2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on turning auras into equipment.
    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    Bludgeon Brawl
    liquimetal coating
    All That Glitters
    multi part question, i have two 1/1 token creatures. one of them is enchanted with all that glitters.

    Let's call them T1 and T2, with All That Glitters initially attached to T.
    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    i use liquimetal coating to turn all that glitters into an artifact.

    Its type line is now "Artifact Enchantment - Aura"
    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    bludgeon brawl now turns all that glitters into a equipment.

    Its type line is now "Artifact Enchantment - Equipment Aura". It is still attached to T1.
    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    how big is my 1/1 tolken?

    It gets +3/+3 from "Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each artifact and/or enchantment you control." (assuming All That Glitters, Liquimetal Coating, and Bludgeon Brawl are the only relevant permanents under your control) and +2/+0 from "Equipped creature gets +2/+0", for a total of 6/4.
    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    is it both enchanted and equiped?
    An Aura named All That Glitters is attached to it, so it is the "enchanted creature" for All That Glitters.
    303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or “enchants,” that object or player.
    303.4m An ability of a permanent that refers to the “enchanted [object or player]” refers to whatever object or player that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isn’t an Aura.

    An Equipment named All That Glitters is attached to it, so it is the "equipped creature" for All That Glitters.
    301.5a The creature an Equipment is attached to is called the “equipped creature.” The Equipment is attached to, or “equips,” that creature.
    301.5e An ability of a permanent that refers to the “equipped creature” refers to whatever creature that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isn’t an Equipment.

    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    now i equip all that glitters to my other tolken, is it now enchanting one creature but equiped to another?

    When you attach All That Glitters to T2, it ceases to be attached to T1.
    702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. “Equip [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
    701.3. Attach
    701.3a To attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to an object or player means to take it from where it currently is and put it onto that object or player. If something is attached to a permanent on the battlefield, it’s customary to place it so that it’s physically touching the permanent. An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification can’t be attached to an object or player it couldn’t enchant, equip, or fortify, respectively.

    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    at the end of my turn when liquimetal coating's ability ends what happens to all that glitters when it is not a equipment anymore?

    It will still be attached to T2, and its ability will still give T2 +3/+3 (see rule 303.4). [edit: I initially overlooked that Bludgeon Brawl's ability is static and would stop applying entirely.]
    Quote from fat boy tim5 »
    does it get destroyed because its not enchanting the tolken? does it go back to the tolken it was enchanted to?

    It is still attached to T2, it is still an Aura, so it is still enchanting T2 (see 303.4b).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Layers Question in Regards to Mutate Triggers
    Quote from NavoMan »
    That is basically what I was expecting to hear though disappointing.

    Ok, so same scenario, but with Sol Ring getting blown up for a beast token. Then cast Hatching Plans and mutate Orimi, the Ever-Playful again to blow up Hatching Plans for a beast token AND return Sol Ring to my hand. This event would basically insure that I have 1 Sawtusk Demolisher target and 1 Boneyard Lurker target each time I mutate. This works, correct?

    To make sure I understand you:
    1. ... a mutating creature spell resolves, resulting in a merged creature that includes Boneyard Lurker and Sawtusk Demolisher (one of which may have just been added). This triggers its mutation abilities; I'll assume it's just those two for now.
    2. You would get priority, but there are triggered abilities to put on the stack. You control them both, so you choose the order (not that it will matter much). A) You put "Whenever this creature mutates, return target permanent card from your graveyard to your hand." on the stack, choosing the Sol Ring in your graveyard as the target. B) You put "Whenever this creature mutates, destroy target noncreature permanent. Its controller creates a 3/3 green Beast token." on the stack, choosing your Hatching Plans as the target.
    3. You get priority and pass.
    4. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    5. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 2B) resolves. You destroy Hatching Plans, triggering its ability. You create a 3/3 green Beast token, triggering the ability of Wirewood Savage.
    6. You would get priority, but there is are triggered abilities to put on the stack. A) You put "When Hatching Plans is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, draw three cards." on the stack. B) You put "Whenever a Beast enters the battlefield, you may draw a card." on the stack.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6B) resolves. You may draw a card.
    10. You get priority and pass.
    11. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    12. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6A) resolves. You draw three cards.
    13. You get priority and pass.
    14. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    15. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 2A) resolves. You return Sol Ring from your graveyard to your hand
    16. You get priority and maybe you cast Sol Ring....
    If Sol Ring is on the battlefield and Hatching Plans in the graveyard when you mutate a creature, the result is much the same with those swapped (and of course Sol Ring won't trigger anything when it goes to the graveyard). Also, you probably added Sawtusk Demolisher before Boneyard Lurker to ensure that one of those was already in the graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Layers Question in Regards to Mutate Triggers
    Quote from NavoMan »
    I've been told by people before that you have to select targets for triggers as they are placed on the stack,

    Exactly. In your sequence, you would have to choose the "target permanent card from your graveyard" from Boneyard Lurker's ability well before the ability of Sawtusk Demolisher resolves.
    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
    603.3a A triggered ability is controlled by the player who controlled its source at the time it triggered, unless it’s a delayed triggered ability. To determine the controller of a delayed triggered ability, see rules 603.7d–f.
    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.
    603.3c If a triggered ability is modal, its controller announces the mode choice when putting the ability on the stack. If one of the modes would be illegal (due to an inability to choose legal targets, for example), that mode can’t be chosen. If no mode is chosen, the ability is removed from the stack. (See rule 700.2.)
    603.3d The remainder of the process for putting a triggered ability on the stack is identical to the process for casting a spell listed in rules 601.2c–d. If a choice is required when the triggered ability goes on the stack but no legal choices can be made for it, or if a rule or a continuous effect otherwise makes the ability illegal, the ability is simply removed from the stack.

    601.2c The player announces their choice of an appropriate object or player for each target the spell requires. A spell may require some targets only if an alternative or additional cost (such as a kicker cost) or a particular mode was chosen for it; otherwise, the spell is cast as though it did not require those targets. Similarly, a spell may require alternative targets only if an alternative or additional cost was chosen for it. If the spell has a variable number of targets, the player announces how many targets they will choose before they announce those targets. In some cases, the number of targets will be defined by the spell’s text. Once the number of targets the spell has is determined, that number doesn’t change, even if the information used to determine the number of targets does. The same target can’t be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word “target” on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word “target” in multiple places, the same object or player can be chosen once for each instance of the word “target” (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). If any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target, the player chooses targets so that they obey the maximum possible number of such effects
    without violating any rules or effects that say that an object or player can’t be chosen as a target. The chosen objects and/or players each become a target of that spell. (Any abilities that trigger when those objects and/or players become the target of a spell trigger at this point; they’ll wait to be put on the stack until the spell has finished being cast.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Baral's Expertise + Narset's Reversal
    Quote from liminal18 »
    I believe the answer is it fizzles, but I know copy rules can favor
    the copier with creatures.
    A copy effect that doesn't target is not affected by the rule about a targeted spell or ability losing all of its targets, regardless of whether it would copy a permanent or a spell. Either Fork or Rite of Replication will do nothing if its target is gone when it starts to resolve. On the other hand, either trigger of Riku of Two Reflections will resolve and create a copy just fine if the original is gone. The copy rules might seem to favor the creature situation because most creature copiers are untargeted whereas most spell copiers are targeted.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy and Urza, Lord High Artificer and Priest of Forgotten Gods
    Quote from genini2 »
    Urza, Lord High Artificer
    Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy

    Kinnan is a new card so I don't know if it's okay to ask yet or not, but I've seen some people saying that Urza's mana production is not increased because Urza is the source of the mana ability and isn't being tapped while I've seen others that say it is increased because there is a non-land permanent being tapped for mana.

    As a follow up would Priest of Forgotten Gods have its mana increased. Priest doesn't have a mana ability, but it is being tapped to produce mana.

    Well, you could ask very similar questions replacing Kinnan with an existing card like Leyline of Abundance or Mana Reflection. This rule is relevant:
    106.12. To “tap [a permanent] for mana” is to activate a mana ability of that permanent that includes
    the T symbol in its activation cost.
    See rule 605, “Mana Abilities.”
    106.12a An ability that triggers whenever a permanent “is tapped for mana” or is tapped for mana
    of a specified type triggers whenever such a mana ability resolves and produces mana or the
    specified type of mana.
    106.12b A replacement effect that applies if a permanent “is tapped for mana” or tapped for mana
    of a specific type and/or amount modifies the mana production event while such an ability is
    resolving and producing mana or the specified type and/or amount of mana.

    Urza, Lord High Artificer: That ability doesn't have T in its activation cost, so the ability won't trigger.
    Priest of Forgotten Gods: That trigger event explicitly requires a mana ability, so the ability won't trigger, even if you happen to choose zero targets.
    605.1a An activated ability is a mana ability if it meets all of the following criteria: it doesn’t require a target (see rule 115.6), it could add mana to a player’s mana pool when it resolves, and it’s not a loyalty ability. (See rule 606, “Loyalty Abilities.”)

    115.6. A spell or ability that requires targets may allow zero targets to be chosen. Such a spell or ability is still said to require targets, but that spell or ability is targeted only if one or more targets have been chosen for it.


    For a likely followup question, activating Holdout Settlement's "T, Tap an untapped creature you control: Add one mana of any color." counts as tapping Holdout Settlement for mana, but it doesn't count as tapping that creature for mana (because this isn't an ability of that permanent). So, this wouldn't trigger Kinnan from either permanent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Case where: Sunbird's Invocation is revealing a search spell
    Quote from kandjy »
    If I decide to cast Demonic Tutor; when does it resolve?
    Once all players pass priority in succession with Demonic Tutor at the top of the stack.
    608. Resolving Spells and Abilities
    608.1. Each time all players pass in succession, the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves. (See rule 609, “Effects.”)

    608.2f If an effect gives a player the option to pay mana, they may activate mana abilities before taking that action. If an effect specifically instructs or allows a player to cast a spell during resolution, they do so by following the steps in rules 601.2a–i, except no player receives priority after it’s cast. That spell becomes the topmost object on the stack, and the currently resolving
    spell or ability continues to resolve
    , which may include casting other spells this way. No other spells can normally be cast and no other abilities can normally be activated during resolution.

    More detailed sequence:
    1. Your main phase begins.
    2. You get priority and cast a spell from your hand with converted mana cost at least 2. You make any decisions and pay its costs. This triggers the ability of Sunbird's Invocation.
    3. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "Whenever you cast a spell from your hand, reveal the top X cards of your library, where X is that spell's converted mana cost. You may cast a card revealed this way with converted mana cost X or less without paying its mana cost. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in a random order." on the stack (X is at least 2).
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 3) resolves. You reveal the top X cards of your library. You choose to cast Demonic Tutor without paying its mana cost. You put the remaining X-1 revealed cards on the bottom of your library in a random order.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 6) resolves. You search your library, including the cards that were revealed in step 6, ....

    Quote from kandjy »
    That is: I won't be able to put one of the revealed cards in my hand.
    Why not? The Demonic Tutor was the only card to leave the library during the resolution of the trigger.
    701.15b Revealing a card doesn’t cause it to leave the zone it’s in.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Replacement Effect question
    Quote from user-11102155 »
    Hi,

    I am not sure if I am right, but when I have an effect and another says, "do this instead" its a replacement, right ?

    Yes.
    614.1a Effects that use the word “instead” are replacement effects. Most replacement effects use the word “instead” to indicate what events will be replaced with other events.


    Quote from user-11102155 »
    So when Alhammarret's Archive replaces a card draw effect with a "draw 2 instead" i wonder, if it also replaces effects, that are bound to the original draw effect.

    for example a random card says "draw 1 and lose 1 life" does the archive just replace the amount of draw, or does it prevent you from losing one life since the draw and lose life are "bound" together ?

    What is "bound" supposed to mean?

    A replacement effect replaces what it says it replaces. No more, no less, even if something else is supposed to happen immediately afterwards.
    700.1. Anything that happens in a game is an event. Multiple events may take place during the resolution of a spell or ability. The text of triggered abilities and replacement effects defines the event they’re looking for. One “happening” may be treated as a single event by one ability and as multiple events by another.

    For example, suppose you activate and resolve the "Tap three untapped Zombies you control: You draw a card and you lose 1 life." ability of Cryptbreaker while you have Alhammarret's Archive. The "draw a card" is replaced with "draw 2 cards". The "you lose 1 life" is not touched, because there is nothing here that even tries to replace it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Flash & Body Double
    I cast the card Flash. As it resolves, I put onto the battlefield the card Body Double, don’t pay the 2, and let it die. At any point does Body Double become a copy of a creature card in my graveyard? If so, do any of the copied card’s enters or leaves the battlefield abilities trigger?

    Yes and yes.
    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

    603.6d Some permanents have text that reads “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” “As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ,” “[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . ,” or “[This permanent] enters the battlefield tapped.” Such text is a static ability—not a triggered ability—whose effect occurs as part of the event that puts the permanent onto the battlefield.

    614.1. Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615), replacement effects apply continuously as events happen—they aren’t locked in ahead of time. Such effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event with a different event. They act like “shields” around whatever they’re affecting.

    614.1c Effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” “As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ,” or “[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . “ are replacement effects.

    706.5. An object that enters the battlefield “as a copy” or “that’s a copy” of another object becomes a copy as it enters the battlefield. It doesn’t enter the battlefield, and then become a copy of that permanent. If the text that’s being copied includes any abilities that replace the enters-the-battlefield event (such as “enters the battlefield with” or “as [this] enters the battlefield” abilities), those abilities will take effect. Also, any enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities of the copy will have a chance to trigger.

    As an example, let's suppose a Pelakka Wurm is in a graveyard at the time you do this and you choose to copy it.

    During the resolution of Flash, you choose Body Double from your hand. Because Body Double is entering the battlefield, you get the option to choose a creature card in a graveyard and specify Pelakka Wurm. Your card transitions from being a Body Double card in your hand to being a Pelakka Wurm on the battlefield; this triggers its "When Pelakka Wurm enters the battlefield, you gain 7 life." ability. You then proceed to the next step in the Flash: you have the option to pay 2GGG but you decline. Therefore, you sacrifice the new creature. This triggers its "When Pelakka Wurm dies, draw a card." ability, and you now have a Body Double card in your graveyard. Now the Flash is finished resolving, so it goes to your graveyard. Before anyone gets priority, you have those two triggered abilities to put on the stack in an order of your choice.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Changing a spell's target to a card with an increased cost
    If you change the target of a spell to one that has an increased cost to target (Elderwood Scion), do you have to pay the increased cost? If Grip of Chaos changes the target of a spell my opponent controls to my Elderwood Scion, does the controller of the spell have to pay the 2 or no since the spell has already been paid?
    The cost was actually "locked in" shortly before they paid the cost. The Elderwood Scion's effect is irrelevant after that.

    601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If multiple cost reductions apply, the player may apply them in any order. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}. It can’t be reduced to less than {0}. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.
    601.2g If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, “Mana Abilities”). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.
    601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
    Example: You cast Altar’s Reap, which costs {1}{B} and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost {1} less to cast. Because a spell’s total cost is “locked in” before payments are actually made, you pay {B}, not {1}{B}, even though you’re sacrificing the Familiar.
    601.2i Once the steps described in 601.2a–h are completed, effects that modify the characteristics of the spell as it’s cast are applied, then the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell’s controller had priority before casting it, they get priority.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wild Evocation/Omen Machine (other "force player to cast" spell.)
    All right, so when forced to cast a spell without paying its mana cost, the player cannot be forced to activate mana abilities to pay it or be forced to reveal information in a "hidden zone." Anything else (such as discard, paying life, sacrificing a permanent,etc.) must be done (if possible) as long as the spell has legal target(s) (if necessary.)

    Is there anything else besides activating mana abilities or revealing hidden information that cannot be forced?

    No, those are the only things you're not required to do.
    118. Costs

    118.3c Activating mana abilities is not mandatory, even if paying a cost is.
    Example: A player controls Lodestone Golem, which says “Nonartifact spells cost {1} more to cast.” Another player removes the last time counter from a suspended sorcery card. That player must cast that spell if able, but doing so costs {1}. The player is forced to pay that cost if enough mana is in their mana pool, but the player isn’t forced to
    activate a mana ability to produce that mana. If they don’t, the card simply remains exiled.

    118.8c If an effect instructs a player to cast a spell “if able,” and that spell has a mandatory additional cost that includes actions involving cards with a stated quality in a hidden zone, the player isn’t required to cast that spell, even if those cards are present in that zone.


    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Life’s a Breach
    Quote from Oloro4Life »
    How does Underworld Breach work exactly? Like, does UB grant escape to any nonland card that is in your graveyard, even if it went there after UB entered the field?

    Yes.
    611.3. A continuous effect may be generated by the static ability of an object.
    611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.

    Quote from Oloro4Life »
    If that works, could you cast Gitaxian Probe as many times as you want (assuming you can pay 2 life & exile 3 other cards from your graveyard)?

    Yes.
    Theros® Beyond Death Release Notes

    After an escaped spell resolves, it returns to its owner’s graveyard if it’s not a permanent spell. If it is a permanent spell, it enters the battlefield and will return to its owner’s graveyard if it dies later. Perhaps it will escape again—good underworld security is so hard to come by these days.

    If a card with escape is put into your graveyard during your turn, you’ll be able to cast it right away if it’s legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on does glint hawk idol trigger golem foundry?
    [c]Glint Hawk Idol[/c] -> Glint Hawk Idol
    [c]Golem Foundry[/c] -> Golem Foundry
    as you know Glint Hawk Idol's ability is whenever another artifact enters the battlefield Glint Hawk Idol becomes a 2/2 artifact creature with flying.
    Golem foundry on the other hand get 1 charge counter for every artifact you cast and you can remove three charge counters to put a 3/3 colorless golem token into the battle field

    so does it trigger?

    Glint Hawk Idol's "Whenever another artifact enters the battlefield under your control, you may have Glint Hawk Idol become a 2/2 Bird artifact creature with flying until end of turn." ability will trigger "Whenever another artifact (i.e., not Glint Hawk Idol itself) enters the battlefield under your control". This could include a Golem Foundry spell resolving and being put onto the battlefield. It could also include when you "Create a 3/3 colorless Golem artifact creature token".
    Quote from Comprehensive Rules »
    Enters the Battlefield
    A nontoken permanent “enters the battlefield” when it’s moved onto the battlefield from another zone. A token “enters the battlefield” when it’s created. See rules 403.3, 603.6a, 603.6d, and 614.12.


    Golem Foundry's "Whenever you cast an artifact spell, you may put a charge counter on Golem Foundry." ability will trigger "Whenever you cast an artifact spell". This could include casting a Glint Hawk Idol spell. It would not include activating, triggering, or resolving an ability like the ones on those two cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cleanup step
    Quote from Amalakiah »
    Let’s say I’m playing a game and after my combat phase I cast world at war is there still a clean up step
    Eventually, but not for a while yet.
    500.1. A turn consists of five phases, in this order: beginning, precombat main, combat, postcombat main, and ending. Each of these phases takes place every turn, even if nothing happens during the phase. The beginning, combat, and ending phases are further broken down into steps, which proceed in order.

    512. Ending Phase
    512.1. The ending phase consists of two steps: end and cleanup.

    Sequence if you don't cast World at War:
    • beginning phase
    • precombat main phase
    • combat phase
    • (first and only) postcombat main phase
    • end phase (including the cleanup step when damage is removed from creatures)

    Sequence as described:
    • beginning phase
    • precombat main phase
    • combat phase
    • (first) postcombat main phase, in which you cast World at War
    • combat phase
    • (second) postcombat main phase
    • end phase (including the cleanup step when damage is removed from creatures)
    There is no cleanup step between the two combat phases, so any damage from the first combat will still be marked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Attacking with Stonebrow and Ferocity of the Wilds
    Quote from AverageToken »
    Let's say that I have Stonebrow, Krosan Hero, Ferocity of the Wilds, and a non-Human creature that doesn't normally have trample on the battlefield. If I attack with the non-Human creature does it get the +2/+2 bonus from Stonebrow?

    Yes. Here are the relevant rules:
    508.1. First, the active player declares attackers. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. To declare attackers, the active player follows the steps below, in order. If at any point during the declaration of attackers, the active player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the declaration is illegal; the game returns to the moment before the declaration (see rule 722, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
    ...
    508.1k Each chosen creature still controlled by the active player becomes an attacking creature. It remains an attacking creature until it’s removed from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. See rule 506.4.
    508.1m Any abilities that trigger on attackers being declared trigger.
    508.2. Second, the active player gets priority. (See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.”)
    508.2a Abilities that trigger on a creature attacking trigger only at the point the creature is declared as an attacker. They will not trigger if a creature attacks and then that creature’s characteristics change to match the ability’s trigger condition.
    Example: A permanent has the ability “Whenever a green creature attacks, destroy that creature at end of combat.” If a blue creature attacks and is later turned green, the ability will not trigger.
    508.2b Any abilities that triggered on attackers being declared or that triggered during the process described in rules 508.1 are put onto the stack before the active player gets priority; the order in which they triggered doesn’t matter. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”)

    611.3. A continuous effect may be generated by the static ability of an object.
    611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.
    611.3b The effect applies at all times that the permanent generating it is on the battlefield or the object generating it is in the appropriate zone.
    Example: A permanent with the static ability “All white creatures get +1/+1” generates an effect that continuously gives +1/+1 to each white creature on the battlefield. If a creature becomes white, it gets this bonus; a creature that stops being white loses it.

    If we call the attacking creature a Runeclaw Bear for the sake of definiteness, at the point where the ability would trigger, that is a 3/2 creature with trample.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.