2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Thantis and Master of Cruelties
    Thantis, the Warweaver
    Everything but Master of Cruelties will be forced to attack assuming you have no other attack restrictions. The reason is kind of long and complicated but here is the rule.
    508.1d The active player checks each creature they control to see whether it’s affected by any requirements (effects that say a creature attacks if able, or that it attacks if some condition is met). If the number of requirements that are being obeyed is fewer than the maximum possible number of requirements that could be obeyed without disobeying any restrictions, the declaration of attackers is illegal. If a creature can’t attack unless a player pays a cost, that player is not required to pay that cost, even if attacking with that creature would increase the number of requirements being obeyed. If a requirement that says a creature attacks if able during a certain turn refers to a turn with multiple combat phases, the creature attacks if able during each declare attackers step in that turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ugin's Nexus and Mirrorworks Question
    Quote from NavoMan »
    First I've heard of this. I always thought that "if" also implies a trigger. Especially since the two effects are in "cause, effect" format.
    You still haven't really answered my question though. Does this work?


    If is always a replacement effect. Triggered abilities generally begin with 'when', 'whenever', or 'at'. They are both set up very similarly in terms of word structure though.
    Replacement: 'if' x would happen instead 'y'.
    Triggered: 'when' x happens do 'y'.

    The only difference is that 'instead' means you are doing 'y', but not doing 'x'
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Solemnity based loop
    If you do not have another card outside this loop then you cannot stop it and the game is a draw. The reason being that none of the abilities involved are 'may' abilities that give you an option of saying no so you simply keep bringing Butcher back as a 1/1 to immediately die to Heartless Summoning and trigger undying. You need something like Relic of Progenitus to exile it from your GY to end the loop or replace Heartless Summoning with an activated sacrifice ability like Viscera Seer.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Two different Essence of the Wild(s)
    You get to choose. Essence of the Wild has a replacement effect that replaces how a creature would enter the battlefield so you as the affected objects controller get to choose the order they apply in. You apply one and then the second will overwrite it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on leyline
    I have to imagine that Omniscience would just be the defacto best deck and win on t1 every time.
    Posted in: Homebrew and Variant Formats
  • posted a message on Undying Vs. Blight Beetle
    When the ability resolves it will do as much as it can. In this case it will bring back the Howlgeist and then attempt to put a counter on it, but because Blight Beetle prevents this it will just not put a counter on. Effectively this means it can be brought back indefinitely if you keep blocking, they block it in such a way it dies, or if you sacrifice it to an ability like Viscera Seer.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Premier Drafts: Thoughts or Concerns?
    The drafts cost more, but the rewards scale so it's not so bad. If you were rare drafting or only interested in drafting it's slightly worse in terms of value, but over all it's pretty much the same.
    Posted in: MTG Arena
  • posted a message on Song of Creation
    Merchant of the Vale lets you loot one card and since it exiles you can cast it.
    Posted in: Deck Creation (Modern)
  • posted a message on What is the point of temporary effects from now on?
    It depends on if they make these counters an evergreen thing or not. If they choose to only have them in ikoria then that would be a reason you have to play something else. Even if they do print more cards with them temporary effects give the designers more design space consider that p/t modifying spells still temporarily adjust rather than just add counters.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Zirda + Blast Zone
    When casting a spell or activating an ability with X in the cost you first decide what X is going to be. You then find the total cost (in this case adding X+X) and then apply any cost modifiers. In this case you would choose X to be 1 get a total cost of 2 and then apply modifiers to get a cost of 1 because Zirda cannot allow it to go below 1.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Crazed Weasel Pack
    Seems interesting.Could probably be a two drop pretty easily.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Archetype of Courage and Stromkirk Captain
    Quote from Awear »
    Just to make it clear, I'm not contesting the fact that Stromkirk Captain effect is (or should be) applied in different layers.
    However, the rulings of C.R. 113.11 says:
    Continuous effects created by static abilities that would add the specified ability won’t apply to that object.

    It doesn't state that only the parts of the effect that apply in this layer aren't applied. It states that "Continuous effect (...) won't apply to that object."
    Since the Gaining First Strike and Getting +1/+1 are parts of a single continuous effect (despite them being applied it different layers), it means, from what I understand, that the whole effect shouldn't be applied (so no +1/+1).


    Similarly to how a spell with multiple targets will still resolve and do as much as it can even if one of the targets is gone you still have the +1. If you think about it as one ability it tries to give first strike but it can't so it moves on and gives just +1/+1.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Tayam with Vanishing
    In general any ability that triggers from another ability/spell's cost being paid will resolve before the ability/spell being activated/cast. The reason is that when you first begin to cast/activate you put the spell/ability onto the stack and then you pay costs. Anything that triggers after that will go onto the stack above the spell/ability being activated/cast.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on How will Companion be enforced?
    Quote from Pcrusader »
    Hello,

    I'm still in doubt. If I have Zirda, the Dawnwaker for example as a companion in my Sideboard, can I have the other three copies inside my deck?

    I mean, it would be legal to have a companion (and declare it at the begining of the game), and the other remaining copies (x3) in my deck in order to being able to have the first one (that was outside the game) for casting when I want it, and three more copies in the deck so, if the one that was in the sideboard is killed I have chance to draw another from my deck to replace it?

    Lot of thanks!!


    You are allowed a total of 4 copies of any card in any mixture between your sideboard and main deck. You can go 2 sideboard 2 main, 4 main, 4 sideboard etc. When it comes to companion you are only allowed to declare a single copy in your SB the companion and only if your main deck meets the building restrictions. So you can have 3 Zirda main and 1 in your SB as a companion, 2 Zirda main 1 SB and 1 SB as a companion or any combination. Just make sure that the creatures themselves do not make you miss the deckbuilding restriction. Lurrus of the Dream-Den for example cannot have any other copies of himself in the maindeck if you are declaring him a companion.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Constellation Circle
    Why do you have it as a cast trigger and as a leave the stack trigger. Just make it on cast or on ETB.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.