2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Jhoira of the Ghitu - Activated ability still resolves
    Quote from Felllix
    EDIT: Whoops, Parallax Wave doesn't work like that anymore. In that case, I can't think of any exceptions.


    Frenetic Sliver is an exception.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Reveillark and Geist-Honored Monk questions
    Quote from bojangleslive
    1) I wasn't aware of that rule, thanks for pointing that out.


    That rule appeared with the release of Future Sight in 2007.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Reveillark and Geist-Honored Monk questions
    Quote from bojangleslive
    1) What is Geist-Honored Monk power and toughness while in my graveyard?

    That depends: How many creatures do you control at the moment?

    604.3. Some static abilities are characteristic-defining abilities. A characteristic-defining ability conveys information about an object's characteristics that would normally be found elsewhere on that object (such as in its mana cost, type line, or power/toughness box). Characteristic-defining abilities function in all zones. They also function outside the game.

    604.3a A static ability is a characteristic-defining ability if it meets the following criteria: (1) It defines an object's colors, subtypes, power, or toughness; (2) it is printed on the card it affects, it was granted to the token it affects by the effect that created the token, or it was acquired by the object it affects as the result of a copy effect or text-changing effect; (3) it does not directly affect the characteristics of any other objects; (4) it is not an ability that an object grants to itself; and (5) it does not set the values of such characteristics only if certain conditions are met.

    109.5. The words "you" and "your" on an object refer to the object's controller, its would-be controller (if a player is attempting to play, cast, or activate it), or its owner (if it has no controller). For a static ability, this is the current controller of the object it's on. For an activated ability, this is the player who activated the ability. For a triggered ability, this is the controller of the object when the ability triggered, unless it's a delayed triggered ability. To determine the controller of a delayed triggered ability, see rules 603.7d-f.

    Quote from bojangleslive
    2) Can a Reveillark target a Geist-Honored Monk that's in my graveyard?

    Thanks

    Only if you control 2 or fewer creatures at the time you choose its target(s). Note that the Reveillark will no longer be on the battlefield at that time, so it won't be counted.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Coffin Queen "leaves play" question
    Quote from ISBPathfinder
    So, the other day, I had a Coffin Queen in play. I had just reanimated a Erayo, Soratami Ascendant. When I went to cast

    "went" to cast? Either you cast a spell, or you didn't.
    Quote from ISBPathfinder
    my first spell for the turn, one of my opponents used an instant speed Rout. We couldn't figure out though if I was able to flip Erayo

    I don't see how you might flip it. The "Whenever the fourth spell of a turn is cast, flip Erayo, Soratami Ascendant." ability is nowhere near triggering given your description. But I'll assume that a couple more spells had been cast so that the ability triggers while Rout is on the stack.
    Quote from ISBPathfinder
    if Coffin Queen's exile clause would still catch it or not since it sort of specifies to sacrifice the creature which Erayo would no longer be if I flipped it.


    It will.
    603.7c A delayed triggered ability that refers to a particular object still affects it even if the object changes characteristics. However, if that object is no longer in the zone it's expected to be in at the time the delayed triggered ability resolves, the ability won't affect it. (Note that if that object left that zone and then returned, it's a new object and thus won't be affected. See rule 400.7.)
    Example: An ability that reads "Exile this creature at the beginning of the next end step" will exile the permanent even if it's no longer a creature during the next end step. However, it won't do anything if the permanent left the battlefield before then.

    201.5. If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as "this [something]" to identify an object, where [something] is a characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it isn't the appropriate characteristic at the time.
    Example: An ability reads "Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn. Destroy that creature at the beginning of the next end step." The ability will destroy the object it gave +2/+2 to even if that object isn't a creature at the beginning of the next end step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Mogg sentry's ability?
    Quote from spikespig
    My friend says that Mogg Sentry's effect can be triggered during it's owner's turn,

    A Mogg Sentry under your control (ownership being irrelevant) can trigger during any turn -- as long as a spell is being cast by your opponent. This can be a Melee during your opponent's turn, or a Siren's Call during yours.
    Quote from spikespig
    He thinks logic dictates that "an opponent means any player in the current duel since everyone is an opponent.


    I think the rules dictate that "an opponent means any player in the current duel who is not on your side".
    102.2. In a two-player game, a player's opponent is the other player.

    102.3. In a multiplayer game between teams, a player's teammates are the other players on his or her team, and the player's opponents are all players not on his or her team.


    If Mogg Sentry's trigger condition meant "Whenever a player casts a spell", it would say "Whenever a player casts a spell".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Bodydouble + Phyrexian Metamorph
    Quote from Warp
    If there's a Body Double and another creature in a graveyard, and both were to enter the battlefield from there at the same time (via an effect like Second Sunrise), can you make Body Double be a copy of the other creature?


    Yes. Consider this: Which zone is the Body Double card in when you make that decision?
    614.12a If a replacement effect that modifies how a permanent enters the battlefield requires a choice, that choice is made before the permanent enters the battlefield.

    • Battlefield: This would contract rule 614.12a.
    • Something other than battlefield or graveyard: What's it doing there?
    • Graveyard: And so is the other card.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Portcullis and Aether Adept
    Quote from jam3sbob
    Portcullis and Aether Adept

    There are already 2 creatures in play when I play adept (I own/control the port). Can I make it so that the adept bounce trigger resolves first so that it does not get exiled?

    Thanks


    Yes. If you put the Portcullis trigger on the stack first, the intervening if clause will result in the Portcullis trigger doing nothing.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cleanup step vs Madness.
    Quote from seilaoque
    Is there a specific situation I'm not seeing here where discarding first becomes relevant?


    Situation: due to Mirrorweave, some creatures are copies of Confessor "until end of turn". With the current rule, those clearly trigger. If the whole mess were simultaneous, those would not.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Commander - Tempting Offer
    Quote from Alabran
    I'm still a little confused about when precisely Prince of Thralls triggers. It's as they are entering the graveyard?

    The "Whenever a permanent an opponent controls is put into a graveyard, put that card onto the battlefield under your control unless that opponent pays 3 life." ability triggers whenever a permanent an opponent controls is put into a graveyard.
    603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability's trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn't do anything at this point.

    Quote from Alabran
    I hadn't realized players received priority at that point.
    What?

    Quote from Alabran
    Edit: I should specify, I'm referring to the last question. If triggers only trigger while the permanent is in play, wouldn't the Prince of Thralls be in the graveyard when everything else dies and be unable to trigger?

    Was there some reason for Prince of Thralls to enter the graveyard first while everything else remains on the battlefield?
    603.6d Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. Continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities must be treated specially. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a permanent phases out, abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library, abilities that trigger specifically when an object becomes unattached, abilities that trigger when a player loses control of an object, and abilities that trigger when a player planeswalks away from a plane will trigger based on their existence, and the appearance of objects, prior to the event rather than afterward. The game has to "look back in time" to determine if these abilities trigger.
    Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability "Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life." Someone plays a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact's ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner's graveyard at the same time as the creatures.
    Otherwise, something like Goblin Arsonist couldn't work.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Proxies in casual games
    The deckbuilding rules for "casual" are essentially "whatever the players agreed to before building decks". Had these friends been playing together for some time before you joined them? They might have already agreed among themselves that proxies (or certain proxies) were cheesy, and then assumed you knew that.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Invoke Prejudice without any creatures in play
    Quote from DementedKirby
    Sweet! Are multiple Invoke Prejudice cumulative?


    Yes, each one does exactly what it says it does. Note that "pays X" means "pays X", not "reminisces about a recent payment of X".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.