, 2009As we currently have its ability in the spoiler ("Whenever creature with power 5 or greater comes into play under your control, you may return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand."), yes, its would trigger from it coming into play itself. It hits the table, then the game checks to see if anything triggers from it entering play, and so long as Paleoloth meets all its own criteria (Power 5 or greater? Check!), the game will put that ability on the stack.Posted in: The Rumor Mill
This isn't the most direct comparison, but compare Paleoloth to Harmonic Sliver. The Sliver has an ability that gives the ability to all others of its kind, which technically doesn't work until it's actually in play, but the Sliver is still in play long enough for that ability to exist that Harmonic Sliver triggers its own ability when it comes into play.
Also compare this to the likes of Soul Warden. If the trigger isn't supposed to trigger when the creature its on enters play, the word "another" would be present somewhere. The original post does say that it doesn't trigger itself when it steps in the ring, but like I said, according to the wording we currently have on the spoiler, it does.
Either way, either "a" or "another" is missing from the current wording we've got, so it'll need to be cleaned up eventually either way.
EDIT: Naturally, someone updated the first post with "another" while I was busy punching out the next section. At least we're all on the same page now.
Also, I'm tired of people crying "Oooh, this sucks because it costs so much! It'll never get played in constructed!" I'll be the first to admit that I don't know the current Standard environment at all, but costing too much hasn't really stopped a card from being played if it's worth the mana you put into it.
Technically, Cruel Ultimatum costs way more than this guy, yet that card is seeing play all over the place. I also remember one of my friends slagging Tooth and Nail when it first came out, and lo and behold, once Ravager (not the card, the archetype) was banned and Sensei's Divining Top was printed, that card dominated Standard until it was no longer legal.
I'm not saying Paleoloth is the greatest thing since slice bread. I just think it's stupid for people to automatically write it off because it costs more than three mana. The fact of the matter is that a 5/5 for six mana isn't unreasonable, and the ability you get from it has card advantage written all over it. I wouldn't be surprised if this thing found its way into a deck or two, because it's really not as big and dumb as you guys seem to think it is.
Nov 13, 2008Posted in: Card of the MonthQuote from ShinyManAs for MTGO, I didn't consider that at all, since the general consideration for FCC is that we don't care for problems that would only specifically happen in MTGO. (There was a discussion about Helix Pinnacle in the judge discussion. Helix Pinnacle has 'X: X counters' but not '1: 1 counter' specifically because that would take you forever on MTGO. The response was 'We don't expect (FCC) players to care for such miniscule detail.)
Helix Pinnacle is actually a perfect example for the point I was trying to make. They made the card slightly different in terms of functionality in order to make game play smoother on MTGO. (I have no idea if that's actually why the Pinnacle has the "X: X counters" ability as opposed to the "1: 1 counter" ability, but it's definitely a beneficial consequence.) I don't think this card would make for smooth gameplay on MTGO for the reasons stated in my last post.
I was made aware that WOTC usually doesn't take MTGO into account when designing cards, as anything they can make work with the rules they should be able to make work on MTGO. However, there is a difference between cards that play nice with the rules and cards that play nice with MTGO's interface. Again, Helix Pinnacle is a great example: With the "1: 1 counter" ability, it would be annoying to put more than one counter on it at a time, and would thus fall into the "doesn't play nice with the MTGO interface" category; but with the "X: X counters" ability, you can accomplish the same thing in fewer clicks, and it only changes its mechanical functionality slightly.
ShinyMan's FCC card falls into the latter category: Even if it could be made to work with the rules, it could be abused on MTGO simply because of how the client allows you to play spells and abilities. Because of this, I don't think a card like this would actually see print.
To reiterate something else, I do think random modes is an interesting idea, but it would definitely be much cleaner without the word "target" on the card anywhere.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.