Magic Market Index for October 12th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for Sep 28th, 2018
 
Magic Market Index for Sep 21st, 2018
  • posted a message on [ORM] Brotherhood of Ormos
    Are you both on the Custommagic Discord channel? There are tons of people willing to playtest and give feedback there if you export to cockatrice.
    Posted in: Custom Set Creation and Discussion
  • posted a message on [ORM] Brotherhood of Ormos
    Oh wow is this set still alive?

    I remember how Brainwash lead me eventually to one of the mechanics I've been using recently.

    Wound (If this would deal damage to a creature, you may put a single -1/-1 counter on that creature instead.)
    Posted in: Custom Set Creation and Discussion
  • posted a message on [DMS] Dreamscape - (255/255) - FINISHED
    I now reside mostly on the custommagic Discord Channel and keep my sets updated on http://www.planesculptors.net/ if your interested in viewing or drafting the final version of the set.
    Posted in: Custom Set Creation and Discussion
  • posted a message on [Podcast] Cardography Episode 12 - Voyage's End (ft. Reuben Covington)
    Yay. Thanks for having me on the podcast!
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Plagarized Results
    Quote from xecel »
    Quote from Doombringer »
    Thanks for the suggestions.

    What about this wording?

    Target player reveals his or her hand. Choose a instant, sorcery or artifact card from it.
    You may cast a copy of that card and may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast it.
    If you cast a copy of an artifact card this way, put a token onto the battlefield as a copy of the chosen card when that spell resolves.


    Making it a single action using Chandra, Torch of Defiance tech

    Just pointing out that there is a difference between the original wording and the new one. With the new wording one can only cast the spell when your spell is resolving, so you couldn't use it with cards that say "cast only during the beginning of combat" for example. Just making sure you know what you are giving up with the wording

    That is a small price to pay for the added clarity.
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • posted a message on Plagarized Results
    Thanks for the suggestions.

    What about this wording?

    Target player reveals his or her hand. Choose a instant, sorcery or artifact card from it.
    You may cast a copy of that card and may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast it.
    If you cast a copy of an artifact card this way, put a token onto the battlefield as a copy of the chosen card when that spell resolves.


    Making it a single action using Chandra, Torch of Defiance tech
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • posted a message on Plagarized Results
    Looking for some wording help for this unusual card.

    Plagarized Results 1U
    Instant (R)
    Until end of turn, target opponent plays with his or her hand revealed.
    Once this turn you may cast a copy of any instant, sorcery or artifact card in that player’s hand,
    and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast it.
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • posted a message on A sorcery with a P/T box!
    Quote from silvercut »
    Well, evoke could still do the effect twice like this, but it just take more text space.

    Living Knowledge 6U
    Creature - Elemental
    Evoke 3U (You may cast this spell for its evoke cost. If you do, it's sacrificed when it enters the battlefield.)
    When CARDNAME enters the battlefield, draw two cards, then put the top two cards of your library into your graveyard.
    When CARDNAME deals combat damage to a player, you may sacrifice it. If you do, draw two cards, then put the top two cards of your library into your graveyard.
    3/3

    Anyway, the reminder text might be a little ambiguous to a lot of players. The use of "whenever" makes it sound like you can cast the spell multiple times this way, thus after casting it this way, it must become a creature again. The alternate version might be a little better because of this. Maybe?

    Incarnate 6U (You may cast this spell for its incarnate cost. If you do, it becomes an Elemental creature as it resolves. When the creature deals combat damage to a player, you may recast it as a sorcery without paying its mana cost.)

    Good catch on the "Whenever" vs "when".
    Thoughts on the reminder text in the spoiler, that sacrifices to avoid confusion?
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • posted a message on A sorcery with a P/T box!
    Quote from Legend »
    Quote from Doombringer »

    Living Knowledge 3U
    Sorcery (C)
    Draw two cards. Then put the top two cards of your library into your graveyard.
    Incarnate 6U (If you cast this spell for 6U, put it onto the battlefield as an Elemental creature as it resolves. Whenever this deals combat damage to a player, you may cast it without paying its mana cost)
    3/3

    When I first saw this, my first thought was "Eh, everyone's done this." (Edit: With the p/t in the reminder text.) BUT, then I read the second part of the reminder text and thought "Damn, I wish I had thought of that part." Because it gives it a reason for being rather than just bizarro Evoke. I'm pretty desperate for my last couple of enemy color guild mechanics (particularly for Izzet), so I might have to steal this if you don't mind. (Although, it's very splashy, so maybe not.) Have you considered making the creature type "Incarnation"? I mean the mechanic is literally called Incarnate!

    Have you playtested it yet? If so, I'm curious as to how it's played. Edit: Is this for Dreamscape, the followup set (it certainly fits the theme), or something altogether new?

    I'm no rules guru, but it's highly grockable and seems completely sensible in light of Vehicle's (noncreature) p/t tek. The only thing I had to think about was "does it leave the battlefield and go to the stack?" The answer is "yes" because it's being cast not copied. Edit: The alternate sacrifice wording would ruin the novelty. It would just become roundabout "when you cast this or it dies."

    I have not yet playtested this and it was developed for no particular project. I was simply thinking about how Awaken is awesome and that flashback is awesome. Could they be combined into a Living Lore style mechanic.
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • posted a message on A sorcery with a P/T box!
    Ok so I currently have this mechanic i've been tinkering with.

    Living Knowledge 3U
    Sorcery (C)
    Draw two cards. Then put the top two cards of your library into your graveyard.
    Incarnate 6U (If you cast this spell for 6U, put it onto the battlefield as an Elemental creature as it resolves. Whenever this deals combat damage to a player, you may cast it without paying its mana cost)
    3/3


    So the gameplay I want is this:
    • You may cast the sorcery like a normal card from your hand for 3U
    • You may cast it for 6U from your hand to get a 3/3 in addition to the other effect, similar to Awaken
      • This 3/3 if it deals damage to a player may, be used to cast the sorcery effect a 2nd time, but you would no longer have the 3/3

    Is this clear?
    What wording improvements can be made?
    Does this break the rules? And if so how can they be rewritten to handle this?
    Is this alternate wording better?
    Incarnate 6U (If you cast this spell for 6U, put it onto the battlefield as an Elemental creature as it resolves. Whenever this deals combat damage to a player, you may sacrifice it to cast a copy of this spell.)
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • posted a message on [DMS] Dreamscape - (255/255) - FINISHED
    I've updated the main page with new images and links to the Planesculptors set link which is the main place I update the set.

    This set has undergone heavy limited playtesting and is now 99% complete.
    Things left to do are more story/flavor text, replace a few names, do additional constructed testing and finally make a new dreamwalk frame for better visual representation.
    Posted in: Custom Set Creation and Discussion
  • posted a message on [DMS] Dreamscape - (255/255) - FINISHED
    Ever thought about tweeking Dreams Unbound to include colorless mana. (i.e. costs CWUBRG and reduces costs by CWUBRG.)

    Considering the lack of use of C in the set it seems to just be distracting and make the card less elegant.
    Posted in: Custom Set Creation and Discussion
  • posted a message on PlaneSculptors.net launched - Explore, draft and share custom Magic sets
    How do people feel about this new 'product'?

    That its the best thing to happen to the custom-mtg community since the creation of MSE2
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on [DMS] Dreamscape - (255/255) - FINISHED
    Dreamscape has now been updated and is available to draft on Planesculptor!

    http://www.planesculptors.net/set/dreamscape#cards

    The main page of this thread etc however still requires a rework in the next few days.
    Posted in: Custom Set Creation and Discussion
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.