2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Janky Clone Combos?
    Actually, I think what I misread is that the Helm itself is legendary, and it's being copied by something that doesn't touch that. Either way, it looks like I'll have to go in detail.

    Permanent 1 (P1) Master Biomancer

    Name: Master Biomancer
    Types: Creature — Elf Wizard
    Text: Each other creature you control enters the battlefield with a number of additional +1/+1 counters on it equal to P1's power and as a Mutant in addition to its other types.
    P/T: 2 / 4

    P2 Phyrexian Metamorph not copying anything (and with non-copiable values in parentheses)

    Name: Phyrexian Metamorph
    Types: Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter (Mutant)
    Text: You may have P2 enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact or creature on the battlefield, except it's an artifact in addition to its other types.
    P/T: 0 / 0 (with two +1/+1 counters)

    P3 Sakashima the Impostor copying P2 but not using P2's copy ability

    Name: Sakashima the Impostor
    Types: Legendary Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter (Mutant)
    Text: You may have P3 enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact or creature on the battlefield, except it's an artifact in addition to its other types.
    2UU: Return this creature to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step.
    P/T: 0 / 0 (with two +1/+1 counters)

    P4 Helm of the Host equipping P3

    Name: Helm of the Host
    Types: Legendary Artifact — Equipment
    Text: At the beginning of combat on your turn, create a token that's a copy of equipped creature, except the token isn't legendary if equipped creature is legendary. That token gains haste.
    Equip 5

    P5A token as created by P4's ability

    Name: Sakashima the Impostor
    Types: Legendary Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter
    Text: You may have P5A enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact or creature on the battlefield, except it's an artifact in addition to its other types.
    2UU: Return this creature to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step.
    (Haste)
    P/T: 0 / 0

    P5B token as P5A copies P4

    Name: Helm of the Host
    Types: Legendary Artifact — Equipment
    Text: At the beginning of combat on your turn, create a token that's a copy of equipped creature, except the token isn't legendary if equipped creature is legendary. That token gains haste.
    Equip 5
    (Haste)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Janky Clone Combos?
    Quote from Avanoh »
    Is the copy a nonlegendary Helm, or does it become legendary when it copies the Helm despite being created with the Helm’s “nonlegendary” effect?
    The ability "You may have Phyrexian Metamorph enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact or creature on the battlefield, except it's an artifact in addition to its other types." replaces all the characteristics it would have had without the copy, including the legendary supertype.

    706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.
    Example: Chimeric Staff is an artifact that reads, “{X}: Chimeric Staff becomes an X/X artifact creature until end of turn.” Clone is a creature that reads, “You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.” After a Staff has become a 5/5 artifact creature, a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of it. The Clone is an artifact, not a 5/5 artifact creature. (The copy has the Staff’s ability, however, and will become a creature if that ability is activated.)
    Example: Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of a face-down Grinning Demon (a creature with morph {2}{B}{B}). The Clone is a colorless 2/2 creature with no name, no types, no abilities, and no mana cost. It will still be face up. Its controller can’t pay {2}{B}{B} to turn it face up.

    The Clone in the first example loses "creature" in the same way that the copy in your question loses "legendary".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Turntimber Sower and Opponent's land
    I control a Turntimber Sower and somehow gain control of my opponent's lands (let's say via Gilt-Leaf Archdruid, doesn't really matters). If I sac a land I control from my opponent, do I get the plant token?

    No. Turntimber Sower's "Whenever one or more land cards are put into your graveyard from anywhere, ...." ability will not trigger when a land is put into your opponent's graveyard.

    701.17. Sacrifice
    701.17a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent they don’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Morphing with Heartless Summoning
    Quote from PartTimeHobo »
    Hi,

    I'm new with Magic and unfamiliar with the rulings.

    There are two scenarios which I would appreciate some clarification:


    Thanks in advance!

    There are a few rules that are particularly noteworthy here.

    608.2d If an effect of a spell or ability offers any choices other than choices already made as part of casting the spell, activating the ability, or otherwise putting the spell or ability on the stack, the player announces these while applying the effect. The player can’t choose an option that’s illegal or impossible, with the exception that having a library with no cards in it doesn’t make drawing a card an impossible action (see rule 121.3). If an effect divides or distributes something, such as damage or counters, as a player chooses among any number of untargeted players and/or objects, the player chooses the amount and division such that each chosen player or object receives at least one of whatever is being divided. (Note that if an effect divides or distributes something, such as damage or counters, as a player chooses among some number of target objects and/or players, the amount and division were determined as the spell or ability was put onto the stack rather than at this time; see rule 601.2d.)
    Example: A spell’s instruction reads, “You may sacrifice a creature. If you don’t, you lose 4 life.” A player who controls no creatures can’t choose the sacrifice option.

    116. Special Actions
    116.1. Special actions are actions a player may take when they have priority that don’t use the stack. These are not to be confused with turn-based actions and state-based actions, which the game generates automatically. (See rule 703, “Turn-Based Actions,” and rule 704, “State-Based Actions.”)
    116.2. There are nine special actions:
    ...
    116.2b Turning a face-down creature face up is a special action. A player can take this action any time they have priority. See rule 707, “Face-Down Spells and Permanents.”

    117.2e Resolving spells and abilities may instruct players to make choices or take actions, or may allow players to activate mana abilities. Even if a player is doing so, no player has priority while a spell or ability is resolving. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities.”

    113.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, “Prodigal Pyromancer deals 1 damage to any target”) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source for use while announcing an activated ability or putting a triggered ability on the stack checks that information when the ability is put onto the stack. Otherwise, it will check that information when it resolves. In both instances, if the source is no longer in the zone it’s expected to be in at that time, its last known information is used. The source can still perform the action even though it no longer exists.

    In the first case, the sequence would be something like this:
    1. Your main phase begins.
    2. You get priority and case a creature spell. You put it on the stack and pay its cost (reduced by 2 due to Heartless Summoning).
    3. You get priority and pass.
    4. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    5. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 2) resolves. You put the creature onto the battlefield, triggering the ability of Cloudstone Curio.
    6. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "Whenever a nonartifact permanent enters the battlefield under your control, you may return another permanent you control that shares a permanent type with it to its owner's hand." on the stack.
    7. You get priority and turn Ruthless Ripper face up. You pay its morph cost by revealing a black card in your hand. This triggers its ability.
    8. You would get priority, but there is a state-based action to perform. Ruthless Ripper has a toughness of 0, so you put it into your graveyard.
    9. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "When Ruthless Ripper is turned face up, target player loses 2 life." on the stack, choosing your opponent as the target.
    10. You get priority and pass.
    11. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    12. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 9) resolves. Your opponent loses 2 life.
    13. You get priority and pass.
    14. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    15. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6) resolves. You may return a creature permanent you control (other than the one you put on the battlefield in step 5) to its owner's hand. The Ruthless Ripper you put in the graveyard is not currently a permanent, so it can not be chosen at this point. If you have another face down creature you wish to choose, you can not turn it face up during this resolution because you do not get priority until after you finish it.
    16. You get priority ....

    THe answer to your second question is answered by steps 7-12.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kediss +Malcolm?
    Quote from Avanoh »
    If I have Kediss, Emberclaw Familiar in play and hit an opponent with Malcolm, Keen-Eyed Navigator in a 4-person multiplayer game, would I get a treasure for each opponent or just 2 treasures(one each for Malcolm doing combat damage and the Kediss trigger)?

    First, Malcolm (which I'm assuming is a commander) would deal combat damage to the one opponent it attacked. The resulting trigger from Malcolm would give you one Treasure token. The resulting trigger from Kediss would deal damage to to the other two opponents. This in turn would trigger Malcolm again to give you two more Treasure tokens (because it damages two opponents). "Whenever one or more Pirates you control deal damage to your opponents, you create a Treasure token for each opponent dealt damage."
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dance of the Manse; number of targets
    I have this terrible feeling of déjà vu.
    Quote from Outcryqq »
    Dance of the Manse

    Had a game last night, player cast Dance of the Manse for x=6, but that player had only 5 legal artifact/non-aura enchantments in his graveyard.

    Half the table said the player can't do it; that if x=6 then he must have 6 legal targets, and that he can choose to return up to 6 of those targets.

    The other half of the table says the player doesn't have to have 6 legal targets in order to cast it for x=6; that the "up to" language is controlling on how many targets he chooses.

    601.2c The player announces their choice of an appropriate object or player for each target the spell requires. A spell may require some targets only if an alternative or additional cost (such as a kicker cost) or a particular mode was chosen for it; otherwise, the spell is cast as though it did not require those targets. Similarly, a spell may require alternative targets only if an alternative or additional cost was chosen for it. If the spell has a variable number of targets, the player announces how many targets they will choose before they announce those targets. In some cases, the number of targets will be defined by the spell's text. Once the number of targets the spell has is determined, that number doesn't change, even if the information used to determine the number of targets does. The same target can't be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word "target" on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word "target" in multiple places, the same object or player can be chosen once for each instance of the word "target" (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). If any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target, the player chooses targets so that they obey the maximum possible number of such effects
    without violating any rules or effects that say that an object or player can't be chosen as a target. The chosen objects and/or players each become a target of that spell. (Any abilities that trigger when those objects and/or players become the target of a spell trigger at this point; they'll wait to be put on the stack until the spell has finished being cast.)

    The variable number of targets could easily be 5 (or less) in this case. Consider the rulings for Ravenous Gigantotherium, where "up to X target creatures" could mean as few as zero targets.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sejiri Shelter + Bounceland
    Quote from Ebonezra »
    I have Sejiri Shelter and I've played its land face. Then, I bounced it with Selesnya Sanctuary. Does it go into my hand as a land or an instant? A friend thinks it should remain a land, and I can't find the actual rule to say it returns to an instant for the sweet, sweet value.

    It's either of these rules:
    400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are nine exceptions to this rule:

    711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.
    711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game or in a zone other than the battlefield or stack, it has only the characteristics of its front face.

    Not that it matters much, because the following rules apply just as they did before the first time you played it.
    711.7. If a transforming double-faced card is cast as a spell, it’s put on the stack with its front face up. A player casting a modal double-faced card as a spell chooses which face they are casting before putting it onto the stack. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
    711.7a Only the face that will be face up on the stack is evaluated to determine if it can be cast. Only that face is considered to be put onto the stack.
    711.8. A player playing a modal double-faced card as a land chooses one of its faces that’s a land before putting it onto the battlefield. It enters the battlefield with that face up. See rule 305, “Lands.”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Shielding plax and sacrifice
    [c]Shielding Plax[/c] -> Shielding Plax
    [c]Butcher of Malakir[/c] -> Butcher of Malakir

    Quote from Tompaox »
    Hello guys,
    Playing with my vampire deck I found an opponent who used Shielding plax (enchanted creature can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control) on his creature.
    My question is: if the creature with Shielding plax is the only one on the battlefield, does it prevent the sacrifice effect of an other card?

    "Enchanted creature can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control."

    It says nothing about interfering with "sacrifice". Just "target".
    Quote from Tompaox »
    I played my Butcher of Malakir (whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature) and sacrificed one other my creature to activate [sic] it's effect.
    In my opinion it's ability is on a target player (who is forced to sacrifice a creature), not on a single creature. Am I right?

    "Whenever Butcher of Malakir or another creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature." There is no target here. Shielding Plax doesn't even try to interfere with it, and the creature it's attached to is as valid a sacrifice choice as any other creature that opponent might control.
    115.1d A triggered ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],” where the “something” is a phrase that describes an object and/or player. The target(s) are chosen as the ability is put on the stack; see rule 603.3d.

    115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities.”
    115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sakashima's Will with Sakashima of a Thousand Faces
    I have a few creatures, Akroma, Vision of Ixidor and Sakashima of a Thousand Faces being two of them. I use Sakashima's Will and have all my creatures become a copy of Akroma, will the Sakashima keep it's abilities, particularly the "legend rule doesnt apply to permanents you control" ability? Or will i get a few copies of Akroma and have to sac all but one due to the legendary ruling?

    No. Keeping Sakashima's other abilities is not a part of "Choose a creature you control. Each other creature you control becomes a copy of that creature until end of turn." You will have to put all but one into the graveyard (not sacrifice).
    706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.
    Example: Chimeric Staff is an artifact that reads, “{X}: Chimeric Staff becomes an X/X artifact creature until end of turn.” Clone is a creature that reads, “You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.” After a Staff has become a 5/5 artifact creature, a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of it. The Clone is an artifact, not a 5/5 artifact creature. (The copy has the Staff’s ability, however, and will become a creature if that ability is activated.)
    Example: Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of a face-down Grinning Demon (a creature with morph {2}{B}{B}). The Clone is a colorless 2/2 creature with no name, no types, no abilities, and no mana cost. It will still be face up. Its controller can’t pay {2}{B}{B} to turn it face up.

    704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Primeval Titan fetching "triggered abilitiy" lands, rulings step by step
    First, one detail on question B3: If the Primeval Titan's ability triggered from attacking, you would have to wait until after the combat phase before you can use transmute.
    Quote from Knorr »
    Case C (just out of curiosity if creating an illegal target on purpose would work here):
    Boros Garrison
    Lotus Field

    I guess I can't just chose the same Land for both triggered abilities and get away with only sacrificing one land since the second became an illegal target after it got returned to my hand?
    In detail:
    On the stack comes first:
    I chose to sacrifice my only two forests for Lotus Field's triggered ability.
    Secondly on the stack comes:
    I chose the same forest to be returned to my hand for Boros Garrison's trigger
    So I return one forest to my hand before Lotus Field's triggered ability resolves.
    I guess the rules would just force me to sacrifice the remaining forest and Boros Garrison instead, since it only says "two lands" and not "two target lands" right? And even if the text said "target" it would not work I assume?

    A little more detail, because I initially wasn't certain of the sequence you intended and I misread Lotus Vale. Lotus Vale does not have a triggered ability.
    108.1. Use the Oracle card reference when determining a card’s wording. A card’s Oracle text can be found using the Gatherer card database at Gatherer.Wizards.com .

    "If Lotus Vale would enter the battlefield, sacrifice two untapped lands instead. If you do, put Lotus Vale onto the battlefield. If you don't, put it into its owner's graveyard."
    1. I'm not going to specify the sequence that led to Primeval Titan's ability triggering.
    2. The "Whenever Primeval Titan enters the battlefield or attacks, you may search your library for up to two land cards, put them onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle your library." ability resolves. When you search your library, you choose Boros Garrison and Lotus Vale. You put them onto the battlefield tapped, right after sacrificing two untapped Forests for Lotus Vale's replacement effect. You shuffle your library.
    3. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. (If there were multiples at this point, you would get to choose the order regardless of whether they actually triggered simultaneously.) You put "When Boros Garrison enters the battlefield, return a land you control to its owner's hand." on the stack. (You might have some idea what land you'll be returning, but the game does not accept a decision at this time.)
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 3) resolves. You return a land you control to its owner's hand. This might be Boros Garrison, this might be Lotus Vale, this might be one you tapped when putting Primeval Titan onto the battlefield (whenever that happened). This can not be a card that is currently in the graveyard after being sacrificed in step 2.
    7. You get priority and ....


    Edit: As WizardMN pointed out, I read the card correctly the first time.

    A little more detail, because I initially wasn't certain of the sequence you intended.
    1. I'm not going to specify the sequence that led to Primeval Titan's ability triggering.
    2. The "Whenever Primeval Titan enters the battlefield or attacks, you may search your library for up to two land cards, put them onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle your library." ability resolves. When you search your library, you choose Boros Garrison and Lotus Field. You put them onto the battlefield tapped, triggering both abilities. You shuffle your library.
    3. You would get priority, but there are triggered abilities to put on the stack. You get to choose the order regardless of whether they actually triggered simultaneously. A) You put "When Lotus Field enters the battlefield, sacrifice two lands." on the stack. B) You put "When Boros Garrison enters the battlefield, return a land you control to its owner's hand." on the stack. (You might have some idea what lands you'll be sacrificing and returning, but the game does not accept a decision at this time.)
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 3B) resolves. You return a land you control to its owner's hand. This might be Boros Garrison, this might be Lotus Field, this might be a Forest or other land you tapped when putting Primeval Titan onto the battlefield (whenever that happened). You apparently choose a Forest.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 3A) resolves. You sacrifice two lands you control. These might include Boros Garrison, Lotus Field, or a Forest or other land you tapped when putting Primeval Titan onto the battlefield (whenever that happened). This can not include a card that is currently in your hand after being over there in step 6. Anyway, you still have at least 3 lands, so now you choose and sacrifice 2 of them.
    10. If Lotus Field's ability had targets, they would have been locked in at step 3A. There are effects that would explicitly let you change a target, but a second thought or even "a target is gone" would not be enough for that.
    11. You get priority and ....
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Battle of Zendikar Lands
    Quote from Breathe1234 »
    Shatterskull Smashing. I'm having trouble understanding the rulings on these cards.

    1. Suppose I have a Flickerwisp and I flickered a shatterskull Smashing, does it try to come back into play as the front half, and since it doesn't it stays in exile?

    I assume you mean that you used Flickerwisp on Shatterskull, the Hammer Pass; Shatterskull Smashing can never be a target permanent. And it would stay in exile.
    711.10b If a player is instructed to put a modal double-faced card onto the battlefield and its front face isn’t a permanent card, the card stays in its current zone.


    Quote from Breathe1234 »
    2. I was told Crucible of Worlds allows me to play Shatterskull Smashing. Is it because it is considered a "land card" when it is put onto the stack?

    It's not being put onto the stack, because it is a land card. But yes, you can play Shatterskull, the Hammer Pass from your graveyard if you have Crucible of Worlds.
    711.8. A player playing a modal double-faced card as a land chooses one of its faces that’s a land before putting it onto the battlefield. It enters the battlefield with that face up. See rule 305, “Lands.”

    Quote from Breathe1234 »
    3. Does Life from the Loam allow me to return Shatterskull Smashing back from my graveyard to my hand? I'm guessing no because it cannot return sorceries?

    Correct, you can't choose a sorcery card as a target of that, no matter what might be on the back side.
    711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.
    711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game or in a zone other than the battlefield or stack, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Primeval Titan fetching "triggered abilitiy" lands, rulings step by step
    Quote from Knorr »
    Hello.

    These questions are about (simultaneously) fetching "triggered ability" lands with Primeval Titan.

    I would like to be able to state the specific rules if I have to substantiate these cases:

    Case A:
    Crumbling Vestige
    Boros Garrison (or any other Bounceland)

    A1) Both lands enter the battlefield 100% simultaneously. (which rule explains that further?)
    A2) I already "control" both lands before their "enters the battlefield" abilities trigger, right? (which rule?)
    A3) I can choose which triggered ability goes on the stack/resolves first (603.3b, 101.4c).
    So I can choose to "add one mana of any color" from Crumbling Vestige first and then return it to my hand with Boros Garrison's ability.

    A1) If someone claims those aren't simultaneous, that exception is for them to justify.
    608.2f Some spells and abilities include actions taken on multiple players and/or objects. In most cases, each such action is processed simultaneously. If the action can’t be processed simultaneously, it’s instead processed considering each affected player or object individually. APNAP order is used to make the primary determination of the order of those actions. Secondarily, if the action is to be taken on both a player and an object they control or on multiple objects controlled by the same player, the player who controls the resolving spell or ability chooses the relative order of those actions.
    Example: Blatant Thievery says “For each opponent, gain control of target permanent that player controls.” As Blatant Thievery resolves, its controller gains control of all permanents chosen as targets simultaneously.
    Example: Soulfire Eruption says, in part, “Choose any number of target creatures, planeswalkers, and/or players. For each of them, exile the top card of your library, then Soulfire Eruption deals damage equal to that card’s converted mana cost to that permanent or player.” A player casts Soulfire Eruption targeting an opponent and a creature that opponent controls. As Soulfire Eruption resolves, the player can’t exile the top card of their library multiple times at the same time, so they first choose which target they are considering, then they exile the top card of their library, and finally Soulfire Eruption deals damage to that target. They then repeat this process for the remaining target.

    A2) They are on the battlefield at the time that ability triggers (otherwise, why did it trigger?). Therefore, they each have a controller. If that controller isn't you, who then?
    603.6a Enters-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent enters the battlefield. These are written, “When [this object] enters the battlefield, . . . “ or “Whenever a [type] enters the battlefield, . . .” Each time an event puts one or more permanents onto the battlefield, all permanents on the battlefield (including the newcomers) are checked for any enters-the-battlefield triggers that match the event.

    110.2. A permanent’s owner is the same as the owner of the card that represents it (unless it’s a token; see rule 111.2). A permanent’s controller is, by default, the player under whose control it entered the battlefield. Every permanent has a controller.


    A3) Yes, by putting Boros Garrison's ability on the stack first.
    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

    405. Stack
    405.1. When a spell is cast, the physical card is put on the stack (see rule 601.2a). When an ability is activated or triggers, it goes on top of the stack without any card associated with it (see rules 602.2a and 603.3).

    405.5. When all players pass in succession, the top (last-added) spell or ability on the stack resolves. If the stack is empty when all players pass, the current step or phase ends and the next begins.


    Quote from Knorr »
    Case B:
    Tolaria West
    Boros Garrison

    B1) same as A1
    B2) I can return Tolaria West to my hand with Boros Garrison. Same rules as A2 I guess.
    B3) Once it is in my hand I can pay the transmute costs 1UU of Tolaria West to search my library for and cast Summoner's Pact. Nothing speaks against that, right?

    B1) same as A1
    B2) It's a land you control. Sure, why not?
    B3) Yes, neither the rules for transmute nor discard care how long the card has been in your hand.

    Quote from Knorr »
    Case C (just out of curiosity if creating an illegal target on purpose would work here):
    Boros Garrison
    Lotus Field

    I guess I can't just chose the same Land for both triggered abilities and get away with only sacrificing one land since the second became an illegal target after it got returned to my hand?
    In detail:
    On the stack comes first:
    I chose to sacrifice my only two forests for Lotus Field's triggered ability.
    Secondly on the stack comes:
    I chose the same forest to be returned to my hand for Boros Garrison's trigger
    So I return one forest to my hand before Lotus Field's triggered ability resolves.
    I guess the rules would just force me to sacrifice the remaining forest and Boros Garrison instead, since it only says "two lands" and not "two target lands" right? And even if the text said "target" it would not work I assume?

    Thank you!

    You can't "choose the same forest", because it isn't there anymore. If it specified a "target", that would work, because target decisions are made while putting the object on the stack.
    608.2d If an effect of a spell or ability offers any choices other than choices already made as part of casting the spell, activating the ability, or otherwise putting the spell or ability on the stack, the player announces these while applying the effect. The player can’t choose an option that’s illegal or impossible, with the exception that having a library with no cards in it doesn’t make drawing a card an impossible action (see rule 121.3). If an effect divides or distributes something, such as damage or counters, as a player chooses among any number of untargeted players and/or objects, the player chooses the amount and division such that each chosen player or object receives at least one of whatever is being divided. (Note that if an effect divides or distributes something, such as damage or counters, as a player chooses among some number of target objects and/or players, the amount and division were determined as the spell or ability was put onto the stack rather than at this time; see rule 601.2d.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Warkite Marauder + Obeka
    Quote from Ebonezra »
    Based on what I know of Obeka, Brute Chronologist, I anticipate that Warkite Marauder's affect will be permanent when used with Obeka.
    No, the effect ends during the cleanup step, same as always.
    717. Ending Turns and Phases
    717.1. Some cards end the turn. When an effect ends the turn, follow these steps in order, as they differ from the normal process for resolving spells and abilities (see rule 608, “Resolving Spells and Abilities”).

    717.1d The current phase and/or step ends. If this happens during combat, remove all creatures and planeswalkers from combat. The game skips straight to the cleanup step; skip any phases or steps between this phase or step and the cleanup step. If an effect ends the turn during the cleanup step, a new cleanup step begins.

    514. Cleanup Step
    514.1. First, if the active player’s hand contains more cards than their maximum hand size (normally seven), they discard enough cards to reduce their hand size to that number. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.
    514.2. Second, the following actions happen simultaneously: all damage marked on permanents (including phased-out permanents) is removed and all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Negan, the Cold-Blooded's "That Player"
    "that player" is the chosen opponent, all the way through. They are likely to sacrifice two creatures then, one chosen by them and one by you. Wizards product architect Mark Heggen explained that to GameSpot:

    https://www.gamespot.com/articles/check-out-these-negan-and-zombie-magic-the-gathering-cards-from-upcoming-secret-lair-drop/1100-6482651/
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Nahiri's Lithoforming question
    Quote from The Fluff »
    Hi, if I cast Nahiri's Lithoforming and sac 2 lands for x...

    and choose 2 for X.
    Quote from The Fluff »
    opponent counters it with spell pierce.

    701.5. Counter
    701.5a To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from the stack. It doesn’t resolve and none of its effects occur. A countered spell is put into its owner’s graveyard.

    Quote from The Fluff »
    Are the 2 lands I sacced gone? Is saccing the lands a part of the cost?
    You never sacrificed any lands, or carried out any other part of the effect. Compare this with Devastating Summons, where sacrificing lands is a part of the cost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.