Magic Market Index for Feb 8th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for Feb 1st, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for Dec 28th, 2018
  • posted a message on Keranos question
    Yes it is and yes you can Smile

    Keranos has an ability that stops him from being a crewature. But that ability only matters while Keranos is on the battlefield.

    And therefore Keranos is a legal target for Zombify, and since ombify doesn't care about the creature after it has resolved (unlike a card such as Necromancy it won't matter whether KEranos is a creeature or not on the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on It That Betrays question
    1. The second ability is a triggered ability that triggers on the permanent being sacrificed. So they sac it, it hits the yar. Then It that _Betrays ability trigger putting it on the battlefield under your control. So they do touch the yard.

    2. The permanent should still be sacrificed and since IT that Betrays doesn't specify "put that card onto the battlefield from the graveyard under your control" but only to put it on the battlefield it should be able to grab the card from exile since rest in peace is a rplacement effect.

    3. You wouldn't get it with a counter on it. But if they sac it to your annihilator you wouldnb't get it at all. When they sac it there are two triggers. The persist from Finks and the trigger from it that betrays. Since you are the active player you put your trigger on the stack and then the next player does the same. So the persist trigger will be on top of the stack and resolve first getting the finks back to their side, and then your trigger won't do anything.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mindbreak Trap Question
    Quote from thesedaiv »
    I meant the exile part. Lets assume my opponent has a Storm count of 15 and attempts to Grape Shot for 15 or Empty the Warrens for 15. So I get the free cast of MBT however does that cause the fizzling so there's no Grape Shots/Warrens used?


    I am noty really sure what you mean about "no grape shots used".

    When a spell is put on the stack it sit there. If you then exile all spells on the stacks they won't go back to the hand or something. They will be exiled. And since they are exiled they aren't on teh stack so they can't resolve.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kitchen Finks question
    Quote from The Fluff »
    Hi, for example I have a Kitchen Finks in play with a -1/-1 counter on it. Then I have a deadbridge goliath in the graveyard. Use scavenge of goliath to add 5 +1/+1 counters to the finks that has a -1/-1 counter. Do the finks become a 7/6?


    Yes.

    During State Baed Actions (SBA) + and - counters cancel each other out. So the finks end up with 4 +1 counters on it

    704.5q If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Enrage question
    Quote from The Fluff »
    Thanks for clearing that up, but I have other questions. I already know that if raptor is blocked by multiple creatures I only draw one card. but how about if raptor is hit by 2 lightning bolts? Do I draw one card from that or two cards?


    two cards. Each lightning bolt is a separate spell and resolves separately. It is not a single damage event like combat damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on State Based Action - Creature Deaths
    Quote from NightCabbage1 »
    Hmmm, this seems quite arbitrary... I understand that it's a ruling a single judge made on the spot? So perhaps that is the only reason that this "order of operations" seems to be enforced (ie. dies triggers before counter merge) - because of precedence?

    Otherwise it is making no sense to me...
    2 things are happening simultaneously - and yet one thing is happening before the other always (dies before counter merge) - and I'm not sure why.

    Sorry to harp on about this, I genuinely find it interesting haha Kekeke
    I'm a computer programmer, and we're all about logic and order lol


    Arbitrary and arbitrary, the entire set of comprehensive rules are in some sense arbitrary. It is not a rule that some judge made up on the fly some time though. IT is actually rules printed in the comprehensive rules.

    And as has been said before, the order of operations you describe is wrong.

    Dies doesn't trigger before counters merge, the creature dies and the counters merge simultaneously.
    After the SBA are finished the game will see that a creature died and will use last known information to derive whether to trigger undying or not.
    Last known inormation is how the creature last looked while it was on the battlefield and at that part it had both kinds of counters and therefore undying won't trigger.

    You bring up rules 704.5q and 704.7 and state that counter removal "surely" must happen before the creature dies.
    But the rules state otherwise.

    704.7 is there precicely to handle cases like a creature dying and counters being removed simultaneously.

    Does that clarify it?


    704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event.

    704.5. The state-based actions are as follows:
    704.5f If a creature has toughness 0 or less, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard. Regeneration can’t replace this event.
    704.5g If a creature has toughness greater than 0, and the total damage marked on it is greater than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed. Regeneration can replace this event.
    704.5q If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it.


    HEre's the most important part:

    704.7. If a state-based action results in a permanent leaving the battlefield at the same time other state-based actions were performed, that permanent’s last known information is derived from the game state before any of those state-based actions were performed.

    Example: You control Young Wolf, a 1/1 creature with undying, and it has a +1/+1 counter on it. A spell puts three -1/-1 counters on Young Wolf. Before state-based actions are performed, Young Wolf has one +1/+1 counter and three -1/-1 counters on it. After state-based actions are performed, Young Wolf is in the graveyard. When it was last on the battlefield, it had a +1/+1 counter on it, so undying will not trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stalking Leonin Rules Question
    You can klick the little card symbol in the formatting bar for card tags.
    Slarking Leonin
    .[.card.][./card] without the dots.

    The ability will have no impact since the player it is referring to is no longer around.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Boreas charger, searching for less plains
    701.18b If a player is searching a hidden zone for cards with a stated quality, such as a card with a
    certain card type or color, that player isn’t required to find some or all of those cards even if
    they’re present in that zone.

    Example: Splinter says “Exile target artifact. Search its controller’s graveyard, hand,
    and library for all cards with the same name as that artifact and exile them. Then that
    player shuffles their library.” A player casts Splinter targeting Howling Mine (an
    artifact). Howling Mine’s controller has another Howling Mine in her graveyard and
    two more in her library. Splinter’s controller must find the Howling Mine in the
    graveyard, but may choose to find zero, one, or two of the Howling Mines in the library.

    You should be able to find any number of lands.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Three Bolas-affiliated planeswalkers from RNA
    Quote from Andethir »
    Quote from HugSeal »

    Not stopping creature spells would make the ability stronger. You are activating the ability during your turn, in response opponents can cast spells and activate abilities. It will stop a few triggered abilities but mostly it will just mess yourself up.

    After you activate it you won't be able to do much with your turn other than attacking, and a controlly azorios deck generally doen't do much attacking.


    Hmm. Will "Your opponents can't cast spells until your next turn" be too much?



    It would be a reusable Silence. It's hard to tell. With some way of adding loyalty counters (prolifereate etc) it could be very tought to slug through. Perhaps something like "until your next turn, counter the first spell cast by each opponent" ala Erayo's Essence Erayo, Soratami Ascendant/Nullstone Gargoyle/Jace, Unraveler of Secrets.

    I'm horrible at balancing though Smile
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Three Bolas-affiliated planeswalkers from RNA
    Quote from Hackworth »

    -3: Until end of turn, players can’t cast spells, activate abilities, and triggered abilities won’t trigger.
    I don't, off the top of my head, know what this breaks, but stopping all triggered abilities worries me. Also, even the most controlling spells printed recently give the opponent some outs, so maybe stopping non-creature spells could be enough?


    Not stopping creature spells would make the ability stronger. You are activating the ability during your turn, in response opponents can cast spells and activate abilities. It will stop a few triggered abilities but mostly it will just mess yourself up.

    After you activate it you won't be able to do much with your turn other than attacking, and a controlly azorios deck generally doen't do much attacking.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Emissary of Grudges + Soul Snare
    Please use card tags.

    Emissary of Grudges
    Soul Snare

    No, the opponent only changes the target, but it still neds to be a legal target and you are still the one controlling the spell.

    So the opponent with teh emissary still needs to pick a creature attaking you or one of your planeswalker. If emissary is teh only attacking creature then the target cannot be changed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rakdos Hedonihilist
    I'm not sure if the same replacement effect as labman works here. Labman replaces the draw from an empty library with winning the game, it doesn't replace losing the game for trying to draw with winning the game. I guess there is some reason for that.

    The Phyrexian Unlife route should work though. Having one ability that stops you from losing the game and another for winning the game when you are at some life total at or below 0.

    With the current intended function I agree that is is way too strong. Losing life is easypeasy. One idea is to try something like

    "If you would take damage that would put you at zero or less life Rakdos Hedonihlist gets that many pleasure counters instead.

    When Rakdos Hedonihilist has X Pleasure counters on it you in the game"

    Taking damage is a lot striter than just losing life since it is a bit harder to do to yourself.

    EDIT: I looked around a bit and with Stunning Reversal it seems the replacement effect should work fine. So you can probably ignore my first paragraphs Smile
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Does "Pulmonic Sliver" Affect "Nameless Inversion"?
    The orale text for Pulmonic sliver is:

    All Slivers have "If this permanent would be put into a graveyard, you may put it on top of its owner's library instead.

    A good start is to check out the card on gatherer, there you get the oracle text for the card which is the current rules for it. That may differ from the text that is wrotten on the card. Old Lightning Bolt is a good example for this where the text has been changed to "...3 damage to any target" after they changed the planeswalker damage redirection rules.

    Nameless inversion is not a permanent (and not a creature) and therefore isn't affeted by Pulmonic Slivers ability

    You have different kinds of types in MTG.

    205.2a The card types are artifact, conspiracy, creature, enchantment, instant, land, phenomenon,
    plane, planeswalker, scheme, sorcery, tribal, and vanguard. See section 3, “Card Types.”

    205.3a A card can have one or more subtypes printed on its type line.
    205.3b Subtypes of each card type except plane are always single words and are listed after a long
    dash. Each word after the dash is a separate subtype; such objects may have multiple types.
    Subtypes of planes are also listed after a long dash, but may be multiple words; all words after
    the dash are, collectively, a single subtype

    Tribal cards are special in that they can have a creature subtype. But if they don't have the creature type they are not creatures.

    Basically the difference is between creature types, that mean the diferent creature subtypes (Sliver, Angel etc.) and the type creature which is a type on its own.

    Inversion also never enters the batlefield so it won't trigger enter the battlefield effects.

    110.4. There are five permanent types: artifact, creature, enchantment, land, and planeswalker. Instant
    and sorcery cards can’t enter the battlefield and thus can’t be permanents. Some tribal cards can
    enter the battlefield and some can’t, depending on their other card types. See section 3, “Card
    Types.”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Prerelease kits will have a seeded booster
    Quote from Kman »
    So everybody will want the Golgari pack (for the money card)
    This seems crazy and a very bad way to do it.



    Wasn't that always a problem with seeded packs? Some formats had one prerelease promo in a certain colour that was just a bomby mcbomb that the other packs didn't have, some formats had moneycards that blew the other cards ourt of the water. Those incentives to pick a guild is jsut too strong imo.

    You can either pick the favoured guilds or if you want to play another you have to sacrifice quite an edge in power or value.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Prerelease kits will have a seeded booster
    From what I undersand the guildgates takes the spot of basic lands in the set helping the fixing along.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.