2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on “Destroy all...” or “Place all...”
    Quote from Ladyseig »
    When a card says “Destroy all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments.” Or “Put all creatures on the bottom of their owners’ libraries.” Does it include me as well if I am playing the card? Or just other players?

    All means all. If it meant just the ones you don't control, it would say so. Compare Plague Wind with Damnation.
    Quote from Ladyseig »
    I’m new to the game and I read it as I have to do this as well as an “oh crap/level the playing ground” move but at the same time, it doesn’t make sense to “punish” myself as well. Help, please!
    Effective usage of that card would be a strategy question rather than a rules question.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Join forces Collective Voyage
    Quote from The planes »
    I’m playing someone brings out collective voyage he pay 1 land [sic] pay 6 but I’m being told that by him that in total we each get 7 lands I thought we each get what we paid for

    The card says, "X is the total amount of mana paid this way". In this case, the total is 1 + 6 = 7. It doesn't say "X is the amount of mana each player paid that way".

    Because X = 7, "Each player searches their library for up to X basic land cards" = "Each player searches their library for up to 7 basic land cards".


    _Magic: The Gathering -- Commander_(TM) Frequently Asked Questions
    Compiled by Matt Tabak, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Lee Sharpe, Eli Shiffrin, and Thijs van Ommen
    Document last modified May 17, 2011

    ...

    ***New Ability Word: Join Forces***

    Join forces is an ability word. It appears in italics at the beginning of abilities that allow all players to contribute mana toward an overall effect. (An ability word has no rules meaning.)

    ...

    * Spells with join forces abilities will have the same effect for each player based on the total amount of mana paid for those abilities. It doesn't matter how much mana any individual player paid.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on What happens during battle when a creature that gives other creatures +1/+1 dies first?
    Since you won't explain your basis for "kills the 3/3 creature first", here are two sequences to illustrate why that information is important.

    First, without first strike:
    1. Your combat phase begins. Your beginning of combat step begins.
    2. You get priority and pass.
    3. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    4. Beginning of combat step ends.
    5. Declare attackers step begins. You declare Benalish Marshal (3/3), Cathedral Sanctifier (currently 2/2), and Devout Monk (currently 2/2) as attackers and tap them.
    6. You get priority and pass.
    7. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    8. Declare attackers step ends.
    9. Declare blockers step begins. Opponent declares Kalonian Tusker (3/3) as a blocker for Benalish Marshal.
    10. You get priority and pass.
    11. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    12. Declare blockers step ends.
    13. Combat damage step begins. Benalish Marshal assigns 3 damage to Kalonian Tusker. Cathedral Sanctifier assigns 2 damage to opponent. Devout Monk assigns 2 damage to opponent. Kalonian Tusker assigns 3 damage to Benalish Marshal.
    14. Combat damage is dealt as assigned. The total 4 damage that Cathedral Sanctifier and Devout Monk deal to the opponent reduce opponent's life total by 4.
    15. You would get priority, but there are state-based actions to perform. Benalish Marshal and Kalonian Tusker have lethal damage and are destroyed. Cathedral Sanctifier and Devout Monk now have power/toughness of 1/1 (not that it matters anymore).
    16. You get priority and pass.
    17. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    18. Combat damage step ends.
    19. End of combat step begins.
    20. You get priority and pass.
    21. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    22. End of combat step ends. Combat phase ends.

    Second, with first strike:
    1. Your combat phase begins. Your beginning of combat step begins.
    2. You get priority and pass.
    3. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    4. Beginning of combat step ends.
    5. Declare attackers step begins. You declare Benalish Marshal (3/3), Eager Cadet (currently 2/2), and Serra Zealot (currently 2/2 with first strike) as attackers and tap them.
    6. You get priority and pass.
    7. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    8. Declare attackers step ends.
    9. Declare blockers step begins. Opponent declares Battle Hurda (3/3 with first strike) as a blocker for Benalish Marshal.
    10. You get priority and pass.
    11. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    12. Declare blockers step ends.
    13. Combat damage step begins. At least one combat participant has first strike or double strike, so only creatures with one of those get to assign/deal combat damage. Serra Zealot assigns 2 damage to opponent. Battle Hurda assigns 3 damage to Benalish Marshal.
    14. Combat damage is dealt as assigned. The 2 damage that Serra Zealot deals to the opponent reduces opponent's life total by 2.
    15. You would get priority, but there is a state-based action to perform. Benalish Marshal has lethal damage and is destroyed. Eager Cadet and Serra Zealot now have power/toughness of 1/1.
    16. You get priority and pass.
    17. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    18. Combat damage step ends.
    19. Second combat damage step begins. The remaining creatures get to assign/deal combat damage. Eager Cadet assigns 1 damage to opponent.
    20. Combat damage is dealt as assigned. The 1 damage that Eager Cadet deals to the opponent reduces opponent's life total by 1.
    21. You get priority and pass.
    22. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    23. Combat damage step ends.
    24. End of combat step begins.
    25. You get priority and pass.
    26. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    27. End of combat step ends. Combat phase ends.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on What happens during battle when a creature that gives other creatures +1/+1 dies first?
    Quote from soleil19 »
    The title pretty much explains it, but say I'm attacking with:
    1/1
    1/1
    3/3 creature that gives all other creatures +1/+1

    If my opponent declares a blocker that kills the 3/3 creature first,

    Does the blocker have first strike or double strike?

    If it does, the damage it deals happens (and results in creature destruction) before any other creatures can even assign combat damage.

    If it doesn't, the combat damage is all simultaneous and the "first" you describe is wrong.
    510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time it’s dealt.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Arixmethes and lands that grant +1/+1 counters
    Quote from chaikov »
    Guildmages' Forum specifically says ..."that creature enters the battlefield with..."

    Rule 700.7 says that doesn't matter
    700.7. If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as “this [something]” to identify an object, where [something] is a characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it isn’t the appropriate characteristic at the time.
    Example: An ability reads “Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn. Destroy that creature at the beginning of the next end step.” The ability will destroy the object it gave +2/+2 to even if that object isn’t a creature at the beginning of the next end step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Paying for Demon of Death's Gate
    Quote from Dawson Orange »
    Demon of Death's Gate can be paid for by sacrificing 3 creatures and paying 6 life. Do these 3 creatures need to be simultaneously available to sacrifice?

    They have to be available to sacrifice; the payment can't include a promise to sacrifice some other creature that you will have Real Soon Now.
    701.16. Sacrifice
    701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent they don’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.

    Quote from Dawson Orange »
    For example #1, can I have 2 Doomed Dissenter on the battlefield and sacrifice both and then sacrifice one of the created zombie tokens as the third creature?

    Instead, let's say you have two Doomed Dissenters and one pre-existing 2/2 black Zombie creature token (which I will call Z0). You could then have a sequence like this:
    1. Your main phase begins.
    2. You get priority and cast Demon of Death's Gate. You choose to use its alternate cost, which you pay at this time by paying 6 life and sacrificing your two Doomed Dissenters and Z0. This triggers the abilities of the two Doomed Dissenters.
    3. You would get priority, but there are two triggered abilities to put on the stack. A) You put "When Doomed Dissenter dies, create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token." on the stack. B) You put "When Doomed Dissenter dies, create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token." on the stack.
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 3B) resolves. You create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token, which I will call Z1. You can not send Z1 back in time to step 2 and use it in the cost paid back then.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 3A) resolves. You create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token, which I will call Z2. You can not send Z2 back in time to step 2 and use it in the cost paid back then.
    10. You get priority and pass.
    11. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    12. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 2) resolves. You put Demon of Death's Gate onto the battlefield.
    13. You get priority and ....
    If you didn't have Z0 or some other creature to sacrifice at step 2, you wouldn't even be able to proceed with that step.
    601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.

    601.4. If a player is no longer allowed to cast a spell after completing its proposal (see rules 601.2a–d), the casting of the spell is illegal and the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 722, “Handling Illegal Actions”). It doesn’t matter if a rule or effect would make the casting of the spell illegal while determining and paying that spell’s costs (see rules 601.2f-h) or any time after the spell has been cast.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Uncontrolled Infestation...
    I'm assuming they would all play out the same...?
    Probably, depending on the ability. (For example, this would be a "yes" for Blighted Gorge or Buried Ruin, with the addition of a mana payment in step 2 being the only change other than the name and effect.) Definite answers about card effects require the actual card text, which is why this forum expects card tags for such questions. If the sacrifice is before the colon, then it is part of the cost, which means it is paid up-front, before any triggers can go on the stack or responses can be attempted (let alone resolve).
    602. Activating Activated Abilities
    602.1. Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]”
    602.1a The activation cost is everything before the colon (:). An ability’s activation cost must be paid by the player who is activating it.
    Example: The activation cost of an ability that reads “2, T: You gain 1 life” is two mana of any type plus tapping the permanent that has the ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Uncontrolled Infestation...
    Simple question... I put Uncontrolled Infestation on my opponent's land that can be sacrificed for whatever reason/benefit to them. If/when they tap to sacrifice it, does Uncontrolled Infestation destroy the land before the sacrifice ability can be used...?

    That depends on what "tap to sacrifice it" means.

    If you are asking about an ability like "T, Sacrifice Evolving Wilds: Search your library for a basic land card, put it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle your library.", then the sequence would be something like this (and I would describe the cost as tap and sacrifice it).

    1. Opponent's main phase begins.
    2. Opponent gets priority and activates the "T, Sacrifice Evolving Wilds: Search your library for a basic land card, put it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle your library." ability of Evolving Wilds. They pay the cost by tapping it and putting it into their graveyard. This triggers the ability of the Uncontrolled Infestation attached to it.
    3. Opponent would get priority, but there is a state-based action to process. Uncontrolled Infestation is an Aura that is no longer attached, so it is put in your graveyard.
    4. Opponent would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "When enchanted land becomes tapped, destroy it." on the stack.
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. You get priority and pass.
    7. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 4) resolves. It does nothing because the Evolving Wilds is no longer on the battlefield.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. You get priority and pass.
    10. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 2) resolves. Opponent searches their library for a basic land card, puts it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffles their library.
    11. Opponent gets priority and ....
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Multiple "Skipping"
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    I see. The original question spawned from me giving Queen of Ice doublestrike, so I wonder if that creature would remain tapped for two turns instead of one.

    Queen of Ice: The meaning of "its controller's next untap step" doesn't change between the two effects. During that one step, there will simply be two reasons that the creature doesn't untap. During later steps, the effects are already over.

    Yosei: Multiple replacement effects are applied one at a time, and only if the impending event is still relevant.
    614.1. Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615), replacement effects apply continuously as events happen—they aren’t locked in ahead of time. Such effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event with a different event. They act like “shields” around whatever they’re affecting.
    614.1b Effects that use the word “skip” are replacement effects. These replacement effects use the word “skip” to indicate what events, steps, phases, or turns will be replaced with nothing.
    614.10a Anything scheduled for a skipped step, phase, or turn won’t happen. Anything scheduled for the “next” occurrence of something waits for the first occurrence that isn’t skipped. If two effects each cause a player to skip their next occurrence, that player must skip the next two; one effect will be satisfied in skipping the first occurrence, while the other will remain until another occurrence can be skipped.

    So, one of the skip effects would wait for the next untap step: "Waiting. Waiting. Waiting. Waiting. Untap step? Bye-bye!"
    The other skip effect also waits. "Waiting. Waiting. Waiting. Waiting. Untap step? What untap step? Maybe next turn. Waiting. Waiting. Waiting...."
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on What do you do if Isochron Scepter has multiple imprinted cards?
    Quote from Gamebuster »
    And then on my turn I cast Isochron Scepter with two instants/sorceries in my hand.

    I'm going to treat this as if you wrote two instants here and later. (Unlike Panoptic Mirror, a sorcery card is not an option.)

    Quote from Gamebuster »
    When I activate Isochron Scepter's ability, can I cast one or both of the imprinted spells?

    Yes. (You make separate copy and cast decisions for each one.)
    607.3. If, within a pair of linked abilities, one ability refers to a single object as “the exiled card,” “a card exiled with [this card],” or a similar phrase, and the other ability has exiled multiple cards (usually because it was copied), the ability refers to each of the exiled cards. If that ability asks for any information about the exiled card, such as a characteristic or converted mana cost, it gets multiple answers. If these answers are used to determine the value of a variable, the sum of the answers is used. If that ability performs any actions on the exiled card, it performs that action on each exiled card.

    Quote from Gamebuster »
    If both can be cast, in what order are they cast in?
    The order you choose at that time.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Generous Patron
    Quote from Marco »
    If I have a Generous Patron on the battlefield and I cast Travel Preparations to put a +1/+1 on two of my opponent's creatures, will I draw two cards?

    If I have a Generous Patron on the battlefield and I proliferate (say with Atraxa, Praetors' Voice), adding +1/+1 counters to three of my opponent's creatures that already have +1/+1 counters on them, will I draw three cards?
    Yes and yes. Those count as two or three triggering events, respectively.
    700.1. Anything that happens in a game is an event. Multiple events may take place during the resolution of a spell or ability. The text of triggered abilities and replacement effects defines the event they’re looking for. One “happening” may be treated as a single event by one ability and as multiple events by another.
    Example: If an attacking creature is blocked by two creatures, this is one event for a triggered ability that reads “Whenever [this creature] becomes blocked” but two events for a triggered ability that reads “Whenever [this creature] becomes blocked by a creature.”

    603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences.
    Example: A permanent has an ability whose trigger condition reads, “Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .” If someone casts a spell that destroys all lands, the ability will trigger once for each land put into the graveyard during the spell’s resolution.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Man-o'-War + Portcullis
    Quote from HandsomeP »
    If I have Equilibrium in play and then cast Man-o'-War can I return TWO of my opponent's creatures to his/her hand by paying 1 mana?

    Yes, the sequence would be something like this:
    1. Your main phase begins.
    2. You get priority and cast Man-o'-War. You pay the cost using 2U obtained in an unspecified way. This triggers the ability of Equilibrium.
    3. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "Whenever you cast a creature spell, you may pay 1. If you do, return target creature to its owner's hand." on the stack, choosing a creature as the target (apparently one controlled by your opponent).
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 3) resolves. You pay 1 using mana obtained in an unspecified way. You return the chosen target to its owner's hand (presumably your opponent's hand).
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 2) resolves. You put Man-o'-War onto the battlefield. This triggers its ability.
    10. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "When Man-o'-War enters the battlefield, return target creature to its owner's hand." on the stack. You choose a creature as the target (probably controlled by your opponent). Note that the creature returned in step 6 is no longer around to be chosen.
    11. You get priority and pass.
    12. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    13. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 10) resolves. You return that chosen target to its owner's hand.
    14. You get priority and ....
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Watch or Watch Watch?
    [c]Watcher for Tomorrow[/c] -> Watcher for Tomorrow
    Quote from Oloro4Life »
    Is Watcher of Tomorrow’s [sic] hideaway ability a triggered effect? Will it double trigger via cards like Yarok, the Desecrated & Panharmonicon?

    Yes.
    702.74. Hideaway
    702.74a Hideaway represents a static ability and a triggered ability. “Hideaway” means “This permanent enters the battlefield tapped” and “When this permanent enters the battlefield, look at the top four cards of your library. Exile one of them face down and put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order. The exiled card gains ‘Any player who has controlled the permanent that exiled this card may look at this card in the exile zone.’”

    Core Set 2020 Release Notes

    Compiled by Eli Shiffrin, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Carsten Haese, Nathan Long, and Thijs van Ommen

    Yarok affects a permanent’s own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that trigger when that permanent enters the battlefield. Such triggered abilities start with “when” or “whenever.”

    If a triggered ability is linked to a second ability, additional instances of that triggered ability are also linked to that second ability. If the second ability refers to “the exiled card,” it refers to all cards exiled by instances of the triggered ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can you (the player) take the damage that your opponent deals towards your planeswalker
    Quote from Kiko »
    I was playing with a friend and I make my creature attack his planeswalker, but he "chose" to take the damage toward himself, saying he can block his planeswalker.
    No, he is not a creature.
    506.3. Only a creature can attack or block. Only a player or a planeswalker can be attacked.

    509.1a The defending player chooses which creatures they control, if any, will block. The chosen creatures must be untapped. For each of the chosen creatures, the defending player chooses one creature for it to block that’s attacking that player or a planeswalker they control.


    Quote from Kiko »
    do you have any sources I could look at to show them?
    Do they have any sources that they can show us?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Yarok, the desecrated + Risen Reef + Flamekin Harbinger
    Quote from Random Vyrus »
    Alright you Wizards I have a Question!

    I have Yarok, The Desecrated and Risen Reef on the field: I then cast Flamekin Harbinger.

    Now I know I can choose what ETBs I trigger first.

    They all trigger at the same time. You choose which goes on the stack first.
    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player,
    in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See
    rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are
    performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats
    until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate
    player gets priority.

    Quote from Random Vyrus »
    However, Can I choose to trigger Flamekin Harbinger once then Risen Reef once and then the Yarok trigger to thus repeat the sequence on the stack? Or do they both double trigger one after the other?
    Yarok doesn't have a trigger.

    When the time comes to put the triggered abilities on the stack, there will be four waiting for you to choose an order: Two from Risen Reef and two from Flamekin Harbinger. You put those four on the stack in any order you choose. It could be Harbinger, Harbinger, Reef, Reef (so that the two Reef triggers will resolve first). It could be Reef, Harbinger, Reef, Harbinger. Whatever.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.