Magic Market Index for March 15th, 2019
 
Magic Market Index for Feb 8th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for Feb 1st, 2019
  • posted a message on Winding constrictor question
    Each counter placement counts separately for the constrictor so if you put two counters on each creature it will modify each one to add one more so you will get three counters on each one.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spears to Pruninghooks
    You'd have to make it only target opposing creatures in order to not be absurd. And then the rate pay off is so bad that no one would play it.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on State of Standard Thread: bans, format health, metagame, rotation, etc!
    Quote from BrainPo »
    Quote from TBuzzsaw »
    Quote from BrainPo »
    Another recent example of degeneracy on Arena: I was playing a control vs. control matchup. A typical slow slogfest of what that is. It got to a point where the game turned around in my favor because they literally were about to run out of cards long before me. So then what do they do? They use Teferi's 2nd ability on itself for about 20 turns, returning it to their library over and over as the only card in their library, when they should have lost long ago for running out of cards. Someone else in my position would have rage quit but I didn't. I had Kaya out and kept exiling from their graveyard every turn. Eventually I got enough exiled to kill them. But really, I'm not sure you're supposed to be able to do the shennanigans with Teferi they pulled and that was the most absurd game on Arena I've played so far.


    Teferi tucking is a legit win con in control right now.
    '
    If so, it's one of the most cheesy win cons ever.


    Control has always had those grindy win cons. UW control in Theros standard had a tier 1 deck with Elixir of Immortality that was used to mill the opponent. The Teferi tuck plan is usually used as a get an emblem then tuck teferi infinitely to exile a permanent each turn, but can be used just to stave off mill too.
    Posted in: Standard (Type 2)
  • posted a message on Recall + Library of Leng
    Only activated abilities have the cost represented as the portion before the colon. Instants and Sorceries will have the phrasing "As an additional cost to cast.." see tormenting voice

    That being said the discard is part of the resolution and because it is an effect of the spell they are effected by Library of Leng should you so choose.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Skullbriar and -1/-1 counters
    Quote from FearDReaper »
    Would something like Durable Handicraft help? Or do the counters have to enter along with the creature?


    It doesn't help. The ability is a triggered ability so the creature enters and triggers the ability but before it resolves the creature is put into the GY for having zero toughness. You would need a replacement ability like Master Biomancer that puts the counters on as it enters the field.

    [Quote]Oh ok, gotcha. So if he has 2x -1/-1 counters on him, Mik is not gonna he able to save him in one cast. You would have to cast Skully twice to shed both. Is that right?

    If he has 2 minus counters with mik out he will die and trigger undying bring him back with 2 minus counters and 1 plus counter. State based actions will occur and one plus and one minus counter will be removed leaving with just one minus counter and Skullbriar will be put in the GY for having zero toughness. Because it had a plus counter just before it died undying will not trigger though.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on How do copies work?
    Only non-tokens that enter afterward would trigger ETB effects. ETB effects only occur when a permanent enters the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on A question about priority
    Once a spell or ability resolves the active player (player whose turn it is) gains priority and is then able to cast spells, activate abilities, or perform special actions (like playing lands). Static abilities are always active and so as soon as Oracle is on the field the top card of your library is revealed and you are able to use priority. If you do nothing then your opponent will gain priority and have the chance to cast instants
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Every booster will have a planeswalker in WAR
    Some of these look weird. Kiora looks like the new Will Smith Genies face plastered onto a smurf.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Question Regarding a Potential Policy Made by LGS Owners/Staff Members
    A person can be banned from any business for any reason that is not a protected reason (age, gender, race, etc). That being said the only time I've heard people being banned is when buying/selling inside the store itself and it's for the reason you mentioned that the store isn't making any money that way.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on The State of Modern Thread (B&R 21/01/2019)
    Faithless Looting powers the two top decks in the Format in Dredge and Phoenix. I find it hilarious Red has the Best Draw Spell and the best Flier in Modern. While Blue and White cry in the corner. Granted Faithless Looting is safe until end of Summer/start of Fall at the earliest as we have Modern Horizons and the London Mulligan rule is tested.

    Reading Starcity and Handy's article, Council's Judgement would be a great card, turn 3 Board Wipe that exiles just what you need next to Containment Priest to join Terminus to fight Phoenix and Dredge in UWx Control Decks.


    It's the best looting spell you mean. Opt and Serum Visions are still superior draw spells. As for best flier that's debatable as well considering Pteromander is a 5/5 for 2 in the same deck.
    Posted in: Modern Archives
  • posted a message on Discarding Nexus of Fate repeatedly to avoid losing
    Quote from A_E_I_Own_U »
    You are just wrong. This specific ruling was made for this exact situation.
    "It is considered the same game state because nothing relevant changed. Despite elements about the game being technically different, these elements are having no impact on the game, and the players are not doing anything different, so the active player must yield. This is the official stance." Actual quote from judge. Drawing the card from OP doesn't constituent as a game state change.


    Where are you seeing this quote? Drawing cards is absolutely a change in game state. In fact the standard decks from last season abused this rule by running only Teferi as a wincondition. Eventually they would just tuck their own teferi every turn until the opponent decked themselves.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Deathtouch, trample on stack after blockers
    Quote from chickajackeen »
    Also the opposite order would be the same result as i understand, deathtouch on top of stack but its then killed w 6 damage and no longer exists to block anyway. BUT id draw a card... i think.


    This is right. The creature would still die, but the spell would have still resolved so you would draw a card.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Bruna, light of alabaster and inexorable tide?
    No to all your questions. For a spell to be cast it goes from the zone it is in to the stack and all costs (if necessary) are paid. The downside is that abilities like Bruna don't count towards cast triggers, but the upside is that they also can't be countered by counterspells. You need an ability counter like squelch.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Non creature permanents with +1/+1 counters
    Quote from prplcow913 »
    Quote from CalvinSchwa »
    Note, though, that if you then chose to activate the ability and make Nexus a creature, the counter would suddenly have something to do again, Nexus would be a 0/0 creature, and it would die just as before.


    In this scenario, what happens if Necroskitter is on the battlefield under the control of an opponent of the player with Nexus? I'm assuming that the Nexus would return under that players control since skitter says "card" instead of "creature" though I'm not certain it would matter either way. Just curious Smile


    Your assumption is correct. The Nexus would die and trigger being brought back to the field under the opponents control as an Inkmoth Nexus land that is not a creature. At least not until the opponent activated it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rules History: Was Necromancy ever an "insant" on the stack?
    Quote from CatParty »
    Necromancy - I understand that it has been errata'd to have flash with a situational stipulation. But was there ever a time when the original wording of the card: "You may choose to play Necromancy as an instant, if you do, bury it at end of turn," was taken literally, allowing one to reanimate a creature with protection from Black? For example, would the stack be played in which Akroma, Angel of Wrath being targeted by Necromancy as an instant, she comes into play, the Aura attempts to stick to her, but she can't be targeted, so the Aura bounces and Akroma can stay without the "if Necromancy leaves play" clause triggering?


    Your question is somewhat odd and I can't answer for historical purposes, but the interaction you described is how it works now. You can reanimate a protection from black card but the aura cannot be attached because the creature has protection from black. State based actions are checked and the aura is put into the GY because it isn't attached to anything. Then it's sacrifice ability will be triggered causing whatever was reanimated to be sacrificed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.