2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Sarkhan the Masterless and mutate
    Sarkhan the Masterless
    Sea-Dasher Octopus

    If I turn Sarkhan (or anywalker) into a dragon with his +1 ability and then mutate with say Sea-Dasher Octopus what happens if I put the Octopus on top versus on bottom and if I then activate the Sarkhan mutate octopus the next turn to become a dragon again does he just become a 4/4 dragon regardless of where the octopus is placed?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kaheera question
    Quote from The Fluff »
    If I don't have any copies in the sideboard, I can't declare it as a companion?

    guess I'll just use it as a normal creature then. All creature in my deck are cat, so I satisfy his requirements.


    The requirements only apply if you want to use them as a companion. If you want to use them as normal creatures you can simply slot them into your deck with no deckbuilding restrictions. Only if you want to put one in your sideboard to be specially cast as a companion do you need to meet the restrictions.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy and Urza, Lord High Artificer and Priest of Forgotten Gods
    Urza, Lord High Artificer
    Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy

    Kinnan is a new card so I don't know if it's okay to ask yet or not, but I've seen some people saying that Urza's mana production is not increased because Urza is the source of the mana ability and isn't being tapped while I've seen others that say it is increased because there is a non-land permanent being tapped for mana.

    As a follow up would Priest of Forgotten Gods have its mana increased. Priest doesn't have a mana ability, but it is being tapped to produce mana.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on "Protection from Modified Creatures"
    It does not.
    Certain kinds of cards (such as flip cards, adventurer cards, and double-, triple-, and four-faced cards) define alternative characteristics for those objects under certain circumstances. Using these alternative characteristics doesn’t count as being modified.

    Of course the card was never officially released and modified never officially defined so my answer is just best conjecture.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Vanish into Memory and Chromium
    You cannot. Returning chromium to the field and discarding cards is done sequentially with no time to activate abilities.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Multiple Harness the Storm, 1 target in graveyard
    It is a new object because it changed zones. You will be unable to cast it with the second trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on When does a missing/invalid target cause a spell/ability to fizzle?
    No. When activating an ability such as with Recurring Nightmare all costs must be paid in full before the ability is considered activated and sacrificing a creature and returning the card to hand is the cost. The nightmare won't be on the field to be targetted if the controller activated its ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kusari-Gama and Repercussion Combined with Myriad in Multiplayer
    The math is the same whether it's one opponent or 3 since they are all individual so ignore the Myriad part.

    The answer mostly depends on whether the blockers survive combat. If the opponent has 5 grizzly bears (2 toughness) and they block with all 5 if you assign 2 damage to each then they will die as a state based action before the Kusari-Gama does any damage. You'll still get 10 damage from repurcussion though. If you assigned all 10 damage to just the first bear the situation would be exactly like what you described originally. If you assigned 5 damage to the first 2 bears and none to the last 3 the first 2 bears would die and you'd have 2 triggers that deal 5 damage to each creature the defending player controls. The first would resolve and deal 5 damage to each which would kill all creatures, but the second would do no damage as the creatures are already dead so you'd get a total of 25 repurcussion damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Gaining control of a saga?
    You keep the current number of lore counters. Taking control of a permanent doesn't change any characteristics of the object or anything that is on it. So all counters stay, it stays tapped/untapped, damage remains on it etc.
    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • posted a message on Garruk Relentless and Heart of Kiran
    It doesn't matter why Garruk Relentless has 2 or fewer counters only that he does. You could also cast Shock and have him flip for example.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cards "Flash" + "Arixmethes, Slumbering Isle"
    You would still sacrifice it. The rulings refer to sacrificing a creature because it is considered better grammar. The card itself says, '...sacrifice it' rather than '...sacrifice the creature' which is what would matter.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on ivy lane denizen and multiple green creatures coming in at once
    Ivy Lane Denizen only cares about green creatures and doesn't interact with any counters that are already on them in any way. If Mycoloth or any other green creature enters the field you get one trigger for one counter.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wishing for a facedown card in exile (CEDH)
    Is a card that is exiled not "removed from the game"


    No, when magic was first created they had terminology 'remove from the game' which eventually turned into the exile zone. You used to be able to use wishes for cards when this terminology was used but it was changed when people used it for infinite combos with Burning Wish.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wishing for a facedown card in exile (CEDH)
    In a sanctioned format you must choose a card from your sideboard. In casual play you can choose any card, but it must be from outside the game which means it cannot be in exile.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hostage Taker and Uro
    If a card would go to any players hand, graveyard, or library other than its owner it instead goes to its owners respective zone. So if you cast Uro in this manner it will enter the battlefield, you will draw a card, gain 3 life, have the option to play a land, and then it will be sacrificed and put into your opponent's graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.