Holy crap, why is no one talking about this part?
- Registered User
Member for 6 years, 11 months, and 19 days
Last active Thu, Jun, 24 2021 18:21:05
- 0 Followers
- 269 Total Posts
- 112 Thanks
Jun 5, 2021Fighting and attacking are not the same thing. Tapped creatures cannot attack (even if they have vigilance) but they can still fight. Similarly, note that if the creature was untapped, fighting does not cause it to tap (unless the fight spell or ability says so).Posted in: Magic Rulings
Jun 4, 2021Think of it this way: In most phases and sub-phases, the game will ask each player "Do you want to do something?". It will always start with the active player (the player whose turn it is). If they answer no, the game asks the next player. However, if the active player does take an action, the process starts over. So, the game will start with the active player again. If both players answer no (pass), the game moves to the next phase/sub-phase.Posted in: Commander (EDH)
I think the confusion is from Split Second. Normally, you could activate an ability "in response" to the active player's action and it would resolve before they were able to perform another (sorcery speed) action. But you were prevented from doing this by Split Second, had to wait until the spell resolved, by which time it is indeed the active player's action again.
May 19, 2021Posted in: Custom Card CreationQuote from Kryptnyt »Hey wait a minute
Cabal Patriarch the Descended 5BB
Legendary Creature - Human Noble
Indestructible, Vigilance, Bushido 5
"Cabal Patriarch is like, the raddest guy ever. I could see it all along." ~Kuberr
Seems perfectly balanced to me. A set with this power level would surely be well-received and not among the weakest and most hated sets ever. Surely.
May 19, 2021Posted in: Custom Card CreationQuote from Kryptnyt »For the amount of power and evasion stapled to this undercosted dude, I think it would be flavorful to have some sort of drawback associated with this that lets your opponent actually cast spells from their graveyards once a turn or something. Maybe Kess, Dissident Mage's ability but for opponents instead of you.
Ooh, interesting idea! A drawback this massive may even justify making him cheaper.
The First, Patriarch Reborn 2BB
Legendary Creature - Zombie Wizard
When ~ becomes the target of a spell, if that spell wasn't cast from a graveyard, counter it.
During each opponent's turn, that player may cast one instant or sorcery from their graveyard. If a spell cast this way would be put into a graveyard, exile it instead.
Flavor: He has been pulled through a portal from the underworld, but the gate remains open, allowing others to draw on its power.
Utility: An undercosted beater with some built-in protection. Menace allows him to get around go-tall decks or trade 2-for-1 (or more) with go-wide decks. He gives opponents the means to circumvent his unusual spell protection, but this is also a political tool. Especially in multiplayer games, maybe they don't want to kill him, but keep him around for their own benefit.
May 17, 2021So I basically can't remove this guy unless I have Snapcaster Mage + Path to Exile? I thought you liked interaction?Posted in: Custom Card Creation
I would probably word the first ability, "Whenever ~ becomes the target of a spell, counter that spell unless it was cast from a graveyard".
The second ability is a tracking nightmare. For the rest of the game, I have to make notes about which zone a creature was cast from?
So what is the force majeure here? He is weak to zombies? Isn't that the antithesis of the character, creating a quandry that is anti-synergistic to the intended paradigm?
Mar 13, 2021Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Boreez »Eh, since this thread has now been necroed, we can all revel in how much the people above suck at evaluating cards
Take a look at some of the Eldraine preview threads. People thought Cauldron Familiar was draft chaff and Embercleave was too expensive to ever see play.
Feb 26, 2021ashrog posted a message on [TSR] Baral, Logic Knot, and Delay— Numerama previewsPosted in: The Rumor MillQuote from m_pathogen »Baral looks unexpectedly fitting in that old border.
Makes his look like the wizards from Scourge.
Jan 25, 2021ashrog posted a message on Question about the interaction between Life and Limb and Maskwood NexusLife and Limb doesn' specify other zones, so it only affects objects that are on the battlefield.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Jan 17, 2021ashrog posted a message on [KHM] Birgi, God of Boasts and Harnfell, Horn of Plenty— Metalorgie previewThe art is very expressive, you can tell that she's saying, "So there I was, surrounded by trolls..."Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Jan 17, 2021ashrog posted a message on [KHM] Birgi, God of Boasts and Harnfell, Horn of Plenty— Metalorgie previewPosted in: The Rumor MillQuote from magic90210 »Who is the God on the other side?
Birgi, God of Boasting. According to that linked tweet, they asked about the other side and Wizards said there wasn't one. Might have been more along the lines of "we have other plans for the god side".
Jan 17, 2021I'm not sure I understand the question. If I understand correctly, you're not actually asking about mutate, but whether Goreclaw, Terror of Sal Sisma reduces commander tax?Posted in: Magic Rulings
If that is the case, the answer is yes. 601.2f tells us to determine a spell's mana cost by adding any increases (tax) then subtracting any decreases (Goreclaw). In this case, the two simply cancel each other out, at least for the first bit of commander tax.
Jan 15, 2021ashrog posted a message on [KHM] Battle Mammoth, Greypelt Vanguard, and Covetous Lindwurm— hobbyjapan previewsOh hi, Honey Mammoth.Posted in: The Rumor Mill
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.