Quote from Ladyseig »When a card says “Destroy all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments.” Or “Put all creatures on the bottom of their owners’ libraries.” Does it include me as well if I am playing the card? Or just other players?
Quote from Ladyseig »I’m new to the game and I read it as I have to do this as well as an “oh crap/level the playing ground” move but at the same time, it doesn’t make sense to “punish” myself as well. Help, please!
Quote from The planes »I’m playing someone brings out collective voyage he pay 1 land [sic] pay 6 but I’m being told that by him that in total we each get 7 lands I thought we each get what we paid for
_Magic: The Gathering -- Commander_(TM) Frequently Asked Questions
Compiled by Matt Tabak, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Lee Sharpe, Eli Shiffrin, and Thijs van Ommen
Document last modified May 17, 2011
***New Ability Word: Join Forces***
Join forces is an ability word. It appears in italics at the beginning of abilities that allow all players to contribute mana toward an overall effect. (An ability word has no rules meaning.)
* Spells with join forces abilities will have the same effect for each player based on the total amount of mana paid for those abilities. It doesn't matter how much mana any individual player paid.
Quote from soleil19 »The title pretty much explains it, but say I'm attacking with:
3/3 creature that gives all other creatures +1/+1
If my opponent declares a blocker that kills the 3/3 creature first,
510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time it’s dealt.
Quote from chaikov »Guildmages' Forum specifically says ..."that creature enters the battlefield with..."
700.7. If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as “this [something]” to identify an object, where [something] is a characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it isn’t the appropriate characteristic at the time.
Example: An ability reads “Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn. Destroy that creature at the beginning of the next end step.” The ability will destroy the object it gave +2/+2 to even if that object isn’t a creature at the beginning of the next end step.
Quote from Dawson Orange »Demon of Death's Gate can be paid for by sacrificing 3 creatures and paying 6 life. Do these 3 creatures need to be simultaneously available to sacrifice?
701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent they don’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.
Quote from Dawson Orange »For example #1, can I have 2 Doomed Dissenter on the battlefield and sacrifice both and then sacrifice one of the created zombie tokens as the third creature?
601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
601.4. If a player is no longer allowed to cast a spell after completing its proposal (see rules 601.2a–d), the casting of the spell is illegal and the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 722, “Handling Illegal Actions”). It doesn’t matter if a rule or effect would make the casting of the spell illegal while determining and paying that spell’s costs (see rules 601.2f-h) or any time after the spell has been cast.
Quote from Wandering Taoist »I'm assuming they would all play out the same...?
602. Activating Activated Abilities
602.1. Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]”
602.1a The activation cost is everything before the colon (:). An ability’s activation cost must be paid by the player who is activating it.
Example: The activation cost of an ability that reads “2, T: You gain 1 life” is two mana of any type plus tapping the permanent that has the ability.
Quote from Wandering Taoist »Simple question... I put Uncontrolled Infestation on my opponent's land that can be sacrificed for whatever reason/benefit to them. If/when they tap to sacrifice it, does Uncontrolled Infestation destroy the land before the sacrifice ability can be used...?
Quote from cyberium_neo »I see. The original question spawned from me giving Queen of Ice doublestrike, so I wonder if that creature would remain tapped for two turns instead of one.
614.1. Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615), replacement effects apply continuously as events happen—they aren’t locked in ahead of time. Such effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event with a different event. They act like “shields” around whatever they’re affecting.
614.1b Effects that use the word “skip” are replacement effects. These replacement effects use the word “skip” to indicate what events, steps, phases, or turns will be replaced with nothing.
614.10a Anything scheduled for a skipped step, phase, or turn won’t happen. Anything scheduled for the “next” occurrence of something waits for the first occurrence that isn’t skipped. If two effects each cause a player to skip their next occurrence, that player must skip the next two; one effect will be satisfied in skipping the first occurrence, while the other will remain until another occurrence can be skipped.
Quote from Gamebuster »And then on my turn I cast Isochron Scepter with two instants/sorceries in my hand.
Quote from Gamebuster »When I activate Isochron Scepter's ability, can I cast one or both of the imprinted spells?
607.3. If, within a pair of linked abilities, one ability refers to a single object as “the exiled card,” “a card exiled with [this card],” or a similar phrase, and the other ability has exiled multiple cards (usually because it was copied), the ability refers to each of the exiled cards. If that ability asks for any information about the exiled card, such as a characteristic or converted mana cost, it gets multiple answers. If these answers are used to determine the value of a variable, the sum of the answers is used. If that ability performs any actions on the exiled card, it performs that action on each exiled card.
Quote from Gamebuster »If both can be cast, in what order are they cast in?
Quote from Marco »If I have a Generous Patron on the battlefield and I cast Travel Preparations to put a +1/+1 on two of my opponent's creatures, will I draw two cards?
If I have a Generous Patron on the battlefield and I proliferate (say with Atraxa, Praetors' Voice), adding +1/+1 counters to three of my opponent's creatures that already have +1/+1 counters on them, will I draw three cards?
700.1. Anything that happens in a game is an event. Multiple events may take place during the resolution of a spell or ability. The text of triggered abilities and replacement effects defines the event they’re looking for. One “happening” may be treated as a single event by one ability and as multiple events by another.
Example: If an attacking creature is blocked by two creatures, this is one event for a triggered ability that reads “Whenever [this creature] becomes blocked” but two events for a triggered ability that reads “Whenever [this creature] becomes blocked by a creature.”
603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences.
Example: A permanent has an ability whose trigger condition reads, “Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .” If someone casts a spell that destroys all lands, the ability will trigger once for each land put into the graveyard during the spell’s resolution.
Quote from HandsomeP »If I have Equilibrium in play and then cast Man-o'-War can I return TWO of my opponent's creatures to his/her hand by paying 1 mana?
Quote from Oloro4Life »Is Watcher of Tomorrow’s [sic] hideaway ability a triggered effect? Will it double trigger via cards like Yarok, the Desecrated & Panharmonicon?
702.74a Hideaway represents a static ability and a triggered ability. “Hideaway” means “This permanent enters the battlefield tapped” and “When this permanent enters the battlefield, look at the top four cards of your library. Exile one of them face down and put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order. The exiled card gains ‘Any player who has controlled the permanent that exiled this card may look at this card in the exile zone.’”
Core Set 2020 Release Notes
Compiled by Eli Shiffrin, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Carsten Haese, Nathan Long, and Thijs van Ommen
Yarok affects a permanent’s own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that trigger when that permanent enters the battlefield. Such triggered abilities start with “when” or “whenever.”
If a triggered ability is linked to a second ability, additional instances of that triggered ability are also linked to that second ability. If the second ability refers to “the exiled card,” it refers to all cards exiled by instances of the triggered ability.
Quote from Kiko »I was playing with a friend and I make my creature attack his planeswalker, but he "chose" to take the damage toward himself, saying he can block his planeswalker.
506.3. Only a creature can attack or block. Only a player or a planeswalker can be attacked.
509.1a The defending player chooses which creatures they control, if any, will block. The chosen creatures must be untapped. For each of the chosen creatures, the defending player chooses one creature for it to block that’s attacking that player or a planeswalker they control.
Quote from Kiko »do you have any sources I could look at to show them?
Quote from Random Vyrus »Alright you Wizards I have a Question!
I have Yarok, The Desecrated and Risen Reef on the field: I then cast Flamekin Harbinger.
Now I know I can choose what ETBs I trigger first.
603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player,
in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See
rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are
performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats
until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate
player gets priority.
Quote from Random Vyrus »However, Can I choose to trigger Flamekin Harbinger once then Risen Reef once and then the Yarok trigger to thus repeat the sequence on the stack? Or do they both double trigger one after the other?