2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Nyx Basic Lands
    I bought them because they look neat and I have a surplus of gold. You can make 1,000 gold a day so it's like grinding for two weeks to get them. Seems about right.
    Posted in: MTG Arena
  • posted a message on Opponent stalls and drags match for over 40 min.
    It's always weird to me when people do this. They are wasting their own time too.
    Posted in: MTG Arena
  • posted a message on [CUBE][TBD]Dryad of Ilysian Grove
    Is this really better than swordtooth and no one runsthat.
    Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
  • posted a message on What happens during battle when a creature that gives other creatures +1/+1 dies first?
    Quote from soleil19 »
    Does the blocker have first strike or double strike?

    If it does, the damage it deals happens (and results in creature destruction) before any other creatures can even assign combat damage.


    Doesn't first strike mean that of the two creatures fighting each other, the one with first strike deals damage first? It doesn't mean that of all creatures in a battle, it strikes its opponent first, does it?


    It actually does mean that. In battle if any creature has first strike or double strike then any creature with first / double strike will deal damage and any creature with lethal damage marked will die and players can cast intstants. After that all creatures without firstrike still alive will deal damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [THB] Archon of Falling Stars— MTGNerdGirl preview
    You can get infinite deaths with Kaya's Ghostform in standard or Reanimate Dead type cards in older formats. Probably too expensive for general reanimation strats with Omniscience or the like, but maybe some janky shenanigans with the new 3 drop escape card that can sac a creature to scry 1.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [THB] Commune with the Stars and Banishing Light reprint—everyeye.it preview
    It's pretty much a four mana pacifism. There are corner cases, but that's realistically what it is.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Paying for Demon of Death's Gate
    They all have to be on the field at the same time. Costs are decided and paid for in one shot so you can't do what you're asking.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on THB Twitter preview- Allure of the Unknown
    Quote from BestOfThree »
    So if this has to be cast immediately, the chosen card by your opponent would have to be an instant to get any use out of it, no? Or does it ignore timing restrictions?


    It ignores timing restriction. Any time a spell gives someone permission to cast something during resolution (like this does) it implicitly ignores timing restrictions because normally you can't cast anything during a spells resolution.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on THB Twitter preview- Allure of the Unknown
    Yes the spell must be cast immediately for those asking.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Starfield of Nyx and Dance of the Manse
    Quote from kp256 »
    What if the Starfield was returned by the Dance, would the timestamp be before or after?

    Dance returns them all to the field and then makes them 4/4s so its timestamp will be after the Starfields if you return it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Floating mana
    You can. When the token Springbloom Druid ETB it will trigger. When that triggers you can tap a land for mana and allow the triggered ability to begin to resolve. At that point you may sacrifice a land (including what you just tapped) and search your library for two more lands.
    Posted in: Commander Rules Discussion Forum
  • posted a message on Possibility Storm
    Quote from Boyachi »
    Quote from sainthyacinth »
    This Thread is to explore the Possibility Storm Combo.

    The Combo plays out as follows:
    [numlist]
    [*]Play Possibility Storm.
    [*]Cast any Adventure sorcery. Possibility Storm finds the only actual sorcery in your deck: Enter the Infinite.
    [*]Resolve enter the infinite, putting Borborygmos on top of your deck.
    [*]Cast a 0-mana Walking Ballista, which possibilty storm makes into a Borborygmos (or if you have a legendary card in play cast a Mox Amber (exile and then return Borborygmos to the top of your library) and then cast a mana dork.
    [*]Discard all of the lands that you drew with Enter the Infinte, bolting your opponent repeatedly until they are dead.



    Question about number 4:
    How do you use possibility storm to free cast Borborygmos if Enter the Infinite has put your entire library into your hand thus leaving nothing left in your library for possibility storm?

    Wouldn’t you have to attempt to cast Borborygmos first and then 0 cast Ballista to actually get Borborygmos out, or am I missing something?


    Enter the Infinite puts one card from your hand into the deck on resolution so you put Borborygmos on top.
    List tags are malformed.
    Posted in: Pioneer
  • posted a message on Looking for card
    If you go to https://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Default.aspx under the advanced tab you can choose specific rules text you'd like. For example
    https://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Search/Default.aspx?action=advanced&text= [sacrifice]+[creature]+[damage]&color=|[B]|[U]|[G]
    Has the words sacrifice, creature, and damage plus it only includes cards that are either blue, black, or green. You can adjust colors, if you only want enchantments, etc.

    I will tell you that most of the sacrifice a creature to deal damage effects are in red with black having the second most (other colors have basically none) but black has more varied effects or relieves on life loss rather than damage.Blood-Chin Fanatic or Bontu the Glorified for example.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Concerning Face-Down Permanents
    Quote from NightWatch »
    Duly noted. I'm literally learning these mechanics for the first time for an EDH deck I'm building. On a similar note, in reference to turning over manifested cards which happen to have the morph ability, it is stated,

    "701.33c If a card with morph is manifested, its controller may turn that card face up using either the
    procedure described in rule 702.36e to turn a face-down permanent with morph face up or the
    procedure described above to turn a manifested permanent face up."

    Am I correct in assuming that turning the card over for its CMC rather than its Morph cost (For cards such as Skinthinner this would be extremely advantageous.) is only an option if the card is manifested, or played face down using a rule other than Morph?


    Correct. Normally a card can only be turned face up for its morph cost. As part of the manifest ability the game allows that specific card to be turned face up for its CMC.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dark deal vs Instant
    They can. Dark Deal is a normal card and can be responded to as anything else can most notably a counterspell to counter the dark deal. The number of cards drawn is based on the number of cards actually discarded though.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.