2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Flash & Body Double
    I cast the card Flash. As it resolves, I put onto the battlefield the card Body Double, don’t pay the 2, and let it die. At any point does Body Double become a copy of a creature card in my graveyard? If so, do any of the copied card’s enters or leaves the battlefield abilities trigger?

    Yes and yes.
    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

    603.6d Some permanents have text that reads “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” “As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ,” “[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . ,” or “[This permanent] enters the battlefield tapped.” Such text is a static ability—not a triggered ability—whose effect occurs as part of the event that puts the permanent onto the battlefield.

    614.1. Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615), replacement effects apply continuously as events happen—they aren’t locked in ahead of time. Such effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event with a different event. They act like “shields” around whatever they’re affecting.

    614.1c Effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” “As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ,” or “[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . “ are replacement effects.

    706.5. An object that enters the battlefield “as a copy” or “that’s a copy” of another object becomes a copy as it enters the battlefield. It doesn’t enter the battlefield, and then become a copy of that permanent. If the text that’s being copied includes any abilities that replace the enters-the-battlefield event (such as “enters the battlefield with” or “as [this] enters the battlefield” abilities), those abilities will take effect. Also, any enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities of the copy will have a chance to trigger.

    As an example, let's suppose a Pelakka Wurm is in a graveyard at the time you do this and you choose to copy it.

    During the resolution of Flash, you choose Body Double from your hand. Because Body Double is entering the battlefield, you get the option to choose a creature card in a graveyard and specify Pelakka Wurm. Your card transitions from being a Body Double card in your hand to being a Pelakka Wurm on the battlefield; this triggers its "When Pelakka Wurm enters the battlefield, you gain 7 life." ability. You then proceed to the next step in the Flash: you have the option to pay 2GGG but you decline. Therefore, you sacrifice the new creature. This triggers its "When Pelakka Wurm dies, draw a card." ability, and you now have a Body Double card in your graveyard. Now the Flash is finished resolving, so it goes to your graveyard. Before anyone gets priority, you have those two triggered abilities to put on the stack in an order of your choice.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Changing a spell's target to a card with an increased cost
    If you change the target of a spell to one that has an increased cost to target (Elderwood Scion), do you have to pay the increased cost? If Grip of Chaos changes the target of a spell my opponent controls to my Elderwood Scion, does the controller of the spell have to pay the 2 or no since the spell has already been paid?
    The cost was actually "locked in" shortly before they paid the cost. The Elderwood Scion's effect is irrelevant after that.

    601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If multiple cost reductions apply, the player may apply them in any order. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}. It can’t be reduced to less than {0}. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.
    601.2g If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, “Mana Abilities”). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.
    601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
    Example: You cast Altar’s Reap, which costs {1}{B} and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost {1} less to cast. Because a spell’s total cost is “locked in” before payments are actually made, you pay {B}, not {1}{B}, even though you’re sacrificing the Familiar.
    601.2i Once the steps described in 601.2a–h are completed, effects that modify the characteristics of the spell as it’s cast are applied, then the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell’s controller had priority before casting it, they get priority.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wild Evocation/Omen Machine (other "force player to cast" spell.)
    All right, so when forced to cast a spell without paying its mana cost, the player cannot be forced to activate mana abilities to pay it or be forced to reveal information in a "hidden zone." Anything else (such as discard, paying life, sacrificing a permanent,etc.) must be done (if possible) as long as the spell has legal target(s) (if necessary.)

    Is there anything else besides activating mana abilities or revealing hidden information that cannot be forced?

    No, those are the only things you're not required to do.
    118. Costs

    118.3c Activating mana abilities is not mandatory, even if paying a cost is.
    Example: A player controls Lodestone Golem, which says “Nonartifact spells cost {1} more to cast.” Another player removes the last time counter from a suspended sorcery card. That player must cast that spell if able, but doing so costs {1}. The player is forced to pay that cost if enough mana is in their mana pool, but the player isn’t forced to
    activate a mana ability to produce that mana. If they don’t, the card simply remains exiled.

    118.8c If an effect instructs a player to cast a spell “if able,” and that spell has a mandatory additional cost that includes actions involving cards with a stated quality in a hidden zone, the player isn’t required to cast that spell, even if those cards are present in that zone.


    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Life’s a Breach
    Quote from Oloro4Life »
    How does Underworld Breach work exactly? Like, does UB grant escape to any nonland card that is in your graveyard, even if it went there after UB entered the field?

    Yes.
    611.3. A continuous effect may be generated by the static ability of an object.
    611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.

    Quote from Oloro4Life »
    If that works, could you cast Gitaxian Probe as many times as you want (assuming you can pay 2 life & exile 3 other cards from your graveyard)?

    Yes.
    Theros® Beyond Death Release Notes

    After an escaped spell resolves, it returns to its owner’s graveyard if it’s not a permanent spell. If it is a permanent spell, it enters the battlefield and will return to its owner’s graveyard if it dies later. Perhaps it will escape again—good underworld security is so hard to come by these days.

    If a card with escape is put into your graveyard during your turn, you’ll be able to cast it right away if it’s legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on does glint hawk idol trigger golem foundry?
    [c]Glint Hawk Idol[/c] -> Glint Hawk Idol
    [c]Golem Foundry[/c] -> Golem Foundry
    as you know Glint Hawk Idol's ability is whenever another artifact enters the battlefield Glint Hawk Idol becomes a 2/2 artifact creature with flying.
    Golem foundry on the other hand get 1 charge counter for every artifact you cast and you can remove three charge counters to put a 3/3 colorless golem token into the battle field

    so does it trigger?

    Glint Hawk Idol's "Whenever another artifact enters the battlefield under your control, you may have Glint Hawk Idol become a 2/2 Bird artifact creature with flying until end of turn." ability will trigger "Whenever another artifact (i.e., not Glint Hawk Idol itself) enters the battlefield under your control". This could include a Golem Foundry spell resolving and being put onto the battlefield. It could also include when you "Create a 3/3 colorless Golem artifact creature token".
    Quote from Comprehensive Rules »
    Enters the Battlefield
    A nontoken permanent “enters the battlefield” when it’s moved onto the battlefield from another zone. A token “enters the battlefield” when it’s created. See rules 403.3, 603.6a, 603.6d, and 614.12.


    Golem Foundry's "Whenever you cast an artifact spell, you may put a charge counter on Golem Foundry." ability will trigger "Whenever you cast an artifact spell". This could include casting a Glint Hawk Idol spell. It would not include activating, triggering, or resolving an ability like the ones on those two cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cleanup step
    Quote from Amalakiah »
    Let’s say I’m playing a game and after my combat phase I cast world at war is there still a clean up step
    Eventually, but not for a while yet.
    500.1. A turn consists of five phases, in this order: beginning, precombat main, combat, postcombat main, and ending. Each of these phases takes place every turn, even if nothing happens during the phase. The beginning, combat, and ending phases are further broken down into steps, which proceed in order.

    512. Ending Phase
    512.1. The ending phase consists of two steps: end and cleanup.

    Sequence if you don't cast World at War:
    • beginning phase
    • precombat main phase
    • combat phase
    • (first and only) postcombat main phase
    • end phase (including the cleanup step when damage is removed from creatures)

    Sequence as described:
    • beginning phase
    • precombat main phase
    • combat phase
    • (first) postcombat main phase, in which you cast World at War
    • combat phase
    • (second) postcombat main phase
    • end phase (including the cleanup step when damage is removed from creatures)
    There is no cleanup step between the two combat phases, so any damage from the first combat will still be marked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Attacking with Stonebrow and Ferocity of the Wilds
    Quote from AverageToken »
    Let's say that I have Stonebrow, Krosan Hero, Ferocity of the Wilds, and a non-Human creature that doesn't normally have trample on the battlefield. If I attack with the non-Human creature does it get the +2/+2 bonus from Stonebrow?

    Yes. Here are the relevant rules:
    508.1. First, the active player declares attackers. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. To declare attackers, the active player follows the steps below, in order. If at any point during the declaration of attackers, the active player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the declaration is illegal; the game returns to the moment before the declaration (see rule 722, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
    ...
    508.1k Each chosen creature still controlled by the active player becomes an attacking creature. It remains an attacking creature until it’s removed from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. See rule 506.4.
    508.1m Any abilities that trigger on attackers being declared trigger.
    508.2. Second, the active player gets priority. (See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.”)
    508.2a Abilities that trigger on a creature attacking trigger only at the point the creature is declared as an attacker. They will not trigger if a creature attacks and then that creature’s characteristics change to match the ability’s trigger condition.
    Example: A permanent has the ability “Whenever a green creature attacks, destroy that creature at end of combat.” If a blue creature attacks and is later turned green, the ability will not trigger.
    508.2b Any abilities that triggered on attackers being declared or that triggered during the process described in rules 508.1 are put onto the stack before the active player gets priority; the order in which they triggered doesn’t matter. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”)

    611.3. A continuous effect may be generated by the static ability of an object.
    611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.
    611.3b The effect applies at all times that the permanent generating it is on the battlefield or the object generating it is in the appropriate zone.
    Example: A permanent with the static ability “All white creatures get +1/+1” generates an effect that continuously gives +1/+1 to each white creature on the battlefield. If a creature becomes white, it gets this bonus; a creature that stops being white loses it.

    If we call the attacking creature a Runeclaw Bear for the sake of definiteness, at the point where the ability would trigger, that is a 3/2 creature with trample.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on ivy lane denizen and multiple green creatures coming in at once
    Quote from yohawsit »
    ivy lane denizen

    if you have somthing like Mycoloth with say 2 +1+1 counters on it would you be able to put 2 +1+1 counters on Mycoloth with ivy lane denizen?

    If two green creatures enter the battlefield under your control (e.g., due to Mycoloth's triggered ability), the ability of Ivy Lane Denizen will trigger twice. Mycoloth is a creature so it is a possibility for the target of each ability. When the abilities resolve, they will each put a +1/+1 counter on the chosen target.
    603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences.
    Example: A permanent has an ability whose trigger condition reads, “Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .” If someone casts a spell that destroys all lands, the ability will trigger once for each land put into the graveyard during the spell’s resolution.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cultural Exchange
    Quote from Kamonohashi »
    Spells or abilities that affect ALL creatures or ALL lands would be examples of this. Are there other ways that spells can affect objects or players besides TARGET something or ALL somethings?
    Cultural Exchange affects the chosen creatures. Aether Flash affects the creature that triggered it. Atog affects itself. Azorius Chancery affects a land you control (as you choose during the ability's resolution). Curfew has each player choose a creature they control to be affected.

    They do what they say they do.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cultural Exchange
    Quote from Kamonohashi »
    Cultural Exchange says, "Choose any number of creatures target player controls."
    Does this target those permanents?

    No, the only target in that sentence is the target player. (And the next sentence in the text requires another target player.)
    115.1a An instant or sorcery spell is targeted if its spell ability identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],” where the “something” is a phrase that describes an object and/or player. The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. (If an activated or triggered ability of an instant or sorcery uses the word target, that ability is targeted, but the spell is not.)

    115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities.”
    115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wishing for a facedown card in exile (CEDH)
    [c]Mastermind's Acquisition[/c] -> Mastermind's Acquisition

    This question is specifically in relation to Mastermind's Acquisition's wish option to "Choose a card you own from outside the game and put it into your hand."
    If I were to own a card that has been exiled face-down to some effect like Necropotence, Thief of Sanity, Praetor's grasp etc. would I be able to wish a card exiled that way into my hand?

    No. A card in exile is not "outside the game".
    400.1. A zone is a place where objects can be during a game. There are normally seven zones: library, hand, battlefield, graveyard, stack, exile, and command. Some older cards also use the ante zone. Each player has their own library, hand, and graveyard. The other zones are shared by all players.

    400.10. An object is outside the game if it isn’t in any of the game’s zones. Outside the game is not a zone.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Commander
    [c]Varina, Lich Queen[/c] -> Varina, Lich Queen
    Quote from The planes »
    1. For varina lich Queen first ability if I have Rooftop Storm can I play the cards instead of discarding them?

    How? You aren't casting them, and Rooftop Storm doesn't even try to change that fact. Nor do you get a chance to cast anything between the draw and discard, no matter what the cost would be.
    608.2f If an effect gives a player the option to pay mana, they may activate mana abilities before taking that action. If an effect specifically instructs or allows a player to cast a spell during resolution, they do so by following the steps in rules 601.2a–i, except no player receives priority after it’s cast. That spell becomes the topmost object on the stack, and the currently resolving
    spell or ability continues to resolve, which may include casting other spells this way. No other spells can normally be cast and no other abilities can normally be activated during resolution.

    Quote from The planes »
    2. When the commander attacks does opponent get the life total also down?
    Yes (unless it's something like Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon). Nothing has happened to interfere with rule 120.3.
    120.3. Damage may have one or more of the following results, depending on whether the recipient of the damage is a player or permanent, the characteristics of the damage’s source, and the characteristics of the damage’s recipient (if it’s a permanent).
    120.3a Damage dealt to a player by a source without infect causes that player to lose that much life.
    120.3b Damage dealt to a player by a source with infect causes that source’s controller to give the player that many poison counters.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dominus of Fealty and Defense of the Heart
    Quote from 1000mAh »
    Thanks for the reply peteroupc I can't find C.R. 608.4,
    I think that was a typo for 603.4.
    603.4. A triggered ability may read “When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect].” When the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it resolves. If the condition isn’t true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the “intervening ‘if’ clause” rule. (The word “if” has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a card; this rule only applies to an “if” that immediately follows a trigger condition.)
    Example: Felidar Sovereign reads, “At the beginning of your upkeep, if you have 40 or more life, you win the game.” Its controller’s life total is checked as that player’s upkeep begins. If that player has 39 or less life, the ability doesn’t trigger at all. If that player has 40 or more life, the ability triggers and goes on the stack. As the ability resolves, that player’s life total is checked again. If that player has 39 or less life at this time, the ability is removed from the stack and has no effect. If that player has 40 or more life at this time, the ability resolves and that player wins the game.

    Here are some other relevant rules that don't seem to have been cited yet:
    117.3. Which player has priority is determined by the following rules:
    117.3a The active player receives priority at the beginning of most steps and phases, after any turn-based actions (such as drawing a card during the draw step; see rule 703) have been dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step have been put on the stack. No player receives priority during the untap step. Players usually don’t get priority during the cleanup step (see rule 514.3).

    500.6. When a phase or step begins, any abilities that trigger “at the beginning of” that phase or step trigger. They are put on the stack the next time a player would receive priority. (See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.”)

    603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

    Especially note that last one. You don't trigger any ability. Neither does your opponent. Those abilities trigger automatically at the indicated time -- or not (as in this case).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Self mill and state based actions
    Quote from AndyMike »
    When I go to draw my last card, does nothing happen because I cant win from Jace due to the angel,
    Exactly. The "you win" instruction is simply ignored.
    War of the Spark Release Notes

    Compiled by Eli Shiffrin, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Carsten Haese, Nathan Long, and Thijs van Ommen
    Document last modified April 22, 2019

    If for some reason you can’t win the game (because your opponent controls Platinum Angel, for example), you won’t lose for having tried to draw a card from a library with no cards in it. The draw was still replaced.

    614.6. If an event is replaced, it never happens. A modified event occurs instead, which may in turn trigger abilities. Note that the modified event may contain instructions that can’t be carried out, in which case the impossible instruction is simply ignored.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on A mana question
    Quote from Mgnoob1 »

    I agree but he wants to see an actual rule. I'm having trouble finding it.

    How about this one? What "spell, ability, or turn-based action" is he claiming for untapping that land?
    110.5. A permanent’s status is its physical state. There are four status categories, each of which has two possible values: tapped/untapped, flipped/unflipped, face up/face down, and phased in/phased out. Each permanent always has one of these values for each of these categories.

    110.5c A permanent retains its status until a spell, ability, or turn-based action changes it, even if that status is not relevant to it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.