2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Infinite Loop Question
    I'd like to check the text of Animate Dead but gatherer.wizards is not loading for some reason.

    You are not compelled to bring in an Ancestral Recall from outside the looping system (whatever that means) to interrupt the sequence (CR726.5), which does loop all on its own IF there is never an alternate creature to the Dragon to bring back with Animate Dead.

    For any who are reading, the reason is that the Emrakul will never be targetable because of APNAP stacking, but if the combo player has one viable enchantee in the grave or if the other player has any other creature at all that ends up there, then at some point, the Altar will mill a card, Animate Dead will be world-gorged, then come back, and that creature would be legal to enchant with the strange Aura instead of the Dragon.

    You're right it's not a draw. Almost certainly. But not because of Recall.
    A judge doesn't have discretion to decide what counts as a breakable loop, that's supposed to be formally given, as is the condition that a breakable loop must be broken. Sadly some terms regarding infinity in the rules are not yet formal, but they're definitely intended to be.


    I still don't know how proposing the first shortcut may work.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Infinite Loop Question
    I want to tag onto this question and ask, if player A proposes a shortcut of getting to where all the cards are milled (by saying to repeat that many times), what options does player B have regarding surprising the opponent that the Emrakul exists? Player B can only dispute the loop is well-founded on the general grounds about hidden information. Does player B have to just make the milling play out?

    Players could skip over the other state changes so it's not a big time loss.

    Player A could argue that all they want is to look at the order of the deck after each time it shuffles, so you really are just shuffling a given number of times and then revealing the order - and if Emrakul makes it to the bottom once, then player A wins. So the question for OP reduces to, how many times can you make the player shuffle before you call a draw - and, then, how can you try to get the cards shuffled reasonably fast?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Glorious Protector change of control
    No, the exiling in this kind of instruction is reversed with moving the cards onto the battlefield under their owners' control.

    610.3. Some one-shot effects cause an object to change zones “until” a specified event occurs. A second one-shot effect is created immediately after the specified event. This second one-shot effect returns the object to its previous zone.

    610.3c An object returned to the battlefield this way returns under its owner’s control unless otherwise specified.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Bequeathal and sacrifice effects
    It's not the last known information rule, it's the rule that these kinds of triggered abilities look back in time to see the ability exists and that the concerned objects have the qualities they need to have to trigger the ability. Bequeathal needs to know the creature goes to the grave but in that moment, you couldn't look at the game and see that it was related to Bequeathal, so, the game looks to see the creature on the battlefield, being enchanted by it, before that.

    And yes, it triggers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Xorn
    The only part of the rules that mentioned predefined tokens is 111.10, which begins:

    "Some effects instruct a player to create a predefined token."

    This concerns being instructed, and so is not in the scope of interpreting the first half of a replacement effect, which is a matter of recognizing an event.

    It does tell you what the second part of Xorn's ability says, and this is perhaps the reason these abilities have been written assiduously to create "an additional [predefined] token" instead of to create a token in the form of being "twice as many".

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Available information at game start
    If I sit down for a set, and I have become the elector of who will go first, do I know the size of my opponent's deck when making this decision? Could a player be keeping that deck in a big box at the time we flip the coin and I make this decision?

    If it is a multiplayer game, I surely know the seating arrangement we have before choosing the Starting Player, right?

    The rules make clear that the choice of the Starting Player happens before decks become libraries, or undergo shuffling, but it is silent on whether the deck or deck list has been presented. My reading is that not; though I can count a library, the deck does not become a library until after the initial shuffle.

    But regarding seating order, even though there are rules for multiplayer formats defining methods that may be used to pick the seating order, I do not see where they say that this order is available when picking the Starting Player, nor that it is unavailable. For example, Grand Melee defines the seating order is decided to be random (807.3), but does not relate this to the game setup procedure.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Fury of the Horde
    Lands are generally colorless since, having no symbols at all in a mana cost, there are no colors among the symbols in their mana cost - which is the typical source for deriving an object's color. The alternatives are a color indicator (the colored dot beside the type line, used with DFCs often), or an ability that says the object is a color. Mountains have none of these.

    The five basic land cards are all colorless. Thus, they're not red.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Equilibrium and copy in the stack abilities
    You choose the targets for a triggered ability as you put that ability onto the Stack. That means you choose a target for it at the time you choose the relative order of Equilibrium's trigger with Volo or Reflections of Littjara, well before either one resolves.
    Since the copy has not been made yet, it certainly has not resolved yet, so there is no token yet at this time, so it cannot be chosen as the target for Equilibrium.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Neera, Krark, and Possibility Storm
    Figure it's worth coming at this one with several explanatory styles.

    Whenever you cast a spell, but only the first time while Neera is in play each turn, a triggered ability for Neera goes off, and, if it is instant or sorcery, Krark's does also.

    If you have Krark's trigger ordered on top of Neera's trigger, then it will resolve first, and, if it makes a copy, you resolve the copy, then resolve the Neera triggered ability. If Krark's coin comes up loss, the spell is put into its owner's hand, which will force the Neera triggered ability to do nothing, because its first instruction - you put the spell on the bottom of its owner's library - is impossible, and the rest of the effect depends on you choosing to do that. Notwithstanding this, you may use Neera to substitute your spell for another card; you may also choose to put the spell away and not cast the replacement. If you do cast the spell, and that spell is instant or sorcery, it triggers Krark's thumb. At that point, you just have a Stack consisting of that spell, and a Krark trigger, the resolution of which I leave as an exercise for the reader.
    You might also choose to decline the entirety of Neera's ability. Then, if you did indeed *choose* that (without Krark having nay-nay'd the spell because of the coin toss), you will have the spell you cast first in front of you.

    If you have Neera's trigger ordered on top of Krark's trigger, then it will resolve first. If you choose to use that ability to tuck the spell under your library, the Krark triggered ability may still eventually flip a winning coin toss, which will create a copy of the spell you had cast in the first place. First, though, you have the choice, if you did tuck the first spell, to cast the second card that gets revealed. Casting that spell, if instant or sorcery, also triggers Krark. Krark may copy or return that revealed card; the next things to do are resolve that copy and that revealed spell, or to do nothing since neither one exists.
    After the resolution of Neera's trigger, what happens depends on if you had replaced the spell.

    • If you did not cast the replacement for the spell, you will next handle the Krark's trigger (first one). It can copy the first spell in this scenario even if you put it under your library anyway, copying what it looked like before it left "the zone it was expected to be in." If you lose its flip, that instruction is ignored because the object is not in "the zone it was expected to be in." Last, if you had indeed won, you will have a copy to resolve, and then possibly the original spell if you did not tuck it; and, if you lost, you will have simply the original spell, unless you put it away before now.
    • But, if you chose to cast the card that Neera's ability revealed, then, the next thing to happen is not to handle Krark's trigger but to resolve that revealed card, since it was cast while Krark's trigger was on the Stack. That spell will resolve. Afterward, the Krark's trigger may, again, be able to copy the first spell even though it is not here, and, if Krark's toss loses, it can't do anything to the spell that isn't here. If Krark wins, you get a copy which is the only thing on the Stack now; or, if you lose, the Stack is now empty.

    Note that I have skipped over the parts where players pass priority in this sequence, assuming that no one chooses to interact with what's going on. If you want to know something more specific, ask about what you want to know.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Does This Toski Combo Work?
    Why are you going to draw a single card, let alone there being anything cancelling anything else out? Toski didn't do any combat damage to a player, and - as you note - none of the squirrels are in combat.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [NEO] "Ogre Helm" and "Rabbit Battery" — Tomohappy previews
    In the entry in the spoiler file for the site, the question arises, does the 'it' in Ogre-Head Helm mean sacrifice the thing that dealt damage, or Ogre-Head Helm ?

    The translation here is "that creature", which has no ambiguity.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Frenetic Sliver's Activated Abiliity
    The ability doesnt guarantee you will sacrifice the Sliver. After all, you might win the flip.

    But, activating it on any one Sliver you have, it guarantees that Sliver won't be on the battlefield afterward.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Moving equipment from one target to another and new target is removed
    The equip ability is a normal activated ability, the instruction of which is effectively, "Attach this Equipment to target creature you control." That ability can be countered dematerialized for having one and all its targets illegal.

    Since it's countered what used to be called being fizzled, absolutely nothing about it affects anything. edit: By which I mean, the Equipment started out attached to creature A, and you can keep right on with that state of things.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on An Illusion and Ward ability question
    Quote from Sliverologist »
    I have an illusion on the battlefield, that dies whenever it gets targeted by a spell or ability, say Dream Strix, and I have Strovald, Frost Giant Jarl out. My opponent casts Terror on my Dream Strix. Am I right that I get to keep my Illusiom?


    The Strix becomes the target of Terror when it is cast. It becomes the target necessarily in order for Terror to *be* cast. Strovald concerns only things that happen after that moment, so, the Strix still triggers, and that ability has no conditions: You will sacrifice the Bird.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on double strike
    The Obliterator takes 5 damage in the first combat damage step, which causes your wife to sacrifice five permanents.

    In the second combat damage step, Student of Warfare is a blocked creature. Since it doesn't have trample, it can't assign its damage to the defending player. Since no creatures block it, it can't assign damage to any creatures. It assigns no damage and will deal no damage.

    Student of Warfare stops being a blocked creature as the Combat Phase ends.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.