2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on NEO- Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty
    Quote from Caranthir »
    I am having serious doubts about the authors of those short sagas having done their homework properly...

    I wonder how many inconsistencies would they serve us in the rest of the stories.


    Remember how Bolas got his spark? I think MtG is not above retcon, OR, maybe the narrator simply pick out the bits of history they favor, which would actually be an interesting way to present sagas as they're not entirely trustworthy. (would be fun to see Truthseeker's spirit show up and call everything people learned a bull-crap)

    Though, I'm not sure if Kyodai (or the narrator) has any idea how politic works. It takes a lot more than just "noble qualities and commitment to the nation" to run political games, you need connections, finance, cunning, military, ruthlessness and more to be an effective leader, which an "ordinary citizen" often lacks. Besides, if the Kami chooses the leader for mortals, wouldn't that potentially reignite anti-kami sentiment? Wouldn't the nobles object and undermine new Emperor's rule? Or will the kami head out to assassinate all nay-sayers when the Pope-like emperor fail to quell an ordinary affair?

    I mean, if the Kami really knew how human psyche works, they would've considered a more enlightening way to approach the matter prior to starting the Kami War.

    Seriously, this "ordinary citizen chosen by god to rule" reeks of Isekai vibe.
    Posted in: Magic Storyline
  • posted a message on NEO- Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty
    "On the fan, she's depicted wearing clothes patterned with the Konda crest, which she wore throughout her life, signaling her refusal to shy away from her father's legacy or leave it hidden in the shadows."

    I can respect that.
    Posted in: Magic Storyline
  • posted a message on NEO- Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty
    Quote from Lectrys »
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    "Perhaps some familiar faces still reside on the Plane, remembering him after all this time . . . or even carrying on his family name."

    That means Satoru may simply be someone who borrowed Umezawa's name to reform the Hyozan Reckoners, consider Toshiro's true heir is on Dominaria.

    I think it's more likely that Satoru is a descendant of one of Toshiro's relatives.


    While plausible, it's too much of a convenient writing to suddenly have a Umezawa relative in the story. It's more convincing if someone simply borrowed his name as a rally banner. You know, like some Skywalker we know.

    Also, excluding Okinawan is really equestionable.
    Posted in: Magic Storyline
  • posted a message on [NEO] saga art of the day 2 -- Life of Toshiro Umezawa
    "Perhaps some familiar faces still reside on the Plane, remembering him after all this time . . . or even carrying on his family name."

    That means Satoru may simply be someone who borrowed Umezawa's name to reform the Hyozan Reckoners, consider Toshiro's true heir is on Dominaria.

    *cough* Ray Skywalker.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on NEO- Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty
    "Perhaps some familiar faces still reside on the Plane, remembering him after all this time . . . or even carrying on his family name."

    That means Satoru may simply be someone who borrowed Umezawa's name to reform the Hyozan Reckoners, consider Toshiro's true heir is on Dominaria.

    *cough* Ray Skywalker.
    Posted in: Magic Storyline
  • posted a message on Magecraft and Copy -> You may cast the copy
    Quote from peteroupc »
    Quote from cyberium_neo »

    Is that the same ruling with Kefnet, where the "action of copying" targets a card in hand instead of an instant/sorcery on stack, but when you cast the copy you trigger Magecraft.
    For purposes of an ability of the form "Whenever you cast or copy an instant or sorcery spell, ...", casting a copy of a card counts as casting a spell (C.R. 112.1b). Thus, such an ability will trigger if "you cast" a copy of a card with God-Eternal Kefnet (or Mizzix's Mastery) and the resulting spell is an instant or sorcery spell. (However, copying a card in a zone other than the stack is not the same as copying a spell [review C.R. 112.1, which defines spells].)

    Note that Kefnet's second ability doesn't target anything (C.R. 115.1d), and that the magecraft ability word, like all ability words, has no game mechanics inherent to it (C.R. 207.2c).


    Thank you!

    Now, for the sake of curiosity: Is there a double-dip case where not only the effect copies an instant/sorcery, but also has the line "you may cast the copy" in it?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Magecraft and Copy -> You may cast the copy
    Quote from willdice »
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    For example, Zaffai, Thunder Conductor and Mizzix's Mastery.

    MM exiles instant/sorcery from your GY, 1) Copy them, 2) You may cast those copies. Does this trigger magecraft twice since copy/cast are separated cases here?


    Magecraft triggers whenever you cast an instant/sorcery, and whenever you copy an instant/sorcery spell. That last word here matters a lot. It doesn't trigger when you copy an instant/sorcery card that is in a zone other than the stack.

    Copying the exiled instant/sorcery cards doesn't trigger Magecraft, because these exiled cards are not spells on the stack.

    Casting the copies causes Magecraft to trigger, because they are being cast as spells.


    Is that the same ruling with Kefnet, where the "action of copying" targets a card in hand instead of an instant/sorcery on stack, but when you cast the copy you trigger Magecraft.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Magecraft and Copy -> You may cast the copy
    For example, Zaffai, Thunder Conductor and Mizzix's Mastery.

    MM exiles instant/sorcery from your GY, 1) Copy them, 2) You may cast those copies. Does this trigger magecraft twice since copy/cast are separated cases here?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sunbird's Invocation and Creative Technique
    This is probably an old question: I have Sunbird's Invocation on the field, I cast a spell and revealed Creative Technique. Technique requires me to shuffle my library as part of its effect, which I presume would shuffle other "revealed" cards before they could be put into the bottom of my library?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Forced Migration
    First of all, thank you all for your attention and comments.

    This is what I posted on another thread with this card:

    ----------

    I understand why people find it uncomfortable, but please know that I didn't name the card as a jest. As an immigrant I take any racial/cultural persecution very seriously, and often time find these historic tragedies under-discussed by the general public, even during events like BLM. I confess I might've named it thus because I want to throw a reminder at people, on what the politicians continuously neglect. Perhaps this isn't the best place to do so.

    I will rename the card.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Forced Migration
    Forced Migration
    1WW
    Sorcery

    Choose one:
    * Each player who has the highest number of cards in hand discards a card. Each other player draws a card.
    * Each player who controls the highest number of lands sacrifices a land. Each other player searches their library for a basic land card and put it onto the battlefield tapped.

    Entwine 1W

    ----------

    Another take on White's Balance effect. Significantly more expensive, but player gets to choose where to tackle and can help allies.

    EDIT 1: Name changed to avoid discomfort. Keeping the theme alive.
    EDIT 2: Changed the effect to discarding one and sacrifice one.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Venser + Soulherder
    Venser, the Sojourner / Soulherder

    Venser's +1 exiles a permanent and returns it at the beginning of the end step, while Soulherder exiles a creature at the beginning of the end step. Last I know Venser's "returning" is a delayed effect, is it possible to return a creature he exiles, then exile it again with Soulherder?

    Fixed Venser's name for tags to work. -MadMage
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Secretversary 2021 and Holiday card one drop is the first ever commander deck (its all reprints no unique cards)
    Last Minute Chopping is awesome. I love the siblings there.

    Needless to say, Fblthp is godly.

    Given how late Secret Lair products usually arrive at doorstep, I fear this coin flip deck will miss the holiday season after you purchase it.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Capenna flavor
    I just hope the new three color combinations can be as inspiring as Strixhaven with theirs, flavor wise.
    Posted in: Magic Storyline
  • posted a message on Maro Crimson vow teasers
    "A new legendary creature card that combines two characters that previously each had their own legendary creature card."

    Grandpa Markov and Olivia, it seems. Years past I was hoping for a card depicting the Fourth Sister (Liesa) and a demonic lover, but I suppose two vampires will do.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.