2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Hapatra ruling
    Quote from Hard_Gim »
    Hello, I was searching about Hapatra and Phyrexian Hydra and found this post.
    My question was more about how Phyrexian Hydra ability works.
    Do we put a stack of -1/-1 counters in one go or do we put multiple times a -1/-1 counter ?
    Reading the card I am a little confused, I was doing it in one go but my fellow players said it reads a 'Put "A" -1/-1 counter on Phyrexian Hydra for each 1 damage prevented this way' so it is one at a time.

    You put them all on in one shot. Basically you prevent all the damage, calculate how much damage is prevented, and then put that many counters on the Hydra. Also in general you should just make a new thread if you have a question. It makes it easier to catalogue and for people to search for answers to questions later if they are separated out.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mono-Colored Fetch Lands
    If your only goal was a cheaper fetchland you could just do a Bad River cycle, but with the fetched land entering tapped rather than the fetch land. They'd definitely be worse enough than current fetches that no one would run them except as a budget option.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Slowly getting back in and I have a question.
    Quote from Shadow345 »
    Because banned as companion was 'too complex' which is a complete underestimation of the intelligence of the average player.


    When the average player figures out deodorant I'll have more faith in bans like that.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Shiny Impetus destroyed by instant during an attack. Does it still trigger?
    Once attacks are declared the triggered ability occurs. Once an ability has triggered (or been activated) it resolves independently of its source so even if the source is destroyed the ability will resolve like normal unless the ability specifically requires the source to still be around. In order to prevent the trigger they would need to destroy the enchantment before attacks are declared.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Banned and restricted announcement September 28th
    I'm not sure what people wanted. They were never going to ban 4 cards from a deck so they picked the card with a lot of utility that has been causing problems. Let's give it a week to see how the metagame changes before we start screaming. At the very least this give counterspell decks a better way to combat the deck now that one of the biggest sources of inevitability is gone.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Gruul landfall is too strong
    You need Cobra to live and you need a Fabled Passage specifically to use cobra to get Greenwarden into play on turn 4. Take a look at all the winning decklists right now and see why Greenwarden isn't being played. Heck if you want mana run Nyx-bloom ancient. For one mana more than greenwarden he'll triple your mana as a single card.
    Posted in: Deck Creation (Standard)
  • posted a message on Gruul landfall is too strong
    You need a two drop creature and a 6 drop creature to live through your untap step. Considering you can die on turn 4 from red decks I don't see how a combo that is stopped by any one piece of removal is all that great.
    Posted in: Deck Creation (Standard)
  • posted a message on Nicol Bolas the Ravager + Hushbringer
    It sounds like a bug if the situation is as you described. Hushbringer only interacts with triggered abilities and Nicol Bolas's transform ability has no triggers at all.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kess + Alternative costs ; specifically cards with buyback
    Quote from Craterallus »
    Cool, all that make perfect sense.

    A few more questions on Kess, Dissident Mage for clarity. I can play alternate costs, however I cannot pay cycling or transmute costs on instance and sorceries in graveyard with Kess because part of that cost is to discard the card, which cannot be done from the graveyard.

    So if I have Raking Claws and Clutch of the Undercity in my graveyard I can play either cards with Kess, but I cannot use their cycle/transmute abilities when casting them from the graveyard with Kess, Dissident Mage


    Well kind of. You can't pay the cycling or transmute costs because part of the cost is to discard the card which you cannot do as it's in the GY as you mentioned. In addition to that Kess only gives you permission to 'cast' a card not activate abilities of a card so even if you could find some way to pay you wouldn't be able to do it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Vandalism
    Quote from FetalTadpole »
    Consider that Gigadrowse made several broken combo decks viable in Standard. This is at least as good. Probably printable though.


    Gigadrowse was powerful because you could do it at the end of the opponents turn and because it replicated you couldn't effectively stop it with countermagic. This version is like a worse Silence really.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Panglacial Rift
    Quote from sbfinley »
    Quote from megatog201 »
    That's a pretty bold statement there. Having 4 tap lands is good, but slow. I really don't see how that compares with a cycle of cards that dominated every format.
    These could actually be good for the game. One of the worse feelings in the game is getting Mana screwed and not even being able to play the game in the first place.



    T1- Play Fetch, crack before t2, slam one of these and whatever you fetched. (2 lands)


    T2- Play fetch, crack fetch and this, slam two more of these. ( 5 lands)


    T3- play land, crack two of these, dig one more out ( 7 lands )


    They are broken and would be a four of in almost every single deck in every format short of Vintage. It ramps better that Azusa and it’s both free and can’t be removed. Tempo decks could clear out lands and not worry about top decking lands. Combo could go off quicker. Control could run less lands and
    more answer. Also all of this is free and at common. It essentially a Squadron Hawk Mox with Suspend 1, that can’t be countered.

    It doesn't work that way. The cards give you permission to play them from a place and at a time you normally couldn't, but it doesn't give you extra land drops. So you can play a fetch t1 then on t2 crack it to play this etc. It's still powerful because it gives card advantage, but it very much slows a player down.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Adventure and Soulfire Grandmaster
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    Soulfire Grand Master

    I presume I can't buyback an adventure spell, since adventures requires me to exile it as the spell resolved, similar to Flashback?)


    You can. When the adventure goes to resolve it has two replacement effects trying to apply. One from Soulfire Grand Master and one from the adventure itself from 715.3d. As its controller you choose one to apply. Because both specify if it would go to the gy instead do X whichever one you apply first will be the only one able to apply. This is the difference from flashback as flashback says that if the spell would go anywhere other than exile it gets exiled so no matter how you apply the replacement effects it will always get exiled.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on commander and the new partners
    You cannot add the other to your hand. The partner with ability only allows you to search a library for the named creature and no other zone so it will stay in the command zone. And no you cannot put one in your deck they both start the game in the command zone.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Timing rules with Madness
    Madness gives you the ability to cast it ignoring normal timing restrictions.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Switcheroo and "end of the turn" effect
    No, the effect creates a delayed trigger for you to sacrifice them at the end of turn rather than granting the ability to the elementals themselves. Because of this when the trigger occurs and you go to sacrifice them you will be unable to because you cannot sacrifice a permanent that you do not control. The end result of this scenario is your opponent permanently keeps that 1/1 elemental, you keep the Spore Frog, and your other 1/1 elemental gets sacrificed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.