2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Spy kit + cards with different names
    That doesn't matter, maze looks for 10 gates and if they are named differently. I can have sakashima stand in as a gate if she copies an animated gate bc she keeps her name. If I can give llanowar elves the gate land type it would also work though so far haven't figured out how to do that. The question is wether sakashima+ llanowar elves is the same or different than jUst sakashima
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spy kit + cards with different names
    Apologies in advance I know this is a weird scenario and spy kit is a little screwy. So long story short I want to find a way of using mazes end to win with only being in 4 colors. The setup is to have 7 unique gates out, animate a gate copy it with sakashima the imposter, animate sakashima make a copy of sakashima with helm of the host or mirror gallery bc legendary, give sakashima spy kit activate maze's end finding a 10th gate.
    Does the spy kit giving sakashima more names make it unique or do they cancel each other out bc they are both sakashima?
    I forgot it's still 1 gate short but would still like to know to settle the ruling with a friend if it did work
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on tahngarth first mate + bloodforged battle axe
    I knew i would still control the attached cards i was hoping that the combat triggers would go to whoever's combat it was making an odd group hug deck but if its just me getting the triggers then i don't really want to build it anymore, thanks for all the replies
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on tahngarth first mate + bloodforged battle axe
    So that would also mean that giving tahngarth Keen sense means i would draw instead of who gets him during a combat?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on tahngarth first mate + bloodforged battle axe
    If i have out Tahngarth, first mate and i have it equipped with Bloodforged Battle-Axe and i donate it to an opponent who gets the token?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Teysa karlov, leaves the battlefield triggers
    Wow once again a case of rtfc, I've been playing with ashen rider since theros and I've always used it at enters or leaves not dies or something similar came out with enter or levees and I've been mixing up the 2. I don't know how I've been missing the dies part lately
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Teysa karlov, leaves the battlefield triggers
    If I control teysa karlov and ashen rider and the ashen rider dies will it trigger twice or just once where it doesn't specifically say when it dies like Archon of justice would? Will leave the battlefield triggers double if they die to leave to the battlefield?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Anje Falkenrath
    If I have of a library of Leng and I have out Anje Falkenrath and I use her loot ability discarding a card with madness will it end up on top of my library before I get to draw a card? I want to know if I can draw the same card I discard with library of Lang. I know library replaces where the discarded card ends up I just don't when or how long the madness ability exiles the card.
    Also if I chose to cast the card would it resolve before or after I draw a card with anje

    Edit nevermind I just read through the card rulings and it can't put back bc it's a cost
    10/4/2004 You can’t use the Library of Leng ability to place a discarded card on top of your library when you discard a card as a cost, because costs aren’t effects.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on resolving aether vial activation?
    so i cant draw with the silvergil before the first vial activation finishes?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on resolving aether vial activation?
    playtesting merfolk and im looking to see if i can cast a silvergill adept in response to a merrow reejerey trigger activate aether vial allow to silvergil adept to resolve draw a card and if it lines up with charge counters put it into play with the vial activation or would i have to put something into play after/as i activate the vial?

    - merrow reejerey and aether vial in play
    - cast silvergil adept
    - activate vial
    - untap vial
    - silvergil resolves, enters, draw a card
    i know up to this point after this is where im looking for clarification
    - resolve aether vial(?)
    - if it was a creature with same cmc as charge counters put it into play
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on yixlid jailer
    just wanted to double check, yixlid jailer will not take away characteristics of a card such as cmc? For example if i have out a jailer and play Renegade Rallier with revolt i can still grab a card with cmc 2 or less
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Just opened a M19 booster with 3 commons and 9 uncommons??
    i opened somewhere around 20 or so loose packs of m19 and had 1 pack with 4 uncommons it happens once in a while, at least you got your full pack, had a mm2 draft where i had a pack with 6-7 cards missing and the shop didnt have any more packs of it
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Challenge - most "strictly-better/worse-than" cards
    Bitterheart witch >?< Chimney imp

    Bitterheart witch
    - gets a curse
    - has deathtouch (?)
    - is a human (?)

    Chimey imp
    - pauper legal (?)
    - psuedo discard/fateseal (?)
    - has flying (?)
    - meme status
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Monowhite / White-Black Deck - Which Standard boosters to buy?
    if you're interested in vampires the ixalan sets might not be a bad idea and you might get glacial fortress if you want to go into uw at some point, dominaria has isolated chapel and is more of a multi color set than ixalan so more options there as well you might get lucky and hit teferi, hero of dominaria again if you end up going uw he will come in handy, core 19 i don't think is going to be of too much help but theres a handful of fun cards in the set and some some fun more mono color cards you might find handy. you have guilds of ravnica coming out and if your playing paper magic, you mention using wild cards so im not sure if you only use arena, everyone is going to have something they want and have stuff to trade as well so if you buy into that it might be useful as well, it wont nesecarily be useful as orzhov and azorious arent in the set but theres still a lot in the set. shocks are always going to be useful until something really big comes out in a modern legal set to replace/supplant them. As you mentioned though you are much better off buying singles and i would recommend that over buying packs and if i was going to buy packs i would go for a booster box of guilds of ravnica, the box should give 2-3 shocklands 3-4 mythics and should give most commons and a decent amount of uncommons if you're playing paper magic and looking to trade for the cards you need, everyone is going to need cards from guilds. arena will give wildcards in packs so shouldn't be too bad if you really wanna buy packs. i havent looked into it but i know the closed beta nothing was permament and they could reset everything at any time so i would be slightly cautious getting heavily invested at least looking only to buy packs but also if you buy gems and they reset you will get the gems back so its not entirely gone but you will need to reopen/wildcard what you get, in any regard best of luck
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Peeps who sleeve, do you double sleeve or single?
    At the very i single sleeve, if the cards are expenisive i will double sleeve. my modern decks and when i had legacy were double sleeved. i currently play kiki chord and have a lot of cards i could swap in and out depending on what is being played so if i have everything double sleeved i can take out cards and still have them sleeved if i need to. personally i dont find double sleeving to be an issue for shuffling sometimes i find it better because the sleeves are a bit fatter the sides come at more of an angle, hard to discribe but if you think of it as [] vs <> you can shuffle <> easier bc they split into the other half easier. For anything larger than 60 card i dont double sleeve. EDH i find its easy enough to have something together 1 week and take apart the next though i also kinda break my rule of double sleeving when something is expenisive as i have a handful of alters foils and dual lands in some of my decks that really should be double sleeved, sometimes i will double sleeve single cards in edh decks like the alters. double sleeving edh i would find difficult to shuffle as well as having deckboxes large enough to hold 100 double sleeved cards
    Posted in: Magic General
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.