2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Triggering a number-based ability
    Quote from krYshuT »
    A copy of a spell or ability is itself a spell or ability, and behaves much like other spells and abilities (C.R. 707.10).

    Example 1
    Battlefield:
    Hardened Scales
    Curse of Predation

    Weaver of Harmony
    Oran-Rief Ooze with a +1/+1 counter on it

    - I declare Oran-Rief Ooze as an attacker.
    - Two abilities trigger at the SAME TIME, I put 4 counters on the Ooze. (one for its own trigger + Hardened Scales extra one, third one for Curse of Predation trigger + Hardened Scales extra one)
    - I copy Hardened Scales' trigger with the Weaver


    Hardened Scales doesn't have a trigger. It doesn't create anything to target. Weaver of Harmony can only target abilities of Curse of Predation, here.

    Each triggered ability, or copy of a triggered ability, "would put one or more +1/+1 counters on a creature you control" at a different time, so, you get another +1/+1 counter for each one through Hardened Scales. If you actually do copy the Curse of Predation ability, you add six +1/+1 counters in all.


    In Example 2, again, there is no ability put on the Stack to target from Hardened Scales. Beastcaller gets two counters, that makes Scourge get two counters, and that's the end of it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [UNF] Mothership 11/29 — Unfinity sneak peek
    Why does it say an identical mana cost? It should just say the same. Permanents don't have more than one mana cost.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Skullclamp, Artifact Creature, and Mass Removal
    If the object Skullclamp is attached to is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, Skullclamp's ability triggers. It doesn't matter why that object dies.

    edit: Oh I see, Skullclamp is destroyed too. The ability triggers, because the Skullclamp's ability is checked just before the event to verify the ability is applying. However, this depends on the equipped creature and Skullclamp dying at the exact same time. dying not after Skullclamp. If that spell happens to destroy them in a that sequence, then the condition won't be satisfied.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Checking if these other effects work on defeating “teferi's protection”
    If the damage cannot be prevented, then Teferi's Protection's protection doesn't prevent it, so it is dealt. So Vorpal Sword, Strixhaven Stadium, or Phage the Untouchable would trigger. If Questing Beast is the out, then Atemsis can only deal combat damage to your opponent, so its triggered ability can only trigger that way.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Help with Madness and Simultaneous Copying, please.
    Casualty, Rowan, and Double Vision all work the same way. There is a trigger that says "When you cast the spell [under additional circumstances], copy it. You may choose new targets for the copy." They trigger caused by the same thing. The Madness triggers as you pay a cost for Big Score, but, since that happens while casting Big Score, that trigger is also thrown in the pile with the others at the time you finish casting the spell, as "the next time a player receives priority", to be placed in an order on the Stack.

    As such, you can put all four in whatever order you want, so long as it's all on top of (the first) Big Score.

    The Stack you've diagrammed is not a possible state you can end up in, since any Big Score copy would always be the top thing on the Stack at the time it exists.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dauthi voidwalker's last ability
    As a sorcery, you still must cast it during a Main phase on your turn when the stack is empty. You can't cast cards of those card types with the voidwalker on your opponent's turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Confused : Kalitas vs Dennick
    Dennick is unable die, due to its own ability.

    Kalitas' difference from Dennick isn't that it is not "not a leaves the battlefield ability", but that it is an ability creating a replacement effect. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities are a class of triggered abilities. Kalitas gets to apply because it applies before it leaves the battlefield. Dennick does not because, as a triggered ability, it can only apply after the event - in which it leaves the battlefield, and doesn't apply for that reason.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Scythe of the Wretched and face-down creatures
    I didn't mind not to specify what an instant or sorcery card would do, but forgetting that Scythe won't attach to a noncreature permanent was a genuine mistake. Thank you.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Martyrs of Korlis and Artifact Ward
    Yes. If an artifact on the battlefield would deal damage to you, the damage is dealt to Martyrs instead of to you, and that damage from artifact sources is prevented.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Scythe of the Wretched and face-down creatures
    As the creature dies, if it is represented by a card, then it must be revealed. This happens anyway as it goes into the graveyard. If Scythe's ability triggers and "that card" is still in the graveyard to which it died to trigger that ability, then Scythe's controller puts it onto the battlefield under their control and then attaches Scythe to it.

    Putting a card onto the battlefield means to put it so the card face is up. There's no reason not to do the general thing here.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sword of the Ages Q:
    Not... quite, in that it's not a short moment. The sacrifice moves it to the graveyard as a cost. It is there while your opponent and you deliberate on responding to the activation. Later, if the ability resolves, and the Sword is still in the graveyard, it is exiled.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wall of Roots+Oppressive Rays
    No, you can only activate it once each turn. However you hack it out, one of those activations would be illegal and then reversed so you can't do it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Shanna, Purifying Blade + Pristine Talisman
    107.3c If a spell or activated ability has an {X}, [-X], or X in its cost and/or its text, and the value of X is defined by the text of that spell or ability, then that’s the value of X while that spell or ability is on the stack. The controller of that spell or ability doesn’t get to choose the value. Note that the value of X may change while that spell or ability is on the stack.

    At some point during your turn, that triggered ability, with the X, will be saying what it says with X = 0, then it will read with X = 1. All you have to do is pay the 1 mana when the X actually is 1, which happens after you make the mana.

    ... though interestingly, this does depend on 608.2g regarding the situation of "being asked to pay 0 mana " as an instance of being asked to pay mana, even though 0 mana is a "placeholder for a cost that can be paid with no resources." (CR 107.4d) Furthermore, consulting 118.5 as 107.4d directs, yields this unfortunately specific statement:

    118.5. Some costs are represented by {0}, or are reduced to {0}. The action necessary for a player to pay such a cost is the player’s acknowledgment that they are paying it. Even though such a cost requires no resources, it’s not automatically paid.

    The "action necessary" is [some kind of thing that doesn't involve mana at all]. So is "you may pay 0 mana " an instance of "being asked to pay mana" ?

    So, my case here is that, if an effect's text has a "you may pay 0 mana " (or a "pay 0 mana "), do the rules as written actually let you activate mana abilities during the special timing in the resolution of that spell or ability? Perhaps not. In that case, technically you can't use Pristine Talisman with that timing. Because the ability on the stack has X = 0 at that point. You can still activate before the trigger begins resolving, of course.

    Rules as intended may be that pay 0 mana is still paying mana, though it is imaginable that could backfire somewhere. Alternately, perhaps the fact the symbol still is X mana and not 0 mana can be used to dispense special permission here.

    Thanks for the question.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Front face choice MDFCs in library
    If it's in an opaque sleeve, it doesn't matter how you leave it, and the January 25th document of the MTR has no provision about this either; it's more concerned that you do not mix checklist cards and the real DFCs for each card name.

    Players can examine either face of a double-faced card at any time if they have normal conditions for seeing the card's face. The rule I quoted above is a statement of what values the object in a specific game zone is considered to have and not have. The term "front face" is also technically defined. For each set of double-faced cards, they have an indicator in the top left, and this indicator (plus the subrules at CR712.1) tells you which face is the front and which is the back.

    While in your library, everything in the game sees Glasspool Mimic // Glasspool Shore as if it was just Glasspool Mimic.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rivaz and Reanimation
    The both abilities will trigger. You can order them however you want. The instructions on the trigger given because of Rivaz (just like the one from Feign Death or persist) only has license to act on the object that died, i.e., that entered your graveyard. Which is to say, it can only act on an object IN your graveyard, since objects' lifetimes (their identities) last only for the duration of their trip through the 1 zone they began existing in. If that card leaves your graveyard, the object in your graveyard does not exist, so the Rivaz ability will do nothing when it resolves.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.