2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Thalia, Guardian of Thraben rulings
    [c]Thalia, Guardian of Thraben[/c] -> Thalia, Guardian of Thraben
    [c]Dismember[/c] -> Dismember
    Quote from DevXSlayer »
    So I was playing a game with a friend and I cast Thalia, Guardian of Thraben and he let her resolved and then he cast dismember

    With what "target creature" does he think he is casting that spell?

    If Thalia, Guardian of Thraben: To be a target creature, Thalia must be a creature. To be a creature, Thalia must be on the battlefield. If Thalia is on the battlefield, her static ability "Noncreature spells cost 1 more to cast." is in effect, and he needs to pay that as part of casting the noncreature spell Dismember.
    115.2. Only permanents are legal targets for spells and abilities, unless a spell or ability (a) specifies
    that it can target an object in another zone or a player, or (b) targets an object that can’t exist on the
    battlefield, such as a spell or ability. See also rule 115.4.

    109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but
    doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card
    type or subtype on the battlefield.

    If something else: He can do that in response, i.e., not letting her resolve before he casts.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Massacre girl -1/-1 and other card trigger help!
    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    Wouldn't I get 6 "whenever a creature dies Scry 1" triggers instead of just 1 like you said above as Shadows of the past say whenever a creature dies it does not say whenever a NON token creature dies??

    Thanks for the clarification
    Whoops, yes.

    Also, Zulaport Cutthroat would only have three triggers from the first wave of death.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Massacre girl -1/-1 and other card trigger help!
    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    Got a couple questions on the timing of -1/-1 of massacre girl

    So let me set up the board.

    I have:
    1/1 myr token
    1/1 soldier token
    1/1 zulaport cutthroat
    2/2 pawn of ulamog
    2/2 Yahenni, Undying Partisan
    5/5 Harvester of souls
    vanilla 10/10
    Enchantment: Shadows of the past

    Opponent has:
    1/1 vampire token
    1/1 warrior token
    1/1 faerie token
    vanilla 3/3, 6/6, 8/8

    I cast massacre girl.. She resolves.

    So now I have tons of questions on how the -1/-1 works and how the battlefield would look after the fact

    1. So all the 1/1 would die with massacre girl ETB but is there an order that I can have them die in?

    No, it's simultaneous.
    704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 117, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for
    any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions
    simultaneously as a single event
    . If any state-based actions are performed as a result of a check, the
    check is repeated; otherwise all triggered abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack are put on
    the stack, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based actions have been performed as the
    result of a check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, the appropriate player
    gets priority. This process also occurs during the cleanup step (see rule 514), except that if no statebased
    actions are performed as the result of the step’s first check and no triggered abilities are
    waiting to be put on the stack, then no player gets priority and the step ends.

    704.5f If a creature has toughness 0 or less, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard. Regeneration can’t
    replace this event.

    You would get to choose the resulting sequence in your graveyard (i.e., which one is on top), not that it probably matters.

    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    2. Does zulaport cutthroat trigger for all the 1/1s dying or just itself? as it dies at the same time as the other 1/1s so it only sees itself dying?

    All including itself.
    603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched
    any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the
    trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered
    abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities
    trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the
    event.
    The list of exceptions is as follows:

    603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities,
    abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object
    that all players can see is put into a hand or library.
    Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability
    “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.” Someone casts a spell that destroys all
    artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact’s ability triggers twice, even though
    the artifact goes to its owner’s graveyard at the same time as the creatures.


    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    3. Do the 0/1 spawn creatures entering the battlefield because of Pawn of Ulamog stay alive as they came into the battlefield after the -1-1 ETB happened


    They are not affected by the immediate -1/-1 from the ETB ability. (But they might be affected by the delayed trigger you mention in your next question.)

    611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the
    characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined
    when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won’t change. (Note that this works
    differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the
    resolution of a spell or ability that doesn’t modify the characteristics or change the controller of
    any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren’t affected when
    that continuous effect began. If a single continuous effect has parts that modify the
    characteristics or changes the controller of any objects and other parts that don’t, the set of
    objects each part applies to is determined independently.
    Example: An effect that reads “All white creatures get +1/+1 until end of turn” gives
    the bonus to all permanents that are white creatures when the spell or ability resolves—
    even if they change color later—and doesn’t affect those that enter the battlefield or turn
    white afterward.


    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    Now Massacre girl texts reads that when another creature dies this turn each creature other than massacre girl gets -1/-1

    1a. When do these triggers happen?? As soon as 1 creature hits the yard?? Do all creatures hit the yard at the same time so now everything gets like -5/-5?
    Triggered abilities go on the stack the next time someone would gain priority, so you will be piling six "Whenever a creature dies this turn, each creature other than Massacre Girl gets -1/-1 until end of turn." abilities on the stack, along with six "Whenever Zulaport Cutthroat or another creature you control dies, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.", one "Whenever Pawn of Ulamog or another nontoken creature you control dies, you may create a 0/1 colorless Eldrazi Spawn creature token. It has "Sacrifice this creature: Add C."", three "Whenever a creature an opponent controls dies, put a +1/+1 counter on Yahenni, Undying Partisan.", one "Whenever another nontoken creature dies, you may draw a card.", and one "Whenever a creature dies, scry 1."
    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the
    next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes
    the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other
    characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed
    from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player,
    in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See
    rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are
    performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats
    until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate
    player gets priority.


    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    2a. How many cards would I draw off Harvester of souls?
    One from the first wave of death. The exact quantity in the end will depend on the order you choose for putting triggered abilities on the stack.

    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    3a. How many 0/1 spawn tokens would I get off Pawn of Ulamog? Would they die pretty much immediately?
    One off the first wave of death, and another one from the trigger when Pawn of Ulamog dies. The order in which you put all those triggered abilities on the stack will affect how long they survive. For example, if you put the Pawn of Ulamog's ability on the stack first, it will resolve last, and the token will miss those -1/-1 effects.

    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    4a. When do I scy1 off of shadows of the past?
    Each time one of its abilities resolves.

    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    5a .Would Yahenni, Undying Partisan live?
    No. The deaths of your creatures will trigger Massacre Girl's ability but not Yahenni's ability.

    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    Are these cards the same or different because of the wording?

    Zulaport cutthroat - each opponent loses life
    Vindictive Vampire - vindictive vampire deals damage to each opponent

    1b. Is the wording on vindictive vampire make it act differently than zulaport cutthroat or are they essentially the same card?

    Basically I just need clarification on how and when the -1/-1triggers as that will clear a bunch of stuff up
    Damage to a player often results in loss of life, but it is not the same thing as loss of life. For one thing, damage can be prevented.

    Quote from Fr0sty711 »
    1c. Could someone run me through this board state and show me how it would come out just as laid about above.. With no other interactions from other players or other cards except what you see.
    Probably not, because it depends on decisions you make each time multiple triggers are put on the stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Devotion
    Could I take Kruphix, God of Horizons, and then use Mind Bend or similar to make it say 'green and green,'

    Yes....
    would my green creatures count twice, and I could focus on green 'dorks' and blue draws or whatever?

    No, each mana symbol counts only once for devotion, even if it has "both" colors, such as Simic Guildmage.
    700.5. A player’s devotion to [color] is equal to the number of mana symbols of that color among the
    mana costs of permanents that player controls. A player’s devotion to [color 1] and [color 2] is
    equal to the number of mana symbols among the mana costs of permanents that player controls that
    are [color 1], [color 2], or both colors.

    Journey into Nyx Release Notes
    Compiled by Matt Tabak, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Carsten Haese, Eli Shiffrin, Zoe Stephenson, and Thijs van Ommen
    Document last modified February 10, 2014

    * Your devotion to two colors is equal to the number of mana symbols that are the first color, the second color, or both colors among the mana costs of permanents you control. Specifically, a hybrid mana symbol counts only once toward your devotion to its two colors. For example, if the only nonland permanents you control are Pharika, God of Affliction and Golgari Guildmage (whose mana cost is (B/G)(B/G)), your devotion to black and green is four.

    Also, is Kruphix's last ability forever or is there like an 'until end of turn' implied? I think it would say it, but just to be safe.

    It's only while it's on the battlefield, like other static abilities (such as "You have no maximum hand size." or Pin to the Earth's "Enchanted creature gets -6/-0.").
    604.2. Static abilities create continuous effects, some of which are prevention effects or replacement
    effects. These effects are active as long as the permanent with the ability remains on the battlefield
    and has the ability, or as long as the object with the ability remains in the appropriate zone, as
    described in rule 113.6.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Duplicant and Ulvenwald Hydra question
    Quote from AstroBlastr »
    If I play a Duplicant and I exile my opponents Ulvenwald Hydra is the power and toughness of my duplicant equal to the number of lands I control or the number of lands my opponent controls?

    Since Ulvenwald Hydra is in exile, it looks at the number of lands controlled by its owner (apparently your opponent). Your Duplicant then copies that number.
    109.4. Only objects on the stack or on the battlefield have a controller. Objects that are neither on the stack nor on the battlefield aren’t controlled by any player. See rule 108.4. There are five exceptions to this rule:

    ...

    109.5. The words “you” and “your” on an object refer to the object’s controller, its would-be controller (if a player is attempting to play, cast, or activate it), or its owner (if it has no controller). For a static ability, this is the current controller of the object it’s on. For an activated ability, this is the player who activated the ability. For a triggered ability, this is the controller of the object when the ability triggered, unless it’s a delayed triggered ability. To determine the controller of a delayed triggered ability, see rules 603.7d–f.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dromoka's Command vs Eidolon
    Quote from The Fluff »
    Hi, an opponent has an Eidolon of the Great Revel on the field. I cast Dromoka's command choose the mode target player sacrifice an enchantment. Would my opponent have to sacrifice the eidolon?

    Types: Enchantment Creature — Spirit

    You didn't say whether that opponent controls any other enchantments. If they do, they can sacrifice one of those instead. If Eidolon of the Great Revel is the only enchantment they control as they get to that mode of Dromoka's Command (given that you didn't specify the other mode you chose), then that is the one they'll have to sacrifice.
    608.2h If an effect refers to certain characteristics, it checks only for the value of the specified characteristics, regardless of any related ones an object may also have.
    Example: An effect that reads “Destroy all black creatures” destroys a white-and-black creature, but one that reads “Destroy all nonblack creatures” doesn’t.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Martyr's Cause question
    Quote from Quisqui81 »

    - If an opponent targets one of my cretaures in his first main phase to destroy it, and I sac that creature with Martyr's Cause in response. ¿Which are the kind of sources I can choose, targeting myself, in order to prevent some kind of possible future damage until end of turn?. Can I say sorcery spell? or can I say, for example, instant spell?. If I could say sorcery, and my opponent plays in the second main phase an exsanguinate, would I be prevented the damage?.
    You choose a specific object (or former object). You don't simply name a type.
    609.7. Some effects apply to damage from a source—for example, “The next time a red source of your choice would deal damage to you this turn, prevent that damage.”
    609.7a If an effect requires a player to choose a source of damage, they may choose a permanent; a spell on the stack (including a permanent spell); any object referred to by an object on the stack, by a replacement or prevention effect that’s waiting to apply, or by a delayed triggered ability that’s waiting to trigger (even if that object is no longer in the zone it used to be in); or a face-up object in the command zone. A source doesn’t need to be capable of dealing damage to be a legal choice. The source is chosen when the effect is created. If the player chooses a permanent, the effect will apply to the next damage dealt by that permanent, regardless of whether it’s combat damage or damage dealt as the result of a spell or ability. If the player chooses a permanent spell, the effect will apply to any damage dealt by that spell and any damage dealt by the permanent that spell becomes when it resolves.
    609.7b Some effects from resolved spells and abilities prevent or replace damage from sources with certain properties, such as a creature or a source of a particular color. When the source would deal damage, the “shield” rechecks the source’s properties. If the properties no longer match, the damage isn’t prevented or replaced. If for any reason the shield prevents no damage or replaces no damage, the shield isn’t used up.
    609.7c Some effects from static abilities prevent or replace damage from sources with certain properties. For these effects, the prevention or replacement applies to sources that are permanents with that property and to any sources that aren’t on the battlefield that have that property.


    Quote from Quisqui81 »
    - If I would choose creature as a source, and I would be attacked in the combar phase by two creatures, imagine a 2/2 and a 6/6, and I don't declare any blockers. Which one of these creature's damage would be prevented?

    You would have to say which creature at the time the ability resolved. This is before the dealing of combat damage.
    Quote from Quisqui81 »
    The damage is resolved as the same time, isn't it?. Could I choose not to be damaged by de 6/6 creature or my opponent can choose which one deals the damage first.
    The damage is simultaneous (barring first strike or double strike); your opponent doesn't get to choose that one of them is "first".
    510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time it’s dealt.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Morphstealer
    Quote from Oloro4Life »
    If Volrath, the Shapestealer copies Brine Elemental, and becomes turned facedown via Ixidron, does Volrath lose Brine Elemental’s characteristics; or can you turn it faceup as a 7/5 Brine Elemental?

    It is treated as a 7/5 Brine Elemental, just face down (so its power/toughness will be 2/2 until it is turned face up). It can be turned face up as easiliy as the original Brine Elemental.


    707.10. If a face-down permanent becomes a copy of another permanent, its copiable values become the copiable values of that permanent, as modified by its face-down status. Its characteristics therefore remain the same: the characteristics listed by the ability or rules that allowed it to be turned face down. However, if it is turned face up, its copiable values become the values it copied from the other permanent. See rule 706.3.

    706.3. The copy’s copiable values become the copied information, as modified by the copy’s status (see rule 110.5). Objects that copy the object will use the new copiable values.
    Example: Vesuvan Doppelganger reads, “You may have Vesuvan Doppelganger enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it doesn’t copy that creature’s color and it gains ‘At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have this creature become a copy of target creature, except it doesn’t copy that creature’s color. If you do, this creature gains this ability.’” A Vesuvan Doppelganger enters the battlefield as a copy of Runeclaw Bear (a 2/2 green Bear creature with no abilities). Then a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of the Doppelganger. The Clone is a 2/2 blue Bear named Runeclaw Bear that has the Doppelganger’s upkeep-triggered ability.
    Example: Tomoya the Revealer (a flipped flip card) becomes a copy of Nezumi Shortfang (an unflipped flip card). Tomoya’s characteristics become the characteristics of Stabwhisker the Odious, which is the flipped version of Nezumi Shortfang.
    Example: A face-down Grinning Demon (a creature with morph) becomes a copy of a face-up Branchsnap Lorian (a 4/1 green creature with trample and morph {G}). The Demon’s characteristics become the characteristics of Branchsnap Lorian. However, since the creature is face down, it remains a 2/2 colorless creature with no name, types, or abilities,
    and no mana cost. It can be turned face up for {G}. If it’s turned face up, it will have the characteristics of Branchsnap Lorian.

    Example: A face-down Grinning Demon (a creature with morph) becomes a copy of Wandering Ones (a 1/1 blue Spirit creature that doesn’t have morph). It will be a face-down Wandering Ones. It remains a 2/2 colorless creature with no name, types, or abilities, and no mana cost. Its controller can’t turn it face up as a special action. If an effect turns it face up, it will have the characteristics of Wandering Ones.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Volrath and clones
    Quote from Gashnaw II »
    So in the commander forum this question was brought up and I decided to ask.

    If I have Volrath, the Shapestealer copy (In this case a Grizzly bears)

    Then its copiable values include
    Name: Grizzly Bears
    Type: Creature - Bear
    Power/Toughness: 7/5
    Abilities: "1: Until your next turn, ~this~ becomes a copy of target creature with a counter on it, except it's 7/5 and gains this ability."
    Quote from Gashnaw II »
    and then clone volrath what is the process here. The clone would be a grizzly bear as per Volrath being such, however would it obtain Volrath's ability?

    The clone gets all the copiable values, including that activated ability.

    Magic: The Gathering—Commander (2019 Edition) Release Notes

    Compiled by Eli Shiffrin, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Carsten Haese, Nathan Long, and Thijs van Ommen

    ...

    If another object becomes a copy of Volrath, it has the ability to become a copy of something else and it’s 7/5.

    Quote from Gashnaw II »
    If I were to use said ability, would it turn back into volrath at end of turn or the bear? (Or would it turn back into the clone a 0/0 with no abilities?

    The Clone copy effect (giving it the name Grizzly Bears, power/toughness 7/5, and that activated ability) doesn't wear off. It will still have those characteristics on your next turn.
    611.2a A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability lasts as long as stated by the spell or ability creating it (such as “until end of turn”). If no duration is stated, it lasts until the end of the game.

    Quote from Gashnaw II »
    If i were to use Spark double and copy Volrath (Before he changes) same question, if I pay 1 and change the spark double, would it revert back to volrath afterwards?

    Spark Double's copy effect doesn't have an expiration.

    Information about it upon initial entry:
    1) Printed: Spark Double 0/0, etc.
    2) Intrinsic copy effect: Volrath 7/5 with combat trigger and activated copy ability
    Information 2 overrides information 1

    Information about it after activated ability resolves:
    1) Printed: Spark Double 0/0, etc.
    2) Intrinsic copy effect: Volrath 7/5 with combat trigger and activated copy ability
    3) Activated copy effect (duration until your next turn): Whatever you changed it to and the activated copy ability
    Information 3 overrides information 2 and 1

    Information about it once your next turn starts:
    1) Printed: Spark Double 0/0, etc.
    2) Intrinsic copy effect: Volrath 7/5 with combat trigger and activated copy ability
    Information 2 overrides information 1 (i.e., same as right after the initial entry)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Controlling Lands in my graveyard ?
    Quote from Flap Stacks »
    Quick question?
    Was wondering if my lands in my graveyard are targetable by "return target land you control to owners hand".
    For instance, using Mina and Denn, wildborns second ability to return a land from my graveyard to my hand.
    No.
    A) The cost (not "target") of Mina and Denn, Wildborn's ability requires returning a land from the battlefield, not a graveyard.
    109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

    B) You don't control anything in a graveyard.
    109.4. Only objects on the stack or on the battlefield have a controller. Objects that are neither on the stack nor on the battlefield aren’t controlled by any player. See rule 108.4. There are five exceptions to this rule:
    109.4a An emblem is controlled by the player that puts it into the command zone. See rule 114, “Emblems.”
    109.4b In a Planechase game, a face-up plane or phenomenon card is controlled by the player designated as the planar controller. This is usually the active player. See rule 901.6.
    109.4c In a Vanguard game, each vanguard card is controlled by its owner. See rule 902.6.
    109.4d In an Archenemy game, each scheme card is controlled by its owner. See rule 904.7.
    109.4e In a Conspiracy Draft game, each conspiracy card is controlled by its owner. See rule 905.5.

    108.4. A card doesn’t have a controller unless that card represents a permanent or spell; in those cases, its controller is determined by the rules for permanents or spells. See rules 110.2 and 112.2.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Deathtouch Blocking Instants
    Quote from NatashiMui »
    I had 4 deathtouch creature cards on the field my opponent had 6 goblin cards declared attack with all 6. I blocked 4 and he used an ability to destroy my blockers. Does his attackers still die? The game is up for extreme debate right now...

    Based on the information you provided, the sequence would go something like the following. I'll assume the Goblins are 2/2 (and I'll call them G1, G2, G3, G4, G5, G6), the creatures with deathtouch are 1/1 (and I'll call them D1, D2, D3, D4), and that the destruction of your blockers only takes out 3 of them (to make the timing clear).

    1. Opponent's combat phase begins. Beginning of combat step begins.
    2. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    3. You get priority and pass.
    4. Beginning of combat step ends.
    5. Declare attackers step begins. Opponent declares G1, G2, G3, G4, G5, and G6 as attackers, tapping them.
    6. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Declare attackers step ends.
    9. Declare blockers step begins. You declare D1 as a blocker for G1, D2 as a blocker for G2, D3 as a blocker for G3, and D4 as a blocker for G4.
    10. Opponent gets priority and activates an unknown ability.
    11. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    12. You get priority and pass.
    13. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 10) resolves. D1, D2, and D3 are destroyed.
    14. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    15. You get priority and pass.
    16. Declare blockers step ends.
    17. Combat damage step begins. G4 assigns 2 damage to D4, G5 assigns 2 damage to you, G6 assigns 2 damage to you, D4 assigns 1 damage to G4.
    18. Combat damage is dealt as described.
    19. Opponent would get priority, but there are state-based actions to resolve. G4 and D4 have lethal damage and are destroyed.
    20. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    21. You get priority and pass.
    22. Combat damage step ends.
    23. End of combat step begins.
    24. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    25. You get priority and pass.
    26. End of combat step ends. Combat phase ends.

    702.2. Deathtouch
    702.2a Deathtouch is a static ability.
    702.2b A creature with toughness greater than 0 that’s been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.
    702.2c Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage for the purposes of determining if a proposed combat damage assignment is valid, regardless of that creature’s toughness. See rules 510.1c–d.
    702.2d The deathtouch rules function no matter what zone an object with deathtouch deals damage from.
    702.2e If an object changes zones before an effect causes it to deal damage, its last known information is used to determine whether it had deathtouch.
    702.2f Multiple instances of deathtouch on the same object are redundant.


    In the actual problem posed, D4 would also be gone when the time comes for combat damage, so there is no reason for G4 to be destroyed either.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Enchanted evening and Starfield of Nyx - way to save lands?
    Quote from Angie26 »
    What about the situation when I have Starfield of Nyx, Angelic Shield and some lands on the battlefield (all in all more than five permanents/enchantments) and cast Enchanted Evening - would my lands still live? Do they become creatures and get +1 toughness at the same time?

    Yes. Static abilities don't have any time lag.
    604. Handling Static Abilities
    604.1. Static abilities do something all the time rather than being activated or triggered. They are written as statements, and they’re simply true.

    611.3. A continuous effect may be generated by the static ability of an object.
    611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.
    611.3b The effect applies at all times that the permanent generating it is on the battlefield or the object generating it is in the appropriate zone.
    Example: A permanent with the static ability “All white creatures get +1/+1” generates an effect that continuously gives +1/+1 to each white creature on the battlefield. If a creature becomes white, it gets this bonus; a creature that stops being white loses it.
    611.3c Continuous effects that modify characteristics of permanents do so simultaneously with the permanent entering the battlefield. They don’t wait until the permanent is on the battlefield and then change it. Because such effects apply as the permanent enters the battlefield, they are applied before determining whether the permanent will cause an ability to trigger when it enters the battlefield.
    Example: A permanent with the static ability “All white creatures get +1/+1” is on the battlefield. A creature spell that would normally create a 1/1 white creature instead creates a 2/2 white creature. The creature doesn’t enter the battlefield as 1/1 and then change to 2/2.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Darkest Hour and Sol'kanar the Swamp King
    Quote from DementedKirby »
    Darkest Hour makes all creatures black.

    Yes.
    109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

    Quote from DementedKirby »
    Does that mean that creature spells are also black on the stack? Will they trigger Sol'kanar the Swamp King?

    No. They aren't on the battlefield, so they aren't affected.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Essence of the Wild and Seed Spark
    [c]Essence of the Wild[/c] -> Essence of the Wild
    [c]Oblivion Ring[/c] -> Oblivion Ring
    [c]Seed Spark[/c] -> Seed Spark

    Help me guys. For a example... I have Essence of the Wild on the battlfield and my opponent exile it with Oblivion ring. Then, i destroy that enchantment with my Seed spark and ofcourse i spend green mana for cast it. So the question is... What i will get back? 1 Essence of the wild with 2 saprolings or 3 Essence of the wild?
    The "When Oblivion Ring leaves the battlefield, return the exiled card to the battlefield under its owner's control." ability won't even go on the stack until after Seed Stack finishes resolving and puts those two Saproling tokens onto the battlefield. The Essence of the Wild will be put onto the battlefield a little later.
    603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Champion of the parish + aether vial + thalia's lieutenant
    Quote from MRHblue »
    Wait, if Champion is already on the BF,

    That would be a different scenario.
    Quote from MRHblue »
    his ability and Lt's will both add a counter, right?

    In that other scenario, both would add a counter to Champion of the Parish; Thalia's Lieutenant would get none.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.