Quote from AverageToken »Let's say that I have Stonebrow, Krosan Hero, Ferocity of the Wilds, and a non-Human creature that doesn't normally have trample on the battlefield. If I attack with the non-Human creature does it get the +2/+2 bonus from Stonebrow?
508.1. First, the active player declares attackers. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. To declare attackers, the active player follows the steps below, in order. If at any point during the declaration of attackers, the active player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the declaration is illegal; the game returns to the moment before the declaration (see rule 722, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
508.1k Each chosen creature still controlled by the active player becomes an attacking creature. It remains an attacking creature until it’s removed from combat or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. See rule 506.4.
508.1m Any abilities that trigger on attackers being declared trigger.
508.2. Second, the active player gets priority. (See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.”)
508.2a Abilities that trigger on a creature attacking trigger only at the point the creature is declared as an attacker. They will not trigger if a creature attacks and then that creature’s characteristics change to match the ability’s trigger condition.
Example: A permanent has the ability “Whenever a green creature attacks, destroy that creature at end of combat.” If a blue creature attacks and is later turned green, the ability will not trigger.
508.2b Any abilities that triggered on attackers being declared or that triggered during the process described in rules 508.1 are put onto the stack before the active player gets priority; the order in which they triggered doesn’t matter. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”)
611.3. A continuous effect may be generated by the static ability of an object.
611.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in”; it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.
611.3b The effect applies at all times that the permanent generating it is on the battlefield or the object generating it is in the appropriate zone.
Example: A permanent with the static ability “All white creatures get +1/+1” generates an effect that continuously gives +1/+1 to each white creature on the battlefield. If a creature becomes white, it gets this bonus; a creature that stops being white loses it.
Quote from yohawsit »ivy lane denizen
if you have somthing like Mycoloth with say 2 +1+1 counters on it would you be able to put 2 +1+1 counters on Mycoloth with ivy lane denizen?
603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences.
Example: A permanent has an ability whose trigger condition reads, “Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .” If someone casts a spell that destroys all lands, the ability will trigger once for each land put into the graveyard during the spell’s resolution.
Quote from Kamonohashi »Spells or abilities that affect ALL creatures or ALL lands would be examples of this. Are there other ways that spells can affect objects or players besides TARGET something or ALL somethings?
Quote from Kamonohashi »Cultural Exchange says, "Choose any number of creatures target player controls."
Does this target those permanents?
115.1a An instant or sorcery spell is targeted if its spell ability identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],” where the “something” is a phrase that describes an object and/or player. The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. (If an activated or triggered ability of an instant or sorcery uses the word target, that ability is targeted, but the spell is not.)
115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities.”
115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a target.
Quote from Rootbound Craig »This question is specifically in relation to Mastermind's Acquisition's wish option to "Choose a card you own from outside the game and put it into your hand."
If I were to own a card that has been exiled face-down to some effect like Necropotence, Thief of Sanity, Praetor's grasp etc. would I be able to wish a card exiled that way into my hand?
400.1. A zone is a place where objects can be during a game. There are normally seven zones: library, hand, battlefield, graveyard, stack, exile, and command. Some older cards also use the ante zone. Each player has their own library, hand, and graveyard. The other zones are shared by all players.
400.10. An object is outside the game if it isn’t in any of the game’s zones. Outside the game is not a zone.
Quote from The planes »1. For varina lich Queen first ability if I have Rooftop Storm can I play the cards instead of discarding them?
608.2f If an effect gives a player the option to pay mana, they may activate mana abilities before taking that action. If an effect specifically instructs or allows a player to cast a spell during resolution, they do so by following the steps in rules 601.2a–i, except no player receives priority after it’s cast. That spell becomes the topmost object on the stack, and the currently resolving
spell or ability continues to resolve, which may include casting other spells this way. No other spells can normally be cast and no other abilities can normally be activated during resolution.
Quote from The planes »2. When the commander attacks does opponent get the life total also down?
120.3. Damage may have one or more of the following results, depending on whether the recipient of the damage is a player or permanent, the characteristics of the damage’s source, and the characteristics of the damage’s recipient (if it’s a permanent).
120.3a Damage dealt to a player by a source without infect causes that player to lose that much life.
120.3b Damage dealt to a player by a source with infect causes that source’s controller to give the player that many poison counters.
Quote from 1000mAh »Thanks for the reply peteroupc I can't find C.R. 608.4,
603.4. A triggered ability may read “When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect].” When the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it resolves. If the condition isn’t true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the “intervening ‘if’ clause” rule. (The word “if” has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a card; this rule only applies to an “if” that immediately follows a trigger condition.)
Example: Felidar Sovereign reads, “At the beginning of your upkeep, if you have 40 or more life, you win the game.” Its controller’s life total is checked as that player’s upkeep begins. If that player has 39 or less life, the ability doesn’t trigger at all. If that player has 40 or more life, the ability triggers and goes on the stack. As the ability resolves, that player’s life total is checked again. If that player has 39 or less life at this time, the ability is removed from the stack and has no effect. If that player has 40 or more life at this time, the ability resolves and that player wins the game.
117.3. Which player has priority is determined by the following rules:
117.3a The active player receives priority at the beginning of most steps and phases, after any turn-based actions (such as drawing a card during the draw step; see rule 703) have been dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step have been put on the stack. No player receives priority during the untap step. Players usually don’t get priority during the cleanup step (see rule 514.3).
500.6. When a phase or step begins, any abilities that trigger “at the beginning of” that phase or step trigger. They are put on the stack the next time a player would receive priority. (See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.”)
603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.
Quote from AndyMike »When I go to draw my last card, does nothing happen because I cant win from Jace due to the angel,
War of the Spark Release Notes
Compiled by Eli Shiffrin, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Carsten Haese, Nathan Long, and Thijs van Ommen
Document last modified April 22, 2019
If for some reason you can’t win the game (because your opponent controls Platinum Angel, for example), you won’t lose for having tried to draw a card from a library with no cards in it. The draw was still replaced.
614.6. If an event is replaced, it never happens. A modified event occurs instead, which may in turn trigger abilities. Note that the modified event may contain instructions that can’t be carried out, in which case the impossible instruction is simply ignored.
Quote from Mgnoob1 »
I agree but he wants to see an actual rule. I'm having trouble finding it.
110.5. A permanent’s status is its physical state. There are four status categories, each of which has two possible values: tapped/untapped, flipped/unflipped, face up/face down, and phased in/phased out. Each permanent always has one of these values for each of these categories.
110.5c A permanent retains its status until a spell, ability, or turn-based action changes it, even if that status is not relevant to it.
Quote from Ladyseig »When a card says “Destroy all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments.” Or “Put all creatures on the bottom of their owners’ libraries.” Does it include me as well if I am playing the card? Or just other players?
Quote from Ladyseig »I’m new to the game and I read it as I have to do this as well as an “oh crap/level the playing ground” move but at the same time, it doesn’t make sense to “punish” myself as well. Help, please!
Quote from The planes »I’m playing someone brings out collective voyage he pay 1 land [sic] pay 6 but I’m being told that by him that in total we each get 7 lands I thought we each get what we paid for
_Magic: The Gathering -- Commander_(TM) Frequently Asked Questions
Compiled by Matt Tabak, with contributions from Laurie Cheers, Lee Sharpe, Eli Shiffrin, and Thijs van Ommen
Document last modified May 17, 2011
***New Ability Word: Join Forces***
Join forces is an ability word. It appears in italics at the beginning of abilities that allow all players to contribute mana toward an overall effect. (An ability word has no rules meaning.)
* Spells with join forces abilities will have the same effect for each player based on the total amount of mana paid for those abilities. It doesn't matter how much mana any individual player paid.
Quote from soleil19 »The title pretty much explains it, but say I'm attacking with:
3/3 creature that gives all other creatures +1/+1
If my opponent declares a blocker that kills the 3/3 creature first,
510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time it’s dealt.
Quote from chaikov »Guildmages' Forum specifically says ..."that creature enters the battlefield with..."
700.7. If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as “this [something]” to identify an object, where [something] is a characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it isn’t the appropriate characteristic at the time.
Example: An ability reads “Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn. Destroy that creature at the beginning of the next end step.” The ability will destroy the object it gave +2/+2 to even if that object isn’t a creature at the beginning of the next end step.
Quote from Dawson Orange »Demon of Death's Gate can be paid for by sacrificing 3 creatures and paying 6 life. Do these 3 creatures need to be simultaneously available to sacrifice?
701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent they don’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.
Quote from Dawson Orange »For example #1, can I have 2 Doomed Dissenter on the battlefield and sacrifice both and then sacrifice one of the created zombie tokens as the third creature?
601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
601.4. If a player is no longer allowed to cast a spell after completing its proposal (see rules 601.2a–d), the casting of the spell is illegal and the game returns to the moment before the casting of that spell was proposed (see rule 722, “Handling Illegal Actions”). It doesn’t matter if a rule or effect would make the casting of the spell illegal while determining and paying that spell’s costs (see rules 601.2f-h) or any time after the spell has been cast.