2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Yidris, Maelstrom Weilder + Assault Suit
    Assault Suit, Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder

    Quote from MClaunch »
    I’ve been looking around everywhere and haven’t been able to find any real answers, so maybe someone can help me out. If I attach Assault Suit to Yidris, and someone else deals combat damage with him, do my spells gain cascade, or do theirs?


    "You" on a permanent means "this permanent's controller". So Yidris's current controller, not you, gains Cascade on their spells.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on The Kinda Promised End
    1. No. The opponent gains two extra turns, for a total of three turns. You control them during the first one only.

    When the first instance of Emrakul's ability resolves, it sets up a continuous effect that gives you control of the opponent during their next turn, and then gives them an extra turn to be had after that turn.
    When the second instance of Emrakul's ability resolves, it sets up another continuous effect that gives you control of that same opponent during their next turn. Their "next turn" is the same for both effects, so both effects are redundant. Then the opponent gains another extra turn to be had after that turn during which you control them twice.

    2. If you leave the game, the continuous effect giving you control of the player immediately ceases. The player keeps playing their turn, now fully in control of themselves.


    Emrakul doesn't cause turns to end earlier. Both the turn control and the extra turn effects wait until the current turn ends the regular way.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cowardice questions re:targeting
    Quote from Ahgurow »
    Ah right that's true! So does a cancel have the same effect then?


    Even if you counter the spell with Cancel, Cowardice's ability still returns the creature to hand.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cowardice questions re:targeting
    Quote from Ahgurow »
    In that case, if I choose to let cowardice's ability go first, can't the glasskite counter cowardice's ability then? And that would mean the ability/spell my opponent plays is the second ability/spell so that one can't be countered.

    EDIT: nevermind that doesn't make sense cowardice keeps on triggering of course


    Cowardice's ability does not target the creature.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cowardice questions re:targeting
    Quote from Ahgurow »
    Okay say I have a cowardice and a shimmering glasskite, my opponent tries to target my glasskite, does the glasskite still return to my hand or does the spell get countered first?


    If the spell gets countered first or not is up to you, but Glasskite still returns to your hand regardless.

    When the opponent casts the spell targeting Glasskite, both Glasskite's ability and Cowardice's ability trigger. You control both, so you choose in which order they are put on the stack, so you can have Glasskite's ability resolve first. But the spell *was* cast, and Cowardice's ability is already on the stack, countering the spell doesn't remove Cowardice's ability from the stack, it still resolves later returning Glasskite to your hand.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sakashima's will
    No. When Lathliss becomes a copy of Terror of the Peaks, all of her base characteristics (name, color, types, abilities, power/toughness) are replaced with Terror's. She doesn't keep her abilities.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can infinite mana be sacrificed
    There's no such thing as "infinite" anything in Magic.

    When you have a loop - a series of actions you can repeat "infinitely" - you need to choose a finite number of times you repeat the loop, and then you stop doing it and do something else. So you end up with an very large, but still finite, number of Treasure tokens. Something like one million treasure, or whatever.

    So your opponent, while controlling you, have you sacrifice your one million treasure tokens for one million mana, then not use this mana for anything.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dream Devourer + Adventure
    You can cast Petty Theft from exile this way, for U. If you do, when Petty Theft resolves it gets exiled (again), this time "on an adventure", and then you can cast it from exile only as Brazen Borrower (for the full cost).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Nahiri's Lithoforming X
    Omnath, Locus of Rage, Zendikar Resurgent, Crucible of Worlds, Amulet of Vigor, Nahiri's Lithoforming.

    Yes, everything checks out. Sacrificing the lands is not stated to be an additional cost, and Lithoforming doesn't target the lands, so you having less than 26 lands to sacrifice is not an issue, you just sacrifice all 14 you have. X is still 26, so you can play up to 26 lands this turn (in addition to your regular land drop for the turn).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Trample and Aegar
    Keep in mind that trampling is optional.

    Let's say Bloodfray Giant (5/4 trample, due to the Unleash +1/+1 counter) is blocked by a vanilla 2/2. You can:

    - Assign 2 damage to the 2/2 and 3 to the player. Aegar sees the creature was dealt no excess damage, so you don't draw.
    - Assign 3 damage to the 2/2 and 2 to the player. Aegar sees the excess damage, so you draw a card.
    - Assign 4 damage to the 2/2 and 1 to the player. Same as above, you draw.
    - Assign all 5 damage to the 2/2 and no damage to the player. Same as above, you draw.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Boast Questions
    No, it doesn't work, for the same principle that "whenever this attacks" triggers don't work.

    A creature that is put on the battlefield attacking is attacking, but it never attacked. You can't activate Boast abilities of creatures Alesha put on the battlefield.

    Reference: Kaldheim release notes

    If a creature with a boast ability is put onto the battlefield attacking, it was never declared as an attacker. Its boast ability can't be activated that turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [KHM] Mothership 1/20— The Tokens of Kaldheim
    Quote from ZasZ234 »
    Quote from SonofaBith75 »
    An elf whose job description is literally “one that makes war”, holding a sword: 1/1.

    A cat: 2/2

    Judging by what I assume is a warrior's shield hidden behind the HUD in the Cat token illustration I'd say the Cat is about Bear-sized, so... yeah, sure, seems right.


    Esika's Chariot is the card that produces them. Those kitties are used to pull a god's chariot.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Companion question
    Quote from The Fluff »
    Hi for example, Kaheera, the orphanguard is my chosen companion. First game, pay 3 to get it from the sideboard then cast onto the field, it get killed and put into gy. On the second game is Kaheera shuffled into my deck, or is it back on the sideboard?


    It is not part of your deck,

    400.11. An object is outside the game if it isn't in any of the game's zones. Outside the game is not a zone.
    400.11a. Cards in a player's sideboard are outside the game. See rule 100.4.
    400.11b. Some effects bring cards into a game from outside of it. Those cards remain in the game until it ends.


    Once the game ends, Kaheera is not part of the game anymore. The actions your performed during that game, such as bringing cards from outside the game to it, don't carry over to the second game.

    While not playing a game, what you have is a list of cards that form your deck, and another list of cards that form your sideboard (including Kaheera). But as you are between games in a match, you can use the sideboard to modify the deck, so you may put Kaheera in your deck if you want to.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Very specific question regarding the beginning of end step
    It works fine.

    Mimic Vat's activated ability sets up a delayed triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of the next end step after the activated ability has resolved. It does use the stack.

    So, when the end step begins, the delayed trigger to exile the Trynn-copy, and Trynn-copy's own token-creating ability, both trigger. You can put them on the stack in any order you want. You can also activate Silvar's ability in response to those triggers, sacrificing Trynn.

    No matter the order they resolve, all abilities will resolve. Even if Trynn has been exiled or sacrificed, her ability is already on the stack, so the 1/1 token is still created.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on No Snow Man Land?
    There is one, Faceless Haven
    Posted in: New Card Discussion
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.