2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Rionya token rulings
    If there were separate sentences or clauses, they would enter one at a time.
    608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written. However, replacement effects may modify these actions. In some cases, later text on the card may modify the meaning of earlier text (for example, “Destroy target creature. It can’t be regenerated” or “Counter target spell. If that spell is countered this way, put it on top of its owner’s library instead of into its owner’s graveyard.”) Don’t just apply effects step by step without thinking in these cases—read the whole text and apply the rules of English to the text.

    If it involved drawing multiple cards, that would happen one at a time.
    121.2. Cards may only be drawn one at a time. If a player is instructed to draw multiple cards, that player performs that many individual card draws.

    Some cards set up a repeated process. Such repetitions would obviously happen one at a time.

    None of the above applies to Rionya, Fire Dancer. It's like a kicked Rite of Replication, which has an explicit ruling in Gatherer that the tokens arrive at the same time. Ask that other player if they have a source for their claim.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Persist and Thalia's Lieutenant
    [c]Thalia's Lieutenant[/c] -> Thalia's Lieutenant
    Quote from ch4meleon »
    I have a friend who plays a human deck that runs a lot of sacrifice effects with Persist. He recently just added Thalia's Lieutenant to the mix, and we aren't sure if we are playing it correctly. Here are the situations we are unsure of (any help is appreciated):

    1) If Thalia's Lieutenant gains Persist and returns to the battlefield, does she give each other human a +1/+1 counter before dying to the -1/-1 counter from Persist?

    They get the counters after Thalia's Lieutenant dies.
    702.79. Persist
    702.79a Persist is a triggered ability. “Persist” means “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner’s control with a -1/-1 counter on it.”

    The sequence would look something like this, assuming it happens during your opponent's turn. (The sequence would be slightly different during your turn.)
    1. Opponent's main phase begins.
    2. Opponent plays a spell or activates an ability to damage Thalia's Lieutenant and pays the appropriate costs.
    3. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. The top object on the stack (the spell or ability from step 2) resolves. It does 1 damage to Thalia's Lieutenant.
    6. Opponent would get priority, but there is a state-based action to process. Thalia's Lieutenant has lethal damage and is destroyed. This triggers its persist.
    7. Opponent would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. The persist from Thalia's Lieutenant goes on the stack.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. You get priority and pass.
    10. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 7) resolves. You put Thalia's Lieutenant on the battlefield with a -1/-1 counter. This triggers its ability.
    11. Opponent would get priority, but there is a state-based action to process. Thalia's Lieutenant has a toughness of 0 and is put in the graveyard. It had a -1/-1 counter, so persist doesn't trigger this time.
    12. Opponent would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "When Thalia's Lieutenant enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on each other Human you control." on the stack.
    13. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    14. You get priority and pass.
    15. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 12) resolves. You put a +1/+1 counter on each Human you control that isn't the dead Thalia's Lieutenant.
    16. Opponent gets priority and ....

    Quote from ch4meleon »
    2) If Thalia's Lieutenant and several other humans all gain Persist and return to the battlefield at the same time

    They won't be returning to the battlefield at the same time. Each has its own persist ability, which will resolve individually. Also, Thalia's Lieutenant would need to arrive with a toughness of 1 or more; otherwise, it won't live long enough to get a +1/+1 counter from that triggered ability.
    Quote from ch4meleon »
    3) If Thalia's Lieutenant and several other humans all gain Persist and return to the battlefield at the same time

    As above, they wouldn't return at the same time, and they would need to survive long enough for that triggered ability to resolve.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Nomads en-Kor and Furnace of Rath
    Quote from amoebasinger »
    doubled again
    No.
    614.5. A replacement effect doesn’t invoke itself repeatedly; it gets only one opportunity to affect an event or any modified events that may replace that event.
    Example: A player controls two permanents, each with an ability that reads “If a creature you control would deal damage to a permanent or player, it deals double that damage to that permanent or player instead.” A creature that normally deals 2 damage will deal 8 damage—not just 4, and not an infinite amount.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Venser + Soulherder
    [c]Venser, the Sojourner[/c] -> Venser, the Sojourner

    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    Venser's +1 exiles a permanent and returns it at the beginning of the end step, while Soulherder exiles a creature at the beginning of the end step. Last I know Venser's "returning" is a delayed effect, is it possible to return a creature he exiles, then exile it again with Soulherder?

    No, because you won't be able to choose it as "another target creature you control". At the time you are putting "At the beginning of your end step, you may exile another target creature you control, then return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control." on the stack, Venser's delayed "Return it to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the next end step." might be on the stack but it will not have resolved yet.
    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, the abilities
    are placed on the stack in a two-part process. First, each player, in APNAP order, puts each
    triggered ability they control with a trigger condition that isn’t another ability triggering on the
    stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Second, each player, in APNAP order, puts all
    remaining triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. Then the game
    once again checks for and performs state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities
    that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based
    actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

    603.3d The remainder of the process for putting a triggered ability on the stack is identical to the
    process for casting a spell listed in rules 601.2c–d.
    If a choice is required when the triggered
    ability goes on the stack but no legal choices can be made for it, or if a rule or a continuous
    effect otherwise makes the ability illegal, the ability is simply removed from the stack.
    (601.2c is the selection of any targets.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Adamaro and Windfall
    State-based actions (such as toughness 0 or less) are not checked during resolution. Adamaro will survive.
    704.4. Unlike triggered abilities, state-based actions pay no attention to what happens during the
    resolution of a spell or ability.
    Example: A player controls a creature with the ability “This creature’s power and
    toughness are each equal to the number of cards in your hand” and casts a spell whose
    effect is “Discard your hand, then draw seven cards.” The creature will temporarily have
    toughness 0 in the middle of the spell’s resolution but will be back up to toughness 7 when
    the spell finishes resolving. Thus the creature will survive when state-based actions are
    checked. In contrast, an ability that triggers when the player has no cards in hand goes on
    the stack after the spell resolves, because its trigger event happened during resolution.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Does a land count for "cards that share a color"?
    Only if they have a color somehow.
    105. Colors
    105.1. There are five colors in the Magic game: white, blue, black, red, and green.

    105.4. If a player is asked to choose a color, they must choose one of the five colors. “Multicolored” is
    not a color. Neither is “colorless.”

    202.2b Objects with no colored mana symbols in their mana costs are colorless.

    202.2e An object may have a color indicator printed to the left of the type line. That object is each
    color denoted by that color indicator. (See rule 204.)

    202.2f Effects may change an object’s color, give a color to a colorless object, or make a colored
    object become colorless; see rule 105.3.

    (For 202.2f, I do not know of any actual effect that might give a color to a card in a graveyard.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Suspend Counters
    Quote from Kamonohashi »
    How do cards with suspend, like Mox Tantalite for example, interact with Solemnity?

    Solemnity does not interfere with the placement of time counters on cards in exile, only placement of counters on players or certain types of permanents. Suspend will work just fine.
    109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but
    doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card
    type or subtype on the battlefield
    .

    400.1. A zone is a place where objects can be during a game. There are normally seven zones: library,
    hand, battlefield, graveyard, stack, exile, and command. Some older cards also use the ante zone.
    Each player has their own library, hand, and graveyard. The other zones are shared by all players.

    702.62. Suspend
    702.62a Suspend is a keyword that represents three abilities. The first is a static ability that
    functions while the card with suspend is in a player’s hand. The second and third are triggered
    abilities that function in the exile zone. “Suspend N—[cost]” means “If you could begin to cast
    this card by putting it onto the stack from your hand, you may pay [cost] and exile it with N
    time counters on it
    . This action doesn’t use the stack,” and “At the beginning of your upkeep, if
    this card is suspended, remove a time counter from it,” and “When the last time counter is
    removed from this card, if it’s exiled, play it without paying its mana cost if able. If you can’t, it
    remains exiled. If you cast a creature spell this way, it gains haste until you lose control of the
    spell or the permanent it becomes.”

    701.11. Exile
    701.11a To exile an object, move it to the exile zone from wherever it is. See rule 406, “Exile.”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Open the Vaults
    I cast Open the Vaults, bring back my Arcbound Crusher and Desecrated Tomb.

    Sure that the ability of Crusher triggers because it saw the Tomb entered the battlefield.

    Yes.
    603.6a Enters-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent enters the battlefield. These are
    written, “When [this object] enters the battlefield, . . . “ or “Whenever a [type] enters the
    battlefield, . . .” Each time an event puts one or more permanents onto the battlefield, all
    permanents on the battlefield (including the newcomers) are checked for any enters-thebattlefield
    triggers that match the event.


    My question is, would the ability of Tomb trigger? Did the Tomb see the Crusher left the graveyard?

    No, because it didn't exist prior to that event.
    603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched
    any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the
    trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered
    abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities
    trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the
    event
    . The list of exceptions is as follows:
    603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities,
    abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object
    that all players can see is put into a hand or library.
    Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability
    “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.” Someone casts a spell that destroys all
    artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact’s ability triggers twice, even though
    the artifact goes to its owner’s graveyard at the same time as the creatures.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Skullbriar and Reyhan
    Moving a card from the graveyard to the command zone won't trigger Rayhan's ability. It might have been a creature card in the graveyard, but it wasn't a creature, nor did you control it at that time.
    109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but
    doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card
    type or subtype on the battlefield.

    109.2a If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes the word “card” and the
    name of a zone, it means a card matching that description in the stated zone.
    109.2b If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes the word “spell,” it means a
    spell matching that description on the stack.
    109.2c If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes the word “source,” it means a
    source matching that description—a source of an ability, of damage, or of mana—in any zone.
    See rules 113.7 and 609.7.
    109.2d If an ability of a scheme card includes the text “this scheme,” it means the scheme card in
    the command zone on which that ability is printed.

    109.4. Only objects on the stack or on the battlefield have a controller. Objects that are neither on the
    stack nor on the battlefield aren’t controlled by any player.
    See rule 108.4. There are six exceptions
    to this rule:
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mutate - Vanish into Memory Interaction
    Quote from peteroupc »
    (Observe that noncreature permanents can have toughness [C.R. 205.8].)

    I can't find that rule, just this one:
    208.3. A noncreature permanent has no power or toughness, even if it’s a card with a power and
    toughness printed on it (such as a Vehicle). A noncreature object not on the battlefield has power or
    toughness only if it has a power and toughness printed on it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sphinx of the Second Sun triggers
    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    Along the same question: The ruling says, "After the additional beginning phase, the game proceeds to the ending phase." Does it mean I don't get to utilize my second main phase?

    You already utilized it, before the additional beginning phase.
    500.8. Some effects can add phases to a turn. They do this by adding the phases directly after the
    specified phase
    . If multiple extra phases are created after the same phase, the most recently created
    phase will occur first.

    Quote from cyberium_neo »
    And what happens if I have two Sphinxes?

    Then your turn will consist of
    • beginning phase
    • precombat main phase
    • combat phase
    • postcombat main phase
    • additional beginning phase (from second Sphinx resolution)
    • additional beginning phase (from first Sphinx resolution)
    • ending
    500.8. Some effects can add phases to a turn. They do this by adding the phases directly after the
    specified phase. If multiple extra phases are created after the same phase, the most recently created
    phase will occur first.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Contamination
    [c]Contamination[/c] -> Contamination
    [c]Reassembling Skeleton[/c] -> Reassembling Skeleton
    [c]Path to Exile[/c] -> Path to Exile

    Quote from Oooglibla »
    Can an opponent target the creature that gets sacd to Contamination on the trigger resolution? Is the sacrifice a cost?

    I sac Reassembling Skeleton on the resolution, my opponent can't Path To Exile in response, right?

    They can't cast or activate anything in the middle of Contamination's resolution.
    608.2g If an effect gives a player the option to pay mana, they may activate mana abilities before
    taking that action. If an effect specifically instructs or allows a player to cast a spell during
    resolution, they do so by following the steps in rules 601.2a–i, except no player receives priority
    after it’s cast. That spell becomes the topmost object on the stack, and the currently resolving
    spell or ability continues to resolve, which may include casting other spells this way. No other
    spells can normally be cast and no other abilities can normally be activated during resolution.


    405.6. Some things that happen during the game don’t use the stack.
    405.6a Effects don’t go on the stack; they’re the result of spells and abilities resolving. Effects may
    create delayed triggered abilities, however, and these may go on the stack when they trigger (see
    rule 603.7).

    They can respond to the Contamination trigger itself and target something that they think you are going to choose for the sacrifice, but you would still have a free choice of your (remaining) creatures once the Contamination trigger resolves.

    The sequence would probably be one of the following:
    1. Your upkeep begins. The ability of Contamination triggers.
    2. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Contamination unless you sacrifice a creature." on the stack.
    3. You get priority and pass.
    4. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    5. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 2) resolves. You choose to sacrifice Reassembling Skeleton, putting it in your graveyard.
    6. You get priority and ....

    1. Your upkeep begins. The ability of Contamination triggers.
    2. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Contamination unless you sacrifice a creature." on the stack.
    3. You get priority and pass.
    4. Opponent gets priority and casts Path to Exile. They guess that you are going to need Reassembling Skeleton in a moment, so they choose that as the target. They pay the cost using W obtained in an unspecified way (but probably not by tapping a land).
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. You get priority and pass.
    7. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 4) resolves. Opponent exiles your Reassembling Skeleton. You may search your library for a basic land card, put that card onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle. (I don't know what your actual decision would be.) The spell is put in opponent's graveyard.
    8. You get priority and pass.
    9. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    10. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 2) resolves. You have the option to sacrifice one of your remaining creatures. If you do, the resolution is done. If you don't, you sacrifice Contamination.
    11. You get priority and ....
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hushbringer - Emrakul
    Quote from davidb32 »
    Looks like you edited your post after the first answer to specific the first triggered ability rather than the last.

    Whoops, I just didn't pay close attention to the card when I answered.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hushbringer - Emrakul
    Quote from EnndGame »
    Does Hushbringer stop Emrakul, the Aeons Torn extra turn trigger ??
    It does not.
    Throne of Eldraine Release Notes

    Compiled by Eli Shiffrin, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Tom Fowler, Carsten Haese, Nathan Long, and Thijs van Ommen
    Document last modified August 15, 2019

    An ability that triggers when a card is put into a graveyard “from anywhere” may still trigger even if a creature dies. It will trigger if the ability is of a dying creature that triggers only when that creature is put into a graveyard from anywhere, if Hushbringer is the card being put into a graveyard, or if Hushbringer leaves the battlefield at the same time as the dying creature.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mystic Reflection and decay
    Quote from Rezzahan »
    This gets me to the next question. If I instead create tokens with Burn Down the House, do the tokens still have haste?

    The copies "gain haste until end of turn", yes. Mystic Reflection's copy effect is layer 1, and this effect is layer 6.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.