All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
Pauper Review: Dominaria
 
The Limited Archetypes of Dominaria
 
Magic Market Index: Inventions Buyout
  • posted a message on Counters -1/-1
    If a permanent has both +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters, you remove an equal amount of counters of both types so that only one type of counter remains (or none). So if it was just a Phantom Nishoba receiving 4 -1/-1 counters, four counters of each type would be removed, and Nishoba would end up with just 3 +1/+1 (and no -1/-1 counter).

    However, damage from a source with Infect is still damage, and can be prevented. Nishoba's last ability will remove only one +1/+1 counter from Nishoba and prevent all the damage Skithiryx would deal to it. The Nishoba then ends up with 6 +1/+1 counters.


    Arahbo, Roar of the World's ability isn't really relevant here.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [DOM][RULE CHANGE] Planeswalker Damage Redirection
    Quote from BlackWaltz3 »
    Quote from Salmo »
    Year 25 of the game's existence might not have been the best time for this.


    Or is it the perfect time. Right before they release Errata Masters. Lol.

    @Steve you may be right. I thought you couldn't redirect with it before, but now I'm unsure. Rules questions are not my forte.

    You could.

    The old rule was: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you could redirect the damage to a planeswalker controlled by that player.
    Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on Does a copied spell count as a stand alone spell?
    a) Twice. You cast only two instants.

    Increasing Vengeance creates a copy of a spell already on the stack. This copy is not being cast, so Guttersnipe's "whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell" ability doesn't trigger for it.

    Notice that the Lightning Bolt copy is a "stand alone spell" on the stack. It just wasn't cast.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [DOM][RULE CHANGE] Planeswalker Damage Redirection
    Gatherer is up with all Dominaria card errata.

    Some interesting or relevant changes:
    * As expected, Ash Zealot, Harsh Mentor, Ankh of Mishra, etc, can only hit the player that caused the trigger, not that player's planeswalker.
    * Blightning can target a player or planeswalker. If the later, the controller of the planeswalker discards. This gets around hexproof etc on the player. Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker's third ability also works this way.
    * Chain Lightning targeting a planeswalker works like targeting a creature: the walker's controller may copy it.
    * "Deals damage to defending player" (ex: Myr Battlesphere) becomes "deals damage to the player or planeswalker this creature is attacking". And so Hellrider works this way: whenever one of your creatures attacks, Hellrider deals 1 damage to the player or planeswalker that creature is attacking.
    Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on Nether traitor
    He can't do that.

    In a normal turn, there is only one Combat Phase with one Declare Attackers step. If he declared an attacker, you declared a blocker, and combat damage has been dealt killing the attacker, the Combat Phase has advanced through the Declare Attackers, Declare Blockers, and Combat Damage steps. He can't go back to the Declare Attackers step and attack again.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Start your engines vs overwhelming splendor
    Start Your Engines does not have an effect "that set a creature’s base power and toughness to specific values."

    Unlike other noncreatures that can become creatures, vehicles have printed P/T values. When they become creatures, these values work like they do with regular creatures. This is not a P/T-setting continuous effect.
    Overwhelming Splendor's ruling relates to things like a manland's "this becomes a x/y color type creature that is still a land" ability, but not to a vehicle just becoming a creature and using its own regular printed P/T.


    So, any P/T-setting effects such as Splendor's will always be applied "over" a vehicle creature's base values, and then any +x/+y effect such as Start Your Engines's +2/+0 will modify this new base P/T. Hence, the vehicles are 3/1.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Nostalgic dreams interactions with madness and Chandra’s Phoenix
    The sequence of events is as follows:

    0- You have Nolstagic Dreams, Chandra's Phoenix, and Fiery Temper in your hand, and you have priority.
    1- You start casting Dreams.
    1.1- You put Dreams on the stack from your hand.
    1.2- You announce the value of X as 2.
    1.3- You choose two cards currently in your graveyard as Dreams' targets.
    1.4- You calculate Dreams' total cost as "two green mana and discard two cards"
    1.5- You generate two green mana (e.g, by tapping two forests)
    1.6- You pay the total cost, spending the two mana and discarding Phoenix and Temper. Temper goes to exile instead of the graveyard, and its Madness trigger triggers.
    1.7- Nostalgic Dreams has been cast.
    2- Before regaining priority, you put Temper's madness trigger on the stack, above Nostalgic Dreams.
    3- You regain priority and pass.
    4- Your opponent gains priority and passes.
    5- Temper's madness trigger is the top object on the stack, so it starts resolving. The ability gives you special permission to cast Fiery Temper while it is still resolving, and you choose to do it.
    5.1- You put Fiery Temper on the stack from exile (above Nostalgic Dreams)
    5.2- You choose your opponent as the target
    5.3- You calculate the total cost as just the Madness alternative cost of one red mana.
    5.4- You generate one red mana (e.g, by tapping a mountain)
    5.5- You pay the total cost with this mana
    5.6- Fiery Temper has been cast, and the Madness ability has finished resolving.
    6- You regain priority and pass (this assumes you're the active player)
    7- Opponent gains priority and passes.
    8- Fiery Temper is the top object on the stack, so it starts resolving.
    8.1- Temper deals three damage to opponent. Phoenix's ability triggers (Phoenix is on the graveyard since 1.6).
    8.2- Temper goes to the graveyard.
    9- Before regaining priority, you put Phoenix's ability on the stack (above Nostalgic Dreams)
    10- You regain priority and pass.
    11- Opponent gains priority and passes.
    12- Chandra's Phoenix is the top object on the stack, so it starts resolving. You return Phoenix to your hand from the graveyard.
    13- You regain priority and pass.
    14- Opponent gains priority and passes.
    15- Nostalgic Dreams is the only object on the stack, so it starts resolving. You return its two targets (chosen at 1.3) to your hand from the graveyard. Fiery Temper, who only entered the graveyard on 8.2, can't possibly be one of those targets.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Nostalgic dreams interactions with madness and Chandra’s Phoenix
    1- Yes, the Phoenix is on the graveyard at the moment Fiery Temper deals damage.

    2- No. Fiery Temper is still on your hand when you define Nostalgic Dream's targets.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Torment of hailfire and 'dies' triggers [SOLVED]
    Torment of Hailfire is a single spell. When it starts to resolve, it needs to resolve fully (meaning all X repetitions), before any triggered ability that triggers during its resolution can even go to the stack (much less resolve).
    The process repetitions aren't separated objects on the stack so they don't resolve separately. The thing that resolves is the whole spell itself.

    So Torment for X=2 starts resolving. First process: opponent sacrifices Rekindling Phoenix. Phoenix's ability triggers. Second process: opponent can't sacrifice or discard anything, so opponent loses 3 life. Then Torment goes to the graveyard. Then you check for state-based actions, and see that the opponent has 0 life, so opponent loses. If the opponent had more life, the next steps would be: putting the Phoenix's ability on the stack, and then finally the active player gaining priority.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mist of Stagnation
    1- You need to choose two permanents controlled by an opponent. Then you untap those two, if they are tapped.

    2- You can choose an untapped permanent. Then when you try to untap them, this action fails, but that's fine.

    3- planeswalkers are permanents, so you can choose one. And if it is tapped (because it is a Gideon that attacked, for example), it will untap.

    4- enchantments are permanents, so yes. And if the enchantment was tapped (because it is a Witch's Mist, for example), it will untap.

    5- With those two cards, permanents don't untap at their controller's untap step, and won't untap with Mist's ability. They can still untap if some other card's effect lets them (like, say, Seedborn Muse)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Order of combat damage
    All combat damage is dealt at the same time, unless some creature has first strike or double strike.

    There is no "damage dealing order", Thrummingbird deals damage at the same time your other creatures do. To do what you want, you need to give First Strike to your bird.

    There is a "damage assignment order", but it only matters when one creature blocks or is blocked by two or more creatures. It defines only how damage is distributed when it has more than one creature to be dealt to.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Golden Guardian question
    No, it won't.

    The ability has the creature as its only target. If the target is removed in response, the whole ability gets countered when it tries to resolve. None of its effects happen, even ones not related to the target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Inside Out/Tireless Tribe combo Qs
    Quote from Atreyu83 »
    Hi,

    I have also a question regarding this topic. If I got it correctly then, the only way to pump the thoughtness of my Tireless Tribe once Inside Out has resolved is casting on it a spell that pumps strength, isn't it?

    It is called Power, not "strength", but yes. Use an effect that increases Power, and it will affect its Toughness instead, because of Inside Out.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Danitha Capashen, Paragon
    Kelly digges confirmed they are part of the clan, as Gerrards cousins did have sons.


    Didn't Volrath genocide the entire clan?

    Not Volrath. He was just a human boy called Vuel at the time, just like Gerrard was still a boy. They grew together after that.

    Phyrexians killed Gerrard's family. Not the whole clan, it was too big for that, the only way would be to destroy the whole Benalia or something like that.

    Danitha is like the great-great-great granddaughter of Gerrard's third cousin twice removed or something like that.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Danitha Capashen, Paragon
    Quote from SteamMage »
    Quote from Xcric »
    As a card i like it, nice art neat ability...

    From a lore perspective... how is she a capashen paragon when the entire clan except gerrard was wiped out when the bloodlines project was discovered, which is why gerrard was sent to jamuuraa and raised with vuel, later volrath, and gerrard died during the events of apocalypse without any heirs since his love, hanna, ALSO died...
    Well they can play the "not all Capashens died in the purge, time travel shenanigans, or some one took the name Capashen to honor Gerrard.

    Not all Capashen died. Only Gerrard's family was killed, not the whole Clan. This is not a retcon, it was always how it went.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.